Islamabad Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 43 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"there was no system at all"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I can't believe how bad the system is at the most important airport of one of the biggest Muslim countries in the world. They airport management should hold their heads in shame as they do not know who to organise a small crowd. How to prioritise different flights. How to train staff. How to stop corruption at the airport which goes on openly in front of your eyes. I was coming back to UK from Islamabad end of March 2022 and got to the airport 3 hours before. There were hundreds of people queuing outside the international departure lounge. There were 4 queues but there were only two doors open where two ASF staff were casually checking the documents and letting people in with sense of urgency. There were no barriers / cones or anything to manage the queues except one man shouting at the back of the queues. Near the gates, all 4 queues were merging into 2 and there were angry people arguing with each other. Some people from the airport staff and queues were coming out and taking "some travelers" to one side and then taking them in from different doors. I waited patiently in the queue for 2 hours before I managed to get inside the airport building. As soon as you get inside, then there were 4 massive queues on the baggage check and again there was no system at all. I was told that there were 4 international flights that night that is why it was busy. But the airport management did not bother to prioritise the passengers according to the times of their flights. Again some of the airport staff were bringing people forward at the front of the queue and their luggage was checked before all of those people who were queuing. After an hour nearly in the queue, I got my luggage through and security check done. But, by the time I got to the check in desk, one man sitting there, talking to someone on his mobile, told me and 20 other people that the check in desk is close and we have missed our flight. I tried to tell him that I have already checked in online and I have the seat number etc but he couldn't care less. People were so upset and angry and he just got up and disappeared somewhere in the hall. Our flight was at 3.05am. We got to the desk at 2.25am and the plane did not fly till 3.45am. Then we were told to go to "Customer Service Desk" if we want to talk to someone and complain. That "Customer service desk" was a joke and nothing else. All of the people who missed the flight went there and the man there, with his arms folded resting on his chair, just saying ok you all have missed the flight, it is your fault. If you all want to complain, here is the register, write down your complain and it would be looked at by someone. In the meanwhile there is nothing I can do to help with your flight. There were some people with children. Some people came from a long distances and they sent their families back home after they were dropped off at the airport because they were there 4 hours before the flight. Now they had to find some kind of transport to take them home at 4am in the morning. I am ashamed that there is so much corruption and mismanagement and lack of humanity in the country and at our airports especially in the capital of the country. I am ashamed that how could they do this to their fellow human beings and still call themselves Muslims. I am ashamed to tell people why I have missed my flight.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"he demanded money for the service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It's really an embarrassing experience, as a Pakistani I have no words as to how the staff at Islamabad Airport can take advantage of vulnerable people for a bit of 'extra' money. I may not be the only one who went through this experience. I travelled with my family and we had 2 people who required wheelchair service. Upon arrival to the Departure section, I asked a fellow staff member for assistance to show me where the Helpdesk was so I could get those wheelchairs. This gentleman helped us to check in and showed us the way and as he was about to leave us with 2 other men to push those wheelchairs to our flight, he demanded money for the 'service'. What is this?? Does this man not get paid for his job? And what's worse is that those two men took us to the waiting room and as we waited those 2 men kicked up a fuss and also demanded money for their 'service'? What in the world is going on here? They refused to take my 2 family members (on the wheelchair) to board the flight until we paid them a certain sum of money? This is beyond embarrassing, how can anyone ask a disabled person for money for the service? I am seriously concerned about the staff wage here, something is not right. Islamabad staff all get paid wages so why are they making a fuss for extra money? What is the purpose of their role anyway, I don't think they know. We as customers shouldn't be paying your staff wage money for services. Islamabad please take pride in your service and stop this 'begging for tips' nonsense, it is absolutely humiliating. My family members did not ask for their disability, and if it is an issue for your staff to do their basic job then I don't think they are right for the role. Please sort your Team, Islamabad airport will sink if your staff do not have basic principles to follow.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"polite and attentive staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | At last Pakistan has an airport worthy of being a Capital City airport. Very well designed, with excellent drop off points. Excellent flow of passengers although I do wonder if the queues would be very long at busy times as its a single double door entry. All the checks and security are now excellent, with polite and attentive staff and a great spaced out airport. Toilets clean and well serviced. Signs, plentiful and useful. Needs more commercial shops and food facilities but otherwise I loved it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Worst airport in all respects"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Worst airport in all respects. Completed recently but very poor build quality with things already breaking down. Floors uneven, wood lamination splitting apart tiles breaking just after a year uncomfortable seats no duty free shop. Felt sad seeing it. Loks like corruption had driven down quality, all work shoddy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The staff just don't care"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It was an awful experience. When we first landed in Islamabad we went through to the arrivals section which in comparison to the old airport is alot better. We had gone through security despite there being around 9 separate desks but only 2 being open at 1 time. We had our young daughter with us who had a long flight which didn't help. When we got through we went down to the baggage reclaim area and picked up our suitcases. There are no signs to tell you where to pick up prams and after all the passengers had left we had someone come up to us and say prams are down there nearly an hour after we had been waiting. On our way back there were 2 separate security sections which is stupid for what they are doing one after and one before check in. We had 0.75 kg extra which we were made to take out and put into hand luggage despite me pleading to leave this as it would be difficult to travel with my daughter. He insisted it had to come out and had to give it to my family outside and go through this gazillion security screenings. I had taken a vase through security who began questioning me over it as they said it was crystal. In the end they found it was glass so allowed me to take it through. We came to the airport 2 hours and 50 minutes before our flight and managed to get through this whole debacle only leaving us 20 minutes to get to the gate! The immigration lines were huge and we had joked with the immigration officer that 'they keep putting flights at the same time' Again only 2 desks open of over 10. The staff just don't care. They want money from you for nothing so keep you wallets sealed and you'll face the issue I faced but if you pay them then you'll get through. I won't give them a single penny of my hard earned money for their ill gotten gains. I can only summarise by saying if I had no family in Pakistan I would never go back to this country. Honestly I feel ashamed to call myself a Pakistani and be linked to the country and the people of the airport. Just because they have a new clean airport doesn't mean the people have changed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Worst service I have ever seen"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst service I have ever seen in my entire life! Had to wait for 3hrs at the carousel for my baggage to arrive (I'm told workers were slacking off) and didn't see my bags until a senior officer had come to get the baggage moving! Unfriendly staff who don't even wish to communicate with passengers unless you incorrectly use an aircrew term where they are most happy to correct you and then snigger about it and then once again act like you're non-existent. Well, at least that informed me that they are not deaf but clearly ignoring me! Porters in uniform are helpful and kindly directed me too. Beware of Taxi drivers and ununiformed porters; my baggage was forcibly snatched by one these to 'help' me to the domestic flight departures.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"Massive improvement"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Massive improvement in airport and staff. Very clean, public facilities are well maintained. Staff are a bit friendlier now and fewer queues on departure and arrival security/immigration clearance due to having extra staff on counters. Just need a few more shops in the terminal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"the most impressive airport in Pakistan"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The new Islamabad International Airport is such an improvement over the previous airport it’s like making a jump from the 19th to 21st centuries. A very impressive and modern design of steel and glass, though a bit limited (only four in totals) of the shopping and eating options are after the security check. Free WiFi is available and the airport is easy to navigate. Waiting for my luggage to arrive took only about 10 minutes. The 2nd security check was as usual overzealous which is the norm for Pakistani airports, though the security guards were friendly and good natured. But without a doubt the new Islamabad International Airport is far and away the most impressive airport in Pakistan surpassing Lahore and Karachi.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"maybe I caught them on a good day"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Amazing experience throughout from arriving at the airport to boarding plane. Nice big new airport with no congestion on the approach. On arrival, the staff at the gate briefly checked the ticket without delay and proceeded to scanning. Effortless bags scanning with one query on an item in the bag which was resolved without any drama. Check in was quick, staff were shockingly polite (from previous experiences). We were slightly over the limit as always, the check in staff did not make a deal of it and put it through. Facilities in the airport while waiting are much better than the old airport but perhaps not upto the standard of some other major airports but no complaints. I particularly liked the fact you can see your family outside all the way to check in area due to vast glass walls. To sum it up, it seemed like the people I dealt with have had personality transplant to get rid of the old airport arrogant/rude/corrupt/lazy behaviours. I have seen other bad reviews for this airport so maybe I caught them on a good day. I had no complaints at all. Hope they keep it up. Wish them all the best! About time, Pakistani people are treated with some respect.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"a huge improvement on the old one"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The New Islamabad Airport is a huge improvement on the old one. From disembarking the aircraft through to passport control and finally collecting my luggage took less than 45 minutes. The staff at the airport were polite and courteous. The airport building is bright and clean.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 43 Reviews