Kiev Borispol Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 75 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
8/10

"there is much improvement in the airport"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | I have flown from WAW to KBP on August 11th then KBP to ODS on August 15th and then ODS - KBP - WAW on August 19th. I have to say that there is much improvement in the airport. Wifi is working better. There is finally a way to easily get an Uber/Taxify to the center. The only negatives: Not enough restaurants. The prices are much higher than in the city. In order to transfer from domestic to international, you need to walk through the airside zone, which is weird. I really enjoy flying out of Kiev.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"most staff are friendly"

(Ukraine)

Trip Verified | Airport is very big and modern. Great self-check in and most staff are friendly. Not very big queues but they happen. Good duty free shops, but lack of restaurants. Amazing wifi.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"long queues common"

(Latvia)

Trip Verified | Have been through this airport around ten times this year alone. One of the most horrible ones I have seen in my whole life. Obviously, the airport belongs/is managed by the owners of Ukrainian International Airlines, so monopoly is the key word for the airport. Positives - rather spacious and clean, sufficient number of toilets, though very limited number of seats on the land side, free Wi-Fi, though you have to re-log every 15min or so. Personal announcements for late passengers, fast security control, but - always queues at the border, there you lose what you have gained at the security. Unfriendly and sometimes plainly impolite staff: no smiles, please or thank you, no reply to hello, expressions like 'Male, come here' (in Russian) commonly. From my experience I can assure even if you can speak some Russian (or Ukrainian), better opt for English as the attitude will be slightly more dignified, greatly overpriced public transportation: the only option is Skybus (No. 322) at UAH 60 to the nearest underground station, UAH 100 downtown (for comparison, a single underground ride is UAH 5), the busses are oldish, rather dirty, no conditioning, power sockets or WiFi). Greatly overpriced food, for instance, fish & chips at UAH 450/EUR 15, no food options at the domestic departures (save from some vending machines), boarding mostly by bus (10 air-bridges for a 10 million ppa airport is by far too few), the busses lack conditioning, and diesel engines are left running while at the gate). Additional security check (security arches and luggage scanners) at the airport building entrances, additional security check in the international transit corridor, long queues common, - no domestic-to-international or vice versa transit possible, the only way is leaving and re-entering the air-side. Slow checked-in luggage delivery, - highly obtrusive taxi service offers right after you exit the air-side, - a single hotel (*** displayed, actually even not full **), construction work (a multi-storey parking lot?) going on for years.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"had very good experience"

(Georgia)

Trip Verified | I used Kiev Borispol airport as transit airport for my outward and backward journeys. During my outward journey there was no queue at the security check, but during return journey I had to stand about 20 minutes in the queue, but that was totally okay. The transit area is spacious, there are a lot of seats, announcements are clear. There are some shops, but I would like it if there were more shops to walk around and spend your time, especially when you have 4 hours layover. I didn't enjoy food at the airport, variety of food was very limited, while prices were very high. During rush-hour toilets were terribly dirty, but after rush-hour ended I went to toilet again and it was very clean. Overall, I had very good experience with this airport as a transit passenger.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
9/10

"passport control took 4 minutes"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Right inside the door, passengers go through a metal detector. Normal security is next (took about 6 minutes). Then exiting Ukraine at passport control took 4 minutes. The passport control officer smiled (note to US CBP -- in a "smile," the corners of the mouth rise) and wished me "Safe journey." Airport is clean and seating at gates ample. I bought a mediocre sandwich while awaiting my flight to FRA.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Staff are not welcoming"

(France)

Trip Verified | Duty-free is overpriced! Way more expensive than airports in EU. Quality = zero. How come same item in the city costs 3 times less than in airport? Staff are not welcoming. Very fewer food options. Toilets are clean, so is the terminal. Power plugs throughout. WiFi seems to be just ok.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"this is on my dread list"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I have been through many airports for work but this is on my 'dread list'. Admittedly a few years ago it was even worse. Saturday morning second floor international departures, I am 'trying' to get my flight back to Amsterdam it is a transfer from Dnepropetrovsk. So many other airports this would be a quick walk to the transfer area, and passport control dedicated to that area if need be, not in Kiev. So I had to go out of passport control and join a line of every other person trying to get out of Kiev, it is 8.40am on a Saturday morning. There is a sea of people, and the extendable cord barriers to keep people in line are only half as long as they should be. There are no airport staff to regulate the sea of people, so people are cutting in line, arguments and near fights starting and this is being allowed to happen. They could easily post a member of security or any airport staff as genuinely it was a public safety risk. Suggestion: Just put longer extendable barrier corridors to 'funnel' people through in an orderly manner and put staff on it, otherwise people will hate using your airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Not enough food options"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Shopping area is not great. Not enough food options. Corridors are too small after immigration control. Not enough seating places. Overpriced for what it is. At least free WiFi is good and there are plenty of power plugs around terminal. Airport is clean. Lots of security guards around.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"shops clean, well located"

(Portugal)

Verified Review | Kiev airport is good taking in consideration the country's situation. Clean corridors open light and a lot of good seats in the halls. Good information system. Never lost a bag in Kiev. Security is good. Shops also clean and well located. Good cafes not that many but the ones that exist are very good ones and enough for the traffic. Most of the times have an art exposition in the corridors, sometimes painting, other times photos, helps to pass the time. A big negative to note is the toilets which were really dirt. Passport control and security check is also not bad.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"unprofessional security staff"

(United States)

Verified Review | Pros: Airport looks clean, there is a duty free if you want to spend 3 euros on a bag of chips, friendly cashiers. Cons: does not have a phone charger or a bank, poorly trained, unprofessional security staff and smelly restrooms. Wifi disconnects every 15 minutes, so you have to reconnect each time.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 70 Reviews