Fuerteventura Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 23 reviews
4/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"extremely slow journey through customs"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Never have I experienced such a hot extremely slow journey through customs. This is unacceptable, only one person checking passports with long queues and no air conditioning. People very tired and hot and babies crying. Absolute disgrace and has put me off returning.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I have never been so mortified in my life"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I am a non ambulatory wheelchair user, accompanied by my husband. After prompt check in, I was obliged to wait at least 20 minutes with other disabled, before being guided to another place in departures. I was told that I would be contacted at this point, at least half an hour before departure. We went immediately to a refreshment area to buy a much needed coffee, but were sought out by an attendant who told us that we need to be at the departure gate. I told the attendant that I must first use the disabled toilet, and was pressured by him that I needed to be quick. What a joke. I have never been in such a badly equipped disabled toilet, and discovered to my horror that there were no fixed grab rails to help me stand, to pull myself together. Only one wobbly drop rail. I opened the toilet door, knowing that I could pull myself up, using the door frame. Fortunately a lovely attendant was there, and realising my dilemma, she helped me to pull myself together. I have never been so mortified in my life, but she was very sweet. The impatient attendant was waiting for me in the public area. On the verge of tears, my husband calmed me, as we followed the attendant to the departure gate, where we waited for another 20 minutes. It the door of the airplane, I was transferred to a small loading chair and was dragged on board amongst the confusion with other walking passengers. We have used this airport more than 30, and always rated it fairly, but now, a recently disabled amputee, I am disgusted with the whole departure experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"terrible customer service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely terrible customer service. Got frisked twice and kept having to go to the back and queue again for the privilege. All my of things removed so fast still on the tray to another place I didn’t know whether I was coming or going. My belongings were gone and I couldn’t find them. Luckily, I asked a man where they could be and they had been taken to lost and found. My car keys, phone, purse, tablet and Apple Watch. Much to my horror. I was spoken to like a fool and he demanded evidence that they were my belongings. I managed to convince him to let me have my phone so I could prove they were mine.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
1/10

"so rude to me I couldn't believe it"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I am disabled and had just been given a cancer diagnosis by my doctor on the phone whilst in Fuerteventura. I had one of the last two flights that night and had been ill all week. I had mentioned this to the team and said I was very weak as a result and needed a bit of extra help. My flight was due to depart at 21.25 and by 21.00 I found myself in the special assistance area with one other couple who were on the other plane leaving at the same time. 2 members of the special assistance team came over and I asked if someone was there for me. I was told to "calm down and that I had to wait my turn". I had asked in a low voice and was perfectly calmly. I waited another 10 mins and when I looked there were 2 other people in the airport, cleaners!! 10 mins until my flight left and no staff or any way of contacting them. Getting distressed and being in pain the cleaner helped me by going to find someone. Last call for my flight had been announced twice already. When the 2 members of staff arrived they were so rude to me I couldn't believe it. I asked why I had been left and they just laughed at me, it got heated and she stopped pushing me and said "Do you want to walk?" ... I mean really?? That's what you threaten disabled customers with when they are unhappy with service? I tried to get out of the chair as by now I was so upset and felt so belittled by these 2 women, but she pushed the chair so I couldn't, catching my foot and dragging it.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"Very pleasantly surprised by this airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very pleasantly surprised by this airport - especially after our "home" airport of East Midlands. Arrived to find airbridges to the aircraft so no busses or walking across the tarmac, baggage didn't take long and easily found a taxi for the short journey to our hotel. When we departed we checked the bags into a check in area with no one queueing (we were a bit, but only a bit, early) and had a drink outside before going through security. This was a bit confusing - got turned away from one security queue as it was for families - could have been a bit better sign posted. The actual proper security was just behind the check in desks - again, this could have been made a little more obvious. But once through the actual departure area was vast, spacious, and light with 2 outside areas, at least 3 children's play areas, lots of different eating choices and quite a few "duty free" options. Didn't try any eating places so can't comment on prices. Plenty of places to sit and wandering down to the end of the hall there were some deserted and very quiet parts. All in all very pleasant and far better than most in holiday destinations.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"special assistance was terrible"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The special assistance was terrible. On arrival the footplate to our special needs buggy did not come off the plane with the rest of the buggy. We were told it would come off on the special baggage belt which was a long way from where our cases were to come off on a main belt. We waited for over half an hour, until we had to leave to get our transport to our hotel, and it never arrived. It was reported but it never turned up. That’s £30 to buy a replacement. Departure was a joke. Having a priority sticker on our luggage meant nothing. We got to go to the front of the queue and to go down to the plane first. However everyone else was immediately allowed to follow us down and as we had the buggy and needed to wait for the lift, by the time we got down to where the shuttle was, dozens of people were now in front of us. An inept member of staff told us not to board the transport, that we would be getting on a different vehicle. Everyone else boarded the transport then he told us to get on it and we were driven out to the plane. There were no members of staff by the stairs! We had to walk up the stairs carrying our hand luggage, a special needs buggy and our 12 year old disabled daughter. The cabin staff then told us that we shouldn’t have boarded that way, that a special transport should have brought us directly to the door. Well, yes it should but it didn’t and it was incredibly frustrating and depressing to have been dumped at the bottom of the steps like that. Have to admit that we won’t be in any hurry to go to Fuerteventura again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"a speedy service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Excellent airport, very clean and a speedy service especially with two small children. Arrivals very straightforward baggage came quickly and a separate conveyor for our pram. Only a short walk to the car hire. Departure was a quick check in and well managed queue through security. The one massive bonus for us was the in thermal play park with entertained our 2 year old. Overall excellent experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"sky-high prices"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | My main complaint about this airport is the sky-high prices. We have all come to expect rip-off prices at airports generally, but this one takes the biscuit, e.g. a can of Mahou alcohol-free beer costs 50 cents in the supermarket, but a whopping 3.50 euros airside. It is absolutely galling when travellers have spent their hard-earned money on the island that they should be exposed to this last-ditch attempt to relieve them of even more money. My advice is: bring your own (in 100 ml bottles, if necessary!). Also, signage, particularly to the gates, could be better. The security was thorough, but rather of the Soviet variety (still, I've experienced this at Heathrow as well). The outdoor terrace is now covered in artificial grass and is thoroughly tacky: why didn't they leave it be? My recent experience of Tenerife South was vastly more positive, so head form Tenerife instead if you're planning to return to the Canaries!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"absolutely terrible signage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I've never used this website before but feel the need to review Fuerteventura airport as it was a really bad experience. Firstly, absolutely terrible signage. When we arrived we tried to find the bus stop - which is nowhere near where you end up being when you come out of arrivals. One would assume that the bus stop is where 'BUS' is painted all over the tarmac, but no. We watched the bus fly past us and park at a totally different part of the airport. On the return journey - it is totally unclear as to where you need to go to get through security and into the departure lounge. The normal looking security area seems to be cordoned off for use exclusively for domestic flights (inter canaries). We were then sent on a wild goose chase to find out where international passengers go through security. We were given wrong information twice, and eventually found out that access to security is basically hidden away behind one of the check in desks. Security staff very rude and unhelpful (standard I suppose). Here's a crazy idea: How about putting up a sign saying 'Domestic Departures' and 'International Departures' or even crazier, just combine the two instead of having two separate security systems.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"really needs to improve its communication"

(Canada)

Verified Review | The airport is beautiful, but all flights (14) of the afternoon were delayed for more than 8 hours!, and no info was given about that. All people had to wait, still hoping to be able bording. This airport really needs to improve its communication. That's unfair.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 23 Reviews