Helsinki Vantaa Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 190 reviews
7/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
5/10

"Not well organised"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Not well organised. When this airport is building new areas it makes the walking distance longer and longer. Our second home in Lisboa is also growing but the walking distances get shorter. Too few places to sit, too much of the total area is reserved for shops.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Hugely long walk"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Hugely long walk to non-Schengen gate, also the signs there showed me to walk and extra 100 meters than needed. Really expensive water and no free drinking water provided. No hand baggage trolleys.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"helpful airport staff"

(Finland)

Not Verified | Customer service is very good, helpful airport staff. Facilities before departure security check should be improved (waiting area seating). Passport control takes a long time with no proper guidance for the queues (most of the time in arrivals for non-EU people). Overall I am satisfied with Helsinki Airport facilities and other services.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"queuing arrangements poorly designed."

(Finland)

Trip Verified | An overall good experience. Food service that I used (Espresso House) was however crowded and queuing arrangements (direction, people flow etc) were really poorly designed.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"enjoyable and clean"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | During the busiest autumn holiday season the airport was enjoyable and clean. There was not too big lines, airport was clean and staff was friendly. The shop and restaurant selection is really good and you can drink water from the taps. The WiFi is handy, as you don't need password for that. I enjoy travelling through Helsinki Airport! Also, their social media channels are really cool.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"designed and built to maximise profits"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A modern airport designed and built to maximise profits above ensuring a means whereby passengers can smoothly negotiate Check In, Security, Aircraft Boarding etc and have a pleasant travelling experience. Or maybe this sprawling complex is a massive shopping mall from where aircraft land and take off from? I don’t want to visit a shopping mall; I just want to sit in comfortable seating, possibly buy a snack, and wait there to board my flight. Is this provided? No. Seating is very limited and a lot of it very uncomfortable. Who wants to sit on a wooden bench for two hours, for that is what is on offer at this supposedly ultra modern airport and even, what appears to be an upturned log, is offered as an alternative and deemed acceptable for passengers. First problems occur at the Self Check In, this a means of reducing costs by eliminating airline staff and passing the responsibility to the customer. Great queues, chaos and confusion reign at these terminals. Here people barge and push to produce luggage labels and Boarding Passes before fighting a passage through shoppers and Arrivals coming in the opposite direction, to make their way to their Boarding Gate. Reliability seems a problem with these terminals. My experiences were: Joined a Check In queue, Waited ages till I got to the front of the queue and faced the terminal itself Studied the instructions and printed out Luggage Label. Received an error message: “Seek assistance. Cannot print Boarding Pass”. Joined the end of the Customer Assistance queue and waited to be served. Assistant took in excess of 5 mins to sort problem out to produce both mine and my wife’s Boarding documents receiving from the Assistant the information that “the system will not let me provide seats for you to sit together” From other people in our group this seemed a common issue that providing seats together was a feature of their booking in experience. But nothing will be done, we the paying customers must pay the cost to ensure maximum airline/airport profitability.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"services at the terminal are still good"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | Due to the renovations at the terminal 2 area, the walking distance to the terminal 2 is quite long at the moment. The services at the terminal are still good and the lounge at Gate 22 is really nice with a good variety of food and drinks selection. The toilets at the Airport are clean, water is fresh and it’s possible to fill in the water bottles.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"quite a chaos"

(Finland)

Trip Verified | The airport has been under re-construction for many years and there is going on a major re-construction when the Schengen area is being expanded. It is all "under one roof" as they keep advertising but it means in this case also that arriving and departing passengers are in the same level and especially during the rush hours there is quite a chaos. The distances start also to become a problem because the terminal is so long from one end to another and here are know roller mats, so you have to walk or run and with lots of people moving in both directions, part of them just standing and gazing in quite narrow corridors. Right now the parking is also placed further aways from the terminal building and the walking distances are too long.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"directed to an upstairs toilet"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Finland is a country known of pure water. It is a shame that it is not celebrated at the airport with easily reached water fountains. I was directed to an upstairs toilet to fill my water bottle with warm, pre-mixed water!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"recent building work has caused chaos"

(Finland)

Not Verified | We have used Helsinki airport (as it is our local one) for years. The recent building work has caused chaos in what used to be a very nice airport. We arrived back yesterday and had an extremely long walk back from the gate to the baggage claim and then a further walk back to the car park having got lost following their signs to P3. On the way back we stopped to use the toilets which were gross and looked like it hadn't been cleaned under the seat in a few days. Also there was animal faeces on the walk back. This made for an unpleasant arrival back home.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no