Jeddah Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 116 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"very bad and dirty"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | The most horrible thing is the information section can't speak English, only slang Arabic. Moreover, he doesn't know anything about lounge or space or even a proper restaurant for someone who will get overnight at the airport. The seating area in the departure gate was very bad and dirty. There is no cleaner or security to come and assist passengers and some of the officers are not very friendly. It was sad because this is an airport that is used to travel to Makkah where the pilgrimage is done. Hope Saudi government takes this issue seriously.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"five hours of hell"

(Canada)

Not Verified | This airport is an absolute embarrassment, the staff and the airport are disorganized, rude, with disregard for travellers. My family and I were transiting through from Frankfurt with Lufthansa. As many other reviewers stated all planes at the current old airport are transported via bus to their terminal. This is the second time I have transited through Jeddah and I thought my first time was bad, this was 10x worse. When the bus dropped us at the terminal there was no proper indication as to where transiting travellers were to go, aside from a sign that led to a door in the wall. We had no boarding passes, and inquired at the Transiting desk to get new ones, and were told to go sit down as our flight was not for another 5 hours. It would seem that we were not the only people having this same issue with finding out where to go and also where to get boarding passes. At the transit desk there were anywhere from 2-4 people sitting there playing on their phones and only one person actually doing anything. This same person was the person I dealt with, with little to no help. I went to him several times asking for an update on our boarding passes and when we could get through to transit to our next flight. Each time he said he was working on in it (not sure how considering he wouldn't even look at our passports) and told me to sit down and then he would either go back to doing something else or having dinner at his desk. I spoke to another colleague of his that was sitting at the desk for an update, his first question was whether I can speak Arabic to which I answered no, and upon hearing this he started to speak Arabic and walked away from me. At the three hour mark I went and asked for an update as we were getting hungry and thirsty as this terminal did not have anywhere to eat. I was offered a used water bottle from a desk to drink from, even though there was a large crate of water bottles sitting at the other end of the terminal. Seeing my disgust and anger at this since I had my wife and two year old with us he finally got us new water bottles. Finally after close to 4 hours we were able to transit through, still no boarding passes at this point, instead they got me to fill out a piece of paper that had all our information and told me to get on the bus and give this to the transit person in the other terminal. Before we could even get on the bus, the guy that took us to the bus argued with his colleagues about taking a bus to send us to the other terminal, while at the same time security shows up trying to figure why we jumped the line and trying to get on a bus. Finally we arrived at the other terminal, got our boarding passes and got to the departure terminal, which was just a circus of people laying all over the place as there is not enough seats for the amount of people in the terminals. The bathrooms were just Horrible, water everywhere and a terrible stench. Finally after five hours of hell we boarded another bus to our plane, and took off. With a vow from myself to never ever come back to this airport again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have ever been to"

(United Arab Emirates)

Not Verified | This was the worst airport I have ever been to. I was particularly shocked to find that the airport where pilgrims land in millions every year has filthy toilets and nowhere to make Wudu (abolution) or a proper prayer room. After 6 hours of waiting, our flight got delayed even more. We were taken on a bus to where the aircraft and locked in the warmth for around 15 minutes just for the bus to decide to take us back to the airport. No announcement was made to explain why we were waiting on the bus or why we needed to go back. That waiting period felt like forever. I feel so uncomfortable thinking that I have to go back through the same route as I already purchased a round trip ticket. If I could, I would cancel that ticket and even pay more to go a different route.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst time of my travelling life"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst airport I have ever passed through in over 22 years of flying internationally (South terminal of Jeddah airport) The only reason I chose Saudia was that the ticket was slightly cheaper but, oh boy, what a bad decision. I simply could not believe that an international airport in a rich country like Saudi Arabia could have an airport like this! All the passengers are a crammed into a tiny area (made tinier as they have fitted a duty-free shop in that small building!) There is not enough seating and it is so hard to find a seat. The toilets could not be any worse. Only 4-5 cubicles for all these passengers who come into the terminal which are dirty and smelly. The doors don’t lock properly. There is not a single telephone booth to make calls using coins or credit card. The gates are small doors through which passengers are taken by bus to fairways tarmac, where aircraft are parked. Not a single aero bridge in this terminal. I do not know how I spent 6.5 hours there. Easily the worst time of my travelling life!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This transit was the worst experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | This review is for Jeddah airport and its staff. I have been flying internationally for over 20 years and this was the first time I have ever traveled on Saudia and transited via Jeddah Airport. This transit was the worst experience. I noticed that pretty much every aircraft is parked on the tarmac and they bus people from the terminal building which is alright but the main problem was the behaviour and attitude of the ground staff. For example DEL to JED flight was delayed by 2 hours from Delhi. There was an elderly couple who were to catch a connecting flight to London, missed their flight due to this delay. Couple sought my help as they could not speak English. When I enquired with Gate Staff about this situation, he told me that flight to London has been delayed due to technical problems in the aircraft and the couple should wait at the gate and he will let them know when the flight will board. 30 minutes later, I found out from someone else that the London flight had already departed an hour back and that the gate staff were lying to me and that elderly couple. When I asked him again why he did not tell the truth in the first place, they very rudely replied that he is not responsible to answer any question and told me to figure out myself what to do. I advised the elderly couple to go back to the ticketing counter and seek help. I really was upset what an elderly couple has to go through and running around the over crowded airport through no mistake of their own. I would never transit from any Saudi Cities in future.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Please, please improve your service"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | I could not agree any more with the other reviewers that this is the worst airport in the world. I was there for Umrah and the experience in the airport was more exhausting than the whole of Umrah itself. The toilets, the queues / lines, the attitude of airport crew, everything was so frustrating. This is a very rich country, a very rich muslim country. Please, please improve your service.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst international airports"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | We had to pass this airport twice (arrival and departure) and I dare to say this is one of the worst international airports I have ever been in. The toilets are absolutely filthy and wet. I have been to other airports which also provide praying rooms for Muslims, and usually they have a separate location for people to do their ablutions. This airport doesn’t seem to have one and thus the toilet is always super wet. There are only a few restaurants - and not many seats either there. I cant seem to connect to the Wifi. The waiting area is very small, and there are limited seatings. There are no aero bridges. Every plane has to park somewhere far in the desert and we have to then take a bus to where the plane is parked. With Jeddah being the ‘gateway to Mecca’ the airport has to be modified further. I say avoid this airport when you can.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Toilets were filthy"

(Italy)

Not Verified | I had read different reviews on JED stating it was a very particular airport, but what I found was beyond my expectations. Having arrived from DXB enroute to FCO with an eight hour night transit, I spent about an hour queueing through several controls to reach the transit area which is more akin to a scene of Dante's inferno than a modern era airport. A simple relatively small hall filled with several hundreds of human beings spread across every inch of space. All seats were taken and dozens were sleeping or sitting on the ground, which was covered with litter. On other areas people were praying, while all around there was chaos, sounds and smells. Continuously flight announcements were yelled through the loudspeakers in Arabic and English, adding to the total chaos. Toilets were filthy at an incredible level. Trying to reach the Saudia lounge was useless as it is no longer possible to access it on a pay basis. So either you're Flying First or Business on a confirmed reservation or you're out. So the only alternative is finding a place to sit on the ground, try to close the eyes and just wait.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"Small, crowded, uncomfortable"

(Syria)

Not Verified | Small, crowded, uncomfortable. Filthy bathrooms, poor duty free. Bus rides from terminals to planes that takes more than 15-20 mins, after you go from plane to bus to immigration. You still wait for an hour for the bags!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Utterly disgusting"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having a pleasant journey with the Saudia airlines who couldn't do enough in the way of hospitality my experience was ruined by the airport staff. To think this is an international airport not one spoke a word of English. Absolute arrogant set of staff from the baggage handlers to the check in crew. The queues were laughable and they couldn't care less. They would just stare at you and then resume their flirting with each other. Not one person was willing to even give a smile. Utterly disgusting set of employees.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no