Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

4 star Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 702 reviews
3/10
4 star Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the worst airport in Europe"

(Switzerland)

Trip Verified | Certainly the worst airport in Europe. I was there in November 23 for a transit. The list of malfunctions is so long I don’t know where to start: 1. Arrival of my plane: no bus waiting on the tarmac to pick up the passengers. It results in 20 mins delay 2. My original flight operated from Lufthansa was 3 hours late. I went to the service desk inside the terminal which was closed. Display sign show a QR code to be used for assistance. It redirects you to a stupid AI chat which is without surprise useless. The second service desk was the floor below with an expected waiting time of 1.5 hours to get assistance 3. Waiting code my connecting flight which was also delayed by 1.5 hours we had to change 3 times gates. 4. Security checks with corporal scanner which should ease and speed up the security check process. Here not only it slows it down but also there is 5 persons after the scanner to recheck everybody. The announcement made by the plane pilot and the gate attendees show their own level of exasperation Pilot: « we are sorry for the bus but this is just to usual in this airport. We escalated to the supervisor but this is the only thing we can do. If you miss your connexion you will be rebooked don’t worry » Gate attendee: « we are so sorry and hope this is the last door change but in this airport you are never sure of anything » If you add to it that the airport is huge and that the gate change force you to run from one side to another is stressful and exhausting. In summary avoid this airport as much as you can to avoid necessary stress and tiredness.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the all-too-familiar delays"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Once again, I find myself amid the all-too-familiar delays at Frankfurt Airport. With a staggering 50% of flights not adhering to their schedules, it begs the question: Is revenue prioritization overshadowing passenger experience? Efficiency and customer satisfaction should be the cornerstone of any world-class airport, not an afterthought. The ripple effect of these delays transcends individual inconvenience, impacting the intricate web of global connectivity. I strongly advocate for a shift in focus at Frankfurt Airport. The goal should be seamless travel, not just financial gain. Management must recognize that passenger-centric operations are key to sustainable success. To the leaders at Frankfurt, let's align our efforts towards enhancing the travel experience. It's high time for a transformation that puts people first, ensuring that punctuality and service excellence become synonymous with Frankfurt Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"one of the most inefficient and frustrating airports"

(United States)

Not Verified | This is one of the most inefficient and frustrating airports. Having to shuttle between terminals and from the plane is highly inconvenient. Plan on an extra 1.5 hours between flights. But for a direct from Denver I would avoid it if given any choice.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"They have moving walkways"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Avoid FRA if you are not a fan of long walks or riding buses. Long walks or riding in the bus is what you may expect to experience in FRA. They have moving walkways but nearly never all of them work.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"worst and miserable airport in Europe"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Frankfurt is arguably one of the absolute worst and miserable airport in Europe. It feels outdated, lacks cleanliness, and the Lufthansa business lounges are so depressing and crowded, it’s more pleasant to find a place at gates that are not being used. The signage can be puzzling, and security queues can be extensive with less-than-courteous agents. Many gates require passengers to board a bus to reach the plane, adding inconvenience. While many criticize Brandenburg Airport, in my opinion, it doesn't quite compare to the horrors of Frankfurt. For peace of mind and mental/emotional health, consider alternatives!!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"numerous mice running around"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very disappointed! Was shocked to see numerous mice running around. Mice traps are placed all over. We had a long lay-over and the mice made it very hard to rest & relax. Why are people not told that the entire airport closes at 11pm? No where to get something to drink, machine not working. Will definitely try not to pass thru Frankfurt Airport ever again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Severe lack of Pharmacy's"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Severe lack of Pharmacy's within terminal one. Apparently one before we entered but definitely not seen due to sheer size and distances travelled between arrival gates and departure gates. Found that the airport had provided reclined chairs in main corridors but too far from any gates to be of use especially as times to next gate unknown.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"worst airport I have ever transited through"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Without exception the worst airport I have ever transited through. Needless extra security having already been screened before previous European flight, staffed by the most obstinate, uncaring human beings you will ever encounter. It's as if they are actually aiming to be as unhelpful and rude as humanly possible. There is no organisation, no fast lane for short connections, no allowance for anything other than a connection time that is multiple hours long. My flight had been delayed arriving through no fault of my own basically leaving at the mercy of Frankfurt airport. God help anyone else who finds themselves in a similar situation. Expect no help or care. You won't get any.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"airport is large and confusing"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | We used this airport for an overnight transit, arriving on one airline and departing on another the next day. We prefer to avoid Frankfurt whenever possible but it is sometimes unavoidable. The airport is large and confusing, since check-in areas are scattered through the terminals and have the same numbering system as gates. Our arrival gate was a long walk from luggage claim and the luggage itself took ages to arrive on the carousel. Signage to the hotel shuttles from the arrivals area was inadequate: we twice had to ask a staff member before we could find the shuttle departure bay. Embarkation the next day went more smoothly, but seating in the gate lounge was very restricted. There are good eating options before security but nothing on airside.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Unbelievably long lines"

(United States)

Not Verified | Terminal 2: Competing to be worse than Heathrow. Unbelievably long lines. We arrived 3 hours before our flight and got to the gate 15 minutes before closure. Very few bathrooms, which were very small and therefore dirty. Not friendly for older and disabled persons
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2023
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no