Malta Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 33 reviews
6/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"helpful and well organised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Passenger assistance is the best we have experienced, very polite, helpful and well organised, thank you very much, airport clean, good to see it as drinking water fountain, also impressed free bottles of water on arrival on inbound flight.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"a small standard airport"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Had been flying from LCA to FCO with a layover in MLA. Thr airport is too small for the passengers its serving. It needs more seating areas, we had been delayed with Air Malta and people ended up sleeping on the floor. Airport seems dated and in need of an update. Last major renovation seems to have been done in the 90s. That been said some good restaurants are operating next to the departure gates. Airport staff seems to be unable to handle queries about flight statuses. Overall a small standard airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"will never visit Malta again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | As soon as we spoke with the Luqa airport Info kiosk staff we realized that we would not have any chance to spend our Christmas with our families. Air Malta staff appeared unaware of our redirected flight and were unable to answer our requests for assistance. Malta is connected regularly via ferries and speedy boats to Sicily but the Air Malta staff told us that there would have been an announcement in 20 minutes time. Twenty minutes passed and then 40 and then 1 hour. Passengers were worried, and we started asking for bottles of water and lunch vouchers but they kept saying there would be an announcement in a few minutes. We stood up on our feet for more than 8 hours, we did not drink for more than 5 hours, we did not eat for more than 9 hours, I will never visit Malta again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"a headache on a busy day"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived at this airport late at night with Air Malta. Firstly there are no air bridges but the stand was close to the airport so I just walked off the plane and straight into passport control where I was greeted with the most miserable and slow passport controller. I collected my luggage and left. On departure I experienced big queues at check in, a 2.5 hr delay, quick security which was a bonus but then duty free is nothing special and then when boarding they call you and then we had to wait for the buses to turn up and they only had 1 which had to keep doing the loop once it had dropped the set of passengers off. All in all it’s an ok airport on a quiet day but a headache on a busy day.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"It's new, clean, modern"

(United States)

Unverified | It's new, clean, modern. Sometimes it gets a little crowded during the busy hours and times of years but it's not that bad. Security was amazing and fast! They used a fast technique that airlines are only now testing in the US. There was some renovation happening but it was unnoticeable. There are no gangways but it was fun walking on the tarmac while another plane near you taxi's into the parking spot. There were a lot of shops there as well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"if leaving from Malta Airport, be early"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We had dire warnings, both from this website and from our airline (Jet2), of delays and overcrowding when leaving Malta airport, and to be fair even the airport website gives advice on possibly busy times. Accordingly we allowed extra time for our travel, not particularly convenient when on holiday but better than standing around with hoards of cruise ship passengers. As a result we avoided the delays, although we did notice the airport staff handing out drinks, and the crowded conditions as our flight time got nearer. The terminal is simply not big enough for the number of people now using it, both in terms of seating provision and shops/food outlets. They seem to be carrying out works which may address the problem, but this does not help at present. So the message is, if leaving from Malta Airport, be early!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"highly stressful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | Having previously travelled through Malta Airport many times with no problems and, indeed no worries that there would ever be any issues, I was very distressed to have an unpleasant and highly stressful experience on this occasion. It did not show Malta Airport in a good light. There was a one hour queue to get through security. This was well managed by the airport staff. However the one and a half hour queue to get through passport control was total chaos with no staff even attempting to manage it nor to control allowing those with earlier flights to get through quickly. There were no apologies and many passengers were very distressed. Whilst staff came round with drinks, these were plastic mugs of sticky squash which the many children in the queue split on the floor rendering it a squelchy mess. Then there were not enough buses to get us to our planes and all the planes left late. We gather that this was all because Malta has agreed to allow P&O Cruises to embark and disembark from Malta. The airport simply cannot cope with a sudden influx of 2000 passengers and the whole thing is unacceptable. The airport needs significantly more infrastructure before Malta can allow this.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a rather pleasant development at Malta"

(Norway)

Verified Review | There were enough buses for the passengers to be shuttled from the aircraft to the terminal in comfort (not squeezed in like sardines or cattle). This is a rather pleasant development at Malta. Well-done Aviaserve! At the end of the very short walk (3 minutes at most) to the baggage carousel, my suitcase was already on the belt. This must have been my shortest wait ever to reclaim my checked-in bag and the quickest aircraft seat to airport exit ever!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"highly customer-focused staff"

(Norway)

Verified Review | Wonderful staff throughout Malta Airport. On the other hand, the whole airport is literally bursting at its seams, very crowded, chaotic and very long queues, with some people skipping people the queues in areas where the queues are unattended. The airport lacks an adequate amount of seating, both landside and airside. The airport seems to be aware of the problems as water and soft drinks are being distributed for free (landside) at peak times (there are a few water fountains airside). As long as you check-in very early, you'll be fine. It's a very pleasant airport on the whole with highly customer-focused staff.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"could not physically get to the gate"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The worst airport I have ever encountered. Hundreds of passengers stuck in a bottle neck at passport control, children crying, people having panic attacks and flights delayed, ours by an hour simply because we could not physically get to the gate. No one took charge, flight times came and went but we were stuck. I have never felt so stressed and can honestly say will never return to Malta as the experience was so horrific. A disgrace.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 33 Reviews