Inverness Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 34 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"Why are travellers kept in the dark and treated like this?"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We flew into Inverness on a Monday and were the only flight arriving at the time. The luggage took so long to arrive that people burst into a sarcastic round of applause when it eventually came through. Then on the following Friday our 19.20 flight had an estimated departure time of 20.15 despite being on the tarmac really early. When we queried this we were told by three separate staff that there was no problem and the flight would be on time. Sure enough the bag drop opened early and despite a technical fault at the gate we were fully loaded only a few minutes late. Then, together with two other planes we were held on board until - you've guessed it - 20.15. This was because traffic control was short-staffed and that was the reason for the late departure on the airport screens. Why are travellers kept in the dark and treated like this? No announcements, no explanations and not even the pleasant guy on security seemed aware of what was happening.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"clearly unable to cope with busier periods"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I fly into Inverness a couple of times a year, lovely staff in the shops and cafe’s. The security staff, however are a different story, they are rude, aggressive and clearly unable to cope with busier periods. They need customer service training. I understand they have a job to do but there is no need to be rude.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Where is the discretion by the security staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Passing through security I was told to remove my braces, I mentioned that I was using them to hold up my trousers, the man replied that he was not joking, so with some hesitation removed them and subsequently the said trousers fell down. I have done in the past a number of international flights and domestic and have never been asked to do this before. I was really embarrassed trying to find somewhere to put them on again. On having declared that I was using them and also showing them also would be enough! Where is the discretion by the security staff, I felt that they quite enjoy seeing people in uncomfortable circumstances. I do fully understand the reason behind this to make sure the flights our flights safe.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"the staff can't be bothered"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A nice small airport that can be very congested in Departures, fine when it is quiet, a nice cafe in main hall, overlooking the runway, with comfy chairs, and a few nice shops to browse. Worst point - the staff, unhelpful and mean spirited. I had to wait 40 minutes to make a free ticket change with Logan Air because the young lad, on the desk could not sort it out and was very lacking in his customer care and communication. While I was waiting a lovely man arrived late for his flybe Birmingham flight, he had left his bag with documents at home and had to return for them, the Birmingham flight was delayed over 30 mins, a member of staff tried to help by phoning through to departures but flybe / staff refused to help, there was no one on the flybe check in desk, he was told to get a later Manchester flight and travel on to Birmingham. After all this, I got my ticket change, went straight through security as not busy and was gutted to see the Birmingham flight only just being called for boarding, poor man, they could so easily have let him through, it was not at all busy and staff were just standing chatting at the boarding gate, very mean and causes so much inconvenience and extra expense to someone because the staff can't be bothered to help. The beauty of a smaller airport should be more personal care and help, sadly not so at Inverness.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security staff are extremely rude"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have travelled through many airports in my life. But never have I been left feeling so penalised, disrespected as I did travelling through Inverness airport. The security staff are extremely rude, they treat you like you're an inconvenience to them. Even after getting past the security part we had to then endure an incredibly rude woman who bullied us about our hand luggage before we got on the plane, I do hope that the inverness management review how they treat their customers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"attitude of staff should be addressed"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Very disappointed with the security at Inverness, in fact it soured what was a wonderful trip to the Highlands and Isle of Lewis. We only had carry on luggage and had no trouble flying out of Amsterdam to Inverness but the return was not as good. I had culled my cosmetics before I went and was complimented in Amsterdam on what I had done as they were all well under 100mls. When going thru Inverness was told I should have in clear plastic bag even though my cosmetics bag was see through. When I put in 2 bags was told it all had to go in one bag. When I queried this a supervisor came over and told me I had to comply and throw things out. I did but then I saw I was selected for a full body scan and search and actually saw them talk about me. A women sent me back a couple of times and exaggerated her search. I am a 72 year old. I understand rules are rules but the attitude was what I h ad a problem with. If they thought they could embarass me they did not and really only demonstrated their petty ignorance. The bad attitude of staff should be addressed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"great customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Unscheduled visit to this fantastic little airport. Staff member on the front desk helped me with my bags right through to departures (I have broken my wrist), can’t thank her enough for great customer service. Then through to feel spoiled in the aspires lounge by the host with the most. Brilliant service, I shall definately return to this super place again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"No suitable infrastructure"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | It's always a pleasure to be able to fly into my home City airport of Dalcross. However, on three separate occasions this month my views have changed some what. No suitable infrastructure for the increase in passenger volumes. On two occasions only one security x-ray machine working as the other had broken down (for departing BA, KLM, BE flights) resulting in 45 minute queues with no management of the situation whatsoever. Chaos at check in as they could not cope with the volume of bags being checked in resulting in that breaking down. On arrival into Dalcross on the way home for a visit, bags put on wrong carousel (there are only two in the airport). It's a shame, could be such a nice airport however extemely poor management with no advise or announcements given on any of these occasions, with no taking charge of the situation. Come on HIAL, get your act together!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Queues for security extremely long"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departed Inverness airport on May 7th. Queues for security were extremely long because only one scanner was working. We joined the queue at about 11.50am for a scheduled boarding of 12.05pm but were still waiting in the queue at 12.15pm. Airport staff asked if there were any passengers for Heathrow but didn't do anything to hasten our transit through the security. It was pouring with rain but no covered walkway to the aircraft. I asked why only one scanner was working and was told it was being worked on as we speak. Despite the fact that I had already intimated that our flight was due to depart security insisted on testing my carry on liquids. Unfortunately when you live in the Highlands your choice of airport is limited.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport never fails to disappoint"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I make regular trips to Scotland every year to visit family. Inverness airport never fails to disappoint with the rudeness of security staff who seem incapable of managing anything with anything less than contempt, never failing to give an impression that you are interrupting their day with your visit. In turn the departure lounge is unfit for purpose. Much of the space is taken up with shops and the seating is squashed together akin to herding sheep. My final comment goes to the ground staff who when boarding commences seem to think they are loading cattle, with an attitude to match. I look forward to my next visit!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 34 Reviews