Hurghada Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 23 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Security controls having a rather annoying attitude"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | I took a flight in terminal 2. No easy way to know what terminal was my flight departing on (not on the website, not on panels). I literally had to get out of the car and go ask. No luggage carts (though I saw them in terminal one. My wallet disappeared. When it reappeared, I was left 10 min. to identify all of its content (1 single banknote and 1 travel card, with my picture on it). 10 min., with some lazy guards very rude and offensive. Same guards gave me a piece of paper with written "There are no foods or drinks, neither toilet soap on board, due to German regulations". It was not true: just a scam to make you buy something in the airports. Note: the security guards gave it to me. Security controls having a rather annoying attitude, checking my luggage 3 times, asking me how much things were costing, all while one of security guys was asking for bribes when not seen by his superiors.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Tourists are severely harassed here"

(Germany)

Not Verified | Touristen werden hier schwer schikaniert - noch keinen anderen Flughafen in ganz Afrika oder sonst wo auf der Welt erlebt, der so schlecht organisiert ist und wo man von Security bis Bodenpersonal nur schikaniert und veräppelt wird. Trotz kleinem Baby auf dem Arm wird man behandelt wie ein Schwerverbrecher und bekommt keinerlei Freundlichkeit oder nur etwas Anstand. An dem hier Erlebten wird einem schnell deutlich, dass man sich in einem Militärstaat befindet, der zumindest in dieser Hinsicht nicht mehr an das Ägypten vergangener Urlaube erinnert - und auch nicht an die Werte einer zivilisierten Gesellschaft. Diesen Flughafen werde ich nie wieder betreten. - Tourists are severely harassed here - never experienced another airport in Africa or anywhere else in the world that is so badly organized and where you are only harassed and made fun of from security to ground staff. Despite a small baby in your arms, you are treated like a criminal and receive no friendliness or even a little decency. From what you have experienced here, it quickly becomes clear that you are in a military state that, at least in this respect, no longer reminds you of the Egypt of past vacations - nor of the values ​​of a civilized society. I will never set foot in this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"awful experience coming home"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrivals was OK and mostly friendly staff, however, do not trust the sim card sellers especially etisalat who sold us 3 x sim cards that were supposed to have 27gb each, they had a maximum of 10gb each which meant for 2-3 days we had no mobile data because they lied. The holiday itself was amazing as this had nothing to do with the airport. The return home through departures was awful (0 stars) the staff are rude, unhelpful and do their best to cause you problems. I had a Shisha/Hookah in my hand luggage which I passed through 3 of the never ending security checks without a problem, on the 4th, a very rude police officer made a big thing out of it and told me I needed to go back and put it through check-in, which was ridiculous as I had already checked my luggage in, so how would I check a Shisha Pipe in on it's own? I said I would rather throw it away and they seemed determined to get me to go back until I demanded they bin it. The duty free shops are useless and the food and snacks are seriously overpriced (3 coffees and a bag of crisps for £15). We got lucky somehow but nearly every passenger before/after us had to go through a long, drawn out and humiliating baggage check where the miserable and rude security/police rummaged through all of their bags and checked clothing and jewellery for the hundredth time before being allowed to sit down and wait for their flight. This departure has seriously put me off going there again, I will likely go back to Sharm el Sheikh as that was much better than this awful experience coming home.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"done nothing to stop this disgraceful practice"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | When you arrive at Hurghada airport from the UK and are a TUI customer do not take notice of anyone purporting to be a TUI employee or go to any TUI visa desk. If you do you will be charged £25 for a visa and not $25 which is the correct amount. This is a scam and you will pay 30% more for your visa. Go to the desks marked VISUM instead and pay just $25. I complained to TUI 3 years ago about this and they have done nothing to stop this disgraceful practice.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"left Hurghada with one day delay"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | We arrived at the airport at 3 P.M., our flight should take off at 6 P.M. The travel agent told us to go to counter B10. I don´t want to get deeper into the redundancy of controls of baggage, where everybody is forced to take off the shoes and walk along without any hygienic protection etc. On January 1st the airport system crashed and could not restart properly until we arrived. There were a lot of people waiting for check-in or already delayed. Of course we were at the wrong counter and were told to had to C12. We stood there at least 6 hours. Not a single information came from the audio announcement – only the repeated text to wear the masks, which almost nobody did. As the system was dead no digital sign was working, so there was no information nowhere. There were some toilets close to our queue, but we were told to cross the airport to use the toilets at the other side. After 3 hours I started to beg our travel agent to help us. He told us not to be responsible as it was a problem of the airline. I asked, if he could ask for opening the toilets next to us – he just laugh at me and as I insisted he asked the police officer next to him and laugh again as this guy denied the access. In the middle of the terminal was a kind of central police desk. I went there and tried to explain the situation. The only one officer that spoke enough English looked at me and said: „If you need to got to toilet, ask me and I will help you.“. No chance for any help. Nobody cared about our situation. The machine to Dusseldorf was finally cancelled. They continued with the check-in for Munich, so we still hoped to get aboard of the airplane. But suddenly they closed the check-in and just said: Munich closed. The remaining 40 people stood there again with no information, why, what comes next etc. It took another hour until finally a men form Condor came and organized an overnight for us as well. We finally left Hurghada with one day delay.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"out to openly steal by theft or deception"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Firstly, poor adherence to Covid-19 reduction procedures despite an 'official' response to an earlier review stating similar (some staff complying, but majority not wearing PPE, no announcements, etc.) Arrivals As repeatedly posted over many years, the arrival Visa scam is still ongoing with "reps" being given names of passengers, and barriers forcing you to miss the bank kiosk unless you know where it is, so you of course go to the person entrusted with your name. There is no purpose to this person other than to charge you extra for a service you do not need. Another scam still ongoing is the under-loaded SIM card offered by the "telecoms" companies prior to leaving the secure area (meaning you cannot go back to complain if realise you have been sold short). I'd rather be charged more and receive the package I've requested than pay the "listed price" and gamble on what data amount I might get...its just an unnecessary inconvenience (and its theft by deception) Finding the tour or taxi reps outside was OK, but a keen eye required sometimes. Departures Check, scan, check, scan, etc. Great to see security being considered (especially given the threat-levels), however, most were just going through the motions, intent on causing disruption and chaos and bag checks were an opportunity to see what could be confiscated - and as you are at risk of missing your flight you'll be less inclined to argue over any items being taken from you (mugged in broad daylight by a security official). Tried to purchase something in duty free with a fee-free credit card, but had a processing fee attached? Card was declined (despite plenty of balance and overseas use authorised), yet direct debit card (same bank) went through at the listed price (no added fee) once I'd stated I didn't have cash to pay so about to walk away. From first arrival to final departure, this airport is out to openly steal by theft or deception. I expect attempts to be hustled on the street, beach, and other public areas, but not at a corporate or government establishment welcoming/serving international visitors. It just shows the contempt the management and officials have for the visitor. Seating was good though, but it was in the quiet December period. No call for our flight, however, I did hear other flights being called.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"my first and hopefully the last time in this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The most horrible experience. Airport itself is a great building but security staff are terrible. Many travel documents and passport checking entering the airport and at the luggage zone. Staff were asking unnecessary questions, travel documents and weren’t accepting documents on the phone (you have to carry a printer with you or print out tonnes of paper before). Even if you know which check-in table you need and go in a rush, they stop you and ask for documents which they don’t need and don’t even understand the language. At the arrival all of the passengers from our plane (from Europe, Latvia) were asked to present printed vaccination certificates (qr code). They were checked by women who didn’t even ask for passport to confirm and didn’t have a qr code scanner. This was stupid and there was a huge queue because of it. No card payment at the airport for purchase of Egypt visa is available, only cash (they hate cards actually). You have to fill a COVID-19 declaration before entering Egypt (its ok) but that’s not all - they give you small card to fill with personal data and leave at passport control. Me and my boyfriend didn’t fill in anything and they didn’t even look at it. On the arrival we were waiting 2 hours at the bus for 4 people because airport staff lost their kitesurfing equipment. Half of the procedures they do are just for fun and to look “professional” or “I am working, I am busy”. At the departure there was at least 3 men that stopped us to ask documents, flight number or where are we from just for no reason. They didn’t even look like staff. At the toilet there were “guards” who ask for money for no reason. All in all, that was my first and hopefully the last time in this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"nobody could give me an answer"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | We arrived at Hurghada airport 3 hours (10/23/2021 at 14.25) before the departure time of flight SU 423 indicated on the ticket (10/23/2021 at 17.25). We passed all the control procedures in 1 hour and 30 minutes. The control system of things is duplicated 3 times. I have been diving for 27 years and I carry with me a signal buoy for diving and in the entire history of border crossing (more than 1000 times) I have not had any problems while inspecting my belongings associated with this buoy. However, at the control at the departure from the Hurghada airport at the last stage, the controllers did not allow the buoy to be transported because of the 5 meter lashing rope. I asked for an explanation on the basis of which it is forbidden to transport a buoy with a rope. But nobody could give me an answer. I suggested to them, on the same basis, to withdraw my sneakers as well, since the laces in them total 3 meters. Without receiving an answer, they cut off the rope from the buoy and kept it for themselves. Apparently in Egypt there is a large shortage of ropes and they are more needed by inspectors than tourists. The whole procedure for passing control at the airport is very poorly organized and creates unnecessary crowds and queues. And this despite the fact that we arrived at the airport one of the first. In addition, we sat on the plane for 1 hour and 30 minutes, waiting for departure. As the commander of the plane's crew explained, the delay was due to problems with the services of the Hurghada airport when loading luggage on the plane. Upon arrival in Moscow, I myself tried to find legal grounds in the international rules for the carriage of passengers for the actions of airport personnel, but I did not find any prohibitive regulations related to the transportation of my luggage.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"As a woman, I constantly felt disrespected"

(United States)

Trip Verified | If I could give them 0 stars I would. They are rude and lack respect. As a woman, I constantly felt disrespected. They attract tourists but can’t speak basic English. They talk to you like dogs. Most of them aren’t even nice. The women are okay. It’s free to be nice. Energy never lies and you don’t need to speak any language to read that. They threw away our sand and sea shells from the Red Sea. They are extremely chauvinistic and petty. They are outdated. They make you go through two searches within 10 feet. It’s redundant. If you do a good enough job the first time you wouldn’t have to do it again. I wouldn’t suggest for people to come over here. We were made to throw away our water but we saw people who had a thermos of liquid and they drank some of it but allowed them to keep the rest. You all don’t want cell phone recording you all because you don’t want the world to see how terrible Hurghada airport and many of their people are.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The worst was the staff"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | The arrival was smooth, as long as you can convince the luggage pickers that a 10$ tip is more than enough for a 20 seconds walk. The departure was horrible. Countless passport checks, countless luggage scans (what is the point of doing 6 passport checks?) none of the staff were wearing masks, most of them no gloves either. That's not the worst. The worst was the staff, extremely rude, grunting, unpolite, asking for bribe (security guards asking for bribe in an airport). Even though the airport was almost empty, the whole process took 2 hours. I don't have the time to detail all the unpleasant points, but the worst was this: Just in front of the departure gate, for a Zurich flight (16/5/2021 for the 18.03 flights) there's toilets. In front of those very dirty toilets were a lady and a man. My friend was harassed at first by the woman for money, she was so annoying that she gave her her lasts 200 EGP. Then the man stood up, they surrounded her and they started asking for more money. The woman even tried to grab and steal her jacket. The whole airport crew were so rude and nasty. On the internet, you can find thousands of complaints about this airport. Thousands of stories of people missing flights cause of the negligent staff, of people getting robbed, stolen, by the very own people that are supposed to help you. The single experience of the airport can deter you to visit this area ever again. For an area that almost rely exclusively on mass tourisms, this is an utter shame.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 23 Reviews