Guangzhou Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 182 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"I got lost a bit"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It is a very huge airport and I got lost a bit from domestic arrival to international departure. While waiting for my flight, the massage chair is free and enjoyable with USB/AC sockets. Wifi connection is good as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"I was impressed"

(China)

Trip Verified | I flew out of Terminal 2 of Guangzhou Airport and to say I was impressed would be an understatement. The lighting and ambiance ensure a pleasant feeling for passengers. Secondly the range of eating and shopping options were excellent, especially compared to other Chinese airports. Furthermore queues at immigration, security and check-in were efficient while the management and staff seemed focused and organised. Overall Guangzhou Terminal 2 puts other Chinese airports to shame so the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC) needs to use this as a benchmark when planning on how to improve and develop other airports around China since many like Shanghai and Beijing are a National embarrassment in-contrast to Guangzhou.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"connection time is 1 hour and 30 minutes"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I think it is better to understand visa requirements by going through China Southern website and giving yourself time to complete formalities 1) download WeChat to communicate with whoever you need, ask your friends or relatives overseas too so you can be in touch. WeChat facilities your registration for free airport WiFi. You can use Microsoft services such as bing without issues. Smoking area is located at A60 gate transit area. No other smoking area. standby a bottle to avail yourself cold/hot water from dispensers, change RMB at your home country as fees at money changers at airport is ridiculous. To facilitate emergency use or food and drinks during transit for those who understand Chinese - download ctrip China app (not trip.com app) - you can book airport lounges, expedite immigration, airport pickup, train tickets, hotels, sightseeing tours. Transfer accomodation counter is located at gate 50 at the arrival hall. Exit to arrival hall and it's on your right. You might be able to book seats, transit accommodation, meals, or even online check in. And all information for your flights or airline can be found there. Having a skypearl membership ( China Southern frequent flyer) when you book your flight facilitates your experience with the app - that's why I said MIGHT previously download an app for translation outside of Google to help your communication with the Chinese. Some transit hotels are worth booking. It depends on what do you want. I personally like holiday Inn express (baiyun). All within walking distance. Tried jingyi hotel and orange crystal so far. OC still ok with food and marts nearby. Didn't explore around jingyi but seems on map, not much available. Charging facilities plenty So far for me, transiting in CAN are pleasant for me so far. No rude shocks and speciality China Southern special assistant counters are pleasant and well versed in English (I seen them attending to foreigners without any trouble). Those counters are not your normal check in counter and can be found at one end of all check in row. I find them even more helpful than world acclaimed HKIA counter staff. If you need help in making urgent flight connections work, approach your China Southern flight crew for assistance, they might be able to assist in getting a ground crew waiting for you at arrival gate to help you speed up the process. Their minimum connection time is 1 hour and 30 minutes. So you have to take note for time allowance between connection. I tried 45 minutes before with assistance from ground staff but still failed to get on the next flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"facilities new and clean"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Facilities are new and clean. Cleaners always visible and in action. Long distances but this is a very large airport with lots more capacity for the future. WiFi is rubbish. Connects eventually but wont work. Can't connect to free massage chairs so they are useless. Only Asian customers seem able to connect to that service.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"wait made me so angry"

(Australia)

Not Verified | After a 9-hour flight from Australia to China, I had to wait 2 hours to get a temporary entry permit and 1 hour to pass through security. I had a free overnight accomodation on my way to England. This wait made me so angry I won't fly China Southern again, as I would probably always have to have the stopover. The plane and the service on it was great. I ended up getting to the hotel at 9.15pm and had to get the shuttle back to the airport at 6.30am.The shuttle bus was extremely dirty inside and out.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst customer service I have ever experienced. They know very well how to make you feel like “rubbish”. Rude personal and no passenger rights. After all the bad experiences (in transit on my way to Cambodia and on my way back to England) I have been trying to contact the costumer service for one month and they do not even take a minute to answer my emails. I will never ever go back to that horrendous place, and I do not recommend anyone to do so.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"experience nicer than Hong Kong"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My second visit to the new Terminal 2, and it is so improved on T1. I have to say I found the experience nicer than Hong Kong, and combined with an excellent business class service on China Southern Airlines, i think I'll be using Guangzhou in preference to HKG.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"is good airport"

(Russian Federation)

Trip Verified | Overall the Airport is super modern. That's why i gave it 7/10. Here is all maximum automatic, finger scanners before passport control, face scanners on passport control, self-check in, self-baggage-drop. But internet is only for Chinese phone-numbers or we-chat, and also a strange thing is that for transit people, they must recieve Chinese visa for 72 hours for free, but it takes 1 hour + the airpoirt is very big, and there are not many signs there, so it's hard to find the way. Overall, it is good airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"it was quite smooth"

(Philippines)

Trip Verified | The airport is huge. Passengers with 72-hr connecting flights are given transit visa and there is a hotel counter to assist passengers for hotel choices. Then, they assisted us on the coach to hotel. Upon departure, it was quite smooth. There are not much shops and restaurants to choose from at the transit area.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"facilities were fantastic"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | Great airport, facilities were fantastic and not too pricey as far as airports go. The restaurants available were fantastic, as were the chairs available. Only thing I found undesirable was the super slow wifi offered, albeit free wifi. Would be happy to transit here. On par with HK in quality and without the crowds!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes