Madrid Barajas Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 202 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"I definitely recommend this airport"

(Spain)

Not Verified | Fantastic airport, I really like this airport, it's one of the best airports in Spain, very good service, very nice decoration, I love the multi-color bridge in Terminal 1, passport security for immigration is very fast. I definitely recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"atmosphere was hectic and stressful"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Long queues and the security staff was angry. General atmosphere was hectic and stressful at Terminal 2. If possible, I will avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Complete lack of proper signage"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Returning hire car to Terminal 1 was a disaster, nearly missing my flight as result. Complete lack of proper signage for rental car return carpark. Rental company aware of problem, having pictures and hand made maps with arrows in their office. For this size international airport very poor experience. Sat nav was not in favour also.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Its a disgrace and needs to be fixed"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airport I've seen thanks to staff. I've used this airport a few times and even though the new Terminal 4 is nice, its not the case with Terminal 1 and 2 which are old and not really easy to find your bag sometimes. What is the biggest problem is the level of English amongst staff members, at security or anywhere level is at B1 if you are lucky, A1 for most cases. Worst though is level of immigration officers, when I was traveling back with my fiancé she was stopped as she had issues with her visa and out of 5 officers, none of them could put together even one sentence in English, she does speak, but I don't so was hard to know what is happening, I don't understand how can one of the biggest airport employee people who don't speak English at this position, maybe as a cleaning staff, but that's it. Its a disgrace and needs to be fixed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"doesn’t use electronic gates for non-EU"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Immigration line took 2 hours to go through on arrival and one hour on departure. No electronic check in between Iberia-BA code shared flights so waited an hour to check in in-person. Experience so bad flight delayed as a quarter of passengers couldn’t board plane. The Spanish passport control doesn’t use electronic gates for non-EU since Brexit.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrendous delays at immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrendous delays at immigration due to lack of staff in terminal 4S. It took over 2 hours to get through immigration on arriving, followed by a farcical covid check, adding another 15 minutes. Returning to UK another 45 minutes to get through immigration. So despite Madrid being a stunning city, I would never go there again. There is no where to sit for the 2 hours you are queuing to get into Madrid, and no where to get a drink. Clearly Madrid does not want people to visit their city, as too much time for a long weekend break is spent standing at immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"If at all possible avoid this airport"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | If at all possible avoid this airport which was designed and is operated by total idiots. I have used this airport 4 times and each time was torture. 1) It seems that the airfield was designed to be the world's largest airport and as a consequence aircraft taxi times from gate to the runway can be as long as 30 minutes without any holding. 2) Transfers from one gate to another can entail walking up to 2 miles without moving sidewalks. 3) Most gates are without holding areas so getting to a gate is an obstacle run through all the waiting passengers on the way. 4) There are very few annunciator panels and for many flights these may not indicate the gates until 90 minutes before departure. There are no seats available to wait for the gate information so standing is the only option. 5) Even transit passengers have to go through passport control and that can involve incredibly long lines waiting to enjoy very unfriendly police. 6) After a long wait for the unfriendly immigration, one can enjoy another long wait to go through security. 7) After spending 10 hours sitting 2 inches from a stranger, one is exposed for the entire airport wait with a barrage of loudspeaker announcements every minute emphasizing the importance of social distancing and mask obligation! 8) Don't count on English fluency from airport staff.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very rude unhelpful Ryanair staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is a review of the very rude unhelpful Ryanair staff at this very difficult to navigate airport. The boarding and unboarding of the flight was a disaster. The return journey was my worst experience. The airline staff were actually causing problems with passengers. They showed nothing less than contempt for customers. I have flown Ryanair many times. I appreciate this is a budget airline with basic service to match the price. I do not expect 5 star service however I do expect a professional service and some basic courtesy. There are now some additional checks for Covid-19 related paperwork but this is a situation that should be planned for. The difference in treatment for UK passengers was very obvious. The service Spanish customers received was noticeably better service and this was not nice to see. From first contact with the gate staff it seemed to me the manager/supervisor did not have a positive attitude. Why would someone work in a customer/people facing position with such contempt for people. I know Ryanair demand fast turnaround and that leads to pressure. Other airports can seem to complete this in a decent manner why they cannot do this in Madrid is obviously a manager/supervisor problem.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"it is quite an exhausting experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Walking distances between terminals are enormous with not much mechanical assistance. For somebody a little bit elderly it is quite an exhausting experience as in my case it meant 30 minutes walk which I would say is the what is acceptable here. Duty-free area pretty much okay and the airport is reasonably clean. One very sour-point: a queue of several hundred people to check the compulsory location questionnaire which is completely stupid when it is only transit passengers; the sound all they could were quick and polite but vastly under-staffed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"90 Minutes for luggage delivery"

(Austria)

Trip Verified | After arrival it took 90 Minutes for luggage delivery and in the meantime there was zero info on the screens. Very frustrating.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no