Grenoble Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 56 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"airport is an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Management of this airport is a total joke. They are incapable of managing the movement of people to and from aircraft efficiently or the efficient dispatch of aircraft. Check in and security as previously mentioned are horrendous but then when they actually attempt to board you it's chaos. The plane is parked at one end of the airport and they board you from a gate at the other end meaning you have to wait for disembarking passengers. Then you nearly get run over by lugar trucks, fuel trucks, moving aircraft etc... This airport is an embarrassment to the region and the country. The management need clearing out and replacing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this is by far the most incompetent airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Grenoble Airport, a destination in it's own right. Now clear to see where "Come fly with me" and "Little Britain" get their characters from. Arrival was not so bad, only took ages to get through passport check with signs up saying France is on heightened vigilance. However, heightened vigilance should not translate to "lets only open 2 passport check points when 6 flights arrive within 10 minutes from each other". Departure though is a whole new level of torture and pain. The queue for check in snaked around the hall many times. In took precisely 1 hr and 27 minutes to get past the highly incompetent check in clerk. And that was only the first level of Dante's inferno. Between checking in our bags and going through security we had to scan our boarding pass 5 times! Twice with barely 4 shuffling steps between the scans. What is the point? Do I change appearance or identity whilst on the trot being watched by Airport security staff? Next comes the actual security check. The trays are the size of coffee cup saucers, so every punter needs about 10 trays for wallet/watch/phone/coat/belt/shoes/paperwork/earrings/cufflinks causing another massive queue just for fun. When eventually through, we ventured to the cafe. That was marvellous as well. Asking for cutlery (just a fork) with my salad baffled the employee. No forks to be found. Punching in our order in the till took another 15 minutes or so despite it being nothing but a couple of coffees, sandwiches and that before mentioned salad. What a joke. And as a final riddle to solve, toasties are handed out cold, it is a self service microwave to warm them up. Not signposted, not mentioned by the staff and hidden around the corner. Once microwaved it feels and tastes like eating a warm sock that has been worn skiing for a week. Delightful. Onwards to the actual gate, out through the door and held up outside as each individual group of cattle needs to be separated. For some reason it is the norm in Grenoble airport that the door you exit the departure hall from is as far away from your plane as possible. As no groups of cattle are allowed to intermingle, you are stopped many times during your walk of shame to allow others to board other random airplanes. how this process received thumbs up from France homeland security is a mystery. I guess as these confused groups are attempting to leave the country no one cares. Regardless, this is by far the most incompetent airport I have been to in a long time and that said by a frequent traveller through Manchester Airport (voted one of the worst largest airport in the world 3 consecutive years 2017/18/19).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is not equipped to handle large quantities of people"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We arrived at the airport and went to check in our bags. At the check in desk, the person helping/serving us could not print 1 boarding pass. That wasn’t a big problem, so we moved on. Next stop was a security check where they scanned our boarding passes and looked at our passports. We then stood in an extremely slow moving que only to be scanned again before the security scanners. While our clothing and bags were scanned, they again scanned our boarding passes. The process was extremely slow as the area after the scanner is very small and slow. We then had to wait in another very slow moving queue for our passports to be checked. After that, our passports were checked again and our boarding passes. The flight took off 40 minutes late which is a miracle considering the chaos at this airport. This airport is not equipped to handle large quantities of people. Very bad experience unfortunately after an incredible holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Joke airport and staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport I’ve ever encountered. Queued for almost 2 hours, stopped just before the security gate for no reason, meanwhile other lines were moving, I asked a member of staff that was chatting and laughing with his colleagues what is the holdup, his respons was “the French, what can you do?” and laughed. If you have other alternatives avoid at all cost this airport or give yourself at least 3 hours from the luggage check in to bording! Joke airport and staff!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"took two hours to clear immigration"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On arrival it took two hours to clear immigration, the queue stretching well outside the main terminal building. On departure, the queue at security was immense, so big in fact, that supervision, such that it was, was asking passengers in the queue to disperse and only come forward when their flight was due. Consequently, the entire check in area became swamped with checked in passengers, who couldn’t move on. The facilities were completely overwhelmed with passengers dossing down wherever they could find space. The place resembled a refugee camp. The airport is clearly operating beyond its design capacity and is badly managed. The situation currently is being made even worse by industrial action on the part of French immigration and security. I have flown to, from and through literally hundreds of airports in my lifetime. Grenoble is one of the worst. Avoid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Without a doubt the worst airport experience I’ve ever had. The facilities at Grenoble airport simply cannot cope with demand of passengers during ski season. Low points of the arrival experience include waiting on the tarmac to disembark the plane because the terminal was too full of stranded passengers, and waiting over 2 hours in customs queue, held within a makeshift marquee next to the apron. Thank god it wasn’t raining. After the horrendous arrival experience in Grenoble, I couldn’t imagine how it could get any worse but I was wrong. Departure on the return to LGW looked like a scene from the recent Netflix documentary on Fyre Festival. Stranded rich people asleep on the floor, Canada Goose jackets and Osprey rucksacks strewn everywhere as makeshift pillows, both inside and outside the terminal building (again, luckily it was a sunny day so we weren’t all confined to inside). Nowhere near enough food, drinks, toilet facilities for the amount of people. Queue for security over 150m long (and queue for check in almost as bad!). When queuing for security an hour and a half before our flight, we were told by staff to get out of the queue because it was too early and they needed flights before ours to queue instead. Tried to blame it on Brexit, but that’s not true as it was exactly the same last year. Absolute chaos. Looked like a scene out of a refugee camp. Will 100% be avoiding this airport at all costs in future. Would happily pay more to fly to Lyon, Geneva or Turin instead. Cannot stress how much I do not recommend flying here - especially those travelling as a family with elderly relatives or young children.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very long lines for departure"

(Israel)

Trip Verified | Terrible airport for arrival and departure. Huge lines at arrival for passport control. Almost 2 hours of queues. Very long lines for departure. The airport is very small and cannot handle all the passagers during the ski season. This is my experience for the last 3 years and there is no effort to improve. I will try to avoid this airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely Awful"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Absolutely Awful. Was unable to accommodate for the number of passangers. Took over two hours to get through security and the flight was subsequently delayed because the airport was unable to get everyone on the plane on time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Without doubt the worst airport experience I have endured - both on arrival and departure. Facilities are wholly inadequate, from arrival/departure halls to immigration - arrival queues out onto the tarmac, and so few immigration officials on duty - being overly thorough and slow - took 2 hours to pass through on arrival, and not much less on departure.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Not fit for purpose"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Not fit for purpose. Every facility the airport has simply cannot cope with the number of flights they are trying to support. The staff are unable and unwilling to assist with even the most basic query. One of them even said to me “I do not know anything about the flights” when I asked for the estimated time of the delay. The ski package holiday operators and the airlines need to urgently apply some pressure to install new management.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews