London Gatwick Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 521 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Significant queues at every stage of departure"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very busy and noisy. Significant queues at every stage of departure. Far too much emphasis on generating income - usual tortuous path through duty free. Security excessive. I had 2 scans, a somewhat intrusive body search and a metal scan with absolutely nothing to find! It's no wonder that airport security queues are as bad as they are. Very difficult to find a quiet area to sit. It would have been better to take the train to Edinburgh sadly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"50 minutes to get our luggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flight from Edinburgh to London took 70 minutes and it took 50 minutes to get our luggage. The attendant for the luggage area was no help. Not sure what his job was but would not phone or radio for help. Wifi wouldn’t work at all. Felt like a herd of cattle being shuttled through endless lineups. Only 9 seats available before boarding. Confusing if we were boarding or just getting into the lounge for a seat! No food or shopping near departure lounges. Ok if u knew that ahead of time but not easy for first time passengers. Tram system between terminals was efficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"efficient and pleasant at all stages"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departed on 8 April, entering the North Terminal at about 05:00. Extremely efficient and pleasant at all stages: 10 minutes for easyJet bag drop and 20 minutes for Security, 35 minutes from car (very good 'official' valet parking) to airside. Security merits a shout-out; they were already getting quite busy at this time but it was well managed by polite and helpful staff who even found time for a quick chat. I've given 5 stars for queuing times because, while we'd all like to queue for 2 minutes, you have to look at it in the context of a big airport at the start of a holiday period. Arrived on 22 April around 16:00 and no problem. A bit of a long walk from the gate to passport control but that can happen at any big airport. Plenty of e-gates with no queues; the scanner had a problem with my passport so I was directed to a short queue (2 other people) for manual checking. Bags arrived reasonably quickly and we were in the car 30 minutes after de-planing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"rip off charge £5 to be dropped off"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Travelled to Lanzarote in December 12, will not be travelling again until covids over. This covid form, that covid form, proof you booked a test on your return, passenger locator form etc, etc. Found out at check in we had filled in a locator form for the wrong country but got a great deal of help from an employee (called Peter) on his own phone when ours ran out of battery filling in forms. Then he led us through customs to the flight lounge (fast tracked us basically). So i would recommend the staff and their excellent service. One thing I thought was a rip off was being charged £5 to be dropped off outside the terminal - we were all of 30 seconds. They even made it so you had to pay after 24 hours later (not now) so that you can forget about it with all that's going on and they earn more money from the fine you get.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"very few immigration employees"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified |  Departures was quick and fine, full of automation. However, arrivals was the opposite of quick. Very opposite. We landed at 10:50am and been in line for Passports until 12:20pm The issue was not that there was a lot of pax, but a very few immigration employees. Only 2 counters working.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"there was no queue or rather very little queue at security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We used, Gatwick North Terminal for our departure to Corfu with TUI Airways. It was nice to that the restriction which everyone has come accept as the normal. The check in/bag drop queue people were self distancing and were aware of the rules of having to show your passenger locator form for Greece at the desk. Given the passenger footfall in the terminal there was no queue or rather very little queue at security so it was a good start to the trip. Most of the outlets are not taking cash payment and in some of the food outlets its order on the app the limit the contact with staff. At the boarding gate we were boarded in seat row order and this took about 20 minutes. There was or seemed to be extra time allowed to find the board gate. Our arrival back into Gatwick was a late evening one, the only queue seemed to be at the entrance to the Border Control where people had forgotten to obtain their passenger locator form. The two Border Force office's on the control point were friendly and polite and able to help passengers whose phones were not smart one. Most of the Epass gates were open and working so this made the experience easy and quick. By the time we had cleared the passport control thee bags were arriving in baggage reclaim.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"what a dismal experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Our first flight out since March and I wasn't quite prepared for what a dismal experience LGW would be. The main place for food and drink on the ground floor was Wetherspoons which had a queue of about 70 people. We could never have used it with the time available. The best we could find was Pret et Manger which at least sold wine and you could sit in the unopened Yo Sushi restaurant. For London's second airport it was a second division offering, especially compared to DUS where we flew back from. We deserve better, and they should offer better if we're ever going to start flying again as usual.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Couldn't do enough for us"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Had great experience with security team this morning when my dad had an angina attack while in the queue. Couldn't do enough for us, got dad stable and took him to gate, very understanding, very professional. Can't believe some of the negatives you hear, think they just have a tough job to do.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"terminal was not busy"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport parking is not a nightmare and the terminal was not busy. I got through security in under 45 minutes. The terminal is a clean space and me and my son saw lots of different aircraft.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"terrible facilities for children"

(Czech Republic)

Not Verified | I am writing to review the terrible facilities for children at Gatwick north terminal. I travelled alone with my 2.5-year-old 6 months ago, and at this time the children's area was being reconstructed. They were able to offer absolutely nowhere for young children to play, or a place to heat up and serve food to a toddler. They promised that the new children's area would be finished by the end of the year. We are travelling again tomorrow, and have just found out that there is still no children's area or place to heat/serve food. To me it seems completely unbelievable that such a major airport can offer no facilities at all to families with young children for such a long period of time. For the many families travelling through it must be a very stressful experience, and I know that I myself am dreading having to spend a few hours at the airport with an active 3-year-old. Much smaller airports manage to have great, free facilities for kids, and I find it unacceptable that Gatwick North terminal is so lacking in this way.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no