Istanbul Ataturk Airport

Customer Reviews

3 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 422 reviews
4/10
3 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Never ever coming back here"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | Our trip to Istanbul was horrible! Started from the confusing sign in the airport, then got scammed by taxi driver and Telco provider soon as we arrived there. When we were going to leave the country, it was a really horrible experience as we circulated the same place a couple of times as the signboards weren’t helping at all. The airport Wi-fi was horrible as they limit your usage up to 2 hours only. The internet speed is also super slow and it’s really annoying. The toilet was horrible and smelt. Never ever coming back here. Worst airport ever. Not reaching the standards of international airport at all. It feels like going to some nasty old bus terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"immense distances between gates"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | This airport has immense distances between arrival and departure gates. And not everywhere are transport bands. Very tiring. What I never will understand (and why I hate this airport): When you travel from FRA to SSH, you just walk from arrival to departure. It is kilometres, but at least, you are not blocked. When you travel from SSH (where your whole luggage has been checked twice already), you have to pass another hand luggage check between arrival and departure, a real hold-up which often demands running to get to your gate on time. Why this redundant control is considered necessary absconds from my logic thinking. As you don't leave the transit area, which forbidden things could you buy or take up?
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

"aged and outgrown itself"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Arrived on 12/17/18 at IST and departed on 12/20/18. This airport has aged and outgrown itself. On both our flights, we were bussed to and from the aircraft. We had a long walk to passport control. We had no more than a 10 minute wait to clear passport control. The floor area around passport control was dirty. Also, the lighting and signs directing passengers in transit were not very clear. I had a non English speaking passenger ask me if the passport line was for her flight to Chicago. No wait for our luggage as they were already on the carousel. Bathrooms near Baggage Claim were acceptable but could have done with a cleaning and air fresheners. For departures, there is heavy security screening. On entering the terminal, one has to pass the luggage through scanners before proceeding to check in counters. Getting through passport control was effortless with no more than a minute's wait. The signage is okay no comparison to LHR Terminal 5 which is very bright. The bathrooms near our departure gate were disgusting. There was no toilet paper and the bathrooms smelled. There was no signage directing one to report that a bathroom needed cleaning. In reporting the state of the bathrooms to a gate agent, I was told that's not his job. There was additional random security check at the gate area. It is my fervent hope that the new Istanbul airport when it becomes fully operational will be a radical departure from this aging structure. Airport has WiFi through a telecom company. It requires one to input their cell phone number, then receive a code before WiFI connects. WiFI connection was okay.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"nobody is interested to organize it"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | So sad to see the airport of a country that I love become one of worst airports I have experienced recently. You expect with two kids and 50 minutes to catch a plane, someone will be at the gate guiding you through the security, but it is not happening. Staff are nor helping, they just say that planes will be waiting for all passengers. Do they? Of course not. Queue is disorganized and nobody is interested to organize it. Who does not have any shame about who will go first. When I was there, there was even people fighting because of this.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"IST never ever again"

(Germany)

Not Verified | On January 7, 2019, it took me more than 90 minutes to catch my connecting flight, departing from the international departure hall at IST. Thousands of passangers felt lost inside the arrival hall whilst trying to catch their connecting flight. No one knew where to queue for the security check and/or the passport control. Even business class passengers found themselves within queues of hundreds of people. No advice how to proceed/where to go by any member of the staff, not even one representative of any airline was available to support. For me: IST never ever again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"zero service, unfriendly ground staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Terrible airport. I fly on average 100 times a year across 30-40 airports worldwide. I've been to worse airports, but clearly Ataturk is very bad. No trolleys, zero service, unfriendly ground staff, chaotic boarding, frequent delays, long queues, miserable lounge, dirty floors, heavily over-crowded. I could continue but you get the picture. Turkish Airlines was a good surprise however, but Ataturk airport just makes the whole experience such a pain. Really a shame for Turkey.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"customer service is horrible"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Worst airport have been to! As a frequent traveler, I have been to so many airports. There is no other airport as worse as Istanbul’s. Not many people can speak English. So hard to find my way. No water fountain in the airport. Have to pay 2 AUD for 500ml, which is even more expensive than Australia. Not clean, can see rubbish everywhere. Too crowded! Some passengers even sit middle of the road! Flew with Turkish Airlines, cheap, but their customer service is horrible! Definitely not recommend this airline and airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"an aging, run-down disgrace"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is supposed to be the main airport of Istanbul, the capital city of a supposedly modern country, yet this airport is an aging, run-down disgrace. 1) There was trash laying everywhere on the floor, with no one in sight to clean it. 2) There were gum and soda spills on the floors, with no one in sight to clean it. 3) There are hardly any places for passengers to sit between flights and before their departure gate is announced. 4) There are virtually no plug-ins for laptops or for charging mobile phones. 5) The few plug-ins they had were either hanging from the wall or column with exposed electrical connections, or were held in place with cellotape. 6) The gate attendants were rude and inhospitable. 7) Passengers waiting for flights at three consecutive gates (303-305) were yelled at and forced to leave, herded out to the periphery, and forced to stand in close quarters like cattle because the personnel had not set up passport checkpoints before the passengers had arrived at the gate. 8) The prayer room was small, dirty and very overcrowded. The carpet had not been vacuumed for a long time. 9) The restrooms smelled awful, lacked paper towels, and there was water all over the floors.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"nobody helped us"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | There was no assistence at the gate. We had 1 hour to get to our next flight but no one helped us. We had to stand in a long queue and rushed to the transfer desk. They told us the gate was closed. This wouldnt happen if someone would have helped us before. It happened on both of our flights, the same reason. 1 hour should be enough time to get to another gate with some assistence. But at Ataturk Airport nobody helped us. We had 3 little children with us but they didnt even bother. Worst airport and service ever! If you ask for help they just say they will arrange a hotel and act very passive. They dont care.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an attitude of indifference"

(France)

Trip Verified | Worst experience ever. We missed our connecting flight and were advised incorrectly by 3 Ataturk airport staff. Istanbul airport staff in general were a nightmare to speak to in English, with an attitude of indifference. They were callous and rude at every encounter even though I was friendly, polite and upbeat. Everyone, from the shop attendants, security, visa salesman, airline staff and even customer service were rude and uninterested. When things go wrong in Istanbul, you might as well be on another planet where nobody cares at all about you or your family's well-being. Avoid like the plague. Rather go to a European airport where they value customers and respect human rights.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no