London Gatwick Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 524 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst airport ever visited"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever visited by far. Queues for everything were excessive, and flight information difficult to find. Once you eventually get through security, which is staffed by some of the most unpleasant people I have ever encountered, you are forced to walk through something more like a shopping arcade than an international airport. Not nearly enough seating (because most of the space is given over to retail units) and those that are available are out of sight of the flight information boards. Airport staff are impossible to find, we saw an elderly lady take a nasty fall at the top of an escalator and clearly needed medical help. Eventually staff from one of the duty free shops had to come out and assist (having tried and failed to radio/phone for airport staff to help). I hope I never have to use this place again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"1 hour 15 minutes for security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A queue of 1 hour 15 minutes for security to find that only ever other scanner is manned/open. When you finally get on the plane, your unable to leave because there is still no one is available to load the luggage (despite the plane being on the stand and delayed over an hour). When you land back home again, you wait again as no one is available to facilitate the sky walk or exit stairs (despite being in a hold pattern for 20minutes so the arrival should hardly be a surprise) and then wait again in the terminal as no one was available to offload the luggage. The passport queue has finally improved. The only section of the airport which appears fully staffed is the duty free drink and perfume maze (the one area I have no interest in) through which you are forced to walk through every section before finally escaping into the terminal section. It's not a happy experience, the whole place appears to be biased towards insufficient/minimum staff and maximum profits. The limited staff that are there look to be trying their best so do be nice to them. I'm sure they would also like to chance many things if given additional resource.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terminals don’t have enough capacity"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Really poor airport with no customer service. Terminals don’t have enough capacity. £5.00 pick up & drop off charge for passengers. No wonder it has such a low ranking.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Significant queues at every stage of departure"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very busy and noisy. Significant queues at every stage of departure. Far too much emphasis on generating income - usual tortuous path through duty free. Security excessive. I had 2 scans, a somewhat intrusive body search and a metal scan with absolutely nothing to find! It's no wonder that airport security queues are as bad as they are. Very difficult to find a quiet area to sit. It would have been better to take the train to Edinburgh sadly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"50 minutes to get our luggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flight from Edinburgh to London took 70 minutes and it took 50 minutes to get our luggage. The attendant for the luggage area was no help. Not sure what his job was but would not phone or radio for help. Wifi wouldn’t work at all. Felt like a herd of cattle being shuttled through endless lineups. Only 9 seats available before boarding. Confusing if we were boarding or just getting into the lounge for a seat! No food or shopping near departure lounges. Ok if u knew that ahead of time but not easy for first time passengers. Tram system between terminals was efficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"efficient and pleasant at all stages"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departed on 8 April, entering the North Terminal at about 05:00. Extremely efficient and pleasant at all stages: 10 minutes for easyJet bag drop and 20 minutes for Security, 35 minutes from car (very good 'official' valet parking) to airside. Security merits a shout-out; they were already getting quite busy at this time but it was well managed by polite and helpful staff who even found time for a quick chat. I've given 5 stars for queuing times because, while we'd all like to queue for 2 minutes, you have to look at it in the context of a big airport at the start of a holiday period. Arrived on 22 April around 16:00 and no problem. A bit of a long walk from the gate to passport control but that can happen at any big airport. Plenty of e-gates with no queues; the scanner had a problem with my passport so I was directed to a short queue (2 other people) for manual checking. Bags arrived reasonably quickly and we were in the car 30 minutes after de-planing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"rip off charge £5 to be dropped off"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Travelled to Lanzarote in December 12, will not be travelling again until covids over. This covid form, that covid form, proof you booked a test on your return, passenger locator form etc, etc. Found out at check in we had filled in a locator form for the wrong country but got a great deal of help from an employee (called Peter) on his own phone when ours ran out of battery filling in forms. Then he led us through customs to the flight lounge (fast tracked us basically). So i would recommend the staff and their excellent service. One thing I thought was a rip off was being charged £5 to be dropped off outside the terminal - we were all of 30 seconds. They even made it so you had to pay after 24 hours later (not now) so that you can forget about it with all that's going on and they earn more money from the fine you get.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"very few immigration employees"

(Saudi Arabia)

Trip Verified |  Departures was quick and fine, full of automation. However, arrivals was the opposite of quick. Very opposite. We landed at 10:50am and been in line for Passports until 12:20pm The issue was not that there was a lot of pax, but a very few immigration employees. Only 2 counters working.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"there was no queue or rather very little queue at security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We used, Gatwick North Terminal for our departure to Corfu with TUI Airways. It was nice to that the restriction which everyone has come accept as the normal. The check in/bag drop queue people were self distancing and were aware of the rules of having to show your passenger locator form for Greece at the desk. Given the passenger footfall in the terminal there was no queue or rather very little queue at security so it was a good start to the trip. Most of the outlets are not taking cash payment and in some of the food outlets its order on the app the limit the contact with staff. At the boarding gate we were boarded in seat row order and this took about 20 minutes. There was or seemed to be extra time allowed to find the board gate. Our arrival back into Gatwick was a late evening one, the only queue seemed to be at the entrance to the Border Control where people had forgotten to obtain their passenger locator form. The two Border Force office's on the control point were friendly and polite and able to help passengers whose phones were not smart one. Most of the Epass gates were open and working so this made the experience easy and quick. By the time we had cleared the passport control thee bags were arriving in baggage reclaim.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"what a dismal experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Our first flight out since March and I wasn't quite prepared for what a dismal experience LGW would be. The main place for food and drink on the ground floor was Wetherspoons which had a queue of about 70 people. We could never have used it with the time available. The best we could find was Pret et Manger which at least sold wine and you could sit in the unopened Yo Sushi restaurant. For London's second airport it was a second division offering, especially compared to DUS where we flew back from. We deserve better, and they should offer better if we're ever going to start flying again as usual.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no