Honolulu Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 66 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"Disorganised and dirty"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Has been 20 years since my last visit and swear nothing has been updated in that time. Disorganised and dirty, very little signage, very poor food options, closed restrooms, stressful security experience all takes place in dark crowded and dingy spaces. Such a shame as totally does not reflect the amazingly beautiful and friendly Hawaii. Needs complete demo and rebuild sadly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a horrible airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is a horrible airport. It is disorganized and lacks signage. The waiting areas lack outlets to charge cell phones. Security is just rude - my guy was quite thrilled when he found my oversized container of sun spray. I won’t be back soon.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a terrible experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | Like most reviews mention, the disorganization and overcrowding run rampant at this airport. The Hawaii heat coupled with lines out the door made for a terrible experience. The lack of directional signage pointing us to the rental car return forced us to get back on the freeway and loop around the entire airport again. Of course when we asked a police officer for directions his only response was to follow the signs. But worst of all was the rude and angry TSA agent who yelled at us for no reason. We were traveling with our child and he was adamant that we were hiding something in the stroller. I quote, "Take that carseat off! I know it comes out!" After being told by one agent to take our shoes off, the same angry TSA agent yells at us again that we need to keep them on. When I told him we were getting conflicting information, all he did was throw a fit. Yeah I'm never flying out of this garbage airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"needs professional training on how to talk to customers"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Wiki-wiki shuttle complaint at Honolulu airport. The wiki-wiki shuttle bus driver at this airport was so angry and belligerent towards the passengers after picking us up from the international arrival gate to take us to the luggage area. He picked us up from the gate on May 5, 2019 at around 9:37 am. He was so angry that he yelled at everyone in the bus as he told us to "Move back! This is a full flight, the sooner you move back, the sooner we can do this!" and repeatedly yelled at us with the same statement, only more belligerent and agitated at each time he repeated. He looked as if he was ready to fight the passengers at the front of the shuttle. He was so angry to a point of harassment towards us. I do not understand why he treated the visitors and returning residents to Hawaii like this? There seems to be a fake Aloha being thrown around this airport. This wiki-wiki shuttle driver needs professional training on how to talk to customers. He would not have a job without passengers that arrive and leave from this airport. Arrogant. He was so aggressive and hostile towards the passengers, I am still perplexed what the heck did we do to him?
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no directional signage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | What a disaster. I could not find a single sign in the inter-island terminal to point me towards the mainland/international terminal. When I arrived at the mainland/international terminal I could find no sign telling me if I were in Terminal 1 or Terminal 2. I could not easily locate an arrivals/departure display. Upon my return to the islands I could not find a single sign in the mainland/international terminal to point me towards the inter-island terminal. Departure boards in the mainland/international terminal did not display inter-island flights. Many forking hallways had no directional signage. I nearly missed my connection in both directions.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Disorganised would be the operative word"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | What is there not to enjoy about an 80 minute wait to check in? As a frequent traveller, to lots of airports, this one is pretty bad on the face of it. Disorganised would be the operative word - 4 check in staff for about 200 travellers, 3 of whom were looking after 1 set of travellers for some time. Glacial movement on the queue and when you see people being pulled out of that queue because they are about to miss their flight, then you know the check in isn't going well. Also the first airport I have been asked to step out of one queue for security (with 30 or so others) and then walk about 500m to a completely different security spot downstairs as they were unable to cope with the numbers. Considering so much of Hawaii is about tourism, they certainly aren't wasting money on improving the arrival/departure processes.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"This airport is the pits"

(United States)

Not Verified | This airport is the pits! My flight doesn't take off for 3 more hours, but there are about 15 of us sitting in a diesel fumed corridor. It would be nice to be able to sit in the gate area where there are restrooms. The restrooms are few and mostly dirty.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"slowly getting better"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Honolulu Airport is slowly getting better. My wife and I have been through this airport many times starting in the early 70's. The check in area is dark with a cement atmosphere. The mens bathroom was absolutely disgusting, very poorly maintained. There are a number of "YES" high end shops. Very few eating places other than a few fast food kiosks in a small food court. There are improvement slowly being made. Security check in was much better this time. We arrived early to check in with Air Canada and that process has much improved. This open concept has its advantages however there are drawback. Overall this is not the worst airport I have been through but it certainly does not rank in my top ten list.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"such a lack of organization"

(United States)

Not Verified | This was the worst airport for departures ever experienced. Lines went out the door to the sidewalk. We asked one employee inside where the luggage check for first class (HA airlines) was located and she sent us outside to stand in a line for check-in. We had already checked in. The crowds were large. Finally we went back in through another entry door and found the first class baggage check. Now all they do is tag your bags and send you to another line for loading bags. At lest that line was short. Then on to the TSA precheck, again we had to exit the building to stand outside. The ticketing lobby was so small, that they had to have security at PreCheck to let people pass from one side to the other side. Then when the Precheck line was shorter, they would allow you to enter the building to get in line. Rest of the experience was ok. There seems to be a lack of knowledge in at least the employees we talked with, exception HA employees, to be able to guide you anywhere. We heard multiple complaints about this while waiting to figure out where we were really suppose to go. We have never experienced such a lack of organization. The automated walk ways were not functional, bathrooms had inoperable toilets and sinks, enough worked that the wait lines for women were not too bad. Don't think we will ever fly out of Honolulu again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

Honolulu Airport customer review

(United States)

Not Verified | Crazy security lines. I live here, travel several times per month inter island. I have TSA Pre and Platinum status but even those lines are out the door onto the sidewalk, standing in the rain sometimes. This has been the case all summer. Big change from earlier in the year. No explanation from security or airline personnel who range in demeanour from indifferent to hostile.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 66 Reviews