Geneva Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 227 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"an absolute shocking experience"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | We had an absolute shocking experience travelling through Geneva airport today. We queued for 110 minutes for our flight to Dublin. There were three check in desks for economy and two for business for nine airlines, Aer Lingus, Alitalia, Finnair, Luxair, Tunisair, Belavia, Pegasus Airlines, SAS and Frerbird all in one queue. We nearly missed our flight, as did other travellers. Avoid travelling from this airport at all costs! There were no self service check in desks. Aer Lingus should not be outsourcing check-in to companies who do not have enough resources to do it efficiently or effectively.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"kind and helpful - no complaints at all"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Went to collect my daughter who had broken her leg skiing. The taxi driver took us straight to the GVA Assistance for a wheelchair and after checking in with easyJet we were allocated a helper who took us thru to a dedicated waiting room in departures. We were later collected and taken in a dedicated wagon with a lift and then onto the plane so stairs were involved. Plenty of room in the departures, food expensive. The GVA Assistance staff from those on the desk to the helpers were kind kind and helpful - no complaints at all.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"beyond embarrassing"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Honestly it’s astonishing how Geneva International can even be as bad as it is. For a leading national hub, it’s beyond embarrassing. Outrageous queues - endless - with clueless staff and a baggage system which on arrival a week earlier caused 90 minutes wait for a bag on a short haul flight (and we got ours ahead of most on our flight). Chaotic, shabby and grubby. A disgraceful airport which having been to many around the world, including third world nations, ranks amongst the worst 5%. Switzerland needs to sort it out.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the world's truly awful airports"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This is one of the world's truly awful airports. Everything is chaotic from check-in to departure. There are no trolleys at the car hire drop offs, queues extend for miles, there are literally no lifts to assist families with young children / prams / luggage through the terminal, bathrooms are aged and dirty, and there is no signage to indicate the length of time it takes to get to gates, or indeed to warn you that you will have to clear a huge queue at passport control just before reaching your gate. For added joy, passengers are often inexplicably required to descend, ascend, descend then re-ascend staircases for no apparent reason. Limited space is no excuse for such a badly organised terminal (London City airport is tiny but very efficient) - if you get the choice- chose another airport and get a car / train transfer- everything else works in Switzerland - just not this airport!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a few very uncomfortable seats"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Ugly, smelly steel structure with no airport lounges open all night and a few very uncomfortable seats. Help deal lady very brisque and unfriendly. Experiencing this horrid airport has put me off wanting to visit Switzerland at all ever!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"it's an endless queuing system"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flying in and out of Geneva airport on a regular basis, it's an endless queuing system. On arrival from non-Schengen average of 20 to 30 min for immigration followed by queuing to purchase a train ticket from the machine (either at baggage reclaim or Train station). Departure is very poor in the winter. Queue at check-in if you have baggage to drop off, queue to get to security, queue for security itself and queue for passport control. Weekends are the worst and the 60 min limit is not enough. Arrived 120 min prior to departure (hand luggage only) and got to the gate 45 min prior to departure for a flight which was not full. Queue management for departure has to change. With all that queuing there is no time to browse the shopping facilities offered at the airport. This is not a bad thing as the prices of drinks and snacks are exorbitant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"One of the worst airports I've experienced"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | One of the worst airports I've experienced in a long time. Small, crowded, ceiling leaking in various points, dark with ceiling lights not working, not enough seating, long queues for check in and security. Airport lounge not available as overcrowded after walking up 2 flight of stairs with pram and children because lift out of use even having the correct tickets to use. And to people thinking Middle Eastern and African airports are worse, don’t fool yourselves this surpasses them by far.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Cynical security system"

(Denmark)

Trip Verified | Cynical security system. There were delays at baggage drop-off due to airline mistakes, therefore I arrived at security line later than advised. The line was really long. I asked an employee that was managing the crowd flow if there was a possibility to cut the line as I might be missing the flight, she said: “We don’t do that here, It’s your fault.” I tried to explain that I was stuck at bag drop but she walked away. I agree that there has to be a structure in airport security with such a large flow of people, but I didn’t expect that it would that harsh and inconsiderable at GVA. I assume it was not her decision, but a rule from management, yet I was surprised how cynical it was. I was late due to an airline mistake, but she didn’t care to hear. I ended up asking 10 people personally in the line in front of me if they minded if I jumped them over and they were kind and cooperative. I manage to run an catch my flight in the end but if was a stressful experience. GVA should hire a service designer.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Geneva deserves a much better airport"

(India)

Not Verified | Worst airport I saw to date. I have been to many other airports but a city like Geneva deserves a much better airport. No sitting arrangement. No proper wifi. Staff are really horrible. Toilets are third class. Avoid being here at night.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Not a very good experience"

(China)

Trip Verified | A pretty small airport and crowded, the furniture is old however the transportation is very convenient, there is a train station just under the airport and could reach anywhere in Switzerland. The passport control space is too small even for just one A330 arrival and also very slow. Not a very good experience.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no