London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 985 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"It was a real meat grinder"

(United States)

Not Verified | Went through Heathrow both ways between US and Portugal. It was a real meat grinder. Queueing up for a 10-15 minute bus ride between terminals. Then being hustled into queues to go through a second security screening. Basically 200 people, 5 screaming airline workers (that'll do pig) and one person servicing the queue. Terminal 3, the disgusting, twisting pipe of commercial shops with it's rank smell of perfume that we were forced to walk through to our boarding gate was surreal.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"this is beyond a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have now been waiting for special assistance for my aunt who landed 1 hour and 25 minutes ago from Cairo. Ask me why it is taking so long but this is beyond a joke.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Staff shortages everywhere"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It’s just a disgrace that an airport like Heathrow operates this badly. Staff shortages everywhere, resulting in really annoying and long queues. A lot of investment needed to upgrade this airport. This applies at least to Terminal 3 and 5.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"I will avoid Heathrow if possible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrived Heathrow on Oct 22, 2022, on British Airways flight 675 at 10:20AM. Transferred to Terminal 3 by bus to catch my American Airlines flight. Bus driver was surly and unhelpful. Entered Terminal 3 through security station 6. Absolute worst attitudes of any security personnel I have encountered anywhere in the world. First person I ran into in the line to the security point was a man who spoke poor English and screamed at passengers who could not understand what he wanted us to do. I have never seen anything like it. I can't believe management allows this to go on. His directions to get ready for the x-ray machine were unintelligible and confusing, and then he got furious when we couldn't understand his poorly worded and unintelligible instructions. The x-ray operator appeared to deliberately slow everything down and likewise displayed a poor attitude. I was returning from a trip to Athens and Greece where the security personnel were pleasant and efficient. Not so London. In the future I will avoid Heathrow if possible.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"should be a level of Dante’s hell"

(United States)

Not Verified | London Heathrow should be a level of Dante’s hell. Yes, it’s the worst and longest walk to connecting flights on the planet, but have you ever done it on CRUTCHES? I have. The second security line, the toothpaste in a baggie, the rude and surly staff, the elevators and trains and broken equipment, the whole nine yards. Naturally, the wheelchair I asked for was not at the gate. I asked for a wheelchair from someone, and was told I didn’t have time. I guess I did have time to hobble three miles to gate 47, though.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"left in the WC assistance lounge"

(United States)

Not Verified | My elderly mother who cannot walk, was left in the WC assistance lounge, which was totally mismanaged with very poor coordination. Despite reminding the staff multiple times that her flight was getting boarded and she needs to get to the gate to board her connecting flight, the staff was very rude, and had a laid back attitude. Eventually they dropped her to Gate 16, instead of her Gate 22, 20 minutes before flight departure, and causing her to hobble with her cane and carryon baggage to the correct gate, so that she would not miss her flight, making her the last person to board the flight. I understand that some may use WC for convenience, however for a person like my mother who cannot walk because of recent surgery and medical diagnosis to be subjected to this type of behavior and attitude is totally uncalled for, especially as asked for accommodations to be made for her in advance. We are dreading her return trip through your airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This airport is as old and craggy as it was last time"

(United States)

Not Verified | I try to avoid transferring through Heathrow but this last time AA changed my flight via Philadelphia and rebooked me through London. This airport is as old and craggy as it was last time I transferred through here 10 years ago. Doesn't Britain have a power grid? They always seem to have power failures. I've traveled through third world airports with more sophistication. Never again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"e-gates were not working"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Terminal 2 arrivals awful. The staff were forcing incoming passengers to use the passport e-gates despite the fact they were not working, insisting each passenger try several times to use them before allowing passenger to get their passport checked by a staff member, all making for very long queues.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"its not changed in 10yrs+"

(Australia)

Not Verified | I arrived in T4, looks and smells old and outdated, its not changed in 10yrs+ I've arrived there. I breezed through passport control, which was great, but it took 1hr for my suitcase to appear. It's all done with lasers and computers, but this actually makes it a longer process. And because the passport control is slow for non UK residents, those passengers take ages to come through and their bags stay on the belts for ages so no new ones can come out. After 30hrs travelling, no one wants to stand around for another hour waiting. Me and a few passengers ended up pushing bags closer together to make room so the lasers would find bigger gaps so more bags would come out. I'm gobsmacked this terminal has not been updated in more areas. Seems to be a lack of staff.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"e-gates at passport control are a complete joke"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Terminal 2 is pleasant enough. Plenty of food options and enough seating. The e-gates at passport control are a complete joke. We are a family of 4 and 3 of our passports were rejected by the e-gates. There were plenty of others as well in the same boat as us. I’m all for cost savings but at least come up with a fit for purpose service before getting rid of staff. Usual shambles at baggage handling reclaim as well but at least it was better than Toronto Pearson airport - damned with faint praise!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no