Kansas City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 65 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst airport ever"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport ever. You are dropped out by ticketing then ensues an hour plus of hell. You check in then walk what feels like a mile to security entrance then retrace your steps inside secured area for another mile to get to the gate to find out you are trapped with no restrooms or amenities. Everyone waiting was moaning about the setup.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This place should be demolished"

(United States)

Not Verified | This place should be demolished at the earliest opportunity. Kansas City should be embarrassed to have this representing the city. All of the awful things people have said on this site about this Airport are true. I have a two hour layover here and I am counting the minutes until I can get out of this wretched place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Absolutely horrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | I am in a lot of airports and always find Kansas City security to be rude, disrespectful, humiliating. They will paw through your personal belongings and dump them all over the counter. Absolutely horrible experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This is the peak of stupidity"

(United States)

Not Verified | Arrival was no big deal. I left this morning. Walked through security. Was randomly selected as usual, then once allowed through I discovered that the gates don't connect. So I had to leave, go through security once again, where I was randomly selected, once again, the ladies ahead of me had to deal with the same thing and were annoyed. The workers there couldn't answer any of the questions they or anyone else had. The bathroom looked like it hadn't been cleaned since the day before, and the part that made me furious is that they threw out my toothpaste saying it wasn't allowed since they don't let you take in liquids over a certain amount, but one of the gate TSA people let a pilot carrying four cups of Starbucks coffee through the security door without hesitation. This is the peak of stupidity. All this about how they're making things safe for us when everyone knows the TSA is staffed by people who wouldn't make it at McDonalds.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Dark, dismal, no conveniences"

(United States)

Not Verified | What an embarrassment to Kansas City. Dark, dismal, no conveniences. The old state pen in Jefferson City is more inviting. Kansas City is a beautiful city with plenty to offer, but this gulag of an airport sure doesn’t reflect that. Step up your game, MCI.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Bathrooms are filthy"

(United States)

Not Verified | The grossest airport I’ve ever been to. Bathrooms are filthy, food selection is poor, there’s probably half as much seating as there needs to be. I wanted to hold my breath the whole time I was there. I would legitimately consider routing my travel to a different airport next time. Additionally, upon my arrival, they could not locate my bag. Not necessarily MCI’s fault, but could have been handled better.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an absolutely wretched airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This is an absolutely wretched airport. Design is a nightmare. Food is worse than the convention center downtown - and that’s saying something. I ordered breakfast and it was honestly a pre-made/pre-cooked plastic-tray goopy mess. Bathrooms are wholly inadequate — and poorly serviced. Pre-packaged food in gate waiting area picked over and poor quality. Gate areas sardine-can crowded. I remember being in NYC’s Port Authority bus terminal in the late 1970s — this was worse. The city is lovely. The airport is a deterrent to wanting to ever come back to the city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport for a lay-over"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The worst airport for a lay-over I've ever been in! Limited bathroom facilities, dirty, small area to wait, a necessary trip outside of security if you want to look for gifts or food beyond a Pizza Hut and kiosks. An upstairs eatery and bar with no restrooms. I'll never layover here on a trip again. I'll change my destination before I'd go through this airport again. I've been to 3rd world and developing countries' airports with cleaner more available facilities!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"home town airport is disgraceful"

(United States)

Not Verified | My home town airport is disgraceful! My first complaint is that my family member and I were separated going through security. As of last Dec. 2017, they now send TSA Pre to a totally different gate for security check. Huh? When I asked one of the agents to explain, he was nasty and said it was easier for employees. I mentioned I didn’t like it. Oddly enough a few minutes later I was patted down for my Apple Watch and a nylon zipper on my pant leg pocket. What? I’ve worn the same pants through security before-no issues. My son was not patted down for his Apple Watch. The bathrooms at the gates are terrible. No soap or paper towels-gross. MCI-do something!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"basic customer service ignored"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrived 2 hrs early in frigid temps with a carry on. People checking bags at SW lined up outside! After killing time for 30 min I happily moved to a side line so Seattle passengers only would get routed through the slow security check. It feels good to cooperate. Finally 30 min later Seattle customers done and all in line are feeling good. Our line was split in 2 and those who had been waiting the longest were in the TSA pre check, which I paid to have too. Then I watched as not only was our line ignored as the pre check, but also as the customers who had been waiting in line the longest. The agent who had asked us all to move aside, suddenly was making no eye contact and didn't say a word to the agents checking our tickets. I'm tired of being polite and helpful and then basic customer service ignored. People in line longest are next customer served.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 65 Reviews