Ho Chi Minh City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 91 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"nothing good about this airport"

(Taiwan)

Trip Verified | Shambolic. VN airlines. Air bridge extended to within 6 feet of door, then we get a bush for ten minutes. Terminal is 100 feet away. Visa on arrival? We of course had visas, but one of them was incorrect. So after queuing up for 20 mins we were wordlessly ordered to the visa on arrival desk. Then nothing for 20 mins. Then passport wordlessly handed back. If you are getting a visa on arrival get the VIP or fast track service or you will be waiting some time. This is not an easy place to arrive as a tourist and I will not be flying back to Saigon. My fifth arrival in SGN and the last. Although I hear HAN is much better. Anyway, as expected immigration was fine the second time around with our new improved visas. Visas which cost US$50 each and were obtained from the VN visa office (two visits required). We were advised to get SIM cards and taxis organised inside the terminal. Excellent advice. Quick and easy. Our SIM card guy organised the taxi. Please make sure you turn off your home data and check what the guy has done. He fits the SIM card for you, but my wife's phone was set to use our home country SIM for data not the new one. We caught it after ten minutes. Departure. The following could be a VN airlines problem as I've flown other carriers without issue. Huge checkin queue. Online check-in and kiosk check-in not available. We had no baggage. You must allow at least an hour to pass through check-in customs and immigration at SGN. The smoking room is disgusting. In TPE and SIN, two places where smoking is very much frowned on, the smoking rooms are open to the air and not hideous. Last time I was in SIN you could smoke at Harry's Bar, outside. Warm beer is oddly sized cans is for sale in one place for more than the mini-bar in my 5-star hotel. Upstairs there is a bar which will serve lovely cold beer and a G&T for more than any airport I have ever been to. Gate changes without notice. Departure boards not updated. Once again, no air bridge to board the plane. Not enough buses for the passengers. There's really nothing good about this airport at all. How odd that such a fabulous place to be a tourist makes getting there and leaving such a pain.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"no priority lane to be found"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | The amount of people crammed inside of this airport is just dazzling. The immigration lines on arrival were particularly slow, as the line stopped at times for long periods due to people struggling with their paperwork. At one point, the immigration officer went outside his booth for a while to enjoy what seemed to be a very amusing phone call. Definitely not what you want to expect after an 11-hour long haul flight. By the time I cleared immigration, my luggage had already been scooped off the carousel to make room for the next batch. If I have to find something positive to say, at least the air conditioning seemed to work well enough. On my departure morning, the border control and security combined was faster than immigration on arrival. However, I was disappointed to realize that there was no priority lane to be found, despite having Priority Security printed on my boarding pass. Needless to say, be prepared to spend a lot of time standing in lines, and arrive early on departure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"simple and served its function"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I arrived in Ho Chi Minh's Tan Son Nhat International Airport at 3:10pm from Singapore. The airport was simple and served its function. Immigration was fairly fast. Do note that this airport does not have special lanes for residents nor travellers. In other words, all immigration counters are open to use for all passengers. You may also wish to note that the arrival areas are separated into gates which leads to the outside of the airport. In other words, you ought to have your driver pick you up at the correct gate. The pickup area, however, is very crowded so you should stay indoors until your ride has arrived.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"could be improved further"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | The Tan Son Nhat International Airport in Ho Chi Minh is a fairly decent and modest airport. The boarding gates at the departure, however, can be slightly misleading as it is often not arranged in chronological order. For instance, the boarding gate for my particular flight was changed from 26 to 20 and then on to 16. While it would have been a short walk, the gate changes ended up being a long walk from one end to the other. The airport, however, does have numerous and decent shops for the purchase of souvenirs, though they may be on the pricer side. Similarly, there are numerous eateries located around the departure area of the airport, though they are pricer and tend to prefer payment in USD than in local Dong. Overall, the airport offers decent infrastructure for departure but could be improved further in terms of customer comfort etc.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

"plenty of room and seats"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The airport in general is nice and modern and plenty of room and seats around my departure gate. The only shops past security were selling cheap and tacky souvenirs. Went into a toilet cubicle and there's a basket full of dirty/use toilet paper. Arriving after 12 hour flight, I queued for immigration for 20 mins (there were around 15 immigration desks). Suddenly the immigration officer working the desk i'm queueing at decides it's time he takes a break and me and 10 others had to join other lines which took another 15 mins. Upon exiting the airport I'm approached by someone claiming to be a taxi driver who would not stop following me despite me making it clear I wanted him to leave while I had a cigarette. He told me his fare would be 700,000 vnd for a journey 25km away but agreed on 500,000 (I later found out Grab car would've cost me 250,000 vnd). He took me to an unmarked car with a driver who dropped me off without a problem.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"No complaints about this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | First visit. Quite a large airport, and fewer pax than expected. Flying Vietnam Airlines, checked in online, and dumping bag was a breeze. Clearing immigration was no problem either. Departures area was not choked with shops as is my home airport, EDI. Into the Orchid lounge which was fine. Cold white wine. No complaints about this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"poor quality of English spoken"

(Vietnam)

Not Verified | Today just like every occasion I have flown in or out of HCMC over the last 10 years I am amazed at the poor quality of English spoken when announcements are made. The English is far from clear and far from correctly spoken, As much as the announcements are not rushed and are at a relaxed pace the pronunciation is not of an acceptable level. We are talking about an International Airport. Why can they not find one person or employ one person with good language skills to make announcements? In the 10 years I have flown in and out of HCMC they announcements have not changed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"A/C unable to handle the crowds"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | International terminal, departure. The Rose lounge is the best of any airport lounge. Exit immigration is a mess - overcrowded and A/C unable to handle the crowds - bring a change of shirt for the flight - an hour wait when I was there Sunday afternoon. Some immigration staff are helpful and some are there just to cause problems. Security check is OK, the exit customs check seems to be gone. Clean newish terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"not well sign posted"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | Confusing outside area, not well sign posted. Lots of people standing around, vendors and phony taxi drivers. Check in was smooth after they decided to check me in as I was too early for a local flight (2 hours). Luggage tagging was good. Security screening was ok. Lounges are a bit messy, not organised, not really clean, seating areas too small, seat not comfortable. No free airport wifi in general lounge area. Some vendors inside for snacks, coffee and others. VIP lounge was great good wifi. Gate check in and board - quick and efficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"The signage is extremely poor"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Nothing good to say about this airport. The signage is extremely poor. No airline branded lounges but only common local operated lounges which is very poor. Few gates so likely you have to take a gate bus. Immigration queues very long and no urgency from any of the immigration staffs. This is one of these airports where you want to get there just in time for your plane.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 91 Reviews