Kansas City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 63 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Absolutely horrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am in a lot of airports and always find Kansas City security to be rude, disrespectful, humiliating. They will paw through your personal belongings and dump them all over the counter. Absolutely horrible experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This is the peak of stupidity"

(United States)

Not Verified | Arrival was no big deal. I left this morning. Walked through security. Was randomly selected as usual, then once allowed through I discovered that the gates don't connect. So I had to leave, go through security once again, where I was randomly selected, once again, the ladies ahead of me had to deal with the same thing and were annoyed. The workers there couldn't answer any of the questions they or anyone else had. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the day before, and the part that made me furious is that they threw out my toothpaste saying it wasn't allowed since they don't let you take in liquids over a certain amount, but one of the gate TSA people let a pilot carrying four cups of Starbucks coffee through the security door without hesitation. This is the peak of stupidity. All this about how they're making things safe for us when everyone knows the TSA is staffed by people who wouldn't make it at McDonalds.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Dark, dismal, no conveniences"

(United States)

Not Verified | What an embarrassment to Kansas City. Dark, dismal, no conveniences. The old state pen in Jefferson City is more inviting. Kansas City is a beautiful city with plenty to offer, but this gulag of an airport sure doesn’t reflect that. Step up your game, MCI.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Bathrooms are filthy"

(United States)

Not Verified | The grossest airport I’ve ever been to. Bathrooms are filthy, food selection is poor, there’s probably half as much seating as there needs to be. I wanted to hold my breath the whole time I was there. I would legitimately consider routing my travel to a different airport next time. Additionally, upon my arrival, they could not locate my bag. Not necessarily MCI’s fault, but could have been handled better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an absolutely wretched airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is an absolutely wretched airport. Design is a nightmare. Food is worse than the convention center downtown - and that’s saying something. I ordered breakfast and it was honestly a pre-made/pre-cooked plastic-tray goopy mess. Bathrooms are wholly inadequate — and poorly serviced. Pre-packaged food in gate waiting area picked over and poor quality. Gate areas sardine-can crowded. I remember being in NYC’s Port Authority bus terminal in the late 1970s — this was worse. The city is lovely. The airport is a deterrent to wanting to ever come back to the city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport for a lay-over"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airport for a lay-over I've ever been in! Limited bathroom facilities, dirty, small area to wait, a necessary trip outside of security if you want to look for gifts or food beyond a Pizza Hut and kiosks. An upstairs eatery and bar with no restrooms. I'll never layover here on a trip again. I'll change my destination before I'd go through this airport again. I've been to 3rd world and developing countries' airports with cleaner more available facilities!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"home town airport is disgraceful"

(United States)

Not Verified | My home town airport is disgraceful! My first complaint is that my family member and I were separated going through security. As of last Dec. 2017, they now send TSA Pre to a totally different gate for security check. Huh? When I asked one of the agents to explain, he was nasty and said it was easier for employees. I mentioned I didn’t like it. Oddly enough a few minutes later I was patted down for my Apple Watch and a nylon zipper on my pant leg pocket. What? I’ve worn the same pants through security before-no issues. My son was not patted down for his Apple Watch. The bathrooms at the gates are terrible. No soap or paper towels-gross. MCI-do something!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"basic customer service ignored"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrived 2 hrs early in frigid temps with a carry on. People checking bags at SW lined up outside! After killing time for 30 min I happily moved to a side line so Seattle passengers only would get routed through the slow security check. It feels good to cooperate. Finally 30 min later Seattle customers done and all in line are feeling good. Our line was split in 2 and those who had been waiting the longest were in the TSA pre check, which I paid to have too. Then I watched as not only was our line ignored as the pre check, but also as the customers who had been waiting in line the longest. The agent who had asked us all to move aside, suddenly was making no eye contact and didn't say a word to the agents checking our tickets. I'm tired of being polite and helpful and then basic customer service ignored. People in line longest are next customer served.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"need to carry out huge changes"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am surprised this airport has one star. Not sure where to start, small, get full even with a small number of passengers. It smells and the worst part is? There is only one bathroom in the entire 50s gates area, don't know which line is longer, the TSA security or the bathroom lines. Officials need to carry out huge changes to this airport. Look at the picture I added for bathroom line.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Long overdue for replacement"

(United States)

Verified Review | Long overdue for replacement. If you have carry-on only, you can skip the long lines at the ticket counter in hopes of getting into the security line sooner. TSA Pre only recently became an option for AA travelers, and the newly renovated gate area for AA now links all their gates, but it still suffers the same problems that Southwest’s gate area in B does - lack of seating, no clear and direct paths between gates, sparse charging ports (and finding one that actually works is even harder). Food options airside are minimal and horribly overpriced, usually consisting of day-old factory made sandwiches, wilted salads, and $8 bottles of juice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2017
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 63 Reviews