Kefalonia Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 9 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"arrivals building is still inadequate"

(France)

Trip Verified | The arrivals building is still inadequate for handling more than one incoming flight at a time. We were warned towards the end of our flight from Stansted that we might have to queue for quite some time outside the building in direct sun, and that we should consider buying extra water or juice to keep us hydrated. Whilst this was probably a good sales pitch I think that this could be good advice for this summer..have some water on you! We arrived at 13H30 and there were three more holiday flights on the apron.. Tui, Norwegian and Easyjet. We deplaned by steps and walked across the apron via a narrow concrete path (not particularly evenly laid) to the new escalator leading up to arrivals - thankfully it was working. Parents with small children were able to get their buggies/strollers at the airport steps, which was useful because it wasn't a particularly short walk if you had had to carry them. Passengers requiring special assistance had to wait onboard as there is very limited capacity on the ambilift, and very few wheelchairs. It was suggested that those accompanying wheelchair requiring passengers meet them once they arrived in the baggage hall. Passport control was swift, and we entered the baggage reclaim hall which has only one baggage belt. The baggage is brought up from the aircraft on trucks - one at a time, so it can take up to 40 mins to offload the baggage from a Boeing 737. Patience and good humour are good qualities at this time. There are toilets just before passport control, and just outside the baggage hall landside, but there were noticeable queues ;.. so go on the aircraft before arrival! Once you have your baggage it's a very short walk to 'outside' where the car rental desks are and the tour company representatives. This can only get better ... work is in progress to provide a new arrivals hall and they were certainly working on it on a Sunday!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
7/10

"expect to be sitting on the floors"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport is mid being rebuilt, arrivals still in progress, but departures all complete. Departures was very quick, no check-in or security queue, it was a Tuesday but our plane was fairly full. Great clean toilets, friendly staff, the only major fail is despite it all being brand new there is nowhere near enough seats, expect to be sitting on the floors, also not much food on offer if you cannot eat wheat-based food groups.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Personnel was very kind and helpful"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Kefalonia Airport has a new hall, which is big enough for 200 passangers waiting. The queing went fine although there are not many desks. The toilets were new and clean. Coffee and sweat breads are in the hall. In de waiting area is a small shop. Personnel was very kind and helpful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"infrastructure is terrible"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | This airport is really tiny but can be chaos depending on how big the arriving plane is. You will deplane on the tarmac and will have to walk to the terminal, it gets messy as there is not enough space for everyone! I remember there was only one luggage belt and people will crowd around it! Make sure you pre arrange your transportation because taxis here are a rip off! Such a beautiful island but the infrastructure is terrible.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"needs some severe investment"

(United Kingdom)

Arriving at Kefalonia wasn't too bad, luggage came through quick and we were off the plane and out within 30 mins. Departing was another story - chaotic check in queing, only 3 desks, signage is appalling, you have to weigh your bags at check in then fight through the throng to get them on a X-ray machine belt. The chap checking passports was plugged into his iPhone, the food from the overpriced kiosk in the departures lounge was woeful, the toilets were appealing with doors that didn't lock and toilet paper on floor. The departures area is too small with inadequate seating and poor public information. All in all, a complete dump, needs some severe investment.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"facilities are basic at best"

(United Kingdom)

Flights to Kefalonia from Athens. Arrival smooth with reasonably quick bag delivery. Departure less good. I felt sorry for the people stuck in a long queue waiting to check in for their charter flight. Olympic Air was fairly speedy. Terminal facilities are basic at best. One shop/cafe before security. The toilet facilities are dire. Very poor signage in the airport - domestic departure lane was closed with no instructions to join the long international queue and no gate information once through security. However, as there are only 3 gates, the guess was easy. Such a shame that Greek islands have such poor airports for really wonderful places!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lack of communication and organization"

(Canada)

Full concurrence with the stream of negative comments below. I can actually live with the fact that the airport expansion hasn't kept up with the rapid expansion of Icelandair and WOW (but they need to get on with the expansion ASAP) but the lack of communication and organization around what's happening around luggage arrival (on arrival) and departure times is worst in class.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the staff have to yell"

(United Kingdom)

Queued outside for 45 minutes (with Thomas Cook Airlines) then again indoors. Two check-in desks only. We were stood for 2.5 hours. Unsmiling passport guy and one baggage scanner only. Once through to departure its tiny - no smoking area, a tiny kiosk with over-priced snacks and nowhere near enough seats - people are stood, sat on the floor and on tables. Power kept going off as did the departure screens, there is no tannoy so the staff have to yell. If only I were exaggerating - honestly I'm not - the worst airport ever.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"lack of seating, facilities scant"

(United States)

Kefalonia airport is really too small. Although it was quiet when we travelled and we were able to get through to departures quickly, I can see things might be very different if there are more than 3 flights departing. Once through the lack of seating was evident and the facilities very scant. There is a small duty free shop with a very limited stock. The only refreshment facilities consist of a small kiosk with not a lot of choice of anything and rather expensive. There was a huge queue for it. My wife reported the ladies toilets as "appalling", with no means of drying her hands after washing them. I can vouch that the facilities in the gents were distinctly insalubrious. It was a relief to get on the aircraft to depart - even for this we had to trail hundreds of yards across hot tarmac in the heat of the afternoon to get to it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no