Glasgow Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 124 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"steadily declining for quite some time"

(Japan)

Trip Verified | Been using Glasgow airport for decades and my experiences have been steadily declining for quite some time now. The new road layout around the front of the terminal building is very poorly signposted indeed. Trying to pick my way through from the motorway to my hotel it was near impossible to see any signage and was charged four pounds to drive 100 yards through the drop off zone not stopping. Felt like I’d been cheated even before i got anywhere near trying to check in. Inside the terminal building on the landslide its been absolutely emptied out and looks very sad, dreary and like a big neglected shed these days. All the restaurants and eating spots that used to be available upstairs are all gone now. Downstairs theres a solitary coffee shop, an M+S express and a pub called the spinning Jenny that served one of the most dreadful overpriced stone cold meals that I’ve endured in quite some time. On the airside there were at last some more food options available but the prices were absolutely extortionate. The free wifi is only available for an hour and constantly logs you out and good luck trying to grab any rest if you”re waiting around or any length of time now that there is an air hockey table and super loud arcade games in one of the vacant shop spaces without any doors to block the volume. Overall the experience was like visiting a shopping mall months before it goes out of business but with planes parked outside. Management need to sort this shambles out
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I'll be using Edinburgh in the future"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | £4 to drop someone off and another £4 on the way back - for what? Grumpy staff at check in, border control, security, gates. Not enough seating, 10.30 am in the lounge used by Lufthansa and breakfast was over. Cases lost on arrival. Menzies aviation are a joke. I had to go looking for them to inform them. No reference number was given to me and none of my contact details were loaded onto the lost baggage site. A quick call to Lufthansa sorted it the next day. They received my case on the morning of the 3rd Jan and didn't deliver it until the afternoon of the 4th despite it being labelled as rush/same day delivery. Menzies have gone to great lengths to prevent passengers from being able to call them. No phone numbers anywhere, I'll be taking this up with the CAA. I'll be using Edinburgh in the future
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"why the one hour only free wifi"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Not going to repeat so many other negative comments that I agree with at Glasgow airport however, I must raise the question again as to why the one hour only free wifi business - utterly ridiculous, I’m now on a 10 hour layover in Toronto and free wifi all the way, all day at the airport, why so tight Scotland when other airports are trying to at least offer free access while at the airport but not Glasgow, shame on your stingy offer!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"terminal is inadequate"

(United States)

Not Verified | Inadequate area for check in. Told to be 3 hrs early. Staff arrived 2 hrs before boarding. No notice of checking location until Staff turns up. Poor assistance for disabled people, where to sit while waiting for check in. Car rental return directions very poor. 3 times round airport before finally finding correct lane for return. Staff said 10% of cars find the return in first attempt. Overall terminal is inadequate for number of people arriving or departing. Typical Scottish welcome from the "smelly restrooms". Will avoid the airport for future travel to Scotland.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely abysmal, inhumane experience"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Utterly appalling conditions and service. Arrived at Glasgow on a WestJet overnight flight from Halifax and the first thing we noticed was that there was zero greeting from an airport rep upon landing. We got into the airport to see old carpets, dingy lighting and absolutely no staff anywhere. No customs agents so we all just breezed through to passport scanners and baggage claim. One case had been lost (and as of this date, hasn’t been returned to us). It only got worse a week later when we left. Early morning flight so early check in. I’d flown in on a UK passport but didn’t have my Canadian one (expired) to get back into Canada. I’d always just shown my birth certificate at home and it was always fine. The rule had changed in recent years. Now, this is entirely my error (plus our booking agent hadn’t told us anything about this rule) so not blaming the airport BUT the staff member doing prelim checks in the check in line was utterly atrocious - condescending, unhelpful, cold and nasty and couldn’t provide any assistance. This airport has a ridiculous one hour wifi situation (you can pay for more, but only if you have PayPal) so he directed us to two old computers in a dingy corner that you had to insert coins in to use. We ended up going to the Holiday Inn across the street to use the wifi to contact the Canadian Embassy who approved travel for me. Our ArriveCan app wasn’t working and one of the staff at the check in dismissed us with “looks like that’s not even been completed” which I knew but was so frazzled that I couldn’t figure out how to submit it, which was why I was asking him for help (and it needs wifi to process). Went back across to hotel to problem solve. One of them even seemed to mocking us with “this flight boards in 20 minutes” and a derisive laugh (though the young man handling check ins informed us it would be fine, and called up to hold the flight just in case). In the end, everything was fine and we got on the flight with time to spare, but had an absolutely abysmal, inhumane experience at this hellhole of an airport. How hard is it to help someone look up an essential phone number, or maybe direct them to someone who works in citizenship/international relations? No guidance, they didn’t know what they were doing. Completely incompetent. We ended up getting help from a fellow Canadian in the line who’d been in the same position, and the aforementioned nice young man (Menzies staff) when we finally got to check in properly. Security was horrible. Treating people like criminals and shouting at everyone (it wasn’t even busy, which still wouldn’t have been an excuse). No internet, appalling treatment, inadequacy, frighteningly uninformed staff, and coldness made a stressful experience even worse. If I could escalate this complaint further, I would.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is small and there are several things that do not work"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The airport is small and there are several things that do not work. 1) The floor all around the airport is covered with fluffy carpets that make it difficult to move around with luggage or carry-on with wheels. 2) There are lots of staircases that are not paralleled with elevators or escalators, unless you request special assistance, as in case of minor mobility impairment, you are going to have a lot of discomfort getting to your gate. 3) The airport has two lounges, out of which one does not work at all and another one is poorly equipped.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"all shopping, stands, food outlets and restaurants are closed"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | As recommended I arrived two and a half hours before my flight, 20.30 on a Saturday evening. Thinking I will have a bit to eat before my flight and do a bit of shopping. Only to find, all shopping, stands, food outlets and restaurants are closed. Furthermore most of the vending machines are switched off, directing you on a treasure hunt to find the one set of machines at gate 8 lower depths, which are operational. You would think that from the 4 GBP tourist tax people have to pay to drop off friends and family, it could be put toward some vendors being available to service your customers at 20.30 on a Saturday evening while they melt under glass and the warm summer sun. No customer service available to assist, as you wander around the back corridor detours to get around the closed main shopping area.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

" not fit to handle international flights"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport is not fit to handle international flights. Border control totally inadequate. Very few machines. The ones they have are unreliable and slow. Manual desks are either unstaffed or the staff stand around doing nothing. Took nearly an hour to handle one plane load of passengers. Shows Glasgow in a very bad light to both foreign visitors and UK nationals.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"it is a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The usual at this airport, long queues at security when departing as only a few stands open but if you are early its ok but it is a nightmare. Arriving back at this airport passport scanners that are just a joke, a woman shouting instructions, really!, 2 passport stands open and the guys on these can't even be bothered to say hello or even look at you thought I was in Moscow for a moment. Luggage taking far too long with surprise surprise 1 flight in but the icing at this airport is the unfriendly customs that are awaiting when you go through customs they defo didnt go to charm school, cheeky and shocking especially the female who really needs to learn how to talk to people with more respect and kindness but hey what can you expect when people are given power. Foreigners must think they have arrived in a ill mannered country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Baggage took around 50 mins"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived on a late BA flight, which is standard when flying BA on domestic routes - although the best was still to come! Baggage took around 50 mins to be delivered to the baggage belt, during the wait there was almost a riot as angry passengers complained to the only 2 Airport staff in the entire airport were doing their best to answer questions, although it seems the delay was due to staff shortages! Duty Manager appeared on his phone to avoid answering passengers questions! I would avoid this Airport at all costs if possible, unfortunately for me this is not an option!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no