London Gatwick Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 490 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"40m to disembark the plane"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever. Waited 40 min to disembark the plane. The reason - no steps available. Have you ever heard of such a lame excuse?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Couldn’t disembark flight"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Couldn’t disembark flight at gate due to a set of steps being left in front of the gate and had to wait 1hr 20 for bags. No reason given by the airport or their contractor Menzies.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"shambles of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolute shambles of an airport. Staff are inept and need basic training. Why oh why does it take so long to get back on to the UK. Other countries do it why not the UK?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"the best of the large airports in the world"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Gatwick is probably the best of the large airports in the world. The security checks are fast, there is great food, shops and plenty of seats and screens telling you where your flight is due. There are numerous signs telling you how long it will take to walk to your gate, also the wifi is great. Some things could be improved: Like many airports you need to walk through the duty free shop to get to the main seating area - The water / bottle refill stations are hidden near the toilets - The outside area is a little confusing as it is on multiple levels and could do with better signage, lower level for pick up and generally upper for drop off. It is one of the airports that you really do not need a lounge pass.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"I'll avoid wherever possible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airport dirty. Being forced through shops after security is ridiculous. North terminal simply not designed/able to cope with the number of passengers making it hard to move around let alone purchase anything. Was there for breakfast. Choice so limited, long queues for any option leading to staff struggling to cope. I fly most weeks but out of Heathrow. A vastly superior experience there. Fly from Gatwick north every few months and this airport is definitely in decline. I'll avoid wherever possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"really needs to do better"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff from OCS do not seem to understand that some passengers may be disorientated after a flight, and they show no understanding of the stress caused to passengers when they are unable to get through an e-gate. I was told rather abruptly “So, do you want to see a guard then?” Not very professional! Emerged from arrivals at South Terminal, and looked for signage to Long Stay Car Park buses. I could not see any clear directions, except for a reference to the Upper Concourse. I am not familiar with South Terminal, so this meant nothing to me. I proceeded to the nearest Information Desk, which at 14.45 on Saturday 22nd June was unattended. Welcome to Britain! Eventually found the Upper Concourse, and went to wait for a bus at a spot which seemed like, in the absence of any bus stop, the place to wait. There were other passengers waiting. The bus came at 3.01 pm, and drove straight past all the waiting passengers, so we all had to haul our bags just a little bit further. Unacceptable! After exiting the Long Stay car park, after emerging from Eastway, it is completely unclear which lane is required to access the M23. I ended up in a lane for KFC Drive-thru, managed to get out of it and ended up going back past the Log Stay Car Park entrance and the Hilton Hotel and eventually managed to get to the M23 J9A. Gatwick really needs to do better.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Sort it out Gatwick"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Passport control machines are a joke. Very good for safety reasons however have more staff working on the machines to get more people through! You spend half your time waiting in the queue to be sent to another queue because your passport doesn’t work on the machine! Not what you need after long haul flights! Sort it out Gatwick.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"Good train service from London"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Good train service from London, I think it's accessibility from London is good and takes only 35 mins from London bridge. Staff was a bit unhelpful when asked for any place to print outs and there are none after security check.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Horrible airport"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Horrible airport. Security mocked us for holding onto our passports like "our damn lifeline" and once you get through that mess you walk for 5 minutes through perfume land. My family and I all have bad allergies to scents so that perfume ridden shop made us uncomfortable for our upcoming 9 hr flight. This airport has almost no seating. Also, in the over 20 airports I've been through, I've never seen such disorganized gates. We didn't know where our gate was until it was posted minutes before boarding. Once all passengers knew their gate it was like a heard and we were all lined up and barely had time to use washrooms before boarding. I will never fly through this airport again. Go to the Heathrow airport, it's 100x better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"drove me back to the main seating area"

(Spain)

Not Verified | North Terminal - who thought it was a good idea to build "kids zone" play area right next to "quiet zone"? The constant screeching of children drove me back to the main seating area. I appreciate that there's a lot of work going on at the moment and maybe there will be a real "quiet zone" when it's finished. I hope so.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no