Kansai Osaka Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 64 reviews
6/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"very, very average"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | I was expecting so much more from the gateway to a major world city and the Kansai region. KIX is clean, functional, nothing more. It’s just very, very average. It’s clearly targeted at Asian shoppers that did not spend enough in town, with a strong emphasis on shopping options (that remain average, though). The limited options for eating inside the international zone are borderline ridiculous. You won’t starve, but don’t expect anything to please your senses. The signage is “ok”, but there are only very few staff (including at the information booth, which is nothing but a phone) that can help you find anything specific. Don’t expect human interaction. KIX is a “go through” airport, nothing more, unfortunately.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"everything just works as smoothly as butter"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | I have experienced all major airports as per wikipedia in Japan, and can easily say that Kansai Airport is my favourite. It's size is just right, and everything just works as smoothly as butter. As soon as the plane docks at the jetbridge, a timer starts in my mind, knowing that within 25 minutes I will be on a train to Osaka. It happens every time. The arrivals process is very quick, you get fingerprinted and photographed before getting to the actual immigration counter, and lots of counters are open for foreigners and questions aren't commonly asked from my experience, leading to a quicker immigration clearance. My baggage has always already been waiting for me at the baggage claim, and customs is a quick process even if you're subject to a search. As for departures, check in can be a bit of a hassle as I've had it, but that's on Thai Airways as they don't outsource staff here, rather having their own staff. Duty free is always full of rude tourists and long snaking lines throughout the shop. If completely necessary I would buy some Japanese chocolates but if not I would skip this bit. There are also a lack of dining options. Other than that, it is an extremely efficient airport and despite being 25 years old everything runs so smoothly and the airport just works.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"One of the worst airports"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | One of the worst airports I've ever seen. It's not prepared for so many flights at all! Departure zone is overcrowded, announcements are barely heard. We had a delay (not because of the airline) and no one can say for how long. When we've got on board we had to wait 2 hrs because of the traffic. I mean, how is that possible that you can't send flights on time having a schedule? I don't know why this airport has a high rating. I believe it should be renovated and it defenitely needs to reduce a number of flights!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Limited eateries"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | 1) Unclear instructions and directions around the airport. 2) Limited eateries airside. 3) Toilets are disgustingly smelly. Other than that immigration queue was fast.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
3/10

"Kansai Osaka, never again"

(France)

Unverified | I flew from Paris to Osaka and transited for Bangkok. The immigration control is horrible, a real nightmare! Fingerprints, photo of your face etc.. All the planes arriving at the same time in the morning. I had a transit of 3.5 hours in KIX and I spent 2.5 hours queuing for immigration. Tokyo is much quicker and friendly. Kansai Osaka, never again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst immigration ever seen"

(Australia)

Unverified | Travelling to Kyoto, Kansai being the closest airport appears hardly welcoming to foreign tourists. If you are not a Japanese passport holder, then good luck for queuing up for hours for immigration. Hundreds of people arrived at the same time, yet only a handful of counters are open for foreign passport holders. In contrary, about 10 counters are waiting for Japanese passport holders, even when there are only less 5 waiting! The airport staff reluctantly divert a few foreigners to 1 or 2 Japanese passport counters only when there are none waiting for them. Worst immigration ever seen.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"looking wonderful"

(Bangladesh)

Verified Review | Kansai Osaka to Shanghai. I took a limousine airport bus from Ibaraki to Kansai airport. 1 hour 10 mins ride. Kansai airport is on a manmade island. It's looking wonderful. Very quickly check in. Security system really great. After immigration and security check. go to gate by train. Inside has smoking areas. Direction sign very well shown. Staff are really helpful and polite. WiFi working very fast. One of best airport in the world.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"found it to be a poor airport"

(Hong Kong)

Verified Review | I departed from T1 Kansai Osaka Airport in Feb, 2017 and found it to be a poor airport. I found plenty of design problems at this airport, such as only two small entrances (north and south) for all passengers to go into the restricted area. The staff asked the passengers to queue in 4 lines, however, only one airport staff was present to check the boarding passes and passports which did not make sense. Since my flight was delayed for six hours I needed to stay in the restricted area for more than 6-hours. However, there were only a few restaurants (the taste was below average) and limited shops are available there. In addition, the Wifi was not working well during my visit.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"Terminal 2 is pure functionalism"

(Slovakia)

Verified Review | Terminal 2 at Kansai Osaka is pure functionalism. Reminds me more of a logistics company hangar than an airport for humans. Simple metal building with only few practical things that serve the purpose to take people and make them fly away quickly. Check-in was little chaotic due to several Peach flights departing in tight schedule. Security had long queue but was fairly fast, with about 4 or 5 checkpoints. Departing hall is very small and can hardly accomodate travellers if there are several flights at the almost same time. Little facilities to sit down. Few shops and options to buy food before flight. The 1 vending machine doesn't save the game. However, all staff there was professional and ok. I feel sorry for everyone who has to spend long waiting times at Terminal 2 of KIX.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport I have used"

(China)

This airport gets good reviews worldwide due to their record of never having lost a bag. This must be due to the inordinate amount of time they make people wait at immigration. Even if they did lose a bag, they would have hours to find the thing as everyone is waiting for so long trying to get through the immigration process. Someone needs to teach the immigration officers about using their initiative to just accept a reasonable representation of the address they are staying at in Japan instead of making everyone write 100% clearly the address, postcode, phone number etc of the hotel they are staying at. Quite possibly the worst airport I have used. Frustratingly I am subjected to this airport and the idiot staff on a monthly basis.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 64 Reviews