Ho Chi Minh City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 101 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
6/10

"the lines were very long"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This was an exceptionally busy time, and the lines were very long. The immigration staff generally do not speak good English, and most visitors are not prepared for arriving here. Fees are payable in US Dollars. And US Dollars only. The staff are not rude, but very busy. Overwhelmed and stressed. Stressed passengers who are not prepared for Vietnamese bureaucrats are in for a bad experience. Be prepared. Make sure all your paperwork is ready and 100% correct. Photos, Fees in US Dollars must all be organised before you arrive.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"immigration staff rude beyond belief"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The immigration staff at the airport were rude beyond belief. They detained my sons for 5 hours even though we were simply transiting through to Japan. Corruption seems to be how the customs officers there make their living. I will likely never return to Vietnam due to the mistreatment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very rude immigration staff"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Very rude immigration staff. I don't know why they aren't taught to respect and be kind to visitors to their country. HCMC is still a messy, shambolic, dirty city and really they should appreciate anyone that wants to visit. Management should make a point of ensuring immigration staff understand that as they're the first experience visitors have of the country they should go the extra mile to be friendly and provide a great first impression - like every other country. Only Vietnamese have this rude arrogant attitude towards everyone and I really don't know why.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"Long lines and staff are not helpful"

(Hong Kong)

Trip Verified | Immigration staff are rude and makes the experience very unpleasant. Highly likely to choose another destination for my holidays. Long lines and staff are not helpful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"extraordinarily rude and aggressive"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Immigration staff member on the ‘Asean’ line on the evening of 11 September 2019 was extraordinarily rude and aggressive. I have never experienced such contempt and disdain in my 20+ years of travel. He requires serious retraining and made what should have been a straightforward experience extremely stressful, upsetting and embarrassing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"has been very quiet recently"

(Australia)

Not Verified | So happy that finally TSN International airport have decided to remove boarding announcements. It was too noisy like a fish market before but has been very quiet recently. They should have some priority lanes for VNese passport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes

5th August 2019 : Ho Chi Minh City Airport response

Thanks for your comment on our "silent airport" idea. We will consider your suggestion about priority lanes. Hope to welcome you back to Tan Son Nhat International Airport. Best regards. TIA Quality Control Team

1/10

"disgusted with the airport staff"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Absolutely disgusted with the airport staff. We arrived 5 minutes before check in opened but didn't get to the plane until 10 minutes before closing. We we're kept waiting at check in for 3 hours with no water or seating, all because I had a disability scooter. We we're flying Jetstar. Airport crew got permission from Qantas to load the scooter but then security wouldn't allow because of the battery. I have never in my life been so embarrassed and discriminated against as I did there. Will never go back to Vietnam, even for stop over.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no

5th August 2019 : Ho Chi Minh City Airport response

Dear passenger, This is Quality Control Team of Tan Son Nhat Airport (TIA). First, we are sorry for your bad experience at Tan Son Nhat Airport. We would like to know more about your issue so we could handle it and improve our service quality. If possible, please send us a letter to our email [email protected] with more details. Hope to hear back from you soon. Thanks and best regards.

2/10

"require people to go through security"

(South Korea)

Trip Verified | The air con is terrible thus it feels quite humid in the terminal. It is ridiculous that when transiting you require people to go through security. Complete waste of time, and unnecessary. The wifi service is absolutely awful. The prices in this airport are rip off prices, and inflated to gauge tourists for money. What is more is that for some bizzare reason all the prices are in US Dollars, and they will only accept US Dollars for small purchases and will not accept credit cards.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
5/10

"airport just meeting the bare minimum"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Immigration and security checks were relatively smooth, although that can't be said for check in (which may vary from airline to airline though). Huge waiting area with plenty of seats just outside the terminal for both arrival and departure but downside is it is completely outdoors so it can get really humid. Decent transport options to and from the airport with taxis & buses to and fro the city centre. One thing that surprised me was the prices of the food and drinks in the airport being quoted in USD instead of Vietnamese dong, and the prices weren't cheap to start with. Overall a sparse airport just meeting the bare minimums for an international airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"the rudest custom officer"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | I had encountered the rudest custom officer here in my 30+ years of experience traveling here. While waiting for a Friend to complete his visa on arrival, I was at a waiting area where there are chairs located and people just sitting there waiting for their travel companions. So a custom officer walked up to me and asked what I was doing here. I said waiting for a Friend for his visa on arrival and he says “no waiting here” while a bunch of other people were seated there. So I said, I was waiting there pointing to where a bunch of people sat and he impatiently says “you wait below”. So I went over to grab my bag and he asks “where are you going”. I say “taking my bag” and he rudely says “take it quickly and go”. There was no empathy from this person to another human being’s concern of this travel companion’s status. This will be the last time I’m spending money in this country as a tourist.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no