Hong Kong Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 295 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"It is slowing down everything"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Completely unnecessary to uphold this stupid passport check put in place after the airport protest. It is slowing down everything and has no purpose. Suggest if you want to stay as one of the top airports in the world you have your management wake up and apply some common sense. As long as you keep enforcing this this way you do not deserve to be amongst the top airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
7/10

"public lounge could be improved a lot"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Of course I like Hong Kong Airport. Staff are very good, food is so so but the public lounge could be improved a lot. More comfortable seating and green plants would be nice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a bad experience"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | This is the worst experience for me because I knew the news about this airport. When I get off the bus at Terminal 1 in the morning, there were 1500 people to waiting to enter. They needed to check your boarding pass and passport, I waited an hour. I was entering the terminal when there were many police here, also I was waiting to check-in for 15 minutes. When I going to Gate 509, there has an large security in the terminal. This is a bad experience and I will never go to this airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Following the signs takes you round in circles"

(China)

Not Verified | Large, modern, clean, check in security and immigration were very quick. But once you get to the other side, I tried to find a food court 'near gates 40-80'. Following the signs takes you round in circles. I felt like David Bowie in the steps scene from Labrynth. I gave up in the end and went to the other food court upstairs. Seems like a poorly designed airport - everything scattered randomly with poor flow and despite the information points, not easy to find and navigate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Beautiful, modern airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beautiful, modern airport with great views of the commanding mountains which feel like they immediately abut the property. Easy access via either motorway, bus, or ferry (via bus) to either Macau or China, as well as the amazing efficient Airport Express train to Kowloon, the harbour, and Wanchai. The selection of shopping isn't nearly as good as Singapore Changi, but still very good by international standards. Airport clean for the most part, though there are some gates where seating could stand to be a little ampler. You can even pay for snacks and drinks using your HK transit card, which I did upon departing from HK! Baggage pickup is efficient, and baggage check-in wasn't too onerous for a budget airline upon departing. Customer service from airline personnel, to the ticket agent who directed me to the Airport Express train, to coffee shop baristas, was courteous and helpful. However, customs and immigration are the least friendly I've ever interacted with in Asia, though they are efficient, and they are not actively hostile like you might expect to find in North America. In all, there's definitely a feeling of taking a step down when flying into Hong Kong from the truly amazing Singapore Changi and even Seoul Incheon, but HK is still heaps above and beyond pretty much any major North American hub. I mean, HK really is still nothing to be ashamed of, and it's amazing the geographic constraints that had to be overcome to build this airport back in the 1990s. I'd easily fly into here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best in the world"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | I love Hong Kong International Airport. It is one of the best international airports in the world. Although Hong Kong is a very crowded city, the airport is big enough for everyone.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Airport was crowded and ill-ventilated"

(Armenia)

Not Verified | Terrible experience. It was a windy chilly morning and I was required to queue outside airport, for passport check, just for entering passenger terminal. Ridiculous. Airport was crowded and ill-ventilated.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a foreign concept for Hong Kong Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Simply put, what is the point of having flights which depart before shops and restaurants open? Every other airport in the world has restaurants open before flights depart, how is that a foreign concept for Hong Kong Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"many shop options"

(Philippines)

Not Verified | The best airport. Super clean, many shop options and it's good that they are making it bigger. You can really enjoy a long layover at this airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"My fears were unfounded"

(United States)

Trip Verified | I was somewhat apprehensive transiting through Hong Kong given the news of civil unrest in that city. My fears were unfounded. On the contrary, I found the terminal to be much less crowded than in the past. I spent a little over three hours in the terminal and visited the Bridge lounge where I took a shower and shaved. Clean bathroom though the lighting is very dim. Given that the color palette of the bathroom was dark, it was a challenge to differentiate between the bottles of shampoo, conditioner and bath gel! There are many food choices, both cooked and self service, in the lounge. The free wi-fi worked well. Helpful lounge staff. A silent airport with no announcements except for flight delays - need to keep an eye on the flight display monitors. Sometimes gates are not assigned until closer to departure times. This is a sprawling airport requiring quite a bit of hoofing and my connecting terminal had to be reached by a bus service. Hence, a lot of time to reach your connecting gate. The security check on arriving was smooth and not intrusive. The usual international brand shops are there. I was able to do some last minute shopping for gifts without feeling a rush of shoppers in the stores. The terminal is clean, properly signed, and well-lit. I recommend this airport for transiting on Cathay Pacific and Cathay Dragon flights.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes