Istanbul Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 348 reviews
3/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"there is a long way to go"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is a new airport and some facilities had not been completed yet. For a start, taxiing seemed to take a long time because of construction work on the taxiways. Inside, the airport was welcoming but there was a long way to walk when transiting. There was a lot of help with staff wearing "Ask Me!" T-shirts at every corner. Seems there is a long way to go before this airport becomes truly user friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"it was a terrible experience"

(Ukraine)

Trip Verified | The new IST airport is huge, but it's also terrible because even if the plane lands on time it taxies so slowly to the gate that you'll miss your connecting flight if your layover is 1 hour or so. Both times that we flew through IST we landed on time and then it took us another 30-35 minutes to arrive to the gate and get off the plane. Then you have to run madly all the way from one side of the airport to the other to catch you flight. By the grace of God we made it, but it was a terrible experience. My baggage, however, wasn't transported to my connecting flight and I have to wait for two days until they delivered it.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"not-traveler friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Long walk from arrivals to immigration (even though there was the moving walkways). Baggage hall felt overcrowded. Security staff rude. Domestic departures terminal still under construction as the restaurants (Burger Kings and Popeyes still not open although lights and menu are displayed) 'Taxiing' - Time from landing / Taking off from/to Terminal building The first 2 flights we took we had an average taxi time of 25 mins (1 flight with LO and the other with TK) On the Turkish flight we arrived at an 'international' gate and were bussed to the terminal (Journey was average time - but the bus had seen better days! The last flight we had a taxi time of 35mins as we waited for another plane to land on the runway we were going to depart from (although they boast about having 4 runways!) Arrivals - Baggage Although we were not the first off the plane - we still waited 40mins+ for bags to be delivered at the carousel! Airport WiFi is a shambles - first you have to enter your phone number and wait for a code by text message which sometimes doesn't arrive - even after multiple attempts Once you are connected the speed is shockingly slow and decides to log you out after 10mins. The terminal is clean, there are lots of staff wearing 'ask me for help' and the toilets were clean. Seating area is few and far between and some people actually lay on the floor as there wasn't enough general seats (most seats were in the 'closed off' gates We took a taxi (both ways) to and from the city and it took about an 1hour All in all; there were more negative than positive of using this airport - its a nice shiny brand new airport that is very inconvenient and not-traveler friendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no place to comfortably wait"

(Lithuania)

Not Verified | This airport was opened a few months back but it looks like it is used for over 2 years. There are minimal ammount of signs for everything. Even finding a toilet was problematic. Since I had 10 hour gap between my flights I was eligible for a free hotel - once I came to the hotel desk they’ve said that there are no rooms. This continued for 3 hours when I decided to go to the departure part of the airport. There are no place to comfortably wait for your flight. People are sleeping on the carpets in the middle of food courts. The benches are already broken and people working here are not friendly at all. The food is served cold at several food places. The wifi connection is also bad. Was expecting so much more of a new airport. Its almost the same as it was before, nothing new, less directional signs and the old problems remain.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"lots of shops inside"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | It was a connecting flight but was on my own responsibility. So baggage claim need to be fast and it was. Domestic and international flights are on the same building. You can enter both from same gates, seperating inside. It's a very new airport but it has lots of shops inside. Coffee and food won't be a problem. There are lots of resting and smoking areas inside. Hundreds of people wearing "Bana sorun / Ask me" t-shirts to help you. It's like a multicultural city inside of Istanbul. But, please. Hurry up. Start walking. Even running. Wear your sneakers. You've to walk a lot. Really, really, a lot. Outer gates and inner gates have a long distance between. I didn't see much at the enterance. Once you switch sides and go to gates, you'll get a new world.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"toilets are very dirty"

(Turkey)

Not Verified | A massive, huge airport. Walking distances are too long, the toilets are very dirty and not enough for passengers. There was no toilet paper in the toilet! Free Wifi is only limited to 2 hours. In addition to all of these, no tap water sources to drink some water. Markets and cafes are crazy expensive. It is massive; however, it is massive in prices too. Moreover; this airport doesn't have enough sitting space in the main hall despite its massive space. People were sleeping on the floors. There is no metro connection to city; shuttle buses are expensive too. My main problem is with white lights that they used in the terminal lightning; why didn't they choose warm lights which close to the real sunlight? I found queues less, security check was finished in a minute. Because of I am a transit passenger I dont know check in area. I came in night and leave midnight; so I can say that, terminal is really taking good sunlight which is making people happy. Moreover; terminal has fresh air, I guess because of space. This airport is created only dreaming money not the efficiency or comfort.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Free wifi is slow"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | New airport has issues. Free wifi is slow, gmail is blocked - how can you get this wrong in 2019? - and signup is confusing no indicators about how to specify country code (should you use a + or 00 etc). At baggage claim, trolleys are locked to a rail but no signage so its entertaining to watch hundreds of people try to remove the trolleys and fail. No SIM card shops but 1132 currency exchange booths every 23 meters. Baggage is slow, so unbelievably slow. They have employed loads of helper people but management just need to take a walk and watch tourists and troubles they face to learn how much of failure this is. Immigration is fast. Toilets and general areas are clean as expected for a new airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not efficient or passenger friendly"

(Turkey)

Trip Verified | The concept is obviously to create a landmark in extremes rather than a well designed airport. Everything is huge but not efficient or passenger friendly. The detail work is alrwady falling apart, suggesting it was rushed. On the other hand, far better than the previous cattle market. Hope it improves in time. Not optimistic though.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Very poorly organised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The new Istanbul Airport Very poorly organised. Signs are very vague and no time frame to gate. No information stations and for transit you have to go through another X-ray screen, then at the gate again you had 3 different people checking you your ticket and your passport before a person checking you by hand and opening your hand luggage again. Gate A5 had two entrance and the one close to the walkway was closed and no one would direct you to the open one which was signed A5B. Food was very scarce comparing to duty free alcohol. Even their machines to leave feed back did not work!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"already starting to fall apart"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Prior to opening of the new airport, the airport had a promotional video and it looked great. Unfortunately it is far from reality. Even though its quite new, its already dirty. Some things such as door handles are already starting to fall apart. It is clear that low quality materials and workmanship has been used. The airport is huge and involves long walks. Its not comfortable for a relatively short transit as you have to rush. I was told by the staff to run. I am curious what will be done to improve the facilities. In the meantime I will avoid this airport as I have other choices, which are better.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no