Gold Coast Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 47 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"What a disaster of a system Gold Coast airport is"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | What a disaster of a system Gold Coast airport is. They have reverted to full body screening and only have 3 ports open to try screen 5 planes leaving at 1 time. Don't fly from this airport if you can avoid it. Go to Byron or Brisbane as it will save you 2 hours of heartache in the screening queues which go all the way back to the Virgin check in. Staff walking around on their phones and about 10 people standing at the screening points with their eyes painted on.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"would use Brisbane or Byron instead"

(Australia)

Not Verified | You will collect your luggage and get through immmagration at most major international airports quicker than you will get your luggage from a domestic flight at this airport. Happens every time without fail. Depending where I am going would use Brisbane or Byron instead if at all possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"airport was small and navigable"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Landing was easy. The airport was small and navigable. Accessing the 700 line double-decker bus to Broadbeach (the light rail begins in Broadbeach) was easy, though it'd make sense for the Gold Coast Council to extend light rail all the way to the airport. The terminal and restrooms were clean. I'll be honest and say that I've only ever arrived into Gold Coast, never departed (that was from Brisbane), but I had no real qualms with this airport. I do remember it taking a little longer than usual to retrieve my baggage from the carousel, and the WiFi being slow (it is Australia, after all).
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
yes
3/10

"Extremely disappointed"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Extremely disappointed. Staff didn’t put a seal for the liquor I bought. During the transfer security check-in in Malaysia, they didn’t allow me to take it any further. I had to give it up. The staff did scan my ID and boarding pass but they didn’t cover it with the seal - make sure you get it sealed.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"nice viewing windows"

(Australia)

Not Verified | The airport was nice. A couple of Duty-free shops and good food places to eat at, nice viewing windows while your eating and a lot of great decor. Could do with some more shops and possibly some lounges although it's a bit too small.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"do not believe that we should be penalised"

(Australia)

Not Verified | On the 23rd of June this year I was picking up my Son and his Wife who had just returned from Sydney. The arrival parking bays at the far northern end of the terminal were completely full, there were cars in front of our vehicle as well, that were not moving. To help the situation my Son and his Wife jumped into the car, they only had one small backpack each so no big suitcases to put in the boot etc (it was literally a few seconds and they were in the car), we had just started to take off and a man in a bright coloured vest ran in front of the car and took a photo of the front of our car (His actions would have held up the traffic behind us). We wound down a window and nicely asked what was going on (with no bad tone of voice whatsoever) he replied with a very rude tone and manner "That will be a $126.00 fine and you will get it in the mail. We said, still calmly "What!, It was so banked up with cars we couldn't do anything else". He once again was extremely rude and said, "Oh yeh was it now". This happened approximately at 1.29 pm. Is this the type of employees that you want to be ambassadors for the Gold Coast? If I was a visitor it certainly would leave a bad taste in my mouth for the Gold Coast! We in no way hindered people being picked up as the arrival bay was still full and no cars were leaving it. We actually helped the situation allowing other cars behind us to come into the arrival area after we left. We do not believe that we should be penalised and pay $126.00 due to an extremely rude parking attendant who picks people at random to fine.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"$4 to use a luggage trolley"

(New Zealand)

Trip Verified | Be aware that the airport charges you $4 to use a luggage trolley - what a rip off. Being an international flight, we arrived at the airport with lots of time to spare. However, the check in machines weren't open yet, and when they did, they did not print luggage tags. These we had to get ask airline staff to reprint. Airline staff were generally not helpful. When we approached a counter about the problem, she referred us to the staff who manned the machines. The staff manning the machines just asked us to re-checkin - but there was no option to reprint luggage tags. After being sent on a wild goose chase, someone finally printed the tags for us. As this was a combined domestic, international airport, we had to go through security twice. Thankfully border control was quick as the machines worked. Very small selection of duty free stores, which did not stock local produce. Food places were expensive and generally poor quality. One of the urinals in the male toilet was blocked. There was free Wifi but speed was very slow. You also had to go through a convoluted login process to get connected.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"consistently awful service"

(Australia)

Trip Verified | Truly dreadful airport with consistently awful service, especially at security where the team are the least professional of any major airport in Australia. Inside the terminal it’s like going to a cheap mall at Christmas, heaving with people, poor food and shopping choices and a lack of seating. For one of the top tourist spot entry points, everything from the staff at security to the overall experience makes you want to get out as fast as you can. Dreadful.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very overcrowded"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Chaos is the only word to describe the place. Very overcrowded, limited seating, no gate lounges and masses of uncontrolled humanity. Heaven help if there were ever the need for emergency evacuation! Simply the worst airport design, layout and function I have ever seen in any airport in the world. Avoid at all costs!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"overzealous border force personnel"

(Australia)

Not Verified | Worst airport into a major city in Australia. No air bridges, limited seating and food options in the terminal. Not to mention the most overzealous border force personnel in the country. They make you feel like turning back and going to another country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 47 Reviews