Hurghada Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 52 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"toilets were horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | All was going well with check in and security until the police at the final X-ray machine took a liking to my cartridge razor blades. They took a full pack of five blades off of me and they didn’t go into the bin. Wife stated that the toilets were horrendous and the attendant was only there for the tips.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude and hopeless to deal with"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff at the check in Desk, for Wizz Air were rude and hopeless to deal with. We went to check in and even though I’ve been assured by Wizz Air that I could check in at the airport they wanted to charge us £45 per person unless we checked in online. They wouldn’t listen to me, particularly when I said I was deaf and was unable to hear them. I went off with my husband to try and check in online, but my Internet on my phone was full too and by the time I’d managed to actually get onto the website the check in had closed. The manager, who had previously been shouting at me, kept grabbing hold of me, even when I told him to stop touching me and is in serious need of diversity, training and general management skills. I will never travel to Egypt again, as I’m not giving these people my money.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Rude staff at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Rude staff at passport control. Snatching bags and emptying. Told us to throw away unopened bottles of water but others were able to take through. KFC only running with 2 staff serving. Absolute chaos. Manager stands by watching everything, however, he does not help out with serving his customers.- food was very good though. Toilets disgraceful. No paper in ladies toilets, not in any cubicles. Duty Free with half empty shelves. No staff other than on one checkout - vodka was very cheap though. Beware, on arrival the fee for a Visa is $25 (dollars) They will take £25 UK pounds too and when you question it 'that's what it is' came the reply.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"toilets were absolutely disgusting"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This has to be the most ridiculous airport on earth. I expect security but not to the level of this airport. I witnessed one security guard check a young man's bag, take out a brand new bottle of aftershave and then proceed to spray himself all over before putting the aftershave back in the box. When the young man queried it with him the security man became menacing and threatening. The same security guard then took a wallet out of the grey tray that belonged to an elderly gentleman and began rummaging through it. Luckily it appeared to be empty of any notes. Top tip - do not put anything valuable in your hand luggage that you do not want the security guards to use. Wanted to purchase items in the duty free shop but was told by shop manager that 'I don't like Egyptian money'. You live and work in Egypt so what is wrong with spending the money? Also is 'world of duty free' not a global company? Visiting this airport is enough to put you off visiting Hurghada when you know that you have to pass through this airport to get home. Did not like the fact that the toilets were absolutely disgusting. Wet, dirty floors and no toilet rolls or hand drying facility. AND then the cleaner waits outside asking for a tip! For what??
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport I have ever been to"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport I have ever been to! Multiple security checks which are unorganised and staff trying to push you to fast track queue (obviously for a price). When you get through the metal detectors irrespective if you bleep or not, you are physically checked by a staff member without any confirmation that’s what they’re doing. It is not clear that you have to fill another declaration in so make sure you bring a pen since none of them are provided! Staff are awful, men and women stood at the toilets trying to take money of you before you use the toilets, just for you to go into the toilets and there is no toilet roll! It says something when you wait to get on a plane to use those toilets instead. Again shops where well stocked but no prices on most things so could not deal with trying to have to speak to anymore people after the security/toilet experience. Would never go back to this airport if I could help it, if I could score everything zero I could.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"tourists are treated like animals"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | At the airport, tourists are treated like animals. Very rude, friendliness is hard to find. As if we are criminals. They forget one thing without the tourists no income. Respect would be very welcome here. They will never see me again in Egypt. Op de luchthaven worden de toeristen behandeld als dieren . Zeer onbeschoft , vriendelijkheid is ver te zoeken. Alsof we criminelen zijn . Ze vergeten 1 ding zonder de toeristen geen inkomen . Respect zou hier zeer welkom zijn . Mij zien ze in Egypte nooit meer
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolute chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolute chaos, hated my experience at this airport. I had special assistance booked as I have a disability, however you can not get this from the get go as you should, you have to queue and stand for ages (something I struggle with) and then they have the cheek of these random staff members coming up to you asking for money for “speedy queue” I shouldn’t have to pay for something that’s free! The security process is awful, chucking trays at you, so rude I mean most security staff are rude anyway but they were extra. Finally once we checked our bag in I was able to get my special assistance & wheelchair but the staff have the cheek to hang around expecting a tip. So stressful, and the airport is gross, toilets are disgusting. Then we waiting at the gate, they didn’t bring a wheelchair to take me to the front of the plane first, I had to walk and stand in a queue (again) absolutely appalling! Would not come here again. I wish I could rate this airport as a 0 but 1 will have to do.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Departure was a joke"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival at the airport was chaotic, but as we were in a travel group, this process was somewhat easier. Departure was a joke. Ruined my entire experience. The check-in staff was viewed my documents as if I were an illegal immigrant trying to leave the country. Never been treated so rudely by airport staff in my life. Multiple bag scans and the staff checking the bags just before the gates were the worst. Put my small carry-on bag multiple times through the X-ray machine and pulled out everything as if trying to search for things that weren't there. After a wonderful holiday in Egypt, this was a terrible end. Everyone was inefficient, discriminatory, and somehow wanted to assert themselves with more authority than they actually had. It's like the staff were hired for the sake of a job. Tried to buy something from the gift shop and was told that the card machine was not working, cash only. By then, everyone just walked out of the shop. Well done to the airport staff for losing business.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“it was very confusing”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | From the moment we arrived at the airport late evening it was very confusing, causing immense anxiety and stress. Immediately there were staff with VIP boards charging what I think was £21 per person to fast track you through the initial chaos. I believe the chaos is created to entice passengers to pay. If this was a fast track to my seat on the airplane I might be tempted. The security checks are repeated, even no buzzers went off everyone is hand patted down. Not sure why the lady moved my glasses from my head to my eyes as they are reading glasses not for general sight. Men and women are split making aiding family who need help difficult. After the first security checks you queue for check in and are given a card to fill out before the next security check, which has the same details already given on your passport, so have a pen and something to lean on ready, especially if there is little time left for your flight. By the time we got to the shops (which looked nice) I had lost the will to be in Egypt and didn’t wish to spend another pound or moment there. All this on top of a stressful stay with con taxi drivers and a shop worker turned stalker (after which we stayed in resort). I’d visit again for the weather but I will be more mentally prepared for the drama. One advise, get roaming data before you get there and book taxis via Uber, price is fixed and same as locals. If I could give a zero rating I would.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Staff are miserable and rude"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Each time I depart from Hurghada I have had a bad experience. Staff are miserable and rude treating passengers like cattle. Toilets had no paper or hand towels. Getting through security takes ages mainly as only 3 trays per scanner then having to fill in another form then get a stamp on boarding pass to be released from the chaotic area. Free WiFi a joke as no code sent. No shopping experience as just wanted to get to gate and leave the place. Needs better management and customer service training as tourism is the main income providing the jobs. Don't put off visitors
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 52 Reviews