Lyon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"2 hours by the gate hungry"

(France)

Trip Verified | Once you pass the passport control, which there is no indication as you are entering a desert, they bring you to the gates where there is absolutely nothing to eat, or drink, no bar , no cafe, nothing. It is France, but feels like you are travelling from a third world country. The staff are so rude with no explanation as why I can not go back to grab a sandwich! And they don't care if you wait for 2 hours by the gate hungry with a vending machine that has drinks only.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"impossible to find charging"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is impossible to find a charging station for mobile phones They only have regular European electric plugs. They need to install for international traveller's that are not equipped with 220 electric adapters.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"a good airport for connections"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Lyon St-Exupery airport serves primarily the city of Lyon and the region of Rhônes-Alpes in the center east of France. This airport has a train station which connects some cities of France as well as tramway that connects the city center. This airport can be a good option for connecting flights as it offers a good choice of flights mostly to Europe. This airport had recently an expansion of terminal 1 which is nice and modern. However the wating time for security lines is very long. Also there's a passport control even for Shengen flights which I find odd for an airport. The airport staff is fine probably more friendly than the ones of Paris CDG airport. There's a good range of shops and restaurants after security. Overall besides the security lines Lyon airport is a good airport for connections but give yourself enough time for that. I recomend at least 2 hours if you are not check in and have bags to claim.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"A consistently bad experience"

(France)

Not Verified | After a previous episode for which departure was delayed by 45 minutes because the luggage was not delivered to the plane, today flight was delayed for late arrival of the fuel truck. This airport is run like a mom-and-pop operation except that the ground staff looks overburden and lies about delays. A consistently bad experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no management skills"

(Italy)

Not Verified | Worst experience I had in an airport. They took away all the cheese I had bought for my family with no explanation, because in the whole airport there's nobody who ever bothered to learn English. They will continue to speak to you in French even if you repeatedly said you can't understand them. Rude staff and no management skills.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude staff and ill thought-out procedures"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | New airport let down by rude staff and ill thought-out procedures. 1) Despite checking into a BA flight, the check-in lady refused to speak English with me. 2) Unlike all other airports I've visited around the world, the Airport Lounge ('Mont Blanc') is after the final passport gate check. This means once you go to the lounge there is no way to return to shops, restaurants or other members of your flying party who have not yet passed this final point. When I questioned this I was met with a mixture of indifference and ridicule by the gate staff.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"incompetent management"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The beautiful new Lyon airport is a real let down. Understaffed, poor processes and incompetent management. We arrived two hours before our flight at a quiet time of day but it took all of this time to get through security. The queue barely moved. Staff were lost. Management swooped in with their floor length black woollen jackets and had no answers. Adjustments that were made to queues just allowed some to jump ahead of others. Real incompetence all around.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff highly unpleasant and incompetent"

(France)

Trip Verified | Juste une horreur, nous n'avons jamais croisé pire que celui-ci, en tout. Mal fait, mal conçu, pour s'y rendre c'est un cauchemar, les gens stagnent partout car tout le monde se perd, les terminaux sont éparpillés n'importe comment, le personnel hautement désagréable et incompétent, la douane est longue, toujours deux ou trois personnes pour plusieurs avions entiers (l'automatique ne marche toujours pas), l’aérogare est tres sale, les toilettes aussi, les débarquement des bagages est simplement le plus long que j'ai jamais vu, jusqu'à 30 minutes après le passage de la douane. Toujours une excuse pour ne pas répondre aux réclamations de toutes sortes, ne perdez pas votre temps à aller voir le personnel. Pour la sécurité, le même genre, grossiers et poussifs. - Just a horror, we never crossed worse than this one, in all. Badly done, poorly designed, to get there is a nightmare, people are stagnant everywhere because everyone gets lost, the terminals are scattered anyhow, the staff highly unpleasant and incompetent, the customs are long, always two or three people for several planes (the automatic still does not work), the terminal is very dirty, the toilets too, the unloading of luggage is just the longest I have ever seen, up to 30 minutes after the passage of the customs. Always an excuse not to respond to complaints of any kind, do not waste your time going to see the staff. For safety, the same kind, coarse and cramped.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"easy transit and nice facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | 50 minute wait, easy transit and nice facilities, pleasant staff, no problems! Bit cold at departure gate but only there for a few minutes so it wasn’t an issue.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"parking is way too expensive"

(France)

Not Verified | The parking is way too expensive. I paid 16.40 € for less than 1h15 min in front of the terminal 1b parking. This is stealing. Incredible greediness. Also having traveled a lot from here I can say that the staff is not here to help. They are always away. Signs are not visible enough. They had changed the arrival gate I had to just walk around for 10min to find it. Food and drinks expensive as always. Airports online CM rude to my online complaints.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no