Kalamata Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 8 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"very chaotic experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | No information boards. Passport control incredibly slow. Nobody directing passengers as to where they need to be as they have no information boards. Just very chaotic experience. No toilets at the gate and we were delayed significantly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Not awful but just....small"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Kalamata is a tiny provincial airport in Messinia, Greece and serves the Peleponnese - very few flights use it at present. It also has a military connection. Have travelled from here previously. Very fast and efficient check in for the BA flight. Once through security there literally just two departure lounge areas with basic seats - take a good book! Had a small duty free shop and a pleasant enough shop for food and beverages. The BA flight was the only aircraft there, and the airport was full so be aware. Not awful but just....small. It's either Kalamata or Athens with a 3 hour drive if you visit this part of Greece!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"an awful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This was an awful experience - the queue for passport control took more than an hour. There was only one person checking passports which of course now have to be stamped due to Brexit, as well as examined, and there was no information, announcements or assistance. This led to the flight being delayed as it had to wait for all passengers and some passengers with mobility problems found it particularly difficult. There was only one flight going out at that time so I imagine that It's going to be terrible in the peak season. I suppose that it's up to the flight operators to pressure the airport to improve this so I will be writing to Jet2 and EasyJet to encourage them, although hopefully they will already be aware as it must be increasing their costs.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2023
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"badly run"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Shambolic! Small regional airport convenient for Messina but badly run. Despite being only flight to arrive, passport control took over an hour. On departure we arrived 3 hours early and stood queuing for Check-in, security and finally passport control for 3 hours 30 minutes. Others were further back in the queue and so we took off 1 hour later than scheduled. Never again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst run airport I’ve ever used"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Without a doubt the worst run airport I’ve ever used. Flight at 15.20 on 11/09/2022. In a shambles of a check in queue at 1pm and about an hour and half later started queuing in the security queue. Arrived at the gate at about 15.10. Last passengers boarded at 15.45 and as a result the take off was delayed until 16.30. The evacuation of Baghdad probably went better. No communication and no queue/system management in evidence. This part of Greece is a joy but I will never ever come back to this airport. Disgraceful treatment of customers in the 21st century.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Tiny provincial airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flew into Kalamata with BA on 8th June and out on 15th June. Tiny provincial airport, typically Greek, in the Peleponnese. Our flight was late landing and was the only flight due in so luggage off of the belt surprisingly quickly and we were away. Returning to UK from Kalamata found that there was one medium sized departure lounge split into to Gate areas with just adequate seating, one small outlet for food and drink and a tiny "duty free" area. Wouldn't want to spend too long here as nothing to do or see once through security - bring your Kindle or a good book. Very few UK flights currently use this airport but this is, apparently, going to change as big investments are being made in this beautiful area, and the airport will be enlarged/redeveloped.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"a good alternative instead of Athens airport"

(Canada)

I've used this airport only once for an arrival. I came with a connecting flight from Paris with Aegean Airlines. I chose this airport, instead of Athens airport because it was more convenient and it was closer to my place. This airport is very small, I don't think it can handle more than 2 flights the same time. The good side is that it took me less than 20 minutes to deplane, collect my checked bag and leave. Kalamata airport is mostly use in the summer by European charter airlines. There's taxis available and a limited bus service to town. There's also a snack bar on the departures side. The flights are limited for a connection to countries outside Europe. Overall this airport is not very bad and it's a good alternative instead of Athens airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
5/10

Kalamata Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Mainly a military airport with few passenger facilities: in arrivals there is one male and one female toilet but there is more ample provision elsewhere. Snack bar either side of passport control and very small duty-free shop. If aircraft delayed supplies can run out in snack bar.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no