Ho Chi Minh City Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 108 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"immigration officers will make a hell of your time"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | It's been at least 10 times since I flew in and out of Ho Chi Minh City and never once have they failed to amuse me with their tricks of extortion. For any passengers transiting or landing at their airport, always remember to print out the hard copy of your hotels booking, flight return and most important to show whatever evidence you have when hopping around in Vietnam. Those immigration officers will make a hell of your time just to "see" your hardcopy instead of acknowledging the ticket via mobile email in order to collect some money to drink their high class Vietnam cà phê đá".
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"airport is being seriously overloaded"

(Vietnam)

Trip Verified | The domestic terminal is really atrocious. I don't want to write any complaints as a Vietnamese but the custom officers are so rude, usually ask for bribery, unprofessional, stressful, they are not trained well and there was no sense of service. The airport is being seriously overloaded and really needs to be updated. Extremely long queues and I saw there were 3 Singaporeans asked to requeue, cannot be worse. The airport acts as the first impression to foreigners, it is necessary to be improved.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Worst airport of all time"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Worst airport of all time! Airport staff or on a power trip! People are rude and they stopped us for 30 minutes and almost made us miss our flight because they didn’t believe we were using a real Super 8 film. Clearly they have no idea what they are doing and want to be difficult! they don’t want to help and scream at customers who are waiting in line. And they charged $150USD per person for our rushed visa! It’s expensive and not a nice airport. Be warned. I would highly suggest to never fly to HCM or take VietJet Air unless you want to be very stressed and have a bad experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"staff always on a power trip"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Arrived from the domestic terminal and joined a massive queue for immigration and security check. Normal attitude from staff, always seems to be on a power trip when in uniform. Had intentionally finished a bottle of water, knowing we couldn’t take an open bottle thru security. Once thru immigration, went to get something to eat, every food outlet was priced in USD, and massively overpriced. Paid over 1 million dong for 3 basic dishes and 4 beers-robbed. Got a bottle of water each for the 9-hour flight, $5USD. Going downstairs to gate 26, a temporary security desk did a bag check, water was not allowed to be taken downstairs - had to be tipped out. Questions to staff, and the usual arrogant rubbish, buy water downstairs they say. Went downstairs with a really wanting to get out of this country. Every outlet downstairs had their drinks not for sale. Buy water upstairs, I was told. Got on the plane and had to harass flight attendants to get 2 x 500 bottles over 9 hours. Felt like it was an attempt to rip cash out of weary travelers. HCMC airport can go to hell. WIFI was impossible to access.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"no sense of customer service"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Ground staff was very rude and with no sense of customer service. A shop assistant didn’t want to give me a receipt for a wrong transaction with my Visa card. From now I will try to avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Ground service staff is rude"

(United States)

Trip Verified | China Airlines ground service staff is rude. Not professional. He didn’t allow check me in when I use carry on and personal items. He told me this is 2 carry on. I am a international’s tour guide but this is the first time someone don’t allow me to bring 1 carry on and 1 backpack (this is personal items). He just said if I put my backpack inside the carry on, he will check me in.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"should do more training"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Tan Son Nhat airport outbound immigration. I traveled with my 89 years old mother, she is on wheelchair was help by the airport staff, so I walk with her together to the immigration counter 05 using the priority line. he told me that I can not use the priority line, I told him I am with my mother, he said no, because I am not on wheelchair, I cannot go with her together. then I told him that, I have been traveled with my mother to many different airport in different country, I have no problem to go with my mother as go through the immigration, even when I came in to Tan Son Nhat Airport, and he answer me roughly, this is Vietnam. Vietnam immigration Dept should do more training to this man to show how to respect and appreciate to the tourist.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"the lines were very long"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This was an exceptionally busy time, and the lines were very long. The immigration staff generally do not speak good English, and most visitors are not prepared for arriving here. Fees are payable in US Dollars. And US Dollars only. The staff are not rude, but very busy. Overwhelmed and stressed. Stressed passengers who are not prepared for Vietnamese bureaucrats are in for a bad experience. Be prepared. Make sure all your paperwork is ready and 100% correct. Photos, Fees in US Dollars must all be organised before you arrive.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"immigration staff rude beyond belief"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | The immigration staff at the airport were rude beyond belief. They detained my sons for 5 hours even though we were simply transiting through to Japan. Corruption seems to be how the customs officers there make their living. I will likely never return to Vietnam due to the mistreatment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very rude immigration staff"

(Singapore)

Not Verified | Very rude immigration staff. I don't know why they aren't taught to respect and be kind to visitors to their country. HCMC is still a messy, shambolic, dirty city and really they should appreciate anyone that wants to visit. Management should make a point of ensuring immigration staff understand that as they're the first experience visitors have of the country they should go the extra mile to be friendly and provide a great first impression - like every other country. Only Vietnamese have this rude arrogant attitude towards everyone and I really don't know why.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no