Madrid Barajas Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 197 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Horrendous delays at immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrendous delays at immigration due to lack of staff in terminal 4S. It took over 2 hours to get through immigration on arriving, followed by a farcical covid check, adding another 15 minutes. Returning to UK another 45 minutes to get through immigration. So despite Madrid being a stunning city, I would never go there again. There is no where to sit for the 2 hours you are queuing to get into Madrid, and no where to get a drink. Clearly Madrid does not want people to visit their city, as too much time for a long weekend break is spent standing at immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"If at all possible avoid this airport"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | If at all possible avoid this airport which was designed and is operated by total idiots. I have used this airport 4 times and each time was torture. 1) It seems that the airfield was designed to be the world's largest airport and as a consequence aircraft taxi times from gate to the runway can be as long as 30 minutes without any holding. 2) Transfers from one gate to another can entail walking up to 2 miles without moving sidewalks. 3) Most gates are without holding areas so getting to a gate is an obstacle run through all the waiting passengers on the way. 4) There are very few annunciator panels and for many flights these may not indicate the gates until 90 minutes before departure. There are no seats available to wait for the gate information so standing is the only option. 5) Even transit passengers have to go through passport control and that can involve incredibly long lines waiting to enjoy very unfriendly police. 6) After a long wait for the unfriendly immigration, one can enjoy another long wait to go through security. 7) After spending 10 hours sitting 2 inches from a stranger, one is exposed for the entire airport wait with a barrage of loudspeaker announcements every minute emphasizing the importance of social distancing and mask obligation! 8) Don't count on English fluency from airport staff.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very rude unhelpful Ryanair staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is a review of the very rude unhelpful Ryanair staff at this very difficult to navigate airport. The boarding and unboarding of the flight was a disaster. The return journey was my worst experience. The airline staff were actually causing problems with passengers. They showed nothing less than contempt for customers. I have flown Ryanair many times. I appreciate this is a budget airline with basic service to match the price. I do not expect 5 star service however I do expect a professional service and some basic courtesy. There are now some additional checks for Covid-19 related paperwork but this is a situation that should be planned for. The difference in treatment for UK passengers was very obvious. The service Spanish customers received was noticeably better service and this was not nice to see. From first contact with the gate staff it seemed to me the manager/supervisor did not have a positive attitude. Why would someone work in a customer/people facing position with such contempt for people. I know Ryanair demand fast turnaround and that leads to pressure. Other airports can seem to complete this in a decent manner why they cannot do this in Madrid is obviously a manager/supervisor problem.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"it is quite an exhausting experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Walking distances between terminals are enormous with not much mechanical assistance. For somebody a little bit elderly it is quite an exhausting experience as in my case it meant 30 minutes walk which I would say is the what is acceptable here. Duty-free area pretty much okay and the airport is reasonably clean. One very sour-point: a queue of several hundred people to check the compulsory location questionnaire which is completely stupid when it is only transit passengers; the sound all they could were quick and polite but vastly under-staffed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"90 Minutes for luggage delivery"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | After arrival it took 90 Minutes for luggage delivery and in the meantime there was zero info on the screens. Very frustrating.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most badly run airport I have ever had the misfortune to visit"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Madrid Barajas Airport is the most badly run airport I have ever had the misfortune to visit. After Brexit the EU has withdrawn the rights of UK passengers to the use the eGates which means even on relatively short flights from the UK to Spain British passengers now have to queue with all other countries at international border control while those from the EU, Switzerland, Iceland, Norway and Liechtenstein use the eGates and are through in minutes. There are extremely long waiting times for Spanish customs officers to manually process passports. Despite hundreds of passengers in the queue they only have 2 desks open at any one time. Madrid only has one airport and it has put me off flying there for business now I can spend more time going through passport control than I do in the air.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"A very poor experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Attempted transit in Madrid on our way from London to San Sebastian. The immigration queue was 90 minutes long and as a result we, and many others, missed our connections. The 'urgent' flight connections lane doesn't appear to be running and staff were uninterested in helping - 'connections don't get special treatment, speak to your airline'. The subsequent queue at Iberia customer services was so long that we gave up and paid our own way to San Sebastian via coach. A very poor experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Passport Control line that lasted almost 90 minutes!"

(United States)

Not Verified | Airport is quite pretty, but not very functional. There are very long distances to gates. The worst part was arriving after a 9 hour flight to find a Passport Control line that last almost 90 minutes! At 08.30 on a Sunday morning, they only had 4 positions open, despite multiple large planes coming in from North and South America! Then, the boards to tell where bags are located are few and far between. We had to search from Carousel to carousel. I’ll consider connecting at a different European airport and taking the train or a Schengen flight rather than landing here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"tells people to push their own trays"

(Croatia)

Not Verified | I have been to many airports in the world but never have I seen so many unpleasant, unpolite people working at the airport. From the security person who refused to help me, although in 4 in the morning has not much to do to do security control office who tells people to push their own trays.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"it is well cleaned"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | It was midnight and there was a huge number of passengers trying to form a queue to take a taxi in a temperature of 38 degrees. I think it is badly signed and organized, but it is well cleaned from what I could experience and the fast control border check actually works very well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes