Hong Kong Airport

Customer Reviews

5 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 297 reviews
6/10
5 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no social distancing applied"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | If there is anywhere on your journey to Hong Kong you will catch covid it’s at the airport in Hong Kong while arriving. They herd up everyone from both low and high risk countries like sheep, no social distancing applied. The whole process is a joke, I will avoid this airport in the future.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Ghastly fall in service standards"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Ghastly fall in service standards. The inbound security queue for transit passengers was 3 hours plus. There was no drinks or food available before security and a miserly Chinese fast food eatery on the 7th floor. Lots of security guards everywhere though! I know these are Covid times but surely Hong Kong can do better than this! Even the Marco Polo lounges were all closed - ostensibly because one staff was infected in one lounge. Buck up Cathay! The worst Airport experience ever!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"It is slowing down everything"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Completely unnecessary to uphold this stupid passport check put in place after the airport protest. It is slowing down everything and has no purpose. Suggest if you want to stay as one of the top airports in the world you have your management wake up and apply some common sense. As long as you keep enforcing this this way you do not deserve to be amongst the top airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
7/10

"public lounge could be improved a lot"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Of course I like Hong Kong Airport. Staff are very good, food is so so but the public lounge could be improved a lot. More comfortable seating and green plants would be nice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a bad experience"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | This is the worst experience for me because I knew the news about this airport. When I get off the bus at Terminal 1 in the morning, there were 1500 people to waiting to enter. They needed to check your boarding pass and passport, I waited an hour. I was entering the terminal when there were many police here, also I was waiting to check-in for 15 minutes. When I going to Gate 509, there has an large security in the terminal. This is a bad experience and I will never go to this airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Following the signs takes you round in circles"

(China)

Not Verified | Large, modern, clean, check in security and immigration were very quick. But once you get to the other side, I tried to find a food court 'near gates 40-80'. Following the signs takes you round in circles. I felt like David Bowie in the steps scene from Labrynth. I gave up in the end and went to the other food court upstairs. Seems like a poorly designed airport - everything scattered randomly with poor flow and despite the information points, not easy to find and navigate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"Beautiful, modern airport"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Beautiful, modern airport with great views of the commanding mountains which feel like they immediately abut the property. Easy access via either motorway, bus, or ferry (via bus) to either Macau or China, as well as the amazing efficient Airport Express train to Kowloon, the harbour, and Wanchai. The selection of shopping isn't nearly as good as Singapore Changi, but still very good by international standards. Airport clean for the most part, though there are some gates where seating could stand to be a little ampler. You can even pay for snacks and drinks using your HK transit card, which I did upon departing from HK! Baggage pickup is efficient, and baggage check-in wasn't too onerous for a budget airline upon departing. Customer service from airline personnel, to the ticket agent who directed me to the Airport Express train, to coffee shop baristas, was courteous and helpful. However, customs and immigration are the least friendly I've ever interacted with in Asia, though they are efficient, and they are not actively hostile like you might expect to find in North America. In all, there's definitely a feeling of taking a step down when flying into Hong Kong from the truly amazing Singapore Changi and even Seoul Incheon, but HK is still heaps above and beyond pretty much any major North American hub. I mean, HK really is still nothing to be ashamed of, and it's amazing the geographic constraints that had to be overcome to build this airport back in the 1990s. I'd easily fly into here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"one of the best in the world"

(Hong Kong)

Not Verified | I love Hong Kong International Airport. It is one of the best international airports in the world. Although Hong Kong is a very crowded city, the airport is big enough for everyone.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Airport was crowded and ill-ventilated"

(Armenia)

Not Verified | Terrible experience. It was a windy chilly morning and I was required to queue outside airport, for passport check, just for entering passenger terminal. Ridiculous. Airport was crowded and ill-ventilated.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a foreign concept for Hong Kong Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Simply put, what is the point of having flights which depart before shops and restaurants open? Every other airport in the world has restaurants open before flights depart, how is that a foreign concept for Hong Kong Airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no