Heraklion Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 128 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"very cramped and very crowded"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airport parking packed. Inside everything was very cramped and very crowded, there was no where to sit, even the trays in-between the seats were occupied. Tiny flight information board. Tried the duty free area, and some of the spirits were in litre bottles, which were expensive. When we got to the departure gate, we were left standing in the cold for half an hour, before the bus came. To sum up Crete is a large tropical like island with a very tiny main airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Airport is just too small"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Worst airport in Europe. Dirty toilets, long queues, unfriendly staff, bad working air-conditioning. Wifi was available but it was not working. Airport is just too small for the amount of passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"This airport is a disgrace"

(Norway)

Not Verified | This airport is a disgrace. They cram people in the thousands in a tiny, un-airconditioned shack of a departure hall. There is hardly any food facilities, no charging stations for electronics, no Wi-fi and very few seating areas. Be prepared to stand or sit on the floor for hours on end. The ladies' toilets by departure gate A1 is the most disgusting one I've ever seen in Europe. Seriously, do not go unless you really need to. There were flight delays after flight delays being announced through the PA system. Some of them are due to late arrival of planes but I'm sure many, if not most are due to poor management on the grounds. It really is a shame. Our experience at this airport does not match our otherwise positive impression of the island. I've traveled via Chania airport as well. It's pretty much the same there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute disgrace of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Only to reiterate other sentiments, absolute disgrace of an airport, truly disgusting facilities, unfriendly staff and queues / delays galore. Never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport ever"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | By far the worst airport ever. Staff are arrogant, everything is disgusting and absolutely crowded with no seating. With 3 kids this is the worst ending of our vacation to Crete. I wont come back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it doesn't improve"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Long queue for passport control, surly officer. Toilets unpleasant but worst there was no baggage trollies. Used this airport many times & it doesn't improve.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Seriously avoid this place"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Seriously avoid this place. It has to be one of the worst airports I’ve ever visited. The place needs a massive overhaul, there is nothing here and then you find out your flight is delayed, which is a late evening flight, you try to get some food after 10pm (COD your cheapo airline won’t have any) at either Streat Food or the Burger place and both are closed. Yet the people are still there willing to serve you alcohol. Really really poor. Putting me off returning to Crete and I’d had a lovely break there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Possibly the worst airport in Europe"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Possibly the worst airport in Europe. Departure gate B13 was a chaotic nightmare, boiling hot, dozens of people sitting on the floor through lack of seats, a stream of unintelligible announcements screamed out at full volume over a dilapidated tannoy system that not a single person could understand. The duty-free shop is a total rip off with most things much cheaper on the average high street. I have travelled extensively worldwide and this airport must rate as one of the most unpleasant I have visited.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"need to ensure all rules apply for everybody"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very nice airport until we boarded the gate. Had two cabin bags and fair enough we paid but if you are going to charge one family, you need to ensure all rules apply for everybody. Majority of the people went through with two cabin bags and staff said nothing but picked on us and another couple. I strongly recommend you look at other people’s cabin allowance as many others have gotten away with it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"What a pleasant little airport"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | What a pleasant little airport it is! Direct access, short lines and little stress. Of course, I was visiting in off-season, and flying at non-peak times. As a result, there was only one operating food and beverage outlet with exhorbitant prices (€4,50 for a Coke Zero!?) and stale selections, and the duty free was limited to a very small single shop while areas of that were even closed off, all understandable due to the time of travel. Security for me was a breeze, although if there had been several flights at the same hour it could possibly have been a messier experience. The bus-and-stairs experience (no jetways at this airport) are typical of island airports in the region and thus can't be counted against Heraklion, either. The toilets (not many, but clean) were also not horrible or unsavory. Baggage retrieval and checking in were easy, airport staff was generally very courteous. If I had been able to travel directly to Heraklion (thus avoiding awful Athens), I would happily have done so. Perhaps I will next time by traveling in high season when there are a lot of direct flights.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes