Lyon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 127 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"All in all a mess!"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Ankunft war ok, Gepäckausgabe war zügig. Das große aber… der Abflug. Check-in (gepäck Aufgabe!) 35 Min warte Zeit trotz aller Schalter besitzt! Und anschließend 1,5 std warten auf die Sicherheitskontrolle!! Hätte unser Flugzeug nicht gewartet. Wären wir vermutlich noch immer in Lyon! Das Personal genervt und unstrukturiert! Alles im Allen ein Durcheinander! - Arrival was ok, baggage claim was quick. But the big thing… the departure. Check-in (luggage check-in!) 35 min waiting time despite having all the counters! And then 1.5 hours waiting for the security check!! Wouldn't have waited for our plane. If we were probably still in Lyon! The staff annoyed and unstructured! All in all a mess!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"A bad experience"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | A bad experience: the information desk officer (busy chatting with friends) did not speak or understand english, words like ‘security’ ‘take-off’ and ‘departure’ did not register with the old, uninterested chap. Security was a slow, chatty and passive/aggressive experience with my daughter (7 years old) asked in a aggressive and loud/yelling manner (in French off course) whether she had packed any electronics and staff reacting badly to me (her father) answering on her behalf. Slow, unprofessional staff, poor information at gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"worst airport I have experienced"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Lyon Airport a terminal 1 was the worst airport I have experienced. Signage for rental car return almost non existent. Shuttle bus from rental car was shocking, jerking all over the place, retarder of the bus was to the max and everyone was falling and dirty. In entering the terminal the temperature at 1830 24 April was 31 degrees Celsius. Checkin was ok by emirates. Security is unlike any other airport in 2022, belts off and lap tops out! Facilities, eateries; again non existent. One place to buy food Brioche Doree, there was plenty of others but they were closed. An international airport 1830 at night during the school holidays! (Who contracts these eateries?)
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most shambolic airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This was by far the most shambolic airport experience I have ever had the misfortune of going through. The whole ordeal of getting our flight from start to finish was awful. Despite arriving for our flight with ample time to get through bag drop, oversized baggage (we were travelling with skis) security and border control, the staff at Lyon airport were exceptionally slow, obtuse and unhelpful, sometimes to the extent that it felt like they were purposefully trying to do so. The queue for security was especially distressing- other travellers were brought forward to skip the queue, despite the fact that our flight was due to depart before some of those other passengers. Several times we asked to be fast tracked to no avail, we were told 'timing is not an issue, don't worry'. Staff making announcements to the queue was only made in French, so we had no way of finding out if our flight was being fast tracked. Announcements made over tannoys were so quiet that we couldn't hear what was being said. Once we got through all of these hurdles the gate had closed and flight had left without us. Trying to get anyone at the airport to help us to make a replacement journey was terrible, staff were unable or unwilling to engage with us at all. This is the second time I have used this airport and the first time was just as slow, I will actively avoid using Lyon airport for any future travel.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"terrible experience all around"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff was mean from start to finish, they blocked every single bag in security and ended up justifying my case because of a calculator that apparently counted as an electronic device that needed to be removed even though it was not even a graphical calculator. It was a terrible experience all around, they wasted 2 hours of my time, next time I’d rather drive to another city than take this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"incredible and no-sense security check"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My family and I arrived with 2 hours and 30 minutes ahead of our flight and had to run to the gate because of incredible and no-sense security check! The agent was awful, voluntary slow and even with a newborn my wife had to throw away the water because we will have missed our flight if we had to wait an additional check. This company has to be fired.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Covid test centre is a disorganized disaster"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Lyon Airport Covid test centre is a disorganized disaster. Yesterday I queued for 4hr 12min to get a "rapid" antigen test. There is no way to book online, just turn up and join the queue. I ended up missing my flight and having to book, and pay for, a later one. The delay seems largely due to the lack of a booking system, each passenger has to have their details entered by one staff member on a laptop, then wait for one of the 2 testers to perform the test. Strangely the local police continually bring people in in handcuffs to be tested and they get to jump the queue. The family of 5 in front of me had to pay in 5 separate credit card payments, which doesn't exactly speed up the torturously slow process. This was on the 5th of December, a Sunday, but before ski season, so still a very quiet day at the airport compared to previous times I've been through Lyon.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a dirty place"

(France)

Trip Verified | First of all, a dirty place. Toilets were below the worst toilets I ever seen. Most of them had no paper, smell was unbearable, tartar everywhere, brown spots. Security process was stupid and extremely slow, with aggressive employees, probably stress. Most of the stores are closed, Some opening after 10:00 AM!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Unprofessional, unpleasant, arrogant"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Unprofessional, unpleasant, arrogant, abusing their pathetic position and incompetent … the only positive thing is they didn’t had guns or they would have probably felt even more in power !
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Ground Staff so unhelpful"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Unfortunately, we found the Ground Staff in Lyon Airport (LYS) to be so unhelpful. We asked for assistance but were just met with attitude! It felt like they were bitter towards everyone because they had to work whilst the passengers were enjoying their travels.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes