Madrid Barajas Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 189 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"tells people to push their own trays"

(Croatia)

Not Verified | I have been to many airports in the world but never have I seen so many unpleasant, unpolite people working at the airport. From the security person who refused to help me, although in 4 in the morning has not much to do to do security control office who tells people to push their own trays.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"it is well cleaned"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | It was midnight and there was a huge number of passengers trying to form a queue to take a taxi in a temperature of 38 degrees. I think it is badly signed and organized, but it is well cleaned from what I could experience and the fast control border check actually works very well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"beautifully designed terminals"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is a massive airport, but very easy to get around pretty quickly. They’re beautifully designed terminals, with lots of shopping and food opportunities. It wasn’t 100% tidy when I was there, but it’s still covid-time, so I cut them some slack. I actually liked being there the hours I had to be there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
1/10

"One of the world’s worst!"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the world’s worst! The majority of the staff that work at the airport are very rude and unhelpful. Never have I been spoken to in such a manner by some of the staff I came across there, absolutely disgusting and I worked in the industry for years. There seems to be no organization here, and obviously very clearly a badly run airport, shame on you management. Madrid deserves better! I’ll avoid this airport like the plague with my future travels.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"living through very special times"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I know terminal 1 is somewhat old and that we are living through very special times, but it would be good to see more seats after security, more shops open (only 1 cafee and duty free) and more cleaning.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"I would recommend it for anyone"

(Puerto Rico)

Not Verified | Madrid Barajas Airport is truly a complex airport. I flew into T4S which recieves all the international Iberia flights (A330s, A350s, A340s). The airport is a bit tricky to navigate but the signs help a lot. The security is somewhat rude is both Barcelona and Madrid airport. I was doing some planespotting and the security told me I couldn't, but it's ok, you're here to arrive and go to the city! The walk time from the gate (It was the most northern gates) to the baggage claim was approximately 30 minutes. The The baggage claim has a modern and sleek design to it. It sure is a large airport. Madrid Barajas Airport is a really complex and large airport, security is a bit rude but I would recommend it for anyone!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"pure contempt for the customer"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived at terminal 4S departing from 4S. A woman at transit security in terminal 4S asked where I was going? I said London, she merely pointed with disdain to go through passport control opposite without bothering to look at my boarding pass. Not convinced I asked a guy in the passport area, he said the same thing. After some downward escalators, it was obviously I was heading for train to Exit/baggage reclaim. A young lady from Iberia agreed I had been misdirected and told me to go back. But no lifts or escalators to go back up - I had to go up 4 storeys of stairs. I was told to go back through the manned passport booths and back to the same security area. I told the woman what she had done wrong. She said nothing, turned and rudely walked away. It would appear that some (possibly most) flights to London do go from other terminals and for those flights her instruction would have been correct. However as a result of lack of training, interest, motivation or any concept of customer (or pure contempt for the customer) she could not be bothered to do her job and check my boarding pass where it clearly had a big S for terminal 4S, and therefore I should go through this security area. Or perhaps it is Madrid airport's failure to provide the bar code scanners you find at security at all other airport security areas that drive the rudeness, incompetence and negligence of their staff. I do not have any idea what the terminal is like because I was on a wild goose chase, courtesy of its staff. So any point is a guess.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Definitely not an international hub"

(Spain)

Not Verified | Cold, no seating, no vegetarian options to eat, unkind clerks. Definitely not an international hub. You will have a very hard time trying to find a chair to rest before the gates.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the people who work in the airport are clueless"

(United States)

Not Verified | Not only is this airport the most dirtiest place I’ve experienced the people who work in the airport are clueless. Something truly needs to be done. This is my second bad experience with this airport and I’ll never fly through here again. Who separates terminals so far apart! Forget your connecting flight if you have one. And the walking is ridiculous! Tell me what is the point in having to go up escalators and down escalators with mile long hall ways. No common sense when building this hole of what you Spaniards call an airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"we expect a little service and kindness"

(Australia)

Not Verified | After reading some awful reviews I expected this airport to be an awful customer experience. Incoming 4s at night was way better than expected. Return domestic out of 4 was good. Lots of services, toilets, water fountains etc. Terminal 4 is about 1km long so wear comfy shoes and arrange assistance if needed. During the day this terminal was pretty busy but I never had to queue for a toilet which is remarkable. It handles the traffic. Allow time though for security and the walking. Outgoing 4s in evening fast through security but the young man yelling at everyone at passport control ruined my experience, and left a bad impression overall. Yes we the users of airports are customers and we expect a little service and kindness (as long as we are not breaking any law). The escalators down and up to access the 4s train are endless and the route to passports and gates circuitous. For first time users it is a little confusing and here’s a tip: yelling and being rude to confused customers is not helpful or very kind. Perhaps some customer service education from the Japanese for who small acts of kindness is a cultural service level. Clearly these people hate their work. If so quit and work where you have no contact with people. We deserve some respect while using your airport and visiting your country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no