London City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 118 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"now in rapid decline"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | I'm afraid I have to agree with the previous reviews about this - used to be a great airport but now in rapid decline. 3 hours delay - mainly due to parking spaces issues again. This was for just a one hour flight. Also the information displayed just gave up after about two hours of delay - not just internally but to taxi at the other end trying to work out when I would arrive. The place seems to have expanded in terms of passengers but provided inadequate change in facilities - everywhere is packed. I agree with the earlier comments about mis-management at the senior level. I can't solve that problem, but I am beginning to re-evaluate alternatives such as Gatwick or Heathrow.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"used to be a great airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Pathetic - what a shambles, time for senior management to be fired for incompetence. This used to be a great airport. Its appeal was quick in and out for business travellers now they have created a shambles - clearly they have added too many flights given infrastructure, now Gatwick and Heathrow are looking like better options. Arrivals delayed by 1 hr on 1st flight on Monday morning because no parking stands available. Departures - flights leaving half empty as people stuck in a queue for 30/40 minutes to get to security gate, their sla of 20 minutes only starts ticking once you scan through security barrier so they hold people in a queue to prevent you scanning, scam. They would otherwise be liable for delay costs, sneaky. Might have to start checking a bag, that way you have proof you were there on time, only way to stuff them back and then hit them for delay departure costs. Seems you have to hit these people in pocket.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an absolute misery"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This used to be a great airport but those days are quickly fading away. Today security queues stretched all the way to the ground floor, with a clearing time of 30 to 40 minutes. Mind you, there's no fast track here because, apparently, "security is so efficient that there's no need for fast track". Shambles continued inside, with all departure boards frozen - so a lot of confused people and a continuous stream of announcements, making it impossible to relax or even take a phone call The place was more packed than a centipede's sock drawer with queues everywhere, including for what must be the most expensive pint in London. Finally, my plane was delayed 35 minutes. And why? Because the inbound aircraft, despite being on time, couldn't find a parking space, so the passengers on the inbound had to wait 30 minutes before alighting. What used to be a great airport is now an absolute misery, all in name of profits and greed at all costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"on convenience I recommend this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flew out of London City to Geneva on an early morning flight. I like small airports like this where you can be in and out pretty quickly. It's manageable place but it gets very busy. The only downside is I found the security officers who tend to be female to be rude and curt. They need more training. Places to eat and shops are very limited to the constraints. That's fine with me as airport prices are too high and I always bring food from home. Boarding was done by row on BA and I found the on-boarding process more civilized. No long queues that stretch so long. Purely on convenience I recommend this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"incompetent security officer"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | This is by far the worst experience that I ever had in a security check, I travel for a living and I always pack my hand luggage very lightly, and without liquids. Still this incompetent security officer dismantled my interior bag, and big surprise, finds nothing!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"no longer feels like an exclusive airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is an airport I have used frequently for both business and leisure travel over many years. It was always a convenient, clean and smooth journey. Not anymore, it’s mayhem. It no longer feels like an exclusive airport. The changes made to the airport make you walk in circles (literally), and I’m not sure for what use other than to annoy the customer. It’s very difficult to find your pre-booked taxi, they have changed the car parking for pick up location 3 times within the last 6 months alone, the changes being it is more difficult to access your taxi, I guess with the intention of forcing you to book a black cab. It actually made me swear today, I was so frustrated I nearly lost my taxi because of it, hence I’m making this genuine review of the poor state of this once upon a time first-class airport. All I’ve got to say is that if this is city airports way of increasing commercial flights and passengers, good luck to them. They will very soon lose all their business clients who were willing to pay extra for comfort and convenience. And they can stick with their Primark/cattle loading strategy. I’m looking for my alternative already, as I’m sure many others are too. I doubt commercial customers want to be treated so poorly either, but some idiot at city airport has made the decision to ruin this airport with all the unnecessary and unhelpful changes, which will no doubt spiral them into bankruptcy in time.. watch if I’m wrong. Give it ten years.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"quite an uncomfortable place"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The sooner the works to improve this airport are done, the better. It can be quite an uncomfortable place to be at present. Victim of its own success I would say. food and drink overpriced!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
yes
2/10

"security is absolutely appalling"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Sadly all of the other bad reviews on here are true! I used to enjoy travelling out of LCY, but not any longer. It is now over capacity and cannot cope, but worse than that the experience going through security is absolutely appalling. I made the mistake of booking a BA Economy outbound ticket, since LCY does not deign to provide a Business Lounge. Big mistake, I almost missed my flight! Despite being a frequent business traveller and knowing the ropes (and wearing a wireless bra specifically today in order to avoid any possible security checks!), staff pulled my bag for a detailed search, behind a very long line of other passengers’ bags. I had to wait over 10 minutes, and when they finally got to my bag, they were rude and wouldn’t let me speak. At the end of it all, it turned out that the reason for pulling my bag was a very small pot of loose face powder (with brush) - allowable and vastly under the new TSA 12 oz limit. What on earth is going on here? I certainly won’t risk repeating this experience and will revert to flying out of LHR from now on!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Never, ever again"

(Germany)

Not Verified | My 1st time flying into London City Airport. Ended up there for a connecting flight to save £100 compared to a direct flight. Never, ever again. Even if I have to pay more, I refuse to go back to this hellhole. It wasn’t so much that the facilities were outdated, the place was overcrowded everywhere (long queues at shops and toilets) or that it was not particularly clean and almost everything was overpriced. No, I can live with all that, what set this place apart as a negative experience was how vile their security people appeared to be. They were like petty little tyrants that should have never been given any form of authority, over no one. I felt threatened by them just for showing up, profiled as a criminal and treated as dirt. Also, I saw something strange: huddled behind a small panel next to one of the corridors where passengers were passing by, there was a group of, at least, 10 female security “guards”. Most of them were just standing there, while a couple of them were inconspicuously peeking from one side of the panel. As if they were getting ready to pounce on someone. Not that I travel a huge amount, but I have to admit I hadn’t seen that one before at an airport. Horrible, horrible place.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"would not listen to what we had to say"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My 1st time flying into London City Airport. Never again. We were spending 2 days in London for my friends daughters birthday. Unaware we walked past baggage claim we then walked back to ask where we can pick up our luggage to be met met with the most rude obnoxious security staff (female) who was already hurling abuse at another customer (who also walked past baggage reclaim too). The female security refused to listen to any of us and kept raising her voice telling us to back off and do not re enter. Not one of us tried re entering the gate, all we wanted to know was where do we pick up our luggage. She threatened us by calling the police, treated us like criminals where in actual fact it could have been sorted very easily had she stopped shouting and listened to us. 3 men soon came along, not sure who they were, asked us what the issue was and took us to British Airways desk to help us get our luggage, which took less than 5 minutes. We asked for the Security manager to deal with the complaint but again was met with stand offish approach and would not listen to what we had to say. The security staff at London City Airport are the most rude, ignorant with the most disgusting attitude towards members of the public. If you can not be polite and civil to others then why be in that job?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no