Hong Kong Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 403 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"poor quality and inefficient service"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | I’m writing from exasperation at the long wait for a wheelchair for my mother, senior citizen, unsteady on her feet and requiring assistance. She arrived Hong Kong mid November and waited 40 minutes after aircraft doors opened. Apparently the crew members waited for her, as cleaners and caterers were servicing the aircraft. Today on her return flight, she was informed the wheelchair would arrive at 4.40 pm for a 6 pm departure, and finally arrived 5.20 pm, with a harried and impatient wheelchair assistant. This is unacceptable to pay a high airport tax and receive such poor service on both arrival and departure flights of the same trip. And the reason given by airline ground staff is that Hong Kong airport uses just one wheelchair company for all airlines and its short staffed, so the best they can do at anytime. Very disappointed with HK airport authorities for such poor quality and inefficient service!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"easily one of the best in the world"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I can honestly say Hong Kong airport is one of the nicest airports I've ever been through. To be fair, have I been in every major airport on earth? No, of course not, but I have traveled to many airports including LAX, ORD, EWR, LHR, CDG, HND, and so forth. For me HKG is easily one of the best in the world. The coolest thing in my view is the terminal is one huge open space. As in one huge roof that goes on, and not many different sections or terminals you commonly see at older airports. The engineering aspect alone is really fascinating. On top of that, the architecture and aesthetics are quite nice. It's mostly open, bright, and very pleasing to walk around. You very rarely felt claustrophobic in the airport, and the only crowded areas are check-in depending on time of day, and security. For example, the United check in counter wasn't crowded, but United only has 2-3 flights out a day compared to Cebu which is packed with several daily flights to Manila. Meanwhile security and immigration was smooth and quick overall, and it wasn't too crowded on my way in and out. The food and shopping options were quite nice. There were a lot of shops in the main mall before the gates, then another mini-mall with several shops around gate 60. You have many huge brands from Chanel to Calvin Klein if you fancy nice clothes, and the main duty free store was huge with very rare bottles of top notch whiskey and spirits. I bought some fresh tea and cookies on my way out. The only negative about shopping is I didn't find any cliche tourist store. I know it sounds cheesy, but I was hoping to find a mug or model Cathay Pacific plane. Meanwhile the food options are good with some notable fast food brands to local chains. The only negative is I didn't see many bars or food options in between gates, but they had the mini-mall and a food court halfway down the terminal. I can't complain too much, but it would be nice to have a couple options beyond a store when you're in the middle of the gates. Finally, the Wi-Fi was free, and worked well. The best part of the airport is the the train network to the airport is amazing. The high-speed rail is about $14 (USD) to Hong Kong station, and the train runs every 10 minutes. It was fast, and easy to get too when you pass through immigration. On top of that, there are plenty of ATMs to get cash, and they have counters and machines to get your local Octopus card. FYI, the Octopus card is their transport card which is a must-have in Hong Kong for the buses to subway. Finally, the signs are listed well, and it's easy to navigate around the airport. The only point it loses is it needs a bar or two in between gates. Overall this is a top notch airport that provides the necessities well, and gives you tons of shopping and dining options when you have some time to wonder around.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"this is ticking all my boxes"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Hong Kong airport has won me over with free shower facilities available! Not only is it free, the shower facilities were so clean, spacious and well equipped with shampoo, shower gel and hair driers! There are racks to hang your clothes and plenty of room to move around! Yes I'm all about the free showers and amazing facilities so this is ticking all my boxes!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"big but friendly airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A big but friendly airport where I spent a couple of hours on my way back to LHR from Fiji. I spent most of my time in the Plaza Premium First lounge which was expensive but worth it, having first located my boarding gate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"comfortable and relatively friendly airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I arrived here after a long flight from LHR but left very soon on another flight. This review is about my return flight to HKG and departure to LHR. The airport is not formidable and it is not too difficult to find your gates. I could not find a bar to while away the time and so was obliged to patronise a very expensive and over priced lounge. However, it was a comfortable and relatively friendly airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very convenient to all foreign travellers"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Great, fast, stable Wifi compared to the other famous airports! Easy connection, no passport or registration required. It is very convenient to all foreign travelers! The environment and toilets are very tidy and clean. Spacious place. You feel very comfortable while waiting for boarding or luggage delivery. The only thing I would complain about is the food sold in the restaurants was chilled and very expensive.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"excellent airport to connect"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Transited on my way to Calcutta from New York from Cathay Pacific to Cathay Dragon. This is a large, sprawling airport requiring long hikes. A central atrium has lots of shops selling both international brand products and also regional brands. I purchased some liquor and cosmetics - doing so was easy. I visited the business class lounge. It was excellent - quiet, clean, lot of places to sit and relax, vast range of food, many cooked to order, tidy bathrooms, ample reading materials, soft and hard drinks, cold and hot beverages, helpful staff, superb WiFi connection and lots of charging points. I am being finicky when I say that the multi-roomed lounge was rather dark with subdued lighting. That went for the bathrooms too where I had a refreshing shower - with clean towels and toiletries in place. The walk to my connecting flight was long and on reaching the gate, I had to take a bus to an island terminal to reach the actual boarding gate. Ample waiting space and seats at gate. The security check between arrival and departure was quick, orderly, quiet, and efficient. Signage was good and easy to follow. This is an excellent airport to connect, superior to connecting at Doha on a trip to Calcutta from JFK.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"airport ambiance is exceptional"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | The transit or transfer was smooth. The airport ambiance is exceptional with its very high ceiling. It exudes freedom. There are plenty of restaurants and shops to choose from. Relaxing and comfortable.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"a massive complex"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | Hong Kong International Airport is a massive complex featuring two terminals (1 and 2), and two separate concourses (North Satellite and Midfield). While the terminals and concourses are connected by a driverless train, getting around each terminal or concourse may still require significant walking, even despite level escalators. Wear comfy shoes! There are plenty of options for shopping, dining and entertainment throughout the airport, though Terminals 1 and 2 probably offer the most amenities, as they both include shopping malls. Free WiFi is available, and there are plenty of power outlets with which to charge your mobile devices; however, be advised that they only take Hong Kong/English plugs and USB. For additional comfort, passengers can pay to use one of the 24-hour airport lounges, some of which offer showers.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Effective and efficient"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Effective and efficient. Shops and beverages have many choices. The security check is smooth and helpful. Immigration had long queue and needs some time to pass through when you are the Hong Kong citizen traveling with kids.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes