Kolkata Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 101 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"It serves its purpose"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I arrived at midnight on a flight from Hong Kong, with the plane docking at a jet bridge. The immigration lines were long and slow, but were being managed by minders. When I finally appeared at the officer's desk, my passport and visa in it underwent a long and silent scrutiny before they were stamped. A duty free shop selling mostly liquor and chocolates is located before exiting. There is a prepaid taxi office where you can pay and obtain a receipt for a taxi ride to your destination. Numbered taxis are lined up outside. There is also an Uber office to book a ride. The prepaid taxi office takes only cash. On departing Kolkata, I did not have a paper print out of my ticket. The guard at the entrance was extremely helpful asking if that was on my computer, smartphone, or tablet. She also pointed out a poster listing the phone numbers of the airlines that I could call for a representative to come to the entrance to let me in. I was able to pull my reservation on my laptop and show it to her. Check in with Qatar Airways was smooth. This was around 1 am in the morning. Security check was routine. The gift shop, Bishwa Bangla, that showcases local handicrafts, was closed. The lounge was closed for renovation and a sign directed guests to another facility. There was a bar with a small selection. A range of local dishes were available buffet style. Comfortable seats with electric power outlets. I used a toilet - it had water and tissue paper but the floor was wet and the fixtures were discolored. The flush worked. Boarding was smooth. Overall, the airport appears to have become busier with more late night flights and the various conveniences are just enough and basic. It serves its purpose.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"definitely needs renovation"

(India)

The airport is of one of the poorest quality. On departure, the management of lines for baggage security is quite poor. Which metro city's airport does not have inline check-in baggage security? On arrival, the baggage seems to take ages to arrive. No airport takes so much time. I don't know if it's a staff issue or is it just a plain design issue. The toilets are not clean and definitely needs renovation.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"it's the management who need to improve"

(United Arab Emirates)

Trip Verified | The terminal building is new and big, it's the management who need to improve. No food and beverage facility at domestic checking area during the night, even during the day there are very few options. Not a busy airport with infrastructure, checking is mostly smooth. As most of the airports in India security is very poor. Few lounges in departure area, no shower facility anywhere, no wifi for non Indian numbers, at least I faced that problem. Staff are not very helpful, typical government staff attitude. Lots of places to eat and drink after security but as usual over priced. Normally getting a seat before boarding gate is not an issue. Washroom cleanliness was ok, needs improvement.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"arrival is quite tricky"

(France)

Trip Verified | The arrival at this airport is quite tricky. Distrust especially the money changers stating that there is no ATM machine outside to persuade you to change money with them. They apply an unacceptable rate and fee! I reported that to the security but nothing was done. There is a ATM machine just outside near the taxi boot. The new airport is much better that the old one and the duty free is not bad. Two smoking area are available. On the other hand, the security check system is quite chaotic and people often do not respect the line.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"arrival area completely deserted"

(India)

Trip Verified | Today (2nd Jun Sunday) I flew from Mumbai to Kolkata arrived around 12 noon. Out of my surprise at that time of day domestic arrival area completely deserted and I'm completely shocked. Can't imagine in Mumbai any time of the day always over crowded. Is it because less no of flights or some other factors?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Everything moved smoothly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I used this airport for a very late night international arrival and a late night international departure. Everything moved smoothly - immigration lines. Security checks, airline check-in - no delays at all! Foreigners need to fill out a landing card which was handed out by staff just before the immigration counters - bring your own pen! This is not a busy airport so you can get in and out quickly. I noticed more shops this time. Just before exiting the terminal is a well stocked duty free shop. In departure hall is an excellent shop - Bishwa Bengal — selling Bengal’s handicrafts including clothing and jewelry. The prepaid taxi booking service was quick though they accept only rupees. Money exchange kiosks are in the arrival and departure halls. I used the business class lounge on departure. It was a comfortable place to while away the time before your flight and an opportunity to enjoy draft Kingfisher beer. I did not use the wi-fi and thus cannot comment. Overall, the entire experience was stress free and without any hitches.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"all of us got heavily delayed"

(India)

Not Verified | Most of the self check in machines are not working, after standing on a queue for 25 minutes, the working machine also broke down and since it's 70 minutes left for departure, staff pushed us on the check in counter, all of us got heavily delayed. Maintenance is too bad in this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"No place for sleep"

(India)

Trip Verified | I was suppose to fly to Yangon from Mumbai via Kolkata. I took Air India flight from Mumbai to Kolkata and Kolkata to Yangon. Mumbai flight arrived late night 11.30 and Yangon flight left in the morning 5.30. I was not allowed to get in at international airport and at domestic airport retiring room was full. There is no other facility where person can sit and relax properly during night time. Seating at the arrival hall is also less and seats have arm rest so a person cannot even relax properly - worst ever experience at CCU airport for transit passages not allowed to enter at international terminal. No place for sleep.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad experience"

(India)

Not Verified | Filthy washrooms and a lot of mosquitoes. Authorities must take charge and look forward to resolve the issues pertaining to cleanliness. It is not worth being named as an international airport. Very bad experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a lot of improvements can be made"

(Canada)

Not Verified | A lot of improvements can be made with the service, cleanliness and technology provided by this airport. WiFi is only available for indian sim numbers yet there’s a drop down option to input an international number. Access to something like WiFi here feels ancient and it’s inconvenient. Despite this problem which the Mumbai airport has, they were able to connect me at the help desk. But at the Kolkata help desk I was told nothing could be done to connect me so I had to contact my Canadian phone plan to sort matters out. When I asked the lady at the help desk if I could then buy a SIM card she informed me there was at the end of the airport (basically trying to shoo me away) and when I walked all the way at the end, another gentlemen mentioned I cannot obtain one anywhere in this airport. Half the time the help desk is empty. It’s a joke.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no