Jakarta Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 153 reviews
5/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
9/10

"lot of food stalls and stores"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Since I travelled with Garuda Indonesia, so I used Terminal 3 which is the newest terminal in Jakarta Airport. The airport is so huge, so we must walk a lot from the entrance to the boarding gate. There are travelators and golf carts ready to transport passengers, especially those who needed special assistance. It is a modern terminal, with a lot of food stalls and stores. This airport has implemented self-check-in, but if you bring checked baggage then you should drop them in the counter manually (still not fully self-check-in like T4 in Changi or other airports). That makes a long queue for the passengers to drop their baggage at the Garuda counter. The terminal is clean, a lot of signs that help us to go to our destination. There is also a lot of airport staff ready to help us with no charge.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"it lacks much thought"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | There was a huge fanfare when they opened terminal 3. It was made with very good intentions - to replace the old dilapidated systems in the other two terminal and also to show that Jakarta has a world class airport. A lot of effort was put into it, but it lacks much thought. Check in is nice and smooth, security has many lines thus security queue time is cut short. However transit area is a bit of a nightmare for frequent traveler. Unless you are flying Garuda, they bulked all the other airlines to use one lounge. As like the Garuda lounge, it can be super crowded during peak times - queuing food can be like queuing for rations. There are some independent lounges but not managed/representing airlines. The weird thing is, there does not seem to be lack of space in the airport. If we arrive to the airport, the availability of extra space is astounding. We can walk from one end of the terminal to the other and inside and outside the transit area there are a lot of empty spaces that could be used for eg. Lounges, extra stores and maybe some entertainment (maybe draw experience from HKG and SIN airport). I firmly believe the lack of dedicated airline lounges will not ever make this airport go beyond the current rank they have. Airflow also remains an issue - some parts of the terminal 3 can be really hot (eg. Immigrations) and some can be cold (gates).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"left to queue for 3 hours"

(Australia)

Not Verified | No respect for humans and we were left to queue for 3 hours while local passport controllers stood empty. Disgusting. There were elderly people around us who could not stand any longer. Shame on you Indonesia that you cannot fix this mess.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"needs a massive rethink"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Boarding at Gate 10 and pass through the gate reader and walking down the gangway which does not take us to the plane on this occasion but down back into the “arrivals” corridor. Firstly - and this is consistently the same in Terminal 3 - our plane is not at Gate 10. Secondly, as the corridor is full of arriving passengers we are all held on the gangway in sauna-like conditions. After 15 minutes the arrivals queue passes and we are released to then walk to Gate 12. A couple of points: A) Why not co-ordinate boarding when the arrivals corridor is empty? B) Get your passengers to board at the gate where the plane is? Now, if indeed Gate 12 is part of “Domestic” and Gate 10 is “International” then get your fleet planning computer to run a more effective planning slot. Everyone else has adequately covered all the general other failings. Poor AC, chaotic queues for International arrivals often with next to no officers on International passports whilst zero queues and a full complement of staff for local passports. Taxis are a cluster shambles. Signage for rail link is poor. No alcohol in the departures zone. Although only two years old this place needs a massive rethink to make it more efficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"terrible service"

(Indonesia)

Not Verified | Very bad airport with terrible service. Seating area for passengers is limited. And airport tax for domestic passengers is most expensive in ASEAN. Ground staff handling baggage is also very bad.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport in the world"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | The worst airport in the world. At least 1hr of waiting for baggage, and there is no arrival zone. Taxi zone also a mess. The worst airport in the world. Shame on the airport operator.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"walk from the gate to immigration was painful"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | Terminal 3 (the newest terminal) is the worst airport in Jakarta and probably the worst global airport in Asia. The government entity who designed this airport is useless and does not have global education on how an airport should be designed. They should be ashamed of themselves. How hard is it to design a nice and visitor friendly airport when you have a lot of examples in Singapore, South Korea, China and Japan? I landed at around 10pm in probably the last gate in the terminal 3. This is the Garuda flight from Singapore to Jakarta (I think this is one of the most frequent flights for international arrival). The walk from the gate to immigration was painful. I believe it took me at least 20-25 minutes walking (moderate to fast walking) in moving walkway. The older guys and women who walked on the same path must be screaming quietly when they experienced this.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Air conditioning was poor"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Terminal 3 arrivals with a 40 minute passport queue upon arriving. Only 5 counters open for foreigners for the largest airport in Indonesia? No clear signage for taxi queues. Thankfully my walk was less than 10 minutes to the passport control from Gate 5. Gate 1 will be more like 15-20 minutes. Departures Clearance was fast. However, walking distances are long and the travelators are short. Air conditioning was poor, even though I was there in the morning. On a hot day, enjoy the sauna. Thankfully the CIP lounge I used had extra air conditioning units and it was much better there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"let down by some missing pieces"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Terminal is huge with no trains or sky trains to take you from a far gate to immigration. The air conditioning system is such standard to the extreme. As I write this I am sitting down sweating because it is so warm. On the flip side, food options are good and it is nice and bright with great architecture. Just a shame it is let down by some missing pieces to the airport puzzle.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Poorly designed terminal"

(Indonesia)

Trip Verified | I fly twice a week thru Terminal 3. This terminal is super hot. They built it with a really high ceiling yet they did not add enough AC. Its very hot at immigration and at the middle. As u walk to the gates it gets better but the seats by the window doesn't get the AC. Its ridiculously hot. And there is not enough travelators if your gate is at number 1 or 2 - its a very very long walk. Also when I enter Terminal 3 arrival , the plane frequently stops very far from the immigration about 15 minutes to 20 minutes walk, and I walk fast! No travelators. I feel very sorry for people who have heavy bags and also older senior people. It is advisable not to use heels and wear sports shoes if u arrive Jakarta through terminal 3. And wear very light cooling clothes if you are departing from Terminal 3. Poorly designed terminal. Please fix AC problem in terminal 3 departure hall and also have travelators for terminal 3 arrival area from plane to immigration.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no