Funchal Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 56 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"security screening was a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Going through security screening was a nightmare. I was told I was an "explosive threat" after having my hands screened twice and producing a positive result twice. They said this can happen to people who have used certain body lotions/creams, medications, touched certain items i.e. flowers. I was then escorted (very indiscreetly) by 2 armed police officers to a separate room where I was searched, my hand luggage searched and I was questioned. After all this I had to go through the whole process again, security, hands screened, positive result, by which time I was very distressed. A terrifying experience for a 62 year old woman - I do understand the need to keep air passengers safe but this screening technology is clearly not efficient or sufficient if it can be triggered by ingredients in creams and lotions. I will never return to Madeira.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"my combination lock numbers had been changed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | TSA Combination locks changed by baggage handlers at Madeira airport. My cabin cases were put in the hold by easyJet at Bristol Airport, I handed the two cases to easyJet staff just before going up the steps when boarding as they were concerned there was not enough overhead locker space. No problem, I’ve done this many times before. When picking up the hire car at Funchal airport I needed to access the cabin cases only to find my combination lock numbers had been changed. The hire car reps managed to open the one case but the lock on the other had to be broken open. Apparently this is not unusual at Funchal, this was the fifth time they had experienced it. These mindless pranksters should be sacked. A great start to the holiday. Has anyone else experienced this problem?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
7/10

"airport is clean and security is fast"

(Brazil)

Trip Verified | I was very excited to land here as this airport is famous around the globe for its risk landings! The infrastrucure per se is very basic, you deplane on the tarmac and then walk to the arrivals, staff were ok, I found people in the Madeira island to be very friendly. Do not come without pre booked stuff as I noticed they inflate the prices for tourists who decided to book on the spot. The airport is clean and security is fast, long lines though. Snacks on the land side much cheaper than air side.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"airport is a breeze"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | This airport is a breeze either for departures or arrivals. Very clean, medium enough to make it passenger-friendly and with well-sounding announcements for everything, even at the tarmac rooftop, so no one stays on the ground. Easyjet check-in gentleman was very friendly too.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"It is visually depressing"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | The tiles from the terminal building exteriors are falling off and no one does anything about it. It is visually depressing. For the rest, nice, rather clean and comfortable small airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
10/10

"common sense and helpful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Just gone through security here and foolishly had a pocket knife in hand luggage (I use the nail file regularly due to a finger injury.) Brought this to the notice of security and they suggested getting an envelope from a 'post present home' service, so it wasn't confiscated as they could have. What a pleasant surprise to see common sense and helpful staff in their own (stressful) environment. Thanks to all Securitas staff who were involved. I can also add here that virtually everyone we have met in Madeira have been helpful and polite. They should consider exporting some of those qualities to other countries. Thankyou again Madeira, we'll see you soon.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"very functional"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | This is a nice regional airport, very functional, cleaned, with enough public and seating areas, shops and coffees. Security works fine and staff in general are friendly. It is an airport that doesn't stress you out more than air travelling already naturally does to people. Unfortunately due to specific meteorological conditions in the area it is sometimes difficult to land or take off. Parking prices very expensive too.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"boarding staff were less than professional"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | I was abruptly told by a female member of boarding staff at Funchal airport to wait separately from the line because I had hand luggage. However most people had trolleys and were being processed normally. This is not the first time here that a member of the boarding staff were less than professional. I once experienced a huge delay of more than three hours and when given the 10 Euro voucher to eat at the terminal I understandably expressed my disappointment with the situation with: 'better than the voucher was if the plane took off' and was presented by another member of boarding staff at this airport with 'we also would rather be at home by now'.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"Black mark for catering"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Small airport, arrival very efficient, quick e-gates and luggage out quickly. Coming back check in was good, security swift although a shortage of seating in lounge but ok at gate. Black mark for catering however as sandwich my wife bought appeared to contain a bad egg. In spite of plane being hundred yards from terminal we were bussed to it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Awful airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Awful airport. Was caught up in the April 2018 delays with flights being unable to land due to cross winds. Although new the way its been designed is not user friendly. The announcements are completely unintelligible and there is just is not enough seating especially when there are these very frequent delays and there are a lot of unused open areas that could accommodate lots more seating. Impossible to get any food or drink due to the way the café areas are laid out especially when busy. Will never return to this lovely island until they do something about it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 56 Reviews