Kolkata Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"unnecessary and irritating experience"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Worst airport in the world. We flew with Indigo from Mumbai to Singapore, with transit in Kolkata. Arriving at 1am in Kolkata, we moved from the domestic terminal to the international terminal to issue our transit ticket, which strangely enough hadn't been printed before. Turns out that checking in wasn't possible until 3 hours before the flight. Trying to go either with the sleeping rooms or the airport hotels, the personel didn't allow us to leave as we were 'passengers' despite not having gotten our ticket yet. Waiting out the designated time for check-in instead of sleeping, we made our way to immigration. Upon arrival at immigration, security staff didn't allow us to go through security for another half hour, even though airline had just finally issued our ticket. Completely unnecessary and irritating experience for what should have been just a transit moment.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"employ efficient people"

(India)

Not Verified | To issue one flight ticket the counter people took half an hour or more for one passenger. And it’s an international transfer. Some passengers will miss the flight for their incompetence. Kindly give proper training or employ efficient people.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Filthy dirty washrooms"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | Filthy dirty washrooms, very disappointed. This is the 3rd time in 4 months I am at Kolkota International Airport and the condition of washrooms remains same as it was before. Think about fixing it for real and not just talk big.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"quality of immigration officers is deplorable"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The quality of immigration officers is deplorable. An Indian national with an Indian passport and Australian permanent residence I've never had an issue coming or leaving Australia, New Zealand or Thailand but the staff here seem to be living in a parallel universe. I was travelling through Thai Airways to Australia stopping for a holiday in Phuket. Thailand gives visa on arrival to Indians which I have used in the past. This guy kept me waiting for 15 mins despite a long queue behind me wandering around with my passport talking to other officials, why? I don't know. Asks for my return ticket to India to which I reply I'm an Australian resident and live there. Then he goes on to say that I don't have a visa stamp for either Thailand or Australia despite knowing about Thailand's visa on arrival and Australia being a label free country. On scanning a passport they can easily see a list of airports one has been to and countries a person is allowed into. I think he wanted me to plead and beg him to let me through. Once he ran out of dumb questions he had to let me through nevertheless ruining the end of my India trip. What really annoys me is the attitude they have towards their own countrymen harassing us over literally no issues just to boost their egos and get an illusion that they are important and above us mere mortals.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"no hassles whatsoever"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrived at midnight one day and departed a week later a few hours after midnight. At these hours, the international wing of the airport is rather quiet. Disembarkation and embarkation were by jet bridge. Immigration check was fast - less than 2 minutes. With no checked luggage. I quickly exited past a duty free shop that was amply stocked with whisky. A prepaid taxi booth enables you to buy a taxi ride to your destination. Quite well organized and safe. On departure, checkin was quick. Immigration lines were short and security check was standard for this airport with a physical frisk. You need to show your ticket or a printout to armed sentries at the entrance along with your passport to be let in to the spacious, high ceilings departure hall. A large number of shops were open though the most attractive one is the Biswa Bangla (World of Bengal) store. It carries a wide range of authentic handicrafts in addition to traditional clothes, teas, and paintings. A must stop place to pick up a quality souvenir. I spent the time before departure at the business class lounge which was small but functional with food strictly for the local palate. A bar offered a selection of alcohol and beer. A nice place to relax with one desk top computer available to guests. In short, I found the airport to be better this time and it was very easy to use with no hassles whatsoever!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"rude and unfriendly staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | I used CCU recently both for arrival and departure in the last week and have noticed a significant detoriation in both arrival and departure areas between 2016 and 2018. Staff are back to being rude like the olden days. It seems rude and unfriendly staff is the trademark of this airport, portraying an extremely bad face for our dear city. Didi has done a great job of building a world class airport. Now only if the people working here would learn a little bit about how to treat people rather than steal from them before 15 hr flights, CCU would be a great airport. At least one can hope. PS: Only airport that does not allow passengers to carry a lighter, even though it is allowed by the IATA.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"has been a noticeable deterioration"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I had the chance to use the international section of the airport four times this month - twice for arrival and twice for departure. Since I have used this airport many times I have to admit there has been a noticeable deterioration in the quality of the travel experience it offers. There were more passengers at the arrival and departure immigration queues and the officials continue to examine documents with exaggerated attention causing delays. Landing cards, required to be filled out for foreigners, are hard to find in the arrival lounge. There was no beer available at any of the food and beverage outlets. The in-line baggage checking system was down for maintenance requiring everyone to put their bags through an X-Ray machine before taking it to the airline counter. Some new shops and eating places have opened - the offerings and ambience are uninviting. The business class lounge is small but comfortable and the snacks are primarily meant for the Indian palate. Internet was available, elsewhere in the terminal the procedure to access wi-fi is simply impossible to follow. - I gave up. The terminal is clean, the signage clear, and the toilets, though they look dated and inelegant, worked and were reasonably clean. A relatively small and easy airport to use, it succeeds in delivering its basic functions. No place to linger and would be terrible if one got stranded.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"my experience this time was less thrilling"

(United States)

Verified Review | I used the airport to visit the city during its biggest festival - Durga Pujo. Arrival at 2.20 am in the morning made the exit through immigration fast. However, the separate line for Business Class passengers has been done away with (presumably because there are very few such passengers using this airport) which meant standing in a long line with everyone else. Fortunately, that was the only in-bound flight to arrive at that unearthly hour and thus one plane load of people had to be processed. A counter has disembarkation forms that need to be filled out and presented with the passport for presentation to the officer. Interestingly, after the passport is stamped and you step through to go to the luggage claim area, another officer takes your passport to check if it has been appropriately stamped! The duty free shop just before the terminal exit has been expanded with more items. Using the airport to depart was unpleasant. Being the festive season, I had expected a larger than usual crowd. But the immigration lines for passport check and security frisking were exceedingly long, with no separate counter or lane for Business Class passengers. It took over 35 minutes to reach the passport control desk. At least they have done away with stamping the tags on carry on baggage after security. The terminal has a shop - Bishwa Bangla - that carries traditional handicrafts of the region and a superb place to pick up authentic craft souvenirs - which I have done in the past. Alas, tonight the shop was closed. I would have thought that with the larger than usual traffic footfall, this is when the shop should have been open giving departing tourists the chance to pick up local mementoes of their memories. The lounge, shared with several airlines, had a large spread of Bengali dishes, in keeping with the festival season. It was crowded. However, the bar closed very early - no serving of alcohol because of religious reasons. The bartender was kind enough to offer me two bottles of beer as he was closing down the bar. No newspapers in the lounge, only copies of a single issue of a business magazine. Cathay Dragon check-in was smooth and the ground staff was exceedingly friendly. I used the lounge bathroom - it was clean but smelly. Having used the airport countless times and usually very positive about it, my experience this time was less thrilling. The doing away with separate lanes for Business/First Class passengers, which was a perk that I particularly valued and which made using the airport a breeze, is a major disappointment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"quality of staff is deplorable"

(India)

Verified Review | Pathetic airport. First off, the quality of staff is deplorable. They lack any sophistication and training and are crude in the way they handle passengers. The toilets are few and ill-maintained. And though it is classified as a silent airport, the airline staff make it a point to make blaring announcements and calls to passengers that do not show up at the boarding terminal on time. Such an atrocious nuisance!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"No bathrooms at the waiting arena"

(India)

Verified Review | No bathrooms at the waiting arena at departures section which is terrible. The closest bathroom is a good 10 to 15 minutes walk! No adequate seating facility at waiting arena 3C. Terrible experience of having to wait 4hrs as a single traveller. Many travellers have medical conditions or natural biological necessity to use a restroom!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 88 Reviews