London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 1185 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"It is not easy to move"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Milan to Abu Dhabi on Nov 7th and Muscat to Milan on Nov 22nd, both routes via Heathrow terminal 5. It seems that the respect of the passengers is not the goal of this airport: two connections and two changes, at the very last moment, of the gate already shown on the dislpay are intolerable indeed. It is not easy to move, with cabin luggages, from T5A to T5B/T5C or vice versa, considering that the transit train stops are different, not to mention the lifts and the long hallways to go on foot. My cousin is 85 years old and he walks with a limp, I haven't seen any horizontal escalators there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"Extremely dissatisfied"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff at this airport are extremely rude. They don’t know how to treat passengers. Just because they have a little bit of power they outright take advantage of it. Extremely dissatisfied.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"incredibly rude"

(South Africa)

Trip Verified | Security at terminal 5 in transit is incredibly rude. Although you have been checked at your departure point, they try to find something to make you miss your flight. You get yelled at for trying to pass with the amenity kit provided on the previous BA flight. Heaven forbid that you have an artificial knee: you are treated like a criminal and get the full search.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"had our eyes scanned three times"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Horrible staff, slow, cant be bothered attitude. My wife and i used LHR few times a year for many years for trips around the globe but after Dublin became more accessible and more airlines came there we stopped using LHR which was a thorn in our previous journeys. October BA had a sale so we decided to go with it, but now we have four young children 7 down to 2. Most countries have airport facilities to help families with stress of security etc but we where shocked at staff in Heathrow, it was if we where a burden and should not be there. We had our eyes scanned three times before getting on the plane.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolute hellhole"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Absolute hellhole. Had to use Terminal 3 both ways and it seems even more congested and disturbing than before. Nonsense security, metal detecting forever for nothing (little clips in the trousers, which I pointed immediately)asked a million times if I have something in the pockets despite turning them upside down already. I wanted to take scissors and cut my trousers to pieces and ask are you happy now? Had to drag my big pack back and forth because of "bulky cargo" apparently. In the end, back to the original belt which seemed to carry my pack after all. Idiots! And even in the lounge, waiting for your gate, it's like torture sitting there constantly bumped, you can't find a place to eat nicely, too much noise for any relaxation whatsoever and incredibly bad air quality. Buses to Gatwick are too expensive and kind of slow too. Terminal 5 perhaps better but a chaos still, based on previous experiences. This was pretty much my only option to go direct from Europe to my destination, otherwise I wouldn't have come through here. Now I regret even that decision. Would have been better to fly to U.S. from somewhere else and take it further from there( Miami, Atlanta etc) , to the caribbean region. Worst airport ever to connect. Nothing is easy, or simple, or improving your athmosphere of travelling.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"crowded train to the main terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Like most BA planes we arrived at a satellite then had to descend into a deep hell hole basement to wait 30 minutes for a crowded train to the main terminal, this is an incredible bad design who on earth worked out such a wasteful and inconvenient layout? At least the baggage had arrived before us.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no idea what good service is"

(United States)

Not Verified | After travelling to Heathrow via British Airways, we feel they have no idea what "good service" is for the disabled. We were treated like children. Over-protected and under-served. They took away our boarding passes, our us is an out-of-the-way spot with no food, drink, no clock, no display of the flights, and a bored employee. No access to shopping, nor to duty-free. On top of that, I had to stand and wait for wheelchair help and ride buses for long distances. Flight attendants were friendly. I did not like Heathrow.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"90 mins to transit from T3 to T5"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | Just had a poor experience at the airport, took 90 mins to transit from T3 to T5. Travellers had to queue in line under hot airblowers for busses. Everyone was sweating and airport staff were not able to switch off the heating. Lots of travellers were missing their connecting flights
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"let down by the security staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The architecture at Heathrow Airport is wonderful. Open spaces, airy and clean. It's very High-Tech and nearly there with Dubai Airport in terms of aesthetics. Their security staff at Arrivals and Departures are very miserable and rude to the point where they can make you cry/have a panic attack. What they seem to forget that it is a customer facing role as well as protecting the airport. You get shouted at for being overwhelmed by the whole queue line and they are very good at making you feel like a criminal. But the duty free is excellent, with good shops and restaurants. The Harry Potter shop is very nice. It's like going to a premium shopping mall. All other staff are quite friendly (Immigration, Check in, Presentation, Airline Staff etc). It's let down by the security staff. More halal options could be introduced in the food areas but it is a pleasant airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"have not seen queues and chaos like it"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Truly terrible at all stages. Arrived at terminal two with plenty of time already checked in online. Told I had to use the check in system to print luggage tags despite being checked in. Computerised check in system didn’t accept my booking reference which had been successfully accepted for me to book in online. Ushered to checkin helpdesk. Two desks out of around 6 open with around 30-40 in the queue. No apology for long long delay through slow service and lack of desks. Security was even worse. I have not seen queues and chaos like it. Closing the initial gates before security splitting travelling families and colleagues apart. Then really really long queues with unopened security belts. Exceedingly poor. I would recommend turning up a mim of 3 hours before
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no