Heraklion Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 138 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Worst airport I have been to"

(France)

Not Verified | Worst airport I have been to. It is dirty, crowded and poorly organised (my flight was not announced on the screens although later flights were), there is no signs after security to confirm the gate from which you depart and they set up multiple boardings from the same gate within 10 minutes of each other. Also check-in takes one hour but they only open it 2h before your flight so you better hope that security will be quick. Horrible experience, I am never flying via this airport again
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Small. Crowded. No seating"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Small. Crowded. No seating. Poor air quality. Loud and noisy. Seems outdated. Do not come early, seems like the worst airport in Europe. Try to avoid it. The shopping area takes all the space, that could have been used to improve the seating area.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"Overcrowded, overpriced"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Awful airport. Overcrowded, overpriced! €8 for a bar of chocolate airside, €4.50 for a soft drink either side. No wifi as its asked about below. Ive read some reviews on other sites to use the other airport on Crete next time. There are no toilet seats in the male toilets and the supplied charging points dont work. People that have checked in are being told to check in again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Small airport. Nothing to do"

(Slovakia)

Not Verified | Small airport. Nothing to do. Overcrowded. Old. Do not arrive longer than an hour before your flight unless you need to drop your luggage at check in desks. No restaurants to eat, just one bistro to grab a sandwich open at 7am in the morning - you can imagine the queues. Rude staff not only at Duty Free but also other departments. Toilets without toilet paper or soap or hand dryers, a few of them not even working.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Airport terminal is very small"

(Bosnia and Herzegovina)

Not Verified | Airport terminal is very small for 5-8 million passengers for a year. I have been to some Baltic countries Tallinn, Riga airports that are 3 times bigger, cleaner. But they serve twice less costumers per year. Security check was fast but they really did not check any thing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nowhere to sit in the terminal"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | We were checking in for a Wizz Air flight. It took over an hour and this was because a blonde woman was managing the queue and kept putting families with young children and pregnant women to the front. This was at least half the flight. It created chaos and slowed the whole process down. We might as well have not bothered queuing. On top of that all the ladies toilets and most of the men's toilet were blocked and over flowing. It was disgusting. Also nowhere to sit in the terminal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The worst airport terminal in Europe"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport terminal in Europe. In the midst of a global pandemic, the hygiene standards at Heraklion airport are amongst the worst I have ever seen. The terminal is infested with flies, overcrowded - not to mention the hospitality facilities are a disgrace for a destination which serves 5 million tourists plus per year.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there are too many people in a too little place"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | This was the worst airport I’ve ever been. The check-in took us 1 hour and 15 minutes! We flew via TUI which only had a few check-in desks for a lot of flights. The security check wasn’t any better. We had no time to unpack our bags and get our laptop out, nor weren’t we given any time to fill the basket with our watches etc.. The duty free shop seems new but chaotic, there are too many people in a too little place. There aren’t enough seats for people to wait either. The place feels very crowded in general.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most inefficient customer unfriendly airport"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | I travel a lot for work, so I have seen many airports, but Heraklion airport is by far the most inefficient customer unfriendly airport I have ever seen. There are hardly any signs as to where to check in, I flew with TUI, only 4 check in desks were available for 4 flights, so that’s about (4x190) 750 passengers trying to queue in a cramped hall. There were no stanchions so half the people were skipping the queue which made it even more chaotic. It took me about 90min just to drop my luggage at the check in desk. Duty free area looks brand new. Area after duty free is way too small for the amount of passengers, just as crowded as the check in hall, nowhere to sit. I love the island of Crete, but the airport is a disgrace for the island.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"not nearly as bad as dreaded"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Initially when reading these reviews, it really panicked me as I’m a very nervous traveller. However, although it isn’t the best and most modern airport in the world it was not nearly as bad as I had anticipated. On arrival, we made our way to the terminal via a modern, air conditioned bus and quickly went through security. We went to the back age area expecting a long wait but much to our surprise they were already on the carousel. We were out of the airport in less than 30 mins. The only thing I would say is there were no trolleys. On departure, we got to the airport quite early. The gate wasn’t open yet and once again there weren’t any trolleys. The seating areas were cramped but we did eventually sit down. When we went to check-in, there was a bit of a queue but luckily there weren’t too many problems. After this, we were expecting a large wait for security but there was no queue at all and we were through in a matter of minutes. The duty-free has been recently modernised but is a bit overpriced. Again when waiting outside the gate, seating was crowded but there were plenty of charging cables. The only really negative experience was the toilets. All I would say is avoid them at all costs! Overall, it was not a terrible airport at all. Yes, there is a lack of seating as well as it being busy and hot, but it was not nearly as bad as I had dreaded. In fact, going through security was much faster than Heathrow. It does lack a lot of basic cleanliness but it is was fine for us especially as we didn’t have any additional complications. Hope this helps.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes