Lyon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 103 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"incompetent management"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The beautiful new Lyon airport is a real let down. Understaffed, poor processes and incompetent management. We arrived two hours before our flight at a quiet time of day but it took all of this time to get through security. The queue barely moved. Staff were lost. Management swooped in with their floor length black woollen jackets and had no answers. Adjustments that were made to queues just allowed some to jump ahead of others. Real incompetence all around.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff highly unpleasant and incompetent"

(France)

Trip Verified | Juste une horreur, nous n'avons jamais croisé pire que celui-ci, en tout. Mal fait, mal conçu, pour s'y rendre c'est un cauchemar, les gens stagnent partout car tout le monde se perd, les terminaux sont éparpillés n'importe comment, le personnel hautement désagréable et incompétent, la douane est longue, toujours deux ou trois personnes pour plusieurs avions entiers (l'automatique ne marche toujours pas), l’aérogare est tres sale, les toilettes aussi, les débarquement des bagages est simplement le plus long que j'ai jamais vu, jusqu'à 30 minutes après le passage de la douane. Toujours une excuse pour ne pas répondre aux réclamations de toutes sortes, ne perdez pas votre temps à aller voir le personnel. Pour la sécurité, le même genre, grossiers et poussifs. - Just a horror, we never crossed worse than this one, in all. Badly done, poorly designed, to get there is a nightmare, people are stagnant everywhere because everyone gets lost, the terminals are scattered anyhow, the staff highly unpleasant and incompetent, the customs are long, always two or three people for several planes (the automatic still does not work), the terminal is very dirty, the toilets too, the unloading of luggage is just the longest I have ever seen, up to 30 minutes after the passage of the customs. Always an excuse not to respond to complaints of any kind, do not waste your time going to see the staff. For safety, the same kind, coarse and cramped.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"easy transit and nice facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | 50 minute wait, easy transit and nice facilities, pleasant staff, no problems! Bit cold at departure gate but only there for a few minutes so it wasn’t an issue.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"parking is way too expensive"

(France)

Not Verified | The parking is way too expensive. I paid 16.40 € for less than 1h15 min in front of the terminal 1b parking. This is stealing. Incredible greediness. Also having traveled a lot from here I can say that the staff is not here to help. They are always away. Signs are not visible enough. They had changed the arrival gate I had to just walk around for 10min to find it. Food and drinks expensive as always. Airports online CM rude to my online complaints.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"police control is appalling"

(France)

Trip Verified | The new terminal is a real improvement but the police control is appalling. Half of what we pay for our ticket goes in taxes, so we would expect not to be treated as cattle. The lines are just absurdly long and nobody seems to care. The automated biometric passport control has been deactivated with the excuse that there are not enough qualified officers to man it. I suggest that those in charge of these operations buy themselves a ticket to visit airports in a country where automated passport control works. Security has its own problems too with rules changing from one day to the next and agents occasionally yelling at you. The announcements in English on the loudspeaker are made with such a thick French accent that one wonders whether they are really made to be understood by international travelers. The fast lane is closed. The train shuttle is an expensive joke with no room for suitcases and the frequency rarely respected. Lyon cannot attract tourists and business if that state of chaos persists in its airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is very disorganized"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | The worst thing is the staff and the security check. The airport is very disorganized, they have far too many staff for nothing, I can see they were 'trained' to do something, but it is all against how things should work. It feels like they try to invent the airport service without considering all the experience other airports had, it just goes against any logic. With the liquids every week is a different rule, today they put into the trash a Coulommiers and a Reblochon cheese because they said it was not allowed?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is very disorganized"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | In the last year I have used the Lyon Saint Exupery almost every week, for both departure and arrivals. I am a business traveler, sometimes economy, sometimes business class. I had used both terminals, 2 is older and smaller, but far better organized. When moved to new terminal, was expecting an improvement, but I was wrong. The worst is the staff and the security check. The airport is very disorganized, they have far too much staff for nothing, I can see they were “trained” to do something, but it is all against how things should work. It feels like they try to invent the airport service without considering all the experience other airports had, it just goes against any logic. The round conveyor is stupid. There is a staff member arranging people in line, telling which line to follow even when it is visible the other lines had fewer people. But he has been told “2 people in each line” and that’s what he does it. If I did not have this paid guy, I could have chosen better the line to follow. So, if you are unlucky, you get the busiest track. Once you arrive at the conveyor, if you are unlucky again, you are at the far end and everyone else will put their trays before you and in between your stuff. Last time I had to wait 20 min for my last tray, because the people behind me were putting their stuff in front. Every week I hear different rules: only cosmetics on one tray, cosmetics and computer on one tray, sometimes my cosmetics bag is not allowed (it respects the rules), sometimes I have to take off my shoes (same shoes), sometimes shoes must be alone on the tray. And if you are totally unlucky you get the line where they test for explosives every single luggage. Then you can easily spend 2 hours. It is useless if you mention you miss the flight, nobody cares. And the cherry on the cake: if you fly back to Germany, sometimes you get your passport check, sometimes not, depending on the gate assigned. I also had fast track/business ticket, but I ended up in the same queue and other people from economy where moved in front. There is so much stress for nothing, especially when you are a business traveler and every minute counts, you do not want to spend 2-3 hours queuing - they should reconsider how to organize this security check area!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Departure was a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | No issues on arrival. No queues and unlike Manchester you get your Euro back when you return your baggage trolley. Departure was a joke. The checkin staff for a small aircraft could not have been slower if they had tried. Queue only had about 50 people in front of us and they took 45 minutes to process them. We then had a long walk back to the departure gates which are in the new part of the terminal - check in was in the old part. No big queue at security and as such was a far more pleasant experience than at Manchester. The new airport is soulless. Just one huge shop then directed upstairs to departures from Gates C. Warning if you are going up there to any Gate starting with C there are no shops, cafes or anything and hardly any facilities to buy water etc. We resorted to a vending machine. The whole place just seems disorganised and lacking in facilities, seating and ambience. The old airport Terminal 1 was so much better. The shop was virtually empty of people unlike the departure areas.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"disaster of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A disaster of an airport, at least the “new” terminal 1 used by BA. It took an hour to get through passport control on arrival, with only 2 desks open for multiple flights. Departure was worse - huge queues for security, then passport control was so bad we weren’t even allowed to join the queue until after our flight was supposed to leave, and then took another hour of queuing to get through the 2 open desks. At departure time only 20 people were at the gate. I would choose to fly an hour’s drive than risk flying through here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"don't know what the word service means"

(France)

Not Verified | Terminal 1, where Lufthansa takes off, is a newly built airport. During the last 6 months I had to fly from this terminal 14 times and I detected such a lot of problems, never seen in a new airport before. Here are a few: At the passport check they forgot to install an air con which works, the check in agents are very unfriendly and rough. The floor is dirty if you look into the corners, the toilets are dirty. The english of the check in agents is very bad, at some check in terminals the printer doesn't work. If you have a handicap and you want to go upstairs, try to find the elevator. If you have to wait in the entrance hall for somebody who will arrive you can't sit down because there are only a few seats. There are no interesting shops, the queues at the restaurants are long and the restaurants are not very well organized with only one ore two agents in the rush hours. The signs in the entrance hall are only for younger people, if you are older you have to go in front of the signs to read, I think in France they don't know what the word service means and this Terminal is a bad example.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no