Marseille Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 78 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"said that I had to select products"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airport and with the stupidest liquid policy. On this day I passed through 3 different airports and it was only in this one that they unduly involved my liquids. I took the liquids in a completely transparent necessair and when I get to security they tell me that it is not allowed and that I have to change it to 1 (yes only 1) tiny transparent zipper bag, which supposedly if you pour liquids inside it takes 1L (and I can't believe it because the 1L freezer bags are triple those). After explaining that I had counted my liquids and that the sum of all of them was 1L (I even had half bottles but I counted the total bottle). They said that I had to select products, another security asked the one who was talking to me what was going on she still replied "you say you went through more airports". The other security comes all launched and just tells me that I have to select products - it was the most ridiculous thing that ever happened to me. I ended up putting completely new products in the trash and now when I reach the final destination I'll have to buy everything again!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"announcements are in French only"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | The announcements regarding the flights (e.g. announcement for delayed flight) are in French. Therefore, someone who does not know the French language cannot be informed for anything regarding his flight schedule. It is common known that the English language is the official language of communication internationally. In most airports I have visited internationally the announcements are in local and English language in order all passengers to be properly informed/updated for their flights. I suggest Marseille airport to improve its processes by translating the French announcements to English too. This will assist airport's smooth and efficient operation. Hope this comment/review to be taken into account, considering that one of airport's aim is all passengers to "catch" their flights and not to lose them.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"I cannot fault the ease of getting to gate"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Flying from Terminal 2 - the home of most low-cost carriers. Bay Drop: I didn't use this but it looked a bit chaotic. Lengthy queues. Security: Very swift overall and no delays (5pm, Sunday). I luckily was sent to a belt that just opened, and I was happy with this. They scan your boarding card at security. Airside: There appeared to be a good number of shops but I didn't use them. Options for food were very limited. Connectivity: WiFi was free and available, but don't expect anything special. Plugs: There were a number of single/double socket plugs. The first that I found on the ground floor did not work. I used the extension cable behind the vending machines by the departure gates. The floor was a bit dirty, but it worked. The power socket situation is very bad. Gate: Boarding from Gate G it was messy. The ground staff were very thorough looking at the passport. Unfortunately there was a rather large group of Italian seniors who pushed their way to form a queue once past the gate. There was a single, poorly stocked vending machine. €2.90 for a single bottle of soda. Boarding: There was no airbridge and you walked approximately 100m to the plane. Quick enough and a nice chance for some air before the flight. Water: There are no water bottle refill stations in the airport. In 2022, as we're conscious of plastic, this was very poor. I would have expected something and you are limited in options for buying water. Dining: Several tables and a basic cafe in the bag drop area. There's a mix of people dropping bags, others having coffee (€2.50) and beers (30cl - €4, 50cl - €6). It's very busy and you need to push around people to get past them. Overall, a very basic and simple airport, but lacking in features expected in such a large city. However I cannot fault the ease of getting to gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"I swore I will never use Marseille Airport again"

(Israel)

Not Verified | I used the Marseille port on May 9th on my flight back from a very pleasurable voyage in Provence. Our experience at Marseille Airport was the worst I have ever had. I am not a frequent flyer but I have been in at least 20 airports, including airports much smaller than Marseille. First of all the toilets were dirty and unpleasant to use. The width of the toilet paper was a half of the width of the toilet paper in the airplane. The information attendant was very polite but did not give me any relevant answer to any of my questions (at least four), one of them being where can I find the luggage attendant since we had an entire day ahead and we had planned to visit Marseille. At the luggage post there were machines which we did not know how to operate, but there was no human attendant and no sign when he will come. We got a strong impression that the service is unreliable and we decided to wait for flight at the airport. When check-in started we had to pass to usual step of luggage checking which is usually quite straightforward. However passengers of several flights were mixed together and directed by operators to appropriate lines. I would expect from a modern country like France to have an automatic line server like those operating in any post office or clinic. I was directed to a line and then redirected to another line by another operator and then there was a loud argument between the two. The temperature was 26 degrees but this part of the airport was not climatized and people were getting very nervous. Being a lover of France and it's people I was quite ashamed feeling that my experience could maybe expected in a third-world country and I don't want to offend any of them. I swore I will never use Marseille Airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"a generally pleasant experience"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | This quite large airport offers a generally pleasant experience. Duty-free shopping and catering are fine (not excellent), security screening was ok during covid-19 times but they've limited rows and there were already some ques, despite the very low passenger volumes. Seating is comfortable but seats do show wear and tear. The whole place has a bit of a dated 90s feeling but it does the job. Transportation to the city of Marseilles and other nearby places is proved by frequently running buses, use bus 91 to the city center of Marseilles.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"have always found the staff to be welcoming, polite and helpful"

(France)

Not Verified | It should be pointed out that this airport has 2 terminals which are vastly different and that most of the bad reviews concern terminal MP2 which is used by low-cost companies. I can understand the frustration of some users concerning the threadbare facilities in that terminal. MRS is my local airport and as such I appreciate the efforts the airport management make to offer a service without trying to rip off the user. Personally I do not care about 5 star service and am happy to accept the minimalistic conditions that come with low cost - you get what you pay for. If you are aware of this the shock is not so great. I am very happy to use an airport 1 hour from my home where I can park my car for 2 weeks for €35. I'd rather that than being made to feel like a wallet on legs in London Stansted for a level of comfort which is hardly better than that of Marseille, not to mention the SS style of the security staff at that airport. At Marseille I have always found the staff to be welcoming, polite and helpful and have never been faced with long queues. They have a device which allows shoes to be checked without removing them - I wish other airports would invest in the same equipment. I consider MRS is human sized airport run by human beings who realize that the whole world does not have the means to travel in business class. It is a pleasant change from the UK airports run by fatcats with no consideration for the travelling public - do you recognise yourselves Manchester Airports Group?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Transit at Marseille a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Transit at Marseille a nightmare, no transit lane so have to come out and go back - security only 2 lanes open all parafe passport readers down and no power sockets provided for pax use actually working - disgrace.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude and totally unhelpful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have never experienced such rude and totally unhelpful staff as those scanning the cabin bags at Marseille Airport. One member of staff actually called my 46 year old daughter stupid for no reason. I won't be flying too or from that airport again. Also myself, daughter and son in law went through Terminal 1 baggage check in error and they let us keep the 30mls jars of honey that were given to us as wedding favours the previous day. We then had to go through the correct terminal, which was Terminal 2, where the baggage checkers confiscated the honey. Why the different rules. or were the baggage checkers at Terminal 1 just kinder and decent people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"all facilities were very basic"

(France)

Not Verified | I consider the new terminal 2 building to be no better than a warehouse. The building seems to have been constructed with poor quality materials. It was not particularly clean and all facilities were very basic. Sorry to say I will avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"diabolical customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely diabolical customer service. Minimum staff to perform an operation requiring 4 times the amount of staff. Flights are always delayed and never been offered water, food or any other sort of compensation for standing around with young children. Last time, will use different airport from now.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 78 Reviews