London Heathrow Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 900 reviews
4/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"rudeness of security staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The rudeness of security staff is unbelievable. One tells you to load your contents one way, others want them laid out differently. You can hear one of them complaining the passengers were not listening to his instructions. Do they realise we are their customers? Without us, they won't have a job.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"security queues are quick and painless"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Traveled in and out of Heathrow four times this year. Most recently on Terminal 5. It's a good airport. I don't understand the complaints about this. The security queues are quick and painless and the self service bio metric check on arrival with the machines work well and I'm out of the terminal into the underground within 10 minutes of landing. The toilets are well maintained and the prices of food and drinks with the variety means there is choice for all price points. The negative is lack of seating throughout the terminal as nearly all the space is taken up by retail shops.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"immigration queues extremely long"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport for two reasons. Firstly, the security staff I encountered are very rude and unhelpful. When they try to check your bags, they do it at an incredibly slow pace that's literately maddening for anyone trying to catch a flight. Secondly the immigration queues are extremely long and counters are poorly staffed, normally people have to wait for an hour or so to go through immigration which is unbelievable. One time for a complete 15 minutes interval there was not a single staff member serving at the counters, not a single one!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"despise this airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | I absolutely despise this airport, not because of their layout, though it's rather complicated and time-consuming to get around, but because of the staff running the security. For the second time now, the last time was about 5 years ago and I swore that would be the last time I went through Heathrow, but security seemed to find yet again a way to cause me to be within minutes of missing my next flight. Both times my items breezed through the scanner, but "I", who had no metal objects on or in me, had to be scanned twice, and held to a very aggressive body pat-down. They even used two hand held metal scanners to search me and couldn't find a thing. I'm wearing a cotton shit, jeans and socks, no shoes. It took them well over 15 minutes to perform this abuse of power, and for a reason, I have no idea of. These people are truly messed up, I despise them and hope never again to have to go to that horrible airport again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"have new found admiration for Heathrow"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have been on a series of wide ranging business trips and now have new found admiration for Heathrow having used it at least 20 times in the last 4 months. The main thing is it realises it is an airport with shopping not the other way round. Inbound the connections from Domestic to an International can be made in 20 minutes - I have to do it at least twice on Sunday evenings as my flight has been delayed. The signs are clear, the 5A to 5B or 5C shuttle is effcient and never seems crowded. I have access to BA First class or Concorde lounges but have tried other lounges and bars and they all seem good (one in T5 beside the domestic gate lounge is very good at serving rapidly). There are loads of snack type outlets but it doesn't stink of food everywhere. On arrival the e-passport gates and security works very efficiently and I am not sure fast track actually delivers very much. Shopping is very good and I can't fault the terminal cleanliness. Two issues stop it getting a 10/10 - firstly if you are on a remote stand it is a very long bus ride and the buses are not very good, and secondly the have too many slots so if you are on alate out say 21.00-13.00 then you are going to spend a lot of time at the gate or in a queue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Totally unacceptable"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | From landing to exiting the airport took 3 hours! This is meant to be a world class airport and this took almost as long as the flight itself. Totally unacceptable.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"horrendous experience with the tax refund office"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | I’m compelled to write this review after a horrendous experience with the tax refund office at T4. British wit and world famous repute for good education and common sense is no where evident as we queue in dingy surroundings, eye sight gradually deteriorating due to faulty blinking fluorescent lighting, somehow no money forthcoming from the coffers of the wealthy British Empire for a replacement tube. Rows and rows of happy holiday makers after enjoying gentle British hospitality, cursing the somewhat hostile system of tax refund, obviously aimed at discouraging visitors from claiming what is rightfully theirs, in a cunning, sneaky, unfriendly, money-faced manner. Having travelled extensively, contributing to the healthy economies of a large number of countries, I can safely say this tax refund system and premise to be the absolute worst, even surpassing Paris’s CDG many times over. Common sense dictates more counters required for expeditious service, better ventilation (!) in a bigger area, toilet facilities, seating areas for the elderly and those with children and properly functioning lights (basic requirement!). This system of screwing visitors is keeping the economy afloat in a most underhanded manner. How disappointing that we leave Bonny ol England with this impression and what a put-off!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"plenty of signage and helpers"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Still the best airport I’ve been to, it’s quick and easy to get through check-in and security. Duty free is good, and a fast transfer is made easy by plenty of signage and helpers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Very confusing and complicated"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Baggage drop off for my mum, traveling to Singapore. Very confusing and complicated. We had already done online check-in the night before and still had to wait 25 minutes for baggage drop. Also very difficult to find the right queue.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"impressive for a harshly criticized airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This was the very first time in Heathrow, really impressive for a harshly criticized airport. First of all, very clean airport. Terminal 2 is always spick and span and presentable. Signs are very helpful, want to go to the tube? Arrivals, then underground. Don't know the terminal you're going to? Check their website and find your airline's terminal. Queuing times are efficient as they take into account the intense amount of passengers that go through the airport, just not the planes, you'll be waiting 10, maybe 20 minutes waiting to take off, possibly missing a connecting flight. Seating wise, the seats are quite good to rest on for a person who lives quite far from airports. The food is fatty but really tasty. I expected so much less from an airport like this. The staff are genuinely lovely. Especially some of the staff at the UK border that are pleasant to speak to. Overall, a very good airport to fly in if you're not on a time crunch.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes