La Guardia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 117 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"constant delays with security"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Multibillion dollar renovation at LaGuardia yet security with pre check takes 20 minutes? What’s the point? Never experienced such significant and constant delays with security.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"waiting for hours inside the airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Upon landing and looking for a taxi I found this Appallingly inefficient scenario: There were ropes inside the airport lobby where people waited for taxis. Some people just skipped the line and went directly outside where they queued with the passengers who had waited for one hour while the other stranded people were inside still waiting. People in wheelchairs were set aside and automatically skipped the line. My wait for a trickling taxi was one hour. When I finally went outside to the next queue the waiting travelers inside had at least a 2 hour wait. The line inside the airport extended way outside the rope lines. People with children or pets were literally in deep trouble. The taxi cabs are not allowed to pick up passengers at the airport curb but are obliged to wait in a parking lot two miles from the airport and then fight traffic to get to curb and pick up a traveler. They make this long circle around the airport. There are hundreds of taxi cabs waiting in the lot. Causing hundreds of stranded travelers waiting for hours inside the airport. I would like to know the genius who created this mess so I could tell him/her what a dumb way to manage the taxi/passenger situation. With all the taxi cabs waiting in the parking lot causing the passengers to wait for hours in the airport instead of a quick turn over like in any other civilized country. It’s a disgrace and mismanagement of available taxis, time, airport disruption due to interminable lines and disgruntled passengers and extra fuel since the driver needs to travel fighting traffic to reach the terminal AGAIN. Besides that, think of the extra burden on the environment and the air we breathe, circling around like that for no reason whatsoever. Taxis are constantly needed, don’t keep them in a parking lot 2 miles from airport trickling in, like slow drops.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"just the pleasantries that were needed"

(United States)

Not Verified | The customer service we received by American Airlines and TSA was amazing. I forgot my bag at a store in La Guardia when I purchased an item. We only realized it when we were outside! Well, we told a TSA agent what happened and they directed us to the security agent. She told me to ask AA for a gate pass and if not she would personally escort me back to the store. The AA agent was super nice and told me she would radio someone to walk me. She the asked for my receipt and contacted the store directly! TSA took over and sent someone to the store and brought out bag! Wow, this was just the pleasantries that were needed after an wonderful cruise.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolutely pathetic"

(United States)

Not Verified | What a complete joke - this is not a terminal, but a completely messed up construction zone. You will have to walk through mud, rain, snow and ice to get in and out of that terminal. There is not even a drop off without having to walk for 5-10 minutes through the complete mess. Once you made it to the "terminal", don't expect seating anywhere near the "gate". Also, don't expect the plane to be anywhere close to the construction zone that you have to enter to catch a flight. For that, you leave the building and walk and walk through the same weather, mud and rain that you experienced getting into that building. I have no idea why any airline in the world would assume that this was anywhere close to acceptable. Over the last 40 years, I have been flying with poor airlines into poor airports, but this is absolutely the worst and most unbelievable experience. For sure the last time that I flew with Delta Airlines, which is the only airline expecting their customers to accept walking through a muddy construction zone to use their "service". Absolutely pathetic.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"the design of the Terminal D is dreadful"

(United States)

Not Verified | While pretty, the design of the Terminal D is dreadful if you are a human who has to walk the half mile to the last gate. And if you forget, or need to use a restroom after you get to the gate, be prepared to hike back that half mile! Further sadness is the design flaw of the expansive windows. Pretty views, but no overhang and poor window tinting means I left the airport sunburned and sweating from the greenhouse-effect heat! Sunburned from sitting inside an airport? Crazy, but true. Lastly, LaGuardia is now the most expensive airport in the world to get a snack, try the $6 bottle of orange juice (that costs $0.50 wholesale, and $4 at other airports). Shame on NYC and Skanska Design.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"is still very much a work in progress"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It was the last leg of a long day traveling from JAC. The airport is undergoing a multi billion dollar renovation and is still very much a work in progress. Eating and shopping options are somewhat limited compared to other airports I was at on this trip. I was too tired and hungry to go exploring. There was only one monitor to check for departing flights at the far end of the C concourse. This was frustrating as my departure gate changed twice. The departing flight was stuck on the tarmac for about 45 minutes due to Air Traffic. Who knew that a late night departure from LaGuardia could get delayed waiting to take off?
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"I was totally disappointed"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I realize the renovation is not complete - but I am so disappointed that the layout doesn't seem to consider people who are not 20-30 somethings or athletes. The corridors going to the gates are excessively long and I see no plans for moving sidewalks. I am a "normal" 50 something with no disabilities and still found it to be a trek. If you're going to do something, why not do it right? I was totally disappointed. Nice advertising, nice fountain but really, I like convenience most.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
8/10

"TV’s are deafening"

(United States)

Trip Verified | TV’s are deafening. Not all of us need to anesthetized by useless news. Make some quiet sections. Other then that, the terminal has improved immensely.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Worst shuttle service I have ever seen"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst shuttle service I have ever seen, out of many, and I want to stress up front that there was zero hustle in the the service people involved with the unacceptably-long shuttle time. My wife and I arrived at a high-numbered (no letter) gate and saw that we needed to get to gate 'D2'. After looking around in confusion and almost following a sign for D gate departures OUT of the airport, we figured out there was a shuttle between terminals (no signs for it that I saw). After a short walk, we got to a waiting line of shuttle passengers, some of which it sounded like they were waiting many minutes more. Another ten minutes later we were finally got on the shuttle, which took another ten plus minutes to get to our gate. Fortunately we had a reasonably-long layover to work with so we made our flight, another shuttle passenger was not so lucky. Also, at our gate the seating was very poorly laid out and cramped, yay. At least the staff at that gate showed some hustle to get us on the plane which was appreciated, my heart goes out to them.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will gladly pay more money to not stop at LGA"

(Canada)

Not Verified | The worst airport experience I have had. Every flight to and from were delayed. They are clearly overbooking flights and can't handle the traffic. I missed my connection and have to pay for the hotel out of pocket because it was "air traffic control" issues and not weather related. They should't take in more flights than they're capable of handling. It took 45 mins to take a shuttle to go 2 terminals over because theres no traffic control for cars/buses. There so signs or info for which bus to take. The "bus stops" were overflowed with people waiting. And no help directing people. I will gladly pay more money to not stop at LGA.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no