Leeds Bradford Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 358 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Ryanair was fine, the airport is a disaster"

(Spain)

Trip Verified | Arrival - the plane arrived 10 minutes early. It parked as far away as possible from the terminal, I am convinced it was in Lincolnshire! That would not have been a problem if it hadn’t taken the airport nearly an hour to get a bus to the plane, no staff. Departure - The queue for security stretched outside so I had to pay extra for slow fast track. Once through security there was not a seat to be had, not even in the bars etc. It was hot and very unpleasant. The flight was delayed for 90 minutes because the airport was short of baggage handlers. Ryanair was fine, the airport is a disaster. I regret I cannot give a zero rating.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"like a run down bus station"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Nowhere to buy a drink prior to going through security, sat for over an hour. Most of the shops shut. 1 bar ran out of 2 types of beer another bar was closed the other bar no Guinness or other types off beer. No Aircon and it's currently 27 degrees. Every seating area is filled with mess that people have left, yet there's people walking around that look like cleaner but are not cleaning. Given people should take their own rubbish. Saying that their are no visible bins. The airport is like a run down bus station. Worst airport in the UK
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"seemingly totally incompetent"

(Portugal)

Not Verified | All staff very friendly and chatty but seemingly totally incompetent! I have special assistance for a spinal problem and things started well with the ambulift being prompt on arrival and transported through baggage and immigration but then we were dumped at the entrance with no offer of help with our luggage for the service bus to car hire/park (only with other passengers help did we get on) and the same on return. We then checked in our luggage but my rollator/walker was deemed oversize and was taken by the special assistance employee to the unmanned Jet2 oversize baggage desk in spite of our telling him we were flying with Ryanair !!! He assured us that 'no problem, he would see to it'. Nontheless my rollator (on which I depend to get around) did not make it to Faro. The worst aspect was that on going to the Ryanair desk at Faro they could get nobody at Leeds to either answer the phone or reply to an e-mail to check the situation - see my Ryanair report. I also tried phoning and e-mailing with same result !! How can an airport function without connections to the outside world ?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"An absolute embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | An absolute embarrassment! We were lucky & purchased Fast track before hand for security but my heart went out to those that were wasting there lives stood in that queue that went on for hours! One belt Two men for 100’s of people, again an absolute disgrace! No water in the toilet taps to wash hands which is absolutely disgusting when you think we are just coming out of the other side of a global pandemic. No sandwiches or bottles of water in the shops! Of course we were sat on the run way for hours because we waiting for those poor people battling through security! I will avoid booking any flights from LBA in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Abysmal experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Abysmal experience, expected long queues but nothing as bad as this. Two hour wait for security early morning, people fainting in the queue it was so arduous. The place needs shutting down or a number of flights should be cancelled until they are in a position to handle the number of passengers departing. It is not acceptable to treat the travelling public in this way.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"This is poor management, through and through"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I was flying from LBA to Amsterdam at 6.20 on the morning of the 13th. I arrived three hours early, but there was already queues stretching from one end of the building to the other. This wasn't the problem, however - the issue was that not a single member of staff was walking up and down the queue to direct people to where they needed to be. The queue was so long that people at the back had no idea what it was for, meaning that people who had already checked in ended up waiting an hour or more only to find out they were in a check-in queue, or people who needed to check in waited hours just to reach security and be told to leave the queue, find a check-in desk and then wait hours more in the original queue. This is basic organisation - the staff were available, and all they had to do was walk up and down the entire queue instead of limiting themselves to the end of it, which would have prevented a huge amount of additional wasted time and panicked queue bumping. As it stands, their remedial organisation failures meant that people like myself who arrived many, many hours before their flight still ended up repeatedly rejoining queues - I made my flight by literally seconds, after a member of staff told me not to skip the queue for my flight, only for me to find out other people on the same flight had been fast tracked. Not being bothered to walk an extra few metres to save vast amounts of time and effort attests to a poor working culture with no clear management (or incompetent management who aren't physically present in the situation). No individual staff member was negligent or rude, in fact quite the opposite, but the failure to walk that long queue might have been the sole reason a "crisis" existed - of you take away people being in wrong queue, the entire thing might go away. Naturally this situation was not present in Amsterdam or America, both countries still operating under strict COVID control - this means there is no inherent problem because these slick, functioning airports also dealt with COVID and must still contend with more COVID bureaucracy than the UK. This is poor management, through and through.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a miserable experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Truly an appalling experience going through security at Leeds Bradford airport. Two members of staff constantly shouting at a huge queue, then we all heard "Ian what do I do with a pacemaker?" the reply, "male or female?". Utterly degrading, disrespectful and breaches GDPR! Whoever is responsible for delivering training should be sacked as should the manager who judging by the reviews is accepting of this awful customer service. In contrast, Jet2 staff were helpful, polite and smart, not a uniform in sight with airport staff, overall a miserable experience. The only reason I use LBA is it is 20 mins from home but this is becoming less important. Sort your staff out!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"high time they got their act together"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | According to their website if you own an electric car you are able to drop off or pick up Free of Charge, plus you are able to park for up to 1hour. This would be great if that were possible as in order to have free parking it is necessary to speak to a member of staff to tell them you have such a vehicle, they would then contact the main building for permission to allow you free passage. On Friday 1st April I went to collect some members of the family and took advantage of the “free hour” by going into arrivals to welcome them. When I went to leave the parking area, guess what? Not a single member of staff were to be found, therefore it cost me £11 to get out. The following Monday when I dropped the family off (a total of 4 minutes) again no staff again, this time it cost me £5 to leave. If Leeds Bradford can’t manage to operate their existing Airport how on earth would they manage to run an extended one. Reading many of the comments from other people it’s high time they got their act together.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Terminal Signs 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A disgraceful airport, needs new management or any management at all"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Easily the most deplorable god awful airport in the 21st century. My question is who manages that airport. Queue for 2 hours nearly missed my flight. People had to ask to be put to the front of the queue as to avoid missing their flight. Understaffed. Security was a mess, an unorderly queue for the metal detectors and at that only one was open until one of the staff opened another and let everyone through, although she was efficient she was very rude and seemed to be taking out her frustration and stress out on the passengers which was not what was needed in that situation. A disgraceful airport, needs new management or any management at all. 1/10 as I quickly bought a nice wrap out of Boots it was delicious. Other than that can’t comment on the shops as we didn’t have enough time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"utterly disgraceful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The security queue at this airport is utterly appalling - over one hour in a cramped crowded space - utterly disgraceful. Once I escaped the queue I was approached by a Chugger - charity mugger - I already give to charities but loathe this kind of salesmanship!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no