Heraklion Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 132 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"The worst airport terminal in Europe"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport terminal in Europe. In the midst of a global pandemic, the hygiene standards at Heraklion airport are amongst the worst I have ever seen. The terminal is infested with flies, overcrowded - not to mention the hospitality facilities are a disgrace for a destination which serves 5 million tourists plus per year.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"there are too many people in a too little place"

(Belgium)

Not Verified | This was the worst airport I’ve ever been. The check-in took us 1 hour and 15 minutes! We flew via TUI which only had a few check-in desks for a lot of flights. The security check wasn’t any better. We had no time to unpack our bags and get our laptop out, nor weren’t we given any time to fill the basket with our watches etc.. The duty free shop seems new but chaotic, there are too many people in a too little place. There aren’t enough seats for people to wait either. The place feels very crowded in general.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most inefficient customer unfriendly airport"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | I travel a lot for work, so I have seen many airports, but Heraklion airport is by far the most inefficient customer unfriendly airport I have ever seen. There are hardly any signs as to where to check in, I flew with TUI, only 4 check in desks were available for 4 flights, so that’s about (4x190) 750 passengers trying to queue in a cramped hall. There were no stanchions so half the people were skipping the queue which made it even more chaotic. It took me about 90min just to drop my luggage at the check in desk. Duty free area looks brand new. Area after duty free is way too small for the amount of passengers, just as crowded as the check in hall, nowhere to sit. I love the island of Crete, but the airport is a disgrace for the island.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"not nearly as bad as dreaded"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Initially when reading these reviews, it really panicked me as I’m a very nervous traveller. However, although it isn’t the best and most modern airport in the world it was not nearly as bad as I had anticipated. On arrival, we made our way to the terminal via a modern, air conditioned bus and quickly went through security. We went to the back age area expecting a long wait but much to our surprise they were already on the carousel. We were out of the airport in less than 30 mins. The only thing I would say is there were no trolleys. On departure, we got to the airport quite early. The gate wasn’t open yet and once again there weren’t any trolleys. The seating areas were cramped but we did eventually sit down. When we went to check-in, there was a bit of a queue but luckily there weren’t too many problems. After this, we were expecting a large wait for security but there was no queue at all and we were through in a matter of minutes. The duty-free has been recently modernised but is a bit overpriced. Again when waiting outside the gate, seating was crowded but there were plenty of charging cables. The only really negative experience was the toilets. All I would say is avoid them at all costs! Overall, it was not a terrible airport at all. Yes, there is a lack of seating as well as it being busy and hot, but it was not nearly as bad as I had dreaded. In fact, going through security was much faster than Heathrow. It does lack a lot of basic cleanliness but it is was fine for us especially as we didn’t have any additional complications. Hope this helps.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"very cramped and very crowded"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airport parking packed. Inside everything was very cramped and very crowded, there was no where to sit, even the trays in-between the seats were occupied. Tiny flight information board. Tried the duty free area, and some of the spirits were in litre bottles, which were expensive. When we got to the departure gate, we were left standing in the cold for half an hour, before the bus came. To sum up Crete is a large tropical like island with a very tiny main airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Airport is just too small"

(Czech Republic)

Trip Verified | Worst airport in Europe. Dirty toilets, long queues, unfriendly staff, bad working air-conditioning. Wifi was available but it was not working. Airport is just too small for the amount of passengers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"This airport is a disgrace"

(Norway)

Not Verified | This airport is a disgrace. They cram people in the thousands in a tiny, un-airconditioned shack of a departure hall. There is hardly any food facilities, no charging stations for electronics, no Wi-fi and very few seating areas. Be prepared to stand or sit on the floor for hours on end. The ladies' toilets by departure gate A1 is the most disgusting one I've ever seen in Europe. Seriously, do not go unless you really need to. There were flight delays after flight delays being announced through the PA system. Some of them are due to late arrival of planes but I'm sure many, if not most are due to poor management on the grounds. It really is a shame. Our experience at this airport does not match our otherwise positive impression of the island. I've traveled via Chania airport as well. It's pretty much the same there.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolute disgrace of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Only to reiterate other sentiments, absolute disgrace of an airport, truly disgusting facilities, unfriendly staff and queues / delays galore. Never again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport ever"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | By far the worst airport ever. Staff are arrogant, everything is disgusting and absolutely crowded with no seating. With 3 kids this is the worst ending of our vacation to Crete. I wont come back.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"it doesn't improve"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Long queue for passport control, surly officer. Toilets unpleasant but worst there was no baggage trollies. Used this airport many times & it doesn't improve.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no