Kiev Zhulyany Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 14 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"had to register those medications"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | On the 27th August 2020, I was at this airport, passing through security to catch my flight back to Lisbon, Portugal, which was due to leave at 4:05 pm, this was the only flight being operated on that afternoon since all operations have been cancelled due to the decision by the Ukraine Government to forbid foreign nationals from entering Ukraine. I passed through security normally but was then asked by a young security guard to go to a "red check" at the end of that security airport space. He then proceeded to tell me I was carrying "psychotropics" which are a "big offense" in Ukraine. Those so called "psychotropics" are drugs for which I have a medical prescription to take in order to cure my mental depression. Those are escitalopram, rivotril and xanax (alprazolam). They made me enter a room further at that security space, without cameras, and said "no flight" to you, "big offense". Apparently I had to register those medications before entering Ukraine. They then ask me if I had any family or friends in Ukraine, I told them my travel purpose was to visit the country and all I wanted was to get back to my country. I tried to show them my medical prescription but they refused to even see it. The older security guy ask me to withdraw 4.400 grivneas (176 euros) at the closest ATM machine so he could let me go. In my despair, I passed security again and did as he told. All I wanted was to leave that corrupt country as soon as possible. Stay away, is the best advice I can give you.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"airport was very efficient"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This airport was very efficient, no lines or delayed services. There are a lot of shops, where you can shop, and places where you can have a bite. Delicious coffee and bakery items to buy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"very quick security"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Pretty small airport. A bit of queue at the passport control at Arrivals. Very quick security control at departing in a Sunday afternoon (~18h). Very small duty free and the distance to gate probably is not that 10 minutes walking. A free spots to buy some food or drinks. Didn’t find any exchange office at the departures hall.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"not made for international travellers"

(France)

Trip Verified | Zhuliany airport is located close to the main business district of Kiev. Very small and cosy, it is pleasant to fly to and from there on international destinations as everything is done very fast. However, the airport is not made for international travellers who don't speak Russian or Ukrainian. The airport has a bad connection to transit system, but taxi fares are attractive and solve the problem (if your driver as of January 2018 asks you more than 4€ to go to the city center, then he is abusing you). Security and passport check staff are professional and polite. The domestic terminal is much more simple, and has no service at all for passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"very modern airport"

(United Kingdom)

We arrived late at night (nearly midnight) so were exhausted. We went through passport control reasonably quickly and the baggage reclaim was also very smooth. Very modern airport and due to less passenger traffic, very efficient. Taxi to railway station was done in under 15 minutes. Very clean (toilets included, which is often a rarity). Overall, I would have to say I prefer Zhulyany over Borispol (which I have been flying through for years) due to its better connections to the city. Though in London, it is not very convenient as Wizz Air fly from Luton.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

Kiev Zhulyany Airport customer review

(Ukraine)

Completely pleasant airport! Small, very clean, shop/cafe/restaurant-prices much lower than in Borispol. Easily accessible from center by taxi or trolleybus 22 (just plan enough time in traffic peaks of Kyiv - 8-10.00 and 18.00-21.00). Close to very recommendable plane-museum (in pedestrian distance-maybe 15 mins to walk). Customs working attentively, but very polite. Immigration takes usually more time (15 mins in average) than emigration, but much more quickly than in Borispol! The same about security! Free wifi works properly and fast. Have no post office in terminal, but one across parking lot, located left direction of entrance, behind the power plant of the airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2015
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
10/10

Kiev Zhulyany Airport customer review

(Germany)

Since Zhulyany Airport had opened the new Terminal I have flown 4 times from there. Everything was nice clean and efficient and friendly service. I really can recommend this airport to be used for a visit in Kiev.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
10/10

Kiev Zhulyany Airport customer review

(Ukraine)

First time from and to the new A terminal. Didn't believe it but everything worked excellently. No queues at check-in security passport control customs. Bus gate had enough lift capacity so went down without wait. On arrival baggage was on the belt in 5 minutes and then in 5 minutes off the airport. Again no wait at immigration. Food choices are fine both airside and landside. Take into account this is just 15 minutes (some 7 km) from downtown. Good choice and far superior to overcrowded Borispol with long queues dingy terminals and 40 km from the city centre.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
6/10

Kiev Zhulyany Airport customer review

(Ukraine)

Used Zhulany for arrival and departure (domestic services). No queues things went fast. From car to plane in 15 minutes and 5 minutes from plane to car (no hold bags). The domestic terminal B looks bad but the new International terminal A is a good quality facility. Overall ok but just for regional low cost flying.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
7/10

Kiev Zhulyany Airport customer review

(Poland)

A new terminal was opened at the end of May for Euro 2012. Things have definitely improved - the new terminal is bigger and much more modern although the pedestrian roads leading to airport were not yet completed and many duty free shops are not yet operational. Staff at the airport were friendly but not well- trained they might not be fully familiar with the operations in the new terminal. There are now two security check lanes and multiple passport check lanes (and around 6 gates) so the queues at departure were way smaller I was through in less than 10 minutes. There were minor issues with the announcement system - the gate numbers were not yet announced on monitors so I had to ask airport staff for the correct gate. The new terminal is slightly away from road but it's still easy to get from the airport to the city centre using public transport (15 minutes to central train station if there're no traffic jams).
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 14 Reviews