Lima Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 49 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"it was four hours too long"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | I don’t ever write airport reviews (or reviews in general for that matter), but I was in transit for 4 hours there and it was four hours too long! I am a model and dietician so I bring my food with me, at any rate you can’t drink the water in Lima and there are no purified taps and your only option is buying a $12 USD 1.5 liter Evian water, that’s insane. As I said I had my meals so I needed some water as I like to stay hydrated but that price for water was by far the biggest scam I have ever seen in my life! I would bring an empty 1.5 liter next time and have them fill it in the plane if I had a layover. Water is essential for human survival, there is not integrity in leaving people with no options but to scam them with a $12USD bottle of water. I could go on but that is enough for now.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst designed airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | No seats. No outlets. Can't even buy a soda and get a seat at most restaurants to get a seat, need to buy food. So it's obviously a know problem. The airport is bizzarely designed. Getting to a connecting flight is an idiotic process. They don't permit travellers to proceed through the airport to their connecting flight - you have to physically exit the airport and return through another entrance. Getting to security is also over complicated. They have most shops and food BEFORE security. Again, no seats. This airport is far, far too busy. Peru needs another true international Airport to handle its passenger load. Cusco is technically one, but simply flies to Lima 99% of the time. It's smaller, but has staff and facilities appropriate to its load. Lima simply doesn't. The outlets are placed mostly on columns... In the middle of the concourse. So sitting and charging is pretty much a non option. This is, in summary, the worst designed airport I've ever been to, despite its obvious importance.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"would be happy with visiting again"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | My transit was International to domestic at Lima airport, so we had to pick up our luggage, go through customs and immigration then re-check in for our flight to Cusco. Apparently most of the people on our flight were connecting, so I can easily say that there was no queue at immigration, and all of our four bags came out first (Star gold). A security guard asked us if we were connecting, and he led us through to the Avianca check in counters. Check in for the next flight was weird. One of the business class counters called over someone from the economy line to check in, and we were next in line at the business line. I was quite cross with Avianca for doing this. Once through, there were a couple of restaurants, and we were quite hungry, so we bought some Chinese food that was reasonably priced at the food court before security. For some reason, my friend's boarding pass did not work and I had already gone through. The agent asked me to pay $12 if I wanted to go back and help him reprint a boarding pass. This seemed like some sort of bribe, and not necessarily a good sign of a country. Security was quite quick, but then at the gate area, there are minimal seats, so most of us were forced to stand. Most of the staff spoke reasonable English and didn't necessarily seem intimidating at all. I don't know if it was because we were tired, but the terminal felt quite hot. One thing I like about this airport is the fact that taxi times are incredibly short here. The landing announcement didn't even finish yet and the seatbelt sign was already off! I think this airport works as an airport, albeit there are some parts it can improve. I think that I'm particularly happy about the short taxi times and would be happy with visiting again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Extremely expensive"

(Argentina)

Not Verified | Extremely expensive, like 20 dollars for a coffee. Extremely rude staff at migrations and security, yelling at people and really bad body language. I found the airport not very clean for the amount of people on it. Also, charging for internet? Seriously? It should be something for free in a place where there is nothing to do, not even shopping because everything was closed for the night.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this airport"

(Mexico)

Not Verified | I had been in this airport six times, and none of them was a pleasent one. The airport is very small, it moves a lot of planes, so it gets crowded very fast, the airport is not well signed, they don't anounce the flights, planes are always changing gates, and most of the time, the crew has to be searching for passengers all along the airport. The staff is not helpful. The terminal seating is very uncomfortable (once I was here for 11 hours) bathrooms are insufficient and not clean. Restaurants and stores don't share the wifi, even if you are a customer. Taxi drivers outside are constantly following you, also they take one lane of the entrance so they create traffic inside the airport parking. There is a lot of traffic also in the airport entrance. In general try to avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Everything is so excessively expensive"

(United States)

Not Verified | Lima Airport is the worst airport I have ever been to and here is why. 1) No water fountains because they want you to buy the $2.50 bottle water. 2) Everything is so excessively expensive. 3) The top winner is bathrooms. They are filthy and stinky. It’s the way they. Lean them. Horrible! 4) No outlets to charge your devices. You have to use one of the two Samsung charging stations. 5) No free internet (only free 30 minutes), then you have to buy a card for $5 or $10. Lima Airport is the bottom of the barrel.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this airport at all costs"

(United States)

Not Verified | We have traveled to airports all over the world and Lima airport was certainly one of the very worst we have ever experienced. We flew from Lima to Cusco on a weekend day. The place was completely mobbed with almost no staff providing directions. Complete chaos. The line for security was very long and we barely made it to our gate on time and that was only after pleading with the staff to let us through. On our way back home, we connected in Lima from Juliaca. Despite flying LATAM on both legs of our flight, they were unable to check the baggage through to JFK, our final destination, so we had to retrieve our luggage and check in again. We were told the flight would leave from gate 20. Lots of people were waiting for the flight. Soon before boarding time, they announced the flight would now leave from gate 18, so everyone moved there. Suddenly, the flight time was delayed by an hour with no explanation provided. The gate was change again to gate 21 so everyone moved again. The flight was then delayed another hour without any explanation. Finally, they randomly checked carry ons and told us we could not bring aboard water which we had just purchased from TGI Fridays literally next to the gate. Avoid this airport at all costs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"always had a very easy time"

(United States)

Verified Review | We have connected with flights four times (twice in 2011, twice November 2016) and have always had a very easy time. I've read a number of reviews that say this airport is a nightmare, but we have never had an issue. Maybe because we generally went through at night (after 9:00 pm) but we have found the signage easy to follow, and have not had any delays in immigration and customs. There have always been staff to help guide us. Our turnaround times have always been on the shorter side, so we have not tried the restaurants or shops there. The only issue we have had was heavy traffic. Lima is a pretty busy airport to have only one runway. On this trip our flight to Juliaca was delayed about 40 minutes because of the number of planes taking off and landing. But the pilot (LATAM) made up most of the time so we weren't too late.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"one of the best in South America"

(Bolivia)

Verified Review | In my opinion Lima airport is one of the best in South America, they have really improved. I had some problems with an airline and inside the airport there is an office name Indecopi and is open 24/7 they helped me a lot, they will go and speak with the airline involved in the problem and try to resolve your issue. Plus side the food court is one of the best specially Pardos Chicken - a really delightful treat. Security check was speedy and immigration won't take you more than 10 min even on a crowded day. 2 of the largest airlines in South America use this airport as a hub LATAM and Avianca. Only negative side is that internet is very expensive, but you can get 10 minutes for free, good to tell relatives you are alive. Will recommend and definitely will come back using this route.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"very bad experience"

(Slovakia)

Very bad experience with Lima Airport, starting with transfer when you have to collect your luggage despite checked luggage to final destination (airport rules, not airline). Very unfriendly staff, foreigners bad treatment comparing to local, no english spoken. And wifi access only for 10 minutes.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 49 Reviews