London Gatwick Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 494 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Far too overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Far too overcrowded. Family friendly security zone was a joke with long queues and very little space. It would have been quicker for us to go the usual route. Very frightening for a 2 year old who incidently was frisked. Overcrowded, overpriced food outlets. Lounge at departure gate did not have the seats for everyone so due to a two hour delay we were sat on a dirty floor
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"A lesson in customer service would not go amiss"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The security staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful. The same cannot be said for the jobsworth older gentleman on gate 54 this evening. Had he tried really, really hard he may of managed to be even more condescending. A lesson in customer service would not go amiss.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Terminal is completely overcrowded"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We traveled in and out with TUI on a tour to Sicily with an independent specialist tour company. Having used the South Terminal many times this was our first time travelling from the North Terminal for a number of years, we found it to be the worst airport terminal we have travelled from for many years. It is dire place, having experienced many modern Asian Terminal buildings, this was worse than any so called third world countries. The Terminal is completely overcrowded, it lacks decent food facilities there is a lack of seating and in my opinion it is filthy. Finally we found it old fashioned and not fit modern day air travel.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This place for sure earns up its 4/10 review"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. I’ve travelled to various airports across continents and have encountered varying customer service quality. Gatwick, however, is a totally different story. Staff made you throw out all liquid item (under 100ml) and did not give you a chance to reorganize items into the plastic bag. After I’ve decided to simply purchase another checked bag to avoid my items being thrown away, the lady literally said “it was such a waste of time.” Outrageous! Will definitely avoid traveling to, from, or even passing by this airport. This place for sure earns up its 4/10 review!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"40m to disembark the plane"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport ever. Waited 40 min to disembark the plane. The reason - no steps available. Have you ever heard of such a lame excuse?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Couldn’t disembark flight"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Couldn’t disembark flight at gate due to a set of steps being left in front of the gate and had to wait 1hr 20 for bags. No reason given by the airport or their contractor Menzies.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"shambles of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolute shambles of an airport. Staff are inept and need basic training. Why oh why does it take so long to get back on to the UK. Other countries do it why not the UK?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"the best of the large airports in the world"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Gatwick is probably the best of the large airports in the world. The security checks are fast, there is great food, shops and plenty of seats and screens telling you where your flight is due. There are numerous signs telling you how long it will take to walk to your gate, also the wifi is great. Some things could be improved: Like many airports you need to walk through the duty free shop to get to the main seating area - The water / bottle refill stations are hidden near the toilets - The outside area is a little confusing as it is on multiple levels and could do with better signage, lower level for pick up and generally upper for drop off. It is one of the airports that you really do not need a lounge pass.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"I'll avoid wherever possible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airport dirty. Being forced through shops after security is ridiculous. North terminal simply not designed/able to cope with the number of passengers making it hard to move around let alone purchase anything. Was there for breakfast. Choice so limited, long queues for any option leading to staff struggling to cope. I fly most weeks but out of Heathrow. A vastly superior experience there. Fly from Gatwick north every few months and this airport is definitely in decline. I'll avoid wherever possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"really needs to do better"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff from OCS do not seem to understand that some passengers may be disorientated after a flight, and they show no understanding of the stress caused to passengers when they are unable to get through an e-gate. I was told rather abruptly “So, do you want to see a guard then?” Not very professional! Emerged from arrivals at South Terminal, and looked for signage to Long Stay Car Park buses. I could not see any clear directions, except for a reference to the Upper Concourse. I am not familiar with South Terminal, so this meant nothing to me. I proceeded to the nearest Information Desk, which at 14.45 on Saturday 22nd June was unattended. Welcome to Britain! Eventually found the Upper Concourse, and went to wait for a bus at a spot which seemed like, in the absence of any bus stop, the place to wait. There were other passengers waiting. The bus came at 3.01 pm, and drove straight past all the waiting passengers, so we all had to haul our bags just a little bit further. Unacceptable! After exiting the Long Stay car park, after emerging from Eastway, it is completely unclear which lane is required to access the M23. I ended up in a lane for KFC Drive-thru, managed to get out of it and ended up going back past the Log Stay Car Park entrance and the Hilton Hotel and eventually managed to get to the M23 J9A. Gatwick really needs to do better.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no