Havana Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 32 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"service at this airport is terrible"

(United States)

Not Verified | The service at this airport is terrible. There are no towels papers in the restrooms and toilets don't flush. In the liquors store I was charged a bottle of rum I didn't buy. In the "Bella Isla" Cafetería they serve the hot coffee in thin plastic cups that burn your fingers. In general the employees there are more interested in talking each other's that in helping customers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"they couldn't care less"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Floor was filthy. Toilets were dirty with no seats. Doors did not close or lock. No soap or towels were supplied. Attendants tried to charge £1. Bank did not have pounds and money can't be changed outside of Cuba. Bank wouldn't pay into bank account. Overall they couldn't care less. Not enough seats.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"in need of refurbishment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Havana Airport is generally run down and in need of refurbishment. The departure tax component of each passenger's airline ticket should be put towards this. Furthermore, I had a poor experience at Havana airport security. Although the process was quick, they confiscated my umbrella which had a metallic (blunt) end which they pointed to whilst saying something in Spanish that I didn't understand. It's been allowed through security at dozens of other airports with no trouble. It had great sentimental value as had been passed down from a previous generation. To its credit, the bartender at the bar on the left after security was impeccable. He pulls a mean espresso and is always smiling. He lifts the airport up from a 0 to a 3.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"smooth entry into the country"

(Cayman Islands)

Not Verified | Don’t understand all negative reviews yes, you can not compare this airport to a modern European or US one but short lines friendly people despite unfriendly behaving tourists, enough seating to wait. Smooth entry into the country, expect to enter a country that is 50 years back in time and you will enjoy your trip.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"not an airport I would recommend"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Upon arriving at Jose Marti, the passport control queues were fairly short but the baggage claim area was awful- no air conditioning and hundreds of passengers in a very small area. You couldn't see your bag on the carousel and had to ask others to pass the bag to you. The arrivals hall is very busy and that creates a slightly uncomfortable atmosphere though there are lots of police officers around the ATMs. Getting a taxi is very easy. On departure, everything in the airport moves at a very slow pace- passport control had quite long queues and I was fortunate in that I was able to go through the premium desk. There is one VERY small cafe in the departure lounge that serves ham and cheese sandwiches, ice cream and soft beverages- bring something with you! There is very limited seating so try and find a spot quickly. If you have any CUC left over, you can buy some cigars and rum but be prepared to wait FOREVER in the queue. The gates are extremely close together so my flight to London was next to KLM's flight to Amsterdam in a very tight corner- they need to make more space in the terminal. Overall, it's not an airport I would recommend but I would go through it again out of necessity.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"looked like some kind of a warehouse"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We had a stopover in Havana coming back to London from the Bahamas. When we landed in Havanas we simply could not believe what we saw. The airport itself looked like some kind of a warehouse. Inside the airport was very dark that made you feel very uncomfortable. The immigration officers were very unpleasant. At customs, you simply did not know what to do. There was no information available how to navigate and where to go next. Outside the airport was even worse. it felt like we went back in time to 1960. There was no information how to catch the connecting flight. We only learned from the taxi driver that the international departure terminal was 5 miles away. When we arrived there things were not much better. There no any bars or restaurants, no space to seat, no information desk. The departure lounge had one so called fast food counter serving burned soggy chips, undercooked burger and that's it. Overall it was an amazing experience for all the bad reasons.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Terrible airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | The lady at the counter gave me and my husband the exact same boarding pass. We realized only after standing in line for at least 30 minutes before passport control. So my husband had to go back and change his boarding pass. Turned out to be that they hadn't checked him in. The careless officer at passport control put a stamp on my boarding pass and this into my passport, so the stamp stained my U.S. visa! They chose me for a randomized control and took forever to check my luggage, I have never seen a person unzip a bag so slowly. No A.C. past security clearance. Only one bar serving food (3 sandwiches to choose from). Terrible airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"grossly inadequate air conditioning"

(Australia)

After 40 years of travel, departing from Havana International Airport was my worst ever airport experience. The arrivals hall has only 2 female toilets for 100s of arrivals. The departure area has insufficient seats and grossly inadequate air conditioning. All the planes left late by at least an hour with no attempt to hurry things up. Our plane was 2 hours late leaving, which was of no concern to any airline staff. The departure gate was changed to B15 which is basically an unconditioned dungeon, with about 200 people stuffed into a small standing room only torture chamber and kept waiting there for 45 minutes with sweat pouring down faces.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"toilets are the worst I've seen"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | On arrival on 30th March there was no water in the washrooms to wash hands after using the toilets. On departure on 13th April there was no water in airport at all. I tried toilets in halls A and B and upstairs and none of them were flushing. The stench was making everyone feel sick as no lids on toilet seats. I had no choice but to use one toilet that was three quarters full. No water again to wash hands. We'd had a 2 hour journey up from Vandero and intended to get something to eat before we got on flight. As staff were using same toilets and unable to wash their hands too I ate a Twix and had a bottle of water. Wasn't prepared to eat anything that wasn't covered up. Will never travel to this airport again. I work hard to pay for my holidays and will only spend money in places that have decent "facilities". Terminal was clean but toilets are the worst I've seen in any country and I've been travelling for 40 years. Not much to buy airside so didn't bother.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"I was actually pleasantly surprised by the Havana airport"

(United States)

Verified Review | Not sure what people were expecting - but as a somewhat frequent traveler of airports in less developed parts of the world, I was actually pleasantly surprised by the Havana airport. Immigration was fast (as others mentioned). Our baggage arrived very quickly, while I saw other baggage claims surrounded by crowds and crowds of people. This makes me suspect it is an airline specific issue. We flew with Spirit, if that makes a difference. I had no issues with getting money (using the ATM), and was not at all harassed getting to the taxi line + into a clean, convenient cab. The arrivals lobby was a little cluttered but much, much better than many other developing nation airports I've traveled through in Central America / Asia.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 32 Reviews