Lima Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 55 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"need more staff"

(Brazil)

Not Verified | It was the worst time lost in an airport queue that I ever experience in my life. It was about two hours to clear customs, a huge queue and just a few employees. I am very hungry now, although I do have money to spend on the airport and I thought I had time for a breaksfast there. But I ended up in a customs queue for two hours. Now I am inside the plane, I needed to run to be on time inside, even though I arrived 3 hours before my flight! You guys need more staff for the number of people in the queue.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Over two hours to clear customs entering"

(United States)

Not Verified | I have never had to give an airport review. This one was so bad I felt the need to alert other travelers. I will never come to Peru again as a result of Lima Airport. Over two hours to clear customs entering. Two and a half hours leaving.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst experience within LA"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst experience within LA. Spent 95 mins to go through immigration. No one could guide us through afterwards and luggage took another 30 mins to come out.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"97 minutes to pass immigration"

(United States)

Not Verified | 97 minutes to pass immigration. No one monitoring the line. Complete chaos. I was then sent to wrong luggage carousel. Twice. Officials kept disappearing from their desks at immigration.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"You can’t find someone to help"

(Colombia)

Trip Verified | I can’t believe this airport was considered best in Latin America. It’s so hot in here, it smells badly, it’s not clean, there’s no good facilities. The line of immigration is always ridiculous and there is no order, the WiFi is terrible. You can’t find someone to help. You can’t leave it easily because there is no trustable transport and its chaos outside, tourists feel unsafe even inside the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"by far the worst airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I’ve traveled all over the world and this is by far the worst airport I’ve ever been at. Let’s say you are traveling from Dallas to Arequipa, via Lima; well, make sure you consider at least four hours (maybe even six just to be safe). You’ll have to take your suitcases, exit the airport, and then check in again (this applies whether you are entering or exiting the country). The lines are endless, and you have to do this two-hour line just to give them your checked suitcases (even if you already have your tickets). But once you finally drop your bags, it isn’t over: you now have to make a new line for security, which is another good one-two hours. Every single time I’ve been here I lost my connecting flights. I’m not sure who was the brainless engineer who designed the system at this airport, but they should probably fire him/her and do it the way is done everywhere else.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it was four hours too long"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I don’t ever write airport reviews (or reviews in general for that matter), but I was in transit for 4 hours there and it was four hours too long! I am a model and dietician so I bring my food with me, at any rate you can’t drink the water in Lima and there are no purified taps and your only option is buying a $12 USD 1.5 liter Evian water, that’s insane. As I said I had my meals so I needed some water as I like to stay hydrated but that price for water was by far the biggest scam I have ever seen in my life! I would bring an empty 1.5 liter next time and have them fill it in the plane if I had a layover. Water is essential for human survival, there is not integrity in leaving people with no options but to scam them with a $12USD bottle of water. I could go on but that is enough for now.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst designed airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | No seats. No outlets. Can't even buy a soda and get a seat at most restaurants to get a seat, need to buy food. So it's obviously a know problem. The airport is bizzarely designed. Getting to a connecting flight is an idiotic process. They don't permit travellers to proceed through the airport to their connecting flight - you have to physically exit the airport and return through another entrance. Getting to security is also over complicated. They have most shops and food BEFORE security. Again, no seats. This airport is far, far too busy. Peru needs another true international Airport to handle its passenger load. Cusco is technically one, but simply flies to Lima 99% of the time. It's smaller, but has staff and facilities appropriate to its load. Lima simply doesn't. The outlets are placed mostly on columns... In the middle of the concourse. So sitting and charging is pretty much a non option. This is, in summary, the worst designed airport I've ever been to, despite its obvious importance.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"would be happy with visiting again"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | My transit was International to domestic at Lima airport, so we had to pick up our luggage, go through customs and immigration then re-check in for our flight to Cusco. Apparently most of the people on our flight were connecting, so I can easily say that there was no queue at immigration, and all of our four bags came out first (Star gold). A security guard asked us if we were connecting, and he led us through to the Avianca check in counters. Check in for the next flight was weird. One of the business class counters called over someone from the economy line to check in, and we were next in line at the business line. I was quite cross with Avianca for doing this. Once through, there were a couple of restaurants, and we were quite hungry, so we bought some Chinese food that was reasonably priced at the food court before security. For some reason, my friend's boarding pass did not work and I had already gone through. The agent asked me to pay $12 if I wanted to go back and help him reprint a boarding pass. This seemed like some sort of bribe, and not necessarily a good sign of a country. Security was quite quick, but then at the gate area, there are minimal seats, so most of us were forced to stand. Most of the staff spoke reasonable English and didn't necessarily seem intimidating at all. I don't know if it was because we were tired, but the terminal felt quite hot. One thing I like about this airport is the fact that taxi times are incredibly short here. The landing announcement didn't even finish yet and the seatbelt sign was already off! I think this airport works as an airport, albeit there are some parts it can improve. I think that I'm particularly happy about the short taxi times and would be happy with visiting again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Extremely expensive"

(Argentina)

Not Verified | Extremely expensive, like 20 dollars for a coffee. Extremely rude staff at migrations and security, yelling at people and really bad body language. I found the airport not very clean for the amount of people on it. Also, charging for internet? Seriously? It should be something for free in a place where there is nothing to do, not even shopping because everything was closed for the night.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 55 Reviews