Gibraltar Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 17 reviews
5/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"unable to walk unaided are left stranded"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My 86 year old mother traveled alone to the UK on December 23 2021 but unfortunately the flight was diverted to Malaga airport. She has to have disabled assistance as she is unable to walk. As per usual protocol, all passengers were walked across the border, in the pouring rain I might say! and into a coach Spain side. The issues with disabled assistance started once outside Malaga airport. All passengers were left to remove their own baggage from the coach hold. A reasonable ask if you are a fully abled person. My mother and another disabled passenger were left behind to fend for themselves. It was a kind and thoughtful passer by that removed the suitcases for them. They then had to make their own way, unaided to the desk. By the time my mother reached the desk, she could barely speak and nearly passed out. This is appalling and these passengers should not have to find themselves in such circumstances when traveling. This needs to be addressed by the disability team at Gibraltar Airport who are usually amazing. I feel that perhaps they are totally unaware that this service which is requested at the point of paying for a flight, totally and utterly breaks down when these flights are diverted. Outside Malaga airport these passengers, who are unable to walk unaided are left stranded and so I felt it is vitally important for Gibraltar Airport and the disabled services concerned to be made aware of it. I have also emailed BA, the airline concern.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"She's a real gem"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I recently slipped a disc and needed assistance at Gibraltar airport. I can't say just how heartwarming it was to be met by the lovely Sam and guided through what can be a pretty stressful experience with genuine humanity and not a few laughs along the way. She's a real gem, as were all other staff involved from check in to departure. Another client asked what happened as we were raised into the transport, and an attendant - who'd had a similar injury - gave some really good supplementary advice as we disappeared. I do a fair amount of travelling and that was a rare experience. Thank you all.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"airport management must take the blame"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We landed from Manchester about 5pm on the 5 Dec, I went to the ladies but wished l hadn't as they were in a very poor state and smelt very bad. There are not many flights landing in a day so why they are that bad I dont know. The airport management must take the blame as it would not take long to check them and the manager is not over run with work are they. A mop and some bleach go a long way.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very disappointing for an airport experience"

(United Kingdom)

Unverified | Hardly any shops, no good shops, no restaurant with hot food. No vegan food options in the one very bad cafe. Dirty stained seats inside. We were going to pay for the VIP area because it was so bad but were told even that doesn't do hot food or vegan food. Overall very disappointing for an airport experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"spacious, clean, bright and airy"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | We used the new terminal for the first time this year. The new airport departure lounge is spacious, clean, bright and airy. At around the time of our departure there were several flights scheduled to depart and found that both of the toilets in the departure lounge were closed, one for cleaning and the other due to a blockage. I walked from one set of toilet to the other, being sent to the others which were also closed with the staff not seeming to be aware that both sets of toilet were closed. One of the toilets reopened after me complaining. Maybe the airport management should ensure that at least one set of toilets are kept open especially during busy times when several departures are scheduled. I was surprised that the new state of the art airport lacks air bridges to aircraft rather than still needing to walk out to the aircraft and climb steps to board.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"dusty, dirty and litter ridden"

(Spain)

I visit Gibraltar airport regularly for trips backwards and forwards to the UK and to pick up friends and relatives who are visiting. I am appalled by the condition of the glass screens on the viewing tower and stairs leading to the viewing tower, the glass screens gave not been cleaned since the airport opened and are now at the stage where you cannot see through them. Equally the stairs are dusty, dirty and litter ridden.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
8/10

"free wifi and plenty of seating"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | The airport is much improved since I was last here in 2008. Arrivals, not much to say, there was just my flight in, so the baggage queue was pretty tame. Departure, check in was a breeze, even though there were three flights due to depart that morning. There is free wifi and plenty of seating. The new terminal building is spacious and modern, with a nice outside seating area overlooking the runway and apron. Security was also a breeze, with only a very small queue, and security staff seemed pleasant enough. No air bridge though, so if it's raining, you have a couple of minutes walk before you get to your aircraft. Overall, a nice little airport
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"security is minimally manned with very long queues"

(United Kingdom)

Verified Review | As per usual security is minimally manned with very long queues. They seem to be surprised by flights arriving and leaving. When I complained that a second machine needed to be opened at security to process people quicker they all laughed and said they were waiting on a break. I think the two crews that were obviously available were rotating around rather than sound security processing. This shows a lack of leadership in an important part of the airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2016
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"staff friendly and helpful"

(Gibraltar)

Great experience out of Gibraltar. Check in staff were very friendly and helpful. My flight to Bristol was quite late but the staff were good and again through security the staff were friendly and there was no queue. After security there is a duty free store with souvenirs for tourists, the restaurant was okay but nothing special. Boarding was a quick and easy process.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2016
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

Gibraltar Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

How this place had gone down the rattle since they opened the great white elephant. It now possesses probably the most officious unpleasant and useless security staff in aviation (not many years ago they were the best anywhere but have no doubt been replaced by cheaper versions). For all its newness when 3 flights depart together the lounge is full and no seats to be had don't bother going for food or drink the queues will put you off. This morning they couldn't even find anyone to turn the screens on for check in. Complete amateur night. In fact I think as far as departures is concerned it exists to make Malaga look good! I just wish it wasn't so. The old airport just worked so much better with much nicer staff. OK for arrivals but best go to Malaga for departures. Won't use again.
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1 to 10 of 17 Reviews