Keflavik Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 168 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"far below our expectations"

(Norway)

Not Verified | Even though airport staff were friendly and helpful, our experience at Keflavik was far below our expectations. The whole facility appeared overcrowded, disorganized and not very clean. Seating facilities were scarce, Our meal at the food court was a disaster and also overprized.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"clearly overwhelmed"

(United States)

Not Verified | The worst ever! Passport control lines snaked thru the terminal, the lines were worse than Disney World! It would have been nice if they had announced there was a very long line and allowed people time to plan for that. Ground crew in the terminal were clueless and just kept saying “go to the end of the line” - well you couldn’t even see where the end was! Then passport control had 1/4 of the stations closed. Did everyone forget the departure schedule for this afternoons flights? They are clearly overwhelmed and unaccustomed to crowds but with Iceland having become such a popular destination, I don’t get it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Disorganized, overwhelmed and unfriendly staff"

(United States)

Not Verified | Other reviews are so accurate. Disorganized, overwhelmed and unfriendly staff. Airport can’t handle volume. Waits and disorganization an inconvenience. Hope air traffic and ground crew are more together. That’s when it really matters for safety. Hope not to go through Iceland again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"We really hated this airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terrible Airport. Arriving: Total lack of any exit signs, you can wander around for hours without ever getting out of the building. We had to ask staff on how to get out of the Airport. Departing: None of the ticketing machines worked which resulted in endless lines in front of the ticket counters, expect to wait 1+ hour in line. Then another long line in front of passport check, 30+ minutes. Once you make it through passport control, you have to scan your ticket in order to make it through a gate, only half of the people get the green light and the gate opens, the other half gets a red light and the gate won't open. The staff then struggles to re-direct those people to another area for additional screening, which leaves families separated and confused as of what's going on. We really hated this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Uncomfortable and noisy"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Uncomfortable and noisy, there is a bar called Joe the juice blasting out loud music at 6am, at a place where you need to relax. Uncomfortable wooden benches. Also checked in online but had to queue at normal desk, what was the point?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rudest staff I have ever met"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The rudest staff I have ever met, arrogant security women who think their above the common traveller and who would be better suited flipping burgers with their attitudes, just vial women and a poor airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"no fresh tap water facilities available"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | I deeply regret there are no fresh tap water facilities available for refilling our water bottles after the security check. This us clearly contradictory with the country's effort to promote its excellent natural resources and to reduce waste.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
yes
3/10

"it has never been a pleasant experience"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | Ever since we used this airport it has never been a pleasant experience. Icelandair and Iceland want tourists, but they don't care if the infrastructure is up to the numbers. Baggage claim: Tiny room, great chaos. No room for all the arriving passengers. As there are two heavy rush hours, morning and afternoon, the concept would be to gear up for this. AFIK no changes have been made since we came here first in 1999. (when we left on that trip, all the collected cloth patches that my wife had sewn onto her backpack got removed (with scissors) during its time in the baggage department.) In 2015 we transited the airport both ways on our way to Canada and back. Both times the transit area was utter chaos. The lack of space was such that you could not see which lines at the gates were for which flight, and you had no time to buy a snack. The new gates seem to be sufficient now to handle the ever-increasing crowds. However, the check-in was disorganized. The Icelandair staff were not very friendly. They opened check-in for the many flights that left after 07.50 only at 05.05. Slowly and without any hurry they started shuffling to the counters and took a long time to start up their systems. A long line of people had been forming from as early as 04.30, and just were kept waiting. Starting the early shift at 4.40 or so would help to distribute the check-in over a longer period of time. (I used to work in this business, and back then times were better!) Check-in was fast once you got to the desk, as checking our covid certificate took just a few minutes. Baggage claim: Way too small. Our carousel was taped off, and could be reached only by ducking under. Positive: once you got to the front of the Covid checkpoint things went swift. I think this is because a different company handles this. Signage was poor, inside and out of the terminals.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Unfriendly staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Inappropriate and unprepared for international flights. Unfriendly staff. Inadequate waiting areas. From the 4 de-icing vehicles only one was operating on 27/2/20 ( information provided by cabin crew as explanation for the 100 minutes delay). Exposed to unpredictable weather I consider it as an unreliable hub for flight connection due to inadequate infrastructures.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"What a backwards airport and service"

(China)

Trip Verified | Closes at 5.30pm, because there are no Icelandair flights, though there are other flights leaving. Boarding Card reads invitation to lounge, but no words that you actually cannot get in. We were not the only confused ones. No info at lounge that it is closed and at info desk no one working. Waiting area by Gate has no electricity plugs. What a backwards airport and service.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no