Ireland West Knock Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 20 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Dublin airport for us next time"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | This airport is a rip off, you and all the members of your party will be charged, (including children) will be charged €10 extra at the departure gate in addition to the ticket price. Also it's in the middle of nowhere, and no bus services go to it. Dublin airport for us next time. I'd advise all travellers to give it a wide berth.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This airport is so backward its unreal"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | This airport is so backward its unreal. Today you get charged nearly three euros to get hot water for your own teabag. You get charged ten euros development fee as you leave. Same as Galway airport ten years ago, six euros to get out (again development fee) now its shut! Last time I flew from Knock the fee was the same. Never went back because of the fee. Now the place has hardly changed, where did that money go. Great idea to put an airport on top of a hill (don't have to come down so far) but hardly a great advert for Irish aviation or Mayo.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"What an absolute rip-off"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | What an absolute rip-off! A stealth payment at the point before passing security. I can't believe the airport can legally extort money from passengers like this before they are allowed to fly. Haven't we already paid airport taxes with our ticket? When I booked our ticket, I was never informed about this stealth payment. I asked the woman at the desk why it wasn't already in the ticket and her answer "We are unable to make the airlines do it". What absolute rot. You know how many passengers pass through your airport, if the airlines want to land there, they know the fees. When I again contested the payment, the response was "Do you want to fly?" Its pure blackmail. This stinks of an airport in a third world country or one run by a dictatorship. If they need the money that desperately, good luck!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Everyone is helpful and friendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It's hard not to love this gem of an airport. Everyone is helpful and friendly even the security staff! From touch down to getting on the road can be done in 10 minutes. The only puzzle to me is why there are hardly any road signs to the airport on the roads leading to it, why the mystery? There is a fee to pay on exiting which is a pain but seems to me to be well spent in updating the facilities for passengers
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"food selection is the worst I have seen"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is the second time I have used Knock. It is a bit out of the way and coach connections are not very good. But the timings of flights suited me better than the ones on offer to Shannon or Dublin so I used Knock. My flight yesterday was the last time ever. They do charge a departure tax of 10 euro which I had no idea about until I got there. Annoying but you can put up with this. This time I had to spend three hours in the departure lounge as coaches were either arriving too early or too late to catch flight. Never mind I thought I can relax. They are doing repair work in the departure lounge which is minute. The noise was horrendous. Walls were being knocked down, sawing, hammering etc. All in a small area and three groups of workers spread around the room. All wearing ear protection so they were really enjoying themselves making as much noise as they could it seemed. I asked if there was anywhere quiet we could sit and a staff member told me "we have to put up with this all day. Try the bar". The bar a small area in one corner. So not much help there. I have tried to find who to complain to but no one seems interested. My point is my flight was the last one of the day: 19.25. So they had many hours when work could be done to not inconvenience travellers. It is a very small area where everyone sits. The food selection is the worst I have seen so all in all a miserable three hours. Never again I have two other airports to use both have been good in the past. Passengers have a choice and my choice is never to use Knock again. I warn anyone else to think again. Staff seem fed up and Ireland has such a brilliant reputation for their hospitality it is a great shame.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"£70 to leave an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Terrible sneaky fee sprung on us at the end. Would never have dreamt of checking if I had to pay to leave an airport. Like other reviewers, I expect to pay everything upfront when I book, and it's not just a couple of quid either, it's £10 per person, which adds up to a very hefty fee if there's a few of you. There were 7 of us, £70 to leave an airport! We're backpackers and we travel on a budget, sneaky, sly fees like this just aren't what we expect. Bus stop is also woefully inadequate in rainy weather. Based on those two things, would not use this airport again and would advise others not too.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
3/10

"will avoid flying from Knock again"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | I was not expecting that I would be forced to pay extra fees at the airport. Like any other airport I used so far, the ticket included all the charges. This was a nasty suprise, should not be allowed - any airport fees should be part of airport taxes and included in the overall price of flight. Otherwise you are being misled about the flight cost, in my case given we were a family of 5 an additional 50 euros could have meant we decided to fly from Dublin instead. In principal I find this practice very dishonest and will avoid flying from Knock again if for no other reason but not to support sneakiness and dishonesty.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a very unpleasant time"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived on Windy Wednesday (19th Sept) and am one of your bus travellers. My experience of the bus shelter is always a cold piercing wind. One has just got to look where it is located within the airport grounds. The construction of glass panels with surround umpteen gaps (like surround sound of howling and whistling) makes for a very unpleasant time! In particular on Windy Wednesday we had to wait a long time because our bus had been held up because of a fallen tree. We were frozen but had to remain there in case the delayed bus arrived. Also, nobody came out to see if we were okay. So why isn't the money we pay to get out of Knock used to redesign the shelter?!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"crowded and dirty"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Airport crowded and dirty and the compulsory fee of €10 made it feel a rip-off. Time to get rid of it and get up to date as with 99% of other airports in Europe.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a brilliant little airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is a brilliant little airport. I had to travel from Dublin across to Knock, short notice flight back to UK. Staff very friendly and lovely service. Europe car hire people great, it was raining and staff drove us direct to terminal. I don’t mind paying the £10 euro for development purposes. Hopefully in the near future this will be a great connection to Europe from the west. Thank You.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 20 Reviews