Gold Coast Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 40 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"overzealous border force personnel"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Worst airport into a major city in Australia. No air bridges, limited seating and food options in the terminal. Not to mention the most overzealous border force personnel in the country. They make you feel like turning back and going to another country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"rudeness is something else"

(New Zealand)

Not Verified | Pretty basic and old-school terminal - not a lot of shops or food outlets though what there is adequate. Some of the service I encountered left me feeling very glad to be leaving to be honest. Sure the Gold Coast is famous for its laid-back style but rudeness is something else. Firstly - not strictly a comment on the airport itself but do be aware if you plan to use Sky Bus that it replaced the old Gold Coast Tourist Shuttle service and has different/limited hotel stops, none in Southport now. Inexplicably for a tourist-oriented business in an international airport, they don’t take cash sales! Why would I incur extra charges by using my NZ ATM card?! Ironically this means their sales person was well-informed on public transport options. If you’re going to Southport, on a budget and don’t have lots of luggage and/or kids in tow, for just over $5 catch the 777 bus to Broadbeach where (included in the ticket price for up to 3 hours travel), transfer to the G:Link tram, then connect to buses at Southport South station (takes about an hour and a half all up). I found the check-in kiosk assistants particularly unhelpful and unfriendly the day I left. They were all busy chatting amongst themselves, eventually one approached me to assist almost reluctantly. Later, when I approached her colleague (from the same airline, not the one I was flying) for more help, I was told in a sarcastic voice “I work for X, the Y check in is over there” – why, I asked, was your colleague happy to help me earlier in that case? Completely unnecessary condescending attitude from someone who clearly didn’t want to be there that day (I know the feeling!) - if she keeps it up, she may get her wish! The (volunteer, elderly) customer service staff were pretty helpful, when I could get their attention - due to the disinterested airline kiosks assistants, the volunteers were busy helping people check in so weren’t at the customer service desk often! Ridiculously, if you're leaving the country you have to go through two separate security processes. I must admit though, when there was a query about an item in my carry-on luggage, the security staff were understanding, helpful and friendly which made for a positive final impression. I have family on the GC and in Brisbane and in future I’ll seriously consider flying to the much more professional and pleasant Brisbane airport, and if necessary, book the Air Train / G:link tram ticket combo online in advance for $35 to get to the Gold Coast. According to the website that would also take an hour and a half and sure it costs more than the bus/tram option outlined above, but it's one less transfer and frankly would be worth it to avoid Coolangatta airport!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst experience I've ever encountered"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | As an international transit passenger from Auckland to KL on Air Asia, with an international transit via Gold Coast. I'm well travelled throughout the world, particularly the Asia Pacific region and this would probably be the worst experience I've ever encountered at an airport. It took 40 minutes to go through security and then I was 'selected', asked if I had anything in my pockets I replied that I didn't have any pockets pointing to the side of my pants. The security woman shouted back at me 'I was just asking', then followed with vague instructions on what I was supposed to do and the ridiculous process that was involved. I'm a native English speaker, so I can only empathise for those who aren't. After going through the process, my laptop and carry on bag had not been moved through the security screen. I asked when it was going to be passed through, and once again I was shouted back at that it was coming, asked again after some time and was treated with the same level of contempt. For at least five minutes I was left to watch it on the other side, just waiting for someone to do their job and pass it through. I'm so happy that I'll be returning back to New Zealand through Singapore, and will avoid having to feel like a prisoner when I am simply a passenger going through an international transfer.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitDecember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is a shambles for transit passengers"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | This airport is a shambles for transit passengers. Indications and the area to separate arrivals and transit passengers would be minimal for the passengers on an A320 or a smaller 737. They are quite inadequate for an A320 where most of the passengers are in transit. On my recent Air Asia flight passengers were advised on the aircraft that transit passengers shoyld follow the TRANSIT signs. In the queue for the transit securty check an airport worker? Also shouted in English and pointed to the arrivals snd transit queues. In the security check area several arriving passengers were identified as being in the wrong queue. A family speaking tamil who took considerable time during the security vheck were only identified as arrivals when they reached the boarding check. I can understand their confusion but regret the delay they caused me. At the arrival/transit queue we were told again only verbally by an airport worker that the toilets next to the security queue were the only toilets available. This appeared to be recognition that the security check was so slow that there would be no time left for a toilet visit before we had to board the plane.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitFebruary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a real shambles"

(New Zealand)

Verified Review | Gold Coast is inadequate and can not cope with international transit passengers. Arrived on an Air Asia flight from KL bound for Auckland - with 1 hour on the ground in Gold Coast. We encountered a number of issues. 1) after getting off the plane, we had to stand on the tarmac for 10 minutes in the hot sun (no air bridges at Gold Coast). That was because departing passengers were walking out to their plane, and the pathways of departing and arriving passengers cross each other with no mixing allowed. A real shambles. 2) the international transit lounge is tiny and only holds a few passengers. We had to stand in a corridor for 30 minutes, and could not move until they started re-boarding again. In this situation its only natural that people get out their phones to check message and mail. But, no! We had Border Security personnel threatening passengers with $365 fines for using their mobile phones! 3) water. We were told to take all our personal belongings off the plane. Many passengers had bottles of Air Asia water (which they had purchased on the plane). Of course going through the transit lounge there is a security check and no water allowed. There were dozens of water bottles thrown away this day. Gold Coast may be okay as a domestic airport, but is no way designed to be an international airport that can handle flights any bigger than a 737/A320. Its an embarrassment for overseas visitors.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"understaffed, overcrowded and inefficient"

(Australia)

I'm a regular at Gold Coast airport and travel thru about twice a month. The airport is grossly under size for the volume of traffic and overcrowded throughout the terminal even at off-peak times. There are long wait queues at check-in and also frequent long waits through security. Today, it was difficult to find a table to enjoy a snack while we farewelled our family to NZ. Usually, after complaints there is a short lived period that things improve, followed by even longer waits. At security there are often only 2 or 3 lines open when there should be 5. Although upgraded only a few years ago it is a sad place. There's the usual array of tacky souvenir shops and overpriced boutiques. Parking is a nightmare particularly at the long stay section when it is common to see a dozen vehicles cruising around waiting for a spot. Badly managed, understaffed, overcrowded and inefficient the Gold Coast deserves better. Even the wifi is still at dial up speeds. At best 2/10.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"should plan for a short stay parking"

(Australia)

In 2018, Gold Coast Airport will be inundated with visitors from all over the globe but today, I had the misfortune to encounter a poorly trained and somewhat defensive airport employee at the arrivals kerb. The sign states "No Parking" but it is not physically possible to open the boot of my car unless I park. How was the individual arriving supposed to put his suitcase into my vehicle? There was ample room for me to park for a short period. Gold Coast Airport should plan for a short stay parking area for arrivals.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"extremely slow security"

(New Zealand)

Extremely slow security and domestic and international departures in one location. Virgin lounge very basic, small and overcrowded. For such a busy airport one would expect international departures to be seperate from domestic with dedicated options for business class.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2016
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"perfect little airport"

(New Caledonia)

Gold Coast Airport is small but very functional. Plenty of seating, bright and very welcoming. My arrival and baggage delivery were fast and smooth, I was out the door less than 20 min after landing. Perfect little airport, especially when you arrive for holidays.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Gold Coast Airport customer review

(Singapore)

I am from Singapore, travelling SIN to Gold Coast. I hold the new biometric passport and read on the website that Singapore citizens no longer need to use the standard immigration queue to clear. When queuing there is no sign indicating standard and express clearance - one staff member walked around inviting all NZ and Aus passport holders to use e-smart clearance when there are actually many other nationalities that can also use this. I had no choice but to queue, once at the front I went straight to do the e-smart clearance and it worked fine. Wasted my time queuing - all Singapore passport holders, do not queue, just go to the front and use e-smart.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2015
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1 to 10 of 38 Reviews