Lisbon Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 201 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst airport in an alleged developed country"

(United States)

Not Verified | I nominate Lisbon for the worst airport in an alleged developed country. But it is not an airport, it really is a food court /shopping area surrounded by a tarmac from and to which travelers are driven by bus since terminal space is occupied by the food court. Security is infested by bullies who enjoy the power to hassle people, are unprofessional and use their uniform not for security but to bully. But that’s the usual approach in countries where market forces are trumped by bureaucrats. Even firing the airport manager would not work since he is likely to be replaced by another incompetent insensitive bureaucrat. The saddest fact is that TAP, the chief user, has 14 billion dollars of planes but unable or unwilling to seek change. But both TAP and the airport are operated by big central government. The biggest losers are the Portuguese people.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"ridiculous, inefficient"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | 16 immigration desks available, two with officials in them. 14 rows of 30 people each, waiting to enter. It's ridiculous, inefficient and ultimately bad for this beautiful country
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Passengers were treated with disdain"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Going through security at this airport has seldom been a great experience but today the staff in attendance excelled in their inability to meet the basic requirements of professionalism and just plain good manners. Passengers were treated with disdain by literally all security people I saw there (and there were a fair few). I was unfortunate enough to get one of my bags going to the queue where they open and check what's inside. The woman there was rude beyond description, but I will try nevertheless: she spoke down on me in a patronising way, told me off for what I was carrying (which were just random everyday items), messed everything inside the bag without even checking for anything specific, then literally chucked that mess at me and told me to get out of her way as she had other people to attend! As I was packing my bag I could hear at least 4 different people around me complaining for having been treated so badly as well. This is inadmissible and a real shame to think that it illustrates the general Portuguese mentality: egocentric and lacking the basics of respect for others.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"found a completely useless airport"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Came in at airport 23:30 found a completely useless airport. Just sleeping people all over the floor. Are we in Europe? Despite having checked in there is no active luggage drop off. All machines not active. No one at counters. Crazy airport closes at night! No lounges on landside, no lounges at airside open. Worst capital airport I have ever visited in Europe. Will make sure not to book any flights through Lisbon anymore.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"humiliating experience"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Departing from terminal 2 of Lisbon Airport is a very humiliating experience. A depressing hall with too little room for the amount of passengers. No windows. Chaotic. Rude employees. Waiting-lines with hardly any progress for checking-in, for passport-control, for security-check, for boarding. The shops and café's are located in the outer circle of a waiting area with way too few seats for the amount of passengers. In the shopping-area passengers with trolleys bump into each other. The toilets are dirty. Finally I thought I could go on board of the plane. Wrong again! The passengers of the flight had to wait in line (standing, what if one is old or disabled?) for almost half an hour in an inside/outside corridor, just watching the plane and becoming more stressed and sad (in my case). This experience has overshadowed my trip to Portugal. I will never ever travel from Lisbon Airport again!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it looks old and dirty"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | This airport is in such a poor state that it is embarrassing for any Portuguese. The toilets in particular seem to not have been cleaned for ages. Everywhere you look it looks old and dirty. The smoking room feels like a chamber from the dark ages. Staff are incompetent and rude. Wi-Fi doesn't work properly and the prices for food are way higher than outside. Cleaning staff chat and laugh is if they were in their neighborhood.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"had to improvise and eat our meal standing"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Terminal 2, where the low cost carriers like Transavia, EasyJet and Ryanair depart is a disaster. We would depart early in the evening and had hoped to eat something before boarding. When we entered the departure area, the place was completely packed. There are only a few food outlets, with high prices and mediocre food. When we finally had bought something, there was absolutely no place available to put down our tray. The few tables were all taken, and also virtually all chairs were occupied in the terminal. In the end we had to improvise and eat our meal standing. There was also a long line before the online toilet facility in the terminal Before departure, we had to stand outside in in a partly open covered area, waiting before we could walk to the plane. In our case (early in the evening in spring) this was still doable, but it must be terrible to stand here in the afternoon heat during summer. In summary, the facilities in terminal 2 are totally inadequate for the number of passengers that it receives. I've flown from many airports around the world, but this was one of the worst.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"bathrooms were the dirtiest"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Quite old, check in systems and bag drop was very inefficient, and bathrooms were the dirtiest airport bathrooms I have seen yet (in both arrival and departure terminals they were disgusting).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"just a dark gloomy little area"

(Sweden)

Not Verified | I remember Lisbon Airport as pleasant and light. Now I was in the A section. Not a nice airport, just a dark gloomy little area. All the niceties were for the B area. The people in duty free said that this is so. No access for A gates.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Poor food options"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Annoying system of having to do security multiple times when transiting. Poor food options in terminal, eg no shop selling food and drinks to go, just over priced cafes.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no