Guangzhou Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 186 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"a very clean airport and relatively modern"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou airport is not very big. Overall, this is a very clean airport and relatively modern. There is a clear lack of English signage. The shops are not very varied and there are not many food options. In short, if you transit in the morning, don’t expect anything European like for your breakfast. One thing to add: our gate was located in a zone near the smoking area, we were travelling with children and had to to wait there for more than an hour with the cigarette smoke.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"Glad to be here again"

(Poland)

Trip Verified | Flying from LHR to BKK. Went through additional security check-point smoothly. No big queues. New, clean and pleasant terminal. All information were given very clear. Hope to have such terminals more often in Europe. Glad to be here again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"lack politeness and customer service"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | The staff at Security are so rude and mannerless at Guangzhou airport. They lack politeness and customer service. They never smile and stare at you angrily as if they are doing us a huge favour. Even the girls at security are ruthless, they are so very intimidating and hopeless. They throw your stuff angrily. I have never seen such ridiculous staffs anywhere in the world. Will never book my flight tickets via Guangzhou airport again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the worst airports"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | Guangzhou Airport is one of the worst airports that i've been to. The airport itself is very good, right near the top I would say, but the efficiency of the staff is awful.My flight departs at 00:10 so i get to the airport at around 20:00. I then queue the check-in line at counter H at 20:50, which has 3 counters open. It took me 45 minutes to check-in...the staff are so slow. It took another 45 minutes to queue in line till I got to the xray machine! The line was just chaos. The staff decided to close the channel line and then when another channel opened, all the other people in other lines just piled in like crazy. After that comes the immigration. With lines that are long . Then the officer scanned my passport as if it was fake, it was easy on the way in, but on the way out it was a totally different story. Well what an experience at Baiyun airport. I hope I don't every set foot here again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"I got lost a bit"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | It is a very huge airport and I got lost a bit from domestic arrival to international departure. While waiting for my flight, the massage chair is free and enjoyable with USB/AC sockets. Wifi connection is good as well.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"I was impressed"

(China)

Trip Verified | I flew out of Terminal 2 of Guangzhou Airport and to say I was impressed would be an understatement. The lighting and ambiance ensure a pleasant feeling for passengers. Secondly the range of eating and shopping options were excellent, especially compared to other Chinese airports. Furthermore queues at immigration, security and check-in were efficient while the management and staff seemed focused and organised. Overall Guangzhou Terminal 2 puts other Chinese airports to shame so the Civil Aviation Administration of China (CAAC) needs to use this as a benchmark when planning on how to improve and develop other airports around China since many like Shanghai and Beijing are a National embarrassment in-contrast to Guangzhou.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"connection time is 1 hour and 30 minutes"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I think it is better to understand visa requirements by going through China Southern website and giving yourself time to complete formalities 1) download WeChat to communicate with whoever you need, ask your friends or relatives overseas too so you can be in touch. WeChat facilities your registration for free airport WiFi. You can use Microsoft services such as bing without issues. Smoking area is located at A60 gate transit area. No other smoking area. standby a bottle to avail yourself cold/hot water from dispensers, change RMB at your home country as fees at money changers at airport is ridiculous. To facilitate emergency use or food and drinks during transit for those who understand Chinese - download ctrip China app (not trip.com app) - you can book airport lounges, expedite immigration, airport pickup, train tickets, hotels, sightseeing tours. Transfer accomodation counter is located at gate 50 at the arrival hall. Exit to arrival hall and it's on your right. You might be able to book seats, transit accommodation, meals, or even online check in. And all information for your flights or airline can be found there. Having a skypearl membership ( China Southern frequent flyer) when you book your flight facilitates your experience with the app - that's why I said MIGHT previously download an app for translation outside of Google to help your communication with the Chinese. Some transit hotels are worth booking. It depends on what do you want. I personally like holiday Inn express (baiyun). All within walking distance. Tried jingyi hotel and orange crystal so far. OC still ok with food and marts nearby. Didn't explore around jingyi but seems on map, not much available. Charging facilities plenty So far for me, transiting in CAN are pleasant for me so far. No rude shocks and speciality China Southern special assistant counters are pleasant and well versed in English (I seen them attending to foreigners without any trouble). Those counters are not your normal check in counter and can be found at one end of all check in row. I find them even more helpful than world acclaimed HKIA counter staff. If you need help in making urgent flight connections work, approach your China Southern flight crew for assistance, they might be able to assist in getting a ground crew waiting for you at arrival gate to help you speed up the process. Their minimum connection time is 1 hour and 30 minutes. So you have to take note for time allowance between connection. I tried 45 minutes before with assistance from ground staff but still failed to get on the next flight.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"facilities new and clean"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Facilities are new and clean. Cleaners always visible and in action. Long distances but this is a very large airport with lots more capacity for the future. WiFi is rubbish. Connects eventually but wont work. Can't connect to free massage chairs so they are useless. Only Asian customers seem able to connect to that service.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
6/10

"wait made me so angry"

(Australia)

Not Verified | After a 9-hour flight from Australia to China, I had to wait 2 hours to get a temporary entry permit and 1 hour to pass through security. I had a free overnight accomodation on my way to England. This wait made me so angry I won't fly China Southern again, as I would probably always have to have the stopover. The plane and the service on it was great. I ended up getting to the hotel at 9.15pm and had to get the shuttle back to the airport at 6.30am.The shuttle bus was extremely dirty inside and out.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worst customer service I have ever experienced. They know very well how to make you feel like “rubbish”. Rude personal and no passenger rights. After all the bad experiences (in transit on my way to Cambodia and on my way back to England) I have been trying to contact the costumer service for one month and they do not even take a minute to answer my emails. I will never ever go back to that horrendous place, and I do not recommend anyone to do so.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no