Grenoble Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 62 reviews
1/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Very poor facilities"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Terrible airport. Very poor facilities. One of the food outlets at the check in desks opened just as we arrived - so was not open for the check in for one of a handful of flights departing that day. We were told that there was a restaurant airside but this is not true. Staff suggested we buy wine in the duty free to drink in the departure area!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no proper organisation or queuing system"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport I've ever been in my life, no proper organisation or queuing system, just a mass crowd all pushing and shoving hoping to be in the right queue for their check in desk, not at all appropriate for a ski resort airport, not enough desks or staff and what staff are their move at a snails pace! Our flight was at 12pm we only managed to get to security at 11.55 despite arriving at the airport at 9.45, we queued for 2 hours just to check in. At all costs I would avoid I'd rather pay extra to make sure to go somewhere else If I could give 0 or less for everything in this review then I would.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The worst airport ever!"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport ever! Waited 2 hours to get through passport control and most of that was waiting outside the airport building. Thankfully it wasn’t raining! There was only two people working on the passport check. Get some more staff and a better queuing system!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Avoid at all costs"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Avoid at all costs - it reminded me of a third world country airport. A huge queue to get in - chaos all around! Normally have 4 flights a day and 40 budget airlines today - flights delayed as the queue for screening over 2 hours and everyone was missing their flight. No plastic bags for liquids - no packing areas for before or after screening. Zero stations for filling water bottles and generally lackadaisical staff .
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"bathroom didn't even have running water"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrival not to bad. I could see this airport is small and almost certainly doesn't see the volume of passengers it has over the winter months. Boarder control was a bit slow but not awful. Only negative I picked up on my arrival was the toilet facilities are not enough to handle the winter volume of passengers. It's not that there isn't bathrooms in key locations (there are), it's that they are tiny, often 1 toilet (even for the male bathrooms). Departure is where things really get awful. I've been to small African airports that had better efficiency than this airport. We arrived 2 hours and 45 mins before our departure time. It took little over an hour just to check in our bags. There were at most 30 people in front of us and 3 open check in counters. It just seems to take ages per person and then the baggage conveyer broke and all staff just looked at it as though it was going to fix itself. Then once we finally checked in our bags, we were told to hurry to security because "they waiting for us" (they weren't) and bottom line it wasn't our fault that it took more than an hour to do a simple bag drop. Security check and passport control wasn't too bad. Bathroom situation in the departure area was once again terrible, the womens bathroom didn't even have running water. Boarding starts and they attempt to do the thing where you "board" but are placed in a holding area before you actually walk to the plane, this works when your holding area can take the capacity of the plane, not 20 people. So boarding starts and then stops very quickly because the holding area is now full. All in all we were they almost 3 hours before our flight and all we did was stand in queues.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Absolutely awful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely awful. Avoid this airport at all costs! Chose this airport as closer to our ski resort. Big mistake. Too small an airport to cope with the volume of passengers. Eternal queues for check in, and the queue for security was ridiculous. Not enough seating either before or after security(which in itself was chaotic) I will never fly to this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Management of this airport is a total joke. They are incapable of managing the movement of people to and from aircraft efficiently or the efficient dispatch of aircraft. Check in and security as previously mentioned are horrendous but then when they actually attempt to board you it's chaos. The plane is parked at one end of the airport and they board you from a gate at the other end meaning you have to wait for disembarking passengers. Then you nearly get run over by lugar trucks, fuel trucks, moving aircraft etc... This airport is an embarrassment to the region and the country. The management need clearing out and replacing.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"this is by far the most incompetent airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Grenoble Airport, a destination in it's own right. Now clear to see where "Come fly with me" and "Little Britain" get their characters from. Arrival was not so bad, only took ages to get through passport check with signs up saying France is on heightened vigilance. However, heightened vigilance should not translate to "lets only open 2 passport check points when 6 flights arrive within 10 minutes from each other". Departure though is a whole new level of torture and pain. The queue for check in snaked around the hall many times. In took precisely 1 hr and 27 minutes to get past the highly incompetent check in clerk. And that was only the first level of Dante's inferno. Between checking in our bags and going through security we had to scan our boarding pass 5 times! Twice with barely 4 shuffling steps between the scans. What is the point? Do I change appearance or identity whilst on the trot being watched by Airport security staff? Next comes the actual security check. The trays are the size of coffee cup saucers, so every punter needs about 10 trays for wallet/watch/phone/coat/belt/shoes/paperwork/earrings/cufflinks causing another massive queue just for fun. When eventually through, we ventured to the cafe. That was marvellous as well. Asking for cutlery (just a fork) with my salad baffled the employee. No forks to be found. Punching in our order in the till took another 15 minutes or so despite it being nothing but a couple of coffees, sandwiches and that before mentioned salad. What a joke. And as a final riddle to solve, toasties are handed out cold, it is a self service microwave to warm them up. Not signposted, not mentioned by the staff and hidden around the corner. Once microwaved it feels and tastes like eating a warm sock that has been worn skiing for a week. Delightful. Onwards to the actual gate, out through the door and held up outside as each individual group of cattle needs to be separated. For some reason it is the norm in Grenoble airport that the door you exit the departure hall from is as far away from your plane as possible. As no groups of cattle are allowed to intermingle, you are stopped many times during your walk of shame to allow others to board other random airplanes. how this process received thumbs up from France homeland security is a mystery. I guess as these confused groups are attempting to leave the country no one cares. Regardless, this is by far the most incompetent airport I have been to in a long time and that said by a frequent traveller through Manchester Airport (voted one of the worst largest airport in the world 3 consecutive years 2017/18/19).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is not equipped to handle large quantities of people"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We arrived at the airport and went to check in our bags. At the check in desk, the person helping/serving us could not print 1 boarding pass. That wasn’t a big problem, so we moved on. Next stop was a security check where they scanned our boarding passes and looked at our passports. We then stood in an extremely slow moving que only to be scanned again before the security scanners. While our clothing and bags were scanned, they again scanned our boarding passes. The process was extremely slow as the area after the scanner is very small and slow. We then had to wait in another very slow moving queue for our passports to be checked. After that, our passports were checked again and our boarding passes. The flight took off 40 minutes late which is a miracle considering the chaos at this airport. This airport is not equipped to handle large quantities of people. Very bad experience unfortunately after an incredible holiday.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Joke airport and staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Worst airport I’ve ever encountered. Queued for almost 2 hours, stopped just before the security gate for no reason, meanwhile other lines were moving, I asked a member of staff that was chatting and laughing with his colleagues what is the holdup, his respons was “the French, what can you do?” and laughed. If you have other alternatives avoid at all cost this airport or give yourself at least 3 hours from the luggage check in to bording! Joke airport and staff!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 62 Reviews