London Stansted Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 854 reviews
2/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"hardly anywhere to eat or sit"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Normally just rude, unhelpful security area and passport control staff, now hardly anywhere to eat or sit whilst building work being done. I travel lot from Scotland to Italy and try to avoid this place, it’s pretty miserable, but sometimes with connections there is no option.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude and arrogant people"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My review is about the security team. What rude and arrogant people they are. We queued to put our belongings in the trays, and then waited to go through the X-ray machine. When myself, husband and two children arrived at the X-ray machine we were shouted at by a lady who can only be described as a matron! "Urgh, why are you wearing your jackets?" We had hooded sweaters on by the way, "Get back and put them in a tray!" She was so rude but there was nobody to complain to. What a shambles and what a horrible start to anyone's holiday. There were no signs telling us to remove our sweaters and the other staff didn't mention it either. We then had to queue again by which time she had moved to bag checking. I understand it's a stressful job but suck it up lady, you don't need to be rude and obnoxious to people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport we visit"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We use lots of different airports but this is head and shoulders the worst airport we visit. The waiting time to get through security on departure and the passport controls on arrivals are a joke. Half the e-readers for passports are not working at any one time and every time I have arrived its been a minimum of 20 mins wait being shunted while rude staff bark orders. The departure lounge has nowhere near enough seating and the seats are uncomfortable. The place is a joke of an airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff were extremely rude and unhelpful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Where do I start, I had been checking for the gate number for ages, once this showed I went straight to the gate to then be pushed and shoved by loads of people all trying to get on to the same train. Once everyone was on this train finally, the train broke down (Stansted fault)! All passengers were advised to get of the train and wait for assistance. No staff come. Was then told everyone had to go down a 5 people lift as this was the only way to get back downstairs, once half of the people went down by lift, we was then suddenly advised there was actually another way by going down stairs, which should of been said in the first place. Was told Ryanair are aware of the fault with the train and will wait. Did this happen? No the flight had took off already leaving over 30-50 people missing their flight. Had to wait over 1 hour to reclaim baggage where the staff were extremely rude and unhelpful. Then had to queue for over a hour again at customer services which was then told no other flights are available and was given a sheet of people to complain as they wont do anything else! I have taken Stansted to watch dog and I will to many other places as I will be fighting for a full refund which they have refused. I would never recommend Stansted and would never return specially after reading reviews on here!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"What a terrible experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What a terrible experience this airport has become especially if arriving in the early hours. Flight delayed on arrival, had to sit on the runway as no staff to open doors. Passport control queues enormous. Slow baggage reclaim. Toilets disgusting, unclean and unattended. Just arrived from Turkey where the facilities put Stansted to shame. If you can't cope with the flights why do you carry on extending them.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"no-one around to monitor or rectify"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Fast Track security had queues longer than the normal route but no-one around to monitor or rectify. Men's toilet cubicles once through security were all out of order. The endless shops that then follow with no escape route from the overcrowded single route invoke a lack of control and came close to invoking claustrophobia. The next set of toilets were well hidden, and had 15 men queueing for the few cubicles. Clearly inadequate provision. The Quiet Seating Area, though hidden behind an unmarked door, is an oasis of calm and how I'd prefer my airport experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"facility is dangerously congested"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Arrived from Spain and next day depart to Paphos. Entire facility is dangerously congested and is certainly in its current condition not fit for purpose. There is no passenger traffic control or policing of the crowds. I witnessed two young men with a very large canoe shaped item that they put on the floor in front of the main exit at arrivals. This was causing mayhem, no one came to sort out the problem. I would advise anyone to avoid this awful experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a good experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I flew into Stansted, arriving late afternoon and my experience of the airport seems very different from that of most reviewers. The baggage was unloaded swiftly and was on the carousel before the passengers got there. Passport control was speedy and efficient too ~ the staff were helpful and pleasant. Altogether a good experience. Admittedly I didn’t fly out of the airport and judging from reviews this is where the real problems are.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"A horrible start to a holiday"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A horrible start to a holiday. I am a regular traveller through Heathrow T5 but this was a new and very unpleasant experience. The whole place is overcrowded and the overcrowding is made worse by the incursion of the retail units into the people traffic flow. If one were in a hurry or running late it would be a nightmare. The snaking path through the shops to reach the gates is far too narrow for the vast numbers of passengers travelling. There are inadequate numbers of toilets with too few stalls to cope with this traffic volume. I'm not used to queuing in a men's toilet and so chose to leave the first but the second was as bad. Because of the traffic through it, it was not adequately maintained or clean enough either.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
2/10

"an absolute rip off"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Never write reviews but here’s a a very short and sweet summary. Signage to meet and greet virtually non existent on roads entering the airport, so easy to take a wrong turning in an attempt to find it. Checking in was very quick and painless. Duty free an absolute rip off, way more expensive than any shops or supermarkets outside the airport. I didn’t and wouldn’t buy anything. Lots of places to eat but again an absolute rip off, £40 for a burger and chips, wrap and chips and 2 glasses of coke! £2 for a small bottle of Ribena in WHSmith and they have the audacity to ask you for a boarding pass! Also had to buy the wife a charging cable for her phone in Dixon’s, nearly £20 for a very cheap cable and again asked for boarding pass! Unfortunately booked here again in July but going forward will never use this airport again, an absolute rip off, owners clearly profiteering. Not enough seating whilst in the departure lounge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no