London Stansted Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 849 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"no-one around to monitor or rectify"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Fast Track security had queues longer than the normal route but no-one around to monitor or rectify. Men's toilet cubicles once through security were all out of order. The endless shops that then follow with no escape route from the overcrowded single route invoke a lack of control and came close to invoking claustrophobia. The next set of toilets were well hidden, and had 15 men queueing for the few cubicles. Clearly inadequate provision. The Quiet Seating Area, though hidden behind an unmarked door, is an oasis of calm and how I'd prefer my airport experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"facility is dangerously congested"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Arrived from Spain and next day depart to Paphos. Entire facility is dangerously congested and is certainly in its current condition not fit for purpose. There is no passenger traffic control or policing of the crowds. I witnessed two young men with a very large canoe shaped item that they put on the floor in front of the main exit at arrivals. This was causing mayhem, no one came to sort out the problem. I would advise anyone to avoid this awful experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I flew into Stansted, arriving late afternoon and my experience of the airport seems very different from that of most reviewers. The baggage was unloaded swiftly and was on the carousel before the passengers got there. Passport control was speedy and efficient too ~ the staff were helpful and pleasant. Altogether a good experience. Admittedly I didn’t fly out of the airport and judging from reviews this is where the real problems are.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"A horrible start to a holiday"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A horrible start to a holiday. I am a regular traveller through Heathrow T5 but this was a new and very unpleasant experience. The whole place is overcrowded and the overcrowding is made worse by the incursion of the retail units into the people traffic flow. If one were in a hurry or running late it would be a nightmare. The snaking path through the shops to reach the gates is far too narrow for the vast numbers of passengers travelling. There are inadequate numbers of toilets with too few stalls to cope with this traffic volume. I'm not used to queuing in a men's toilet and so chose to leave the first but the second was as bad. Because of the traffic through it, it was not adequately maintained or clean enough either.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"an absolute rip off"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Never write reviews but here’s a a very short and sweet summary. Signage to meet and greet virtually non existent on roads entering the airport, so easy to take a wrong turning in an attempt to find it. Checking in was very quick and painless. Duty free an absolute rip off, way more expensive than any shops or supermarkets outside the airport. I didn’t and wouldn’t buy anything. Lots of places to eat but again an absolute rip off, £40 for a burger and chips, wrap and chips and 2 glasses of coke! £2 for a small bottle of Ribena in WHSmith and they have the audacity to ask you for a boarding pass! Also had to buy the wife a charging cable for her phone in Dixon’s, nearly £20 for a very cheap cable and again asked for boarding pass! Unfortunately booked here again in July but going forward will never use this airport again, an absolute rip off, owners clearly profiteering. Not enough seating whilst in the departure lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avoid if you can"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Overcrowded. Feels like a cross between Ikea and a busy department store on a Saturday. Insufficient seating. Security was chaos. Too much floor space has been given to retail units with passenger flow/experience clearly secondary. My experience had I had my young children with me would have been even worse. Use it if you have to but avoid if you can. Heathrow T2 and T5 are infinitely better places to spend time.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"must be very poorly motivated"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very specific comment about e-Passport lanes. The airport was not busy (at 1620) and there were about 5 people at each e-Passport lane. two supervisors/lane marshals (not too sure what their role is!) - Four of the lanes starting building up, and the lady supervisor did nothing - people asked if there was a problem - she ignored them - she then clambered up on the gates to have a look at the operators (I assume they look at screen match passports and open the gate) - one guy was working normally (I got through easily one of his lanes), but to the left there was clearly a problem - two operators were having a bit of a domestic, I think regarding changeover. Once this was resolved the new operator ignored her work and continued to complain the the guy operating normally who ignored her and carried on. People, including me, were congregating on the land side of the gates waiting for partners family members caught by the standstill. No member of the public was getting angry just enquiries as to whether there was an issue, and to let the people stuck know and move them to other queues. The supervisor started shouting at passengers, ignoring the situation at hand, and did absolutely nothing to resolve the situation. The operator causing the hold up eventually (more than 5 minutes later) turned back to her screen and started work. The passengers had mostly moved to other queues. The point of my complaint - I felt sorry and embarrassed for the staff - they clearly have no leadership or training in how to manage situations - this was not a problem of lack of resource or too many passengers, just a straightforward failure of people to do their jobs in wholly normal circumstances - they created the problem For that to happen they must be very poorly motivated, trained and led - that can and should be addressed.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrendous from start to finish"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrendous from start to finish out and in bound. Dirty floors, poor choice food and drink for size and traffic of it. Worst bit was the wait time at security and passport control on way back in. See the picture. It is unbelievably bad. Poor for kids in particular. Staff didn't seem overly happy bunch. Grossly understaffed and clearly lacking leadership. Worst airport experience ever in both UK and overseas by a mile. And I've been to some bad ones. Avoid. It's just not worth it. I will never use again. Life is too short to tolerate this sort of experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is hopelessly overcrowded"

(Gibraltar)

Trip Verified | I have made a solemn vow never to travel through this airport again. Arrived in plenty of time, about an hour and a bit before the flight, had fast track pass. Thought I was all sorted. Little did I know that they had two octogenarian security staff (hey, I’m all for equal opportunities but) who were swabbing over 50% of what was passing through the scanners. So after a thirty minute wait (in fast track!) finally it is my turn to have my bag swabbed. Painful to watch, in same way their arthritis must be painful. After running through the airport at top speed (very slow, since the airport is hopelessly overcrowded and the shops are an actual assault course) then waiting for the shuttle (very irregular and slow) I am pleased to say I made it as the last person on the plane. Oh but of course my bag had to go in the hold, but not a disaster as such.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No staff in area explaining"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived 7th March at Stansted., 23:30hrs from Tenerife. Big build up at service trains to take from runway area to Baggage recall. First view was a stuck message board saying train due in 2 minutes. That 2 minutes never changed. Coming down the escalator there was a backup queue of people at least 10 deep. Almost no room to leave the escalator. Waited. No train. No change in sign information. No staff in area explaining. Then a Tannoy. Train problems. These took about 20 mins to resolve before I shoe-horned onto one, whilst waiting queue pushers resulted in a baby pushed over. Foul language and arguments arose from it. Again no staff. CCTV would have been able to see and react to the chaos but no-one was sent. No information messages relayed either. This resulted in numerous arrival planes backing up behind us, which meant the epassport area was grid-locked. Hardly any staff. 30 epassport booths, only 8 open. Rude staff at epassports. Welcome to Stansted. This is not my first bad experience of Stansted. Shambles describes it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no