Hamburg Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 46 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"inadequate staff"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Enormous queues to get through security. Terrible 3 hour delays due to inadequate staff, inadequate seating at gates, poor acoustics. All in all again a stressful crazy experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"the longest airport experience"

(United States)

Not Verified | One security checkpoint for two large terminals is almost comical! I understand it was a busy travel day, but this was the longest airport experience I have ever dealt with. Another small frustration is that my digital boarding pass instructed me to drop my checked bag at the self tag station upon arrival. I did this, only to have the kiosk indicate that my bag was overweight and to go to the physical counter. It did not say what the weight limit was so that I could maybe shuffle my belongings and try again. So, I foolishly waited in line for 45 minutes to have the desk agent (nice lady) tell me it was overweight and that I need to take items out to get below the weight. Ok, thanks. Most of the staff throughout the airport were rather rude and indifferent. The two security agents I dealt with were very much the exception and I appreciate their kindness in what was an unpleasant experience!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no one to help you with your lost luggage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I arrived in Hamburg on Saturday afternoon time and then the nightmare begins. No one works Saturday and Sunday and there is no one to help you with your lost luggage. So there is a phone number and email address you could call and claim your luggage. The number never answers, and if you send an email you do not receive a tracking number and there is no way to track your luggage. You call the airline you are flying with but they can't help you and they tell you to register online your claim, which you do but again with no result. You go to the airport on Monday after spending 2 days without your belongings but there they are not working because is 4 o'clock and you are not on time. Everyone you ask just telling you that basically its not their business to help you and if you find one person nice to you, is miracle, to tell you just to come again because this is the famous German bureaucracy. So if you are here for business or you have to do important meetings just cancel them and move to Hamburg airport and wait someone to come to work and eventually help you with your luggage if it's not this person's lunch break or if its not over the weekend. I hope so you are not in Hamburg for 2 days because if your luggage is missing you need at least a week or more to get it back or just forget about your stuffs and go with your only one outfit for your business meetings.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"To say they were unprofessional would be an understatement"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We had a flight HAM to AMS scheduled at 6.10 am. We arrived at the airport more than 2 hours before our flight (at 3.50 am). We were surprised to see the line for baggage check so long. It took us more than 45 mins to get through that. Then, heading into the security check line, we were shocked to see how the massive unregulated and unorganized line kept going and going. I am a frequent traveler and I have never seen anything like this before. We began to wonder whether we would miss our flight, and potentially lose our connection to our home in Boston. Then, the boarding pass I was given wouldn't let me go through the automatic door. At this point, I became separated from my partner. We tried to signal to the only service member we could see, and he told me to go to his other colleague down the hall. So I left the line I had waited so long in, and went to the other colleague as directed. I said "Entschuldigung, Entschuldigung!" but he kept ignoring me. I then asked "Sir, can you please help me?" and he said "No!" and walked away! I was in complete disbelief. Is this really happening?! I said "I need your help!" He then turned toward me and spoke angrily in German, and motioned me to get back to the end of the line! He was scary and mean. My heart sank. I was separated from my partner and I was going to miss my flight. I had paid for services, followed the rules and trusted in the German rule of conduct, but I was now powerless and alone. The airport staff who were supposed to help the customers, not only were they unavailable, they were very rude and without grace. I tried to get help from 2 other staff, and to explain to them that my boarding pass wasn't working and that I was going to miss my flight if they didn't help me, and they all just shrugged their shoulders and told me to get back in line. No one said "I'm sorry" or "es tut mir leid" or any form of smile or support. To say they were unprofessional would be an understatement. They didn't even operate on a human level. They should be fired. I finally got threw the security line, without help from any of the staff. I ran as fast as I could to the plane and boarded at the last minute. Other passengers were out of breath too. I cried in the airplane. I have never been treated with such disrespect and disregard at an airport before. I will try my best to never again return to Hamburg airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"every time I'm disappointed again"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Check in and security times are really terrible at this airport. Last few months I've been flying a few times from Hamburg for my job and every time I'm disappointed again about how slow and inefficient they are working here. 2 out of 3 times I wasn't able to drop off my baggage at a self drop off point when I already had a boarding pass.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Parkos parking service is the worst company"

(Iceland)

Not Verified | I have nothing to say against the airport but if you need to take flight from Hamburg and you need a car parking service than do yourself a favor and don't use Parkos parking service. Parkos parking service is the worst company I have ever bought a service from and I travel a lot. We did have to be 6 days longer in our travel to Spain so we told them that we would be coming on Sunday but than Parkos told us it was closed on Sunday and if we wanted the car we had to pay extra. In the end we picked up the car on Monday and Parkos charged us 50 Euros per day so we had to pay them 300 Euros for this 6 days to get the car and it had to be cash and they would send us a receipt. But no receipt has come through. They arrive 1 hour late so we had to wait in the airport until they came. We are in shock after this treatment. I am a person who likes to travel and I am giving up on companies like this.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"this is ridiculous"

(Germany)

Not Verified | This is definitely one of the worst airports I have been! Almost 1 hour to go through security and on my way back another hour to get my luggage, this is ridiculous! Hamburg Airport please do something about it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"an hour to get our suitcases"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | As they haven't had enough staff to deal with the arriving baggage, we had to wait an hour to get our suitcases. This is terrible for people who rely on public transport to get elsewhere.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Weak point was security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Modern spacious terminal with automated boarding pass / baggage labelling etc. Weak point was security. On a Sunday late afternoon the queue was enormous and slow-moving, and not all the scanning stations were open. Problem compounded by only one people scanner shared between adjacent baggage scanning lines. No provision downstream of checkpoint to sit down / have a place to get items back together again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"good entry point into Germany"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A typical efficient German airport. Security is laid back but very efficient. General Business Lounge is excellent. Very clean and pretty good duty free. Access to the German train system from the airport is quick and painless. Good entry point into Germany.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 46 Reviews