London Gatwick Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 528 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"I genuinely hate it with a passion"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The security process at Gatwick airport is one of the worst and sadly / annoyingly one of the most frequent I have to experience (it being my nearest). It keeps shocking me how long it takes to get through security and how militant (most of) the staff is treating their customers (the passengers). It feels like an army drill every time, over and over again. I genuinely hate it with a passion. I’m deeply saddened by how Gatwick feels at least 25 years behind.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"this airport looks outdated"

(Japan)

Not Verified | In a broader prospective, this airport looks outdated and lacking in terms of technological advancements. I am in aghast right now after visiting this airport first time. Firstly, there is inadequate heating during night time (in my understanding there are advanced HVAC systems that can maintain appropriate temperature regardless of number of people increase or decrease at particular point of time, I wonder why this airport failed to do so !) Secondly, there are limited sitting options for passengers, I have seen people lying on floor during wait time ! This is absolutely disastrous for any airport for their customers. There should be appropriate system to maintain the Crowed if space is not enough. I hope these issues can be addressed by airport authorities in future but what impression it left in my mind and many others will remain for long term.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Wonder where the humble and considerate personnel have gone!"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On arrival at Gatwick BA aircraft reached the stand and it was announced the delay in the jetty connecting to the aircraft. After 15 mins the announcement made was that there is a problem so all to use stairs. We had requested wheelchair help for my wife as she was injured and with a bandage on her head. We disembarked by walking down with me carrying both our hand baggage. The ground staff asked us to wait at the foot steps for wheelchair. There was another couple same age as us (over 70) waiting for similar help, a man was assisting them. After 10 mins wait this male staff asked us to walk to the terminal up the stairs and walk to passport control. He said the wait for a wheel chair could take a long time. It was a good 15 mins walk and not short as the staff mentioned. In the meantime he continued to assist the other couple by collecting their belongings and helping them up the stairs. We felt insulted by the behaviour of the ground staff and his attitude. My wife was having difficulty in walking and could have collapsed due to her head injury. This was very inconsiderate of the ground staff and no one else there to assist. Wonder where the humble and considerate personnel have gone!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The staff are very rude"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The staff are very rude and not helpful when you can find them. Everywhere there is dust and other garbage on the floors. In the toilets is no soap available, no napkins and pee over the toilet seat.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport ever visited"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever visited by far. Queues for everything were excessive, and flight information difficult to find. Once you eventually get through security, which is staffed by some of the most unpleasant people I have ever encountered, you are forced to walk through something more like a shopping arcade than an international airport. Not nearly enough seating (because most of the space is given over to retail units) and those that are available are out of sight of the flight information boards. Airport staff are impossible to find, we saw an elderly lady take a nasty fall at the top of an escalator and clearly needed medical help. Eventually staff from one of the duty free shops had to come out and assist (having tried and failed to radio/phone for airport staff to help). I hope I never have to use this place again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"1 hour 15 minutes for security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A queue of 1 hour 15 minutes for security to find that only ever other scanner is manned/open. When you finally get on the plane, your unable to leave because there is still no one is available to load the luggage (despite the plane being on the stand and delayed over an hour). When you land back home again, you wait again as no one is available to facilitate the sky walk or exit stairs (despite being in a hold pattern for 20minutes so the arrival should hardly be a surprise) and then wait again in the terminal as no one was available to offload the luggage. The passport queue has finally improved. The only section of the airport which appears fully staffed is the duty free drink and perfume maze (the one area I have no interest in) through which you are forced to walk through every section before finally escaping into the terminal section. It's not a happy experience, the whole place appears to be biased towards insufficient/minimum staff and maximum profits. The limited staff that are there look to be trying their best so do be nice to them. I'm sure they would also like to chance many things if given additional resource.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terminals don’t have enough capacity"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Really poor airport with no customer service. Terminals don’t have enough capacity. £5.00 pick up & drop off charge for passengers. No wonder it has such a low ranking.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Significant queues at every stage of departure"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very busy and noisy. Significant queues at every stage of departure. Far too much emphasis on generating income - usual tortuous path through duty free. Security excessive. I had 2 scans, a somewhat intrusive body search and a metal scan with absolutely nothing to find! It's no wonder that airport security queues are as bad as they are. Very difficult to find a quiet area to sit. It would have been better to take the train to Edinburgh sadly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"50 minutes to get our luggage"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Flight from Edinburgh to London took 70 minutes and it took 50 minutes to get our luggage. The attendant for the luggage area was no help. Not sure what his job was but would not phone or radio for help. Wifi wouldn’t work at all. Felt like a herd of cattle being shuttled through endless lineups. Only 9 seats available before boarding. Confusing if we were boarding or just getting into the lounge for a seat! No food or shopping near departure lounges. Ok if u knew that ahead of time but not easy for first time passengers. Tram system between terminals was efficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"efficient and pleasant at all stages"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departed on 8 April, entering the North Terminal at about 05:00. Extremely efficient and pleasant at all stages: 10 minutes for easyJet bag drop and 20 minutes for Security, 35 minutes from car (very good 'official' valet parking) to airside. Security merits a shout-out; they were already getting quite busy at this time but it was well managed by polite and helpful staff who even found time for a quick chat. I've given 5 stars for queuing times because, while we'd all like to queue for 2 minutes, you have to look at it in the context of a big airport at the start of a holiday period. Arrived on 22 April around 16:00 and no problem. A bit of a long walk from the gate to passport control but that can happen at any big airport. Plenty of e-gates with no queues; the scanner had a problem with my passport so I was directed to a short queue (2 other people) for manual checking. Bags arrived reasonably quickly and we were in the car 30 minutes after de-planing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes