Kolkata Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 98 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"arrival is quite tricky"

(France)

Trip Verified | The arrival at this airport is quite tricky. Distrust especially the money changers stating that there is no ATM machine outside to persuade you to change money with them. They apply an unacceptable rate and fee! I reported that to the security but nothing was done. There is a ATM machine just outside near the taxi boot. The new airport is much better that the old one and the duty free is not bad. Two smoking area are available. On the other hand, the security check system is quite chaotic and people often do not respect the line.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

"arrival area completely deserted"

(India)

Trip Verified | Today (2nd Jun Sunday) I flew from Mumbai to Kolkata arrived around 12 noon. Out of my surprise at that time of day domestic arrival area completely deserted and I'm completely shocked. Can't imagine in Mumbai any time of the day always over crowded. Is it because less no of flights or some other factors?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Everything moved smoothly"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I used this airport for a very late night international arrival and a late night international departure. Everything moved smoothly - immigration lines. Security checks, airline check-in - no delays at all! Foreigners need to fill out a landing card which was handed out by staff just before the immigration counters - bring your own pen! This is not a busy airport so you can get in and out quickly. I noticed more shops this time. Just before exiting the terminal is a well stocked duty free shop. In departure hall is an excellent shop - Bishwa Bengal — selling Bengal’s handicrafts including clothing and jewelry. The prepaid taxi booking service was quick though they accept only rupees. Money exchange kiosks are in the arrival and departure halls. I used the business class lounge on departure. It was a comfortable place to while away the time before your flight and an opportunity to enjoy draft Kingfisher beer. I did not use the wi-fi and thus cannot comment. Overall, the entire experience was stress free and without any hitches.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"all of us got heavily delayed"

(India)

Not Verified | Most of the self check in machines are not working, after standing on a queue for 25 minutes, the working machine also broke down and since it's 70 minutes left for departure, staff pushed us on the check in counter, all of us got heavily delayed. Maintenance is too bad in this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
2/10

"No place for sleep"

(India)

Trip Verified | I was suppose to fly to Yangon from Mumbai via Kolkata. I took Air India flight from Mumbai to Kolkata and Kolkata to Yangon. Mumbai flight arrived late night 11.30 and Yangon flight left in the morning 5.30. I was not allowed to get in at international airport and at domestic airport retiring room was full. There is no other facility where person can sit and relax properly during night time. Seating at the arrival hall is also less and seats have arm rest so a person cannot even relax properly - worst ever experience at CCU airport for transit passages not allowed to enter at international terminal. No place for sleep.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very bad experience"

(India)

Not Verified | Filthy washrooms and a lot of mosquitoes. Authorities must take charge and look forward to resolve the issues pertaining to cleanliness. It is not worth being named as an international airport. Very bad experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a lot of improvements can be made"

(Canada)

Not Verified | A lot of improvements can be made with the service, cleanliness and technology provided by this airport. WiFi is only available for indian sim numbers yet there’s a drop down option to input an international number. Access to something like WiFi here feels ancient and it’s inconvenient. Despite this problem which the Mumbai airport has, they were able to connect me at the help desk. But at the Kolkata help desk I was told nothing could be done to connect me so I had to contact my Canadian phone plan to sort matters out. When I asked the lady at the help desk if I could then buy a SIM card she informed me there was at the end of the airport (basically trying to shoo me away) and when I walked all the way at the end, another gentlemen mentioned I cannot obtain one anywhere in this airport. Half the time the help desk is empty. It’s a joke.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is filled with mosquitoes"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | The airport is filled with mosquitoes. It’s actually a health hazard. The airport authority is so ignorant that they don’t even care about the safety of international tourists. Pray to god that I won’t carry any disease to Australia.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"free WiFi is not working"

(Malaysia)

Not Verified | No f&b facility is available at waiting area before check in. So dont come and wait for check in with empty stomach! The free WiFi is not working. The airport is new with awesome façade. Anyway, the security is pretty tight as only passengers are allowed within airport area. We need to show boarding pass and passport before entering the main gate of airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
3/10

"Dirty airport"

(India)

Trip Verified | At departure gate, seats are worn out, dusty with crumbs of eatables. Floor carpet has not been cleaned, is littered with water bottles, orange seeds and peels. Dirty airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 98 Reviews