Larnaca Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 60 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"It has seating I would not use"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This has to be the dirtiest, foul smelling, poorly maintained airports in Europe. It has seating I would not use because it was so grubby and carpets that were soiled and smelt. It was like something from a third world country.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"announcements as loud as one can stand"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | My last year's review on this jungle airport was mainly about the constant public announcements in arabic, russian, english, you name it and probably 5% in the local language which is greek. This time, things were far worse, announcements as loud as one can stand, one after the other causing chaos in that you hear something which you don't understand. A train station in Karachi works better. Queuing lines unbelievable and only two officers to check passports, of course no respect for instructions for EU citizens, go as you please! Very very strict security check / prices for bottled water beyond any consideration as expensive as rare french perfume and the government totally ignores complaints about high prices at this airport, not only for water but for food and beverages. Though Cyprus is very cheap as a destination this airport is the sad exception. My flight was delayed, gate 45 the whole carpeted floor was very filthy with coffee or beer stains etc not only was everything filthy but also junk paper here and there, nobody came to clean the place, and to get into the toilet was a real challenge. Such a brand new airport practically totally disorganised, neglected, the carpet on the floor is more of a mess, ever so expensive goodies and nobody reads passengers negative comments. Lastly, the staff in most cases is not local for inexplicable reasons but mainly foreigners from ex soviet with minor knowledge and experience thus giving the impression you are in a neglected third country or ex soviet city.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"his luggage was stolen"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My uncle recently travelled from UK to Cyprus. After collecting his luggage and waiting for transfer outside airport his luggage was stolen. People please be aware as four other peoples luggage was stolen at same time which was reported to police. After speaking to people he was told this had been a regular occurrence, airport security need to make people aware and take appropriate action to ensure this does not happen.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"prices put them to shame"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This looks a nice shiny new airport but don’t be fooled. Even though they are reasonably efficient at checking bags in it all goes wrong once through passport control. The prices for food and drink put them to shame. It is daylight robbery. Also, there are no free water points. Local shops have the big water bottle dispensers in Pernera, yet this airport can’t achieve this simple requirement which is normal in civilised countries. One of the airport officials said it is because all water on the island comes from the sea! Well, that isn’t really an answer is it, more of an “I’m busy comment”. The air conditioning appears to be switched off or very poor at keeping the airport cool at midnight! All in all, it’s poor on a qualitative scale. Given a choice, you wouldn’t use it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"massively overpriced water"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely disgusted by the cost of food and drink at this airport. No water fountains for us to refill bottles, forced to purchase massively overpriced water and therefore add further to the obvious problem of disposable plastic. Sandwiches were nearly 6 euros, a so-called medium coffee was over 4 euros and tiny. The food and beverage staff were not friendly. No special assistance over and above just mobility issues so my deaf daughter was forced to wait in queues through security and the family lane wasn't open. My mother who needed mobility assistance was taken away from us by herself causing her anxiety and distress. We didn't meet back up with her until we got to the gate. On the way out through Gatwick we were all allowed to stay together (there were also free drinking water fountains). The special assistance staff (the two men who pushed the wheelchairs) were amazing and the only positive point about this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"miserable, unfriendly staff"

(Luxembourg)

Not Verified | The most miserable, unfriendly staff I have ever encountered. Perhaps they can be reminded that tourists can be a nuisance but they are a great help to the local economy. If you do not hear or misunderstand an instruction, God help you.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"new airport terminal is mediocre"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Armed Police and Soldiers chatting and smoking. The mens toilets were filthy. Air-conditioning useless. Only a few passport desks open. Rip off prices in all food and drink outlets. Departure terminal is just a big boring warehouse. Flight information boards said flight was boarding when it wasn't. Sadly Larnaca's new airport terminal is mediocre.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"volume of public announcements was unbelievable"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Despite reviews I have read, this was a perfectly pleasant experience. Air-conditioning, very good shopping, though at the main restaurant I was surprised that the menu was not even in the local Greek language and only in English, so an interpreter must be used! Most and I mean most announcements so loud that could be heard in Beirut, were in english language only, and the old lady next to me was constantly asking for translation. The volume of public announcements was unbelievable and more than disturbing. A railway station in Africa would have been better. Lines at security check where some of the private security, do not speak greek were inexplicably long not to mention at passport control with ten police officers checking but no separation in practice of EU and third country passports or IDs. A very good airport however with some details which make it negative.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Absolute shocker inside"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival - Been holidaying regularly in Cyprus since 1983, although not since 2014 (just returned home 30 June) and pleasantly surprised to see new terminal in operation but dismayed when having to find 2 Euro coin to "hire" trolley in baggage reclaim. Most tourists will only have bank notes on arrival. Had to make purchase in shop in order to obtain coins. Not helpful when you have 18 month old grandchild with you. Otherwise O.K. Departure - Again, modern looking and typical "purpose-built" building i.e.concrete blocks and steel frame shed. Absolute shocker inside when we arrived at 9.00pm for an 11.00 departure. O.K. - we were advised that it was a busy Sunday evening but nevertheless, we could expect to get through check-in fairly quickly? To be fair, only took 10 minutes or so get luggage checked in. However, hidden from view behind the luggage check-in was a "snake" queue comprising approx. 1000 people to get through passport control and then security. Took well over an hour. Cheeky option available to pay €5 per person to "fast track" passport control but still left you having to join further "snake" to get through security? Consequently, departure board showed flight as boarding therefore no time to get refreshment after fraught experience? Might consider using Paphos airport again next time as much better experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"queues right round the terminal"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have been travelling to Cyprus for the last 19 years and I have never seen such chaos travelling back through Larnaca Airport on Sunday, 17 June and my son the previous day, Saturday 16 June. The queues were right round the terminal building. It took an hour and half for my son and girlfriend on the 16 June and an hour and half on the 17 June for me and my husband to get through to the other side. There was no time to shop in duty free and I just queued for a bottle of pop and then we were boarding. I was given a coupon for 10% off cosmetics and perfume, what a joke. The duty free shops must have lost so much money. The staff asked if a couple could push in before us as they were flying to Berlin with 10 minutes to spare and had not got through passport control. Why has the system changed? It worked perfectly well before. It will put people off coming to Cyprus and tourism will be affected. Please, please can the airport do something about this. We are due to travel back on the 11 July and do not want to face these queues again on our return flight. It is pretty scary when you think you could miss your flight through no fault of your own and I am sure other people will have missed theirs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 60 Reviews