Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 517 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"awful and inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely the worst airport I have ever been through. I do LHR - FRA weekly and never ceases to amaze me just how awful and inefficient it is. Vorsprung Durch Teknik my foot.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Rude staff, poor service"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Without a doubt the slowest security control I've ever experienced while flying. Even with a fast track the security takes over 45 minutes. Rude staff, poor service and an incredibly stressful airport to fly from.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"whole experience is awful and chaotic"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Avoid this airport unless you have hours to kill and you can cope with stress, the whole experience is awful and chaotic. Myself and friends who travel frequently all agree to one thing, it's the only major airport in the world where you are happy to see McDonald's as it's the only place with edible food and smiling staff.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Incompetent Security at this airport"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | Incompetent Security at this airport. We had 1 hour and 25 min to get from arriving plane to the departing gate. We did not at any point leave the terminal and still missed our flight. First we came to a pasport control and the line was almost not moving. After a 10 min wait all with EU pasport were told to walk to another checkpoint. After that we went to another Security check (we had not been out of the terminal). It was so slow that even though we ran to the gate, the plane had left. We were not alone. So at the moment we are 4 hours late.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"rude and uncaring staff"

(United States)

Trip Verified | My husband and I recently flew to Europe for a vacation. We had a connecting flight via the Frankfurt airport on our way to Amsterdam and then from Basel, Switzerland on our way home. If you want to see how not to run an airport, this is the place to go. On our first visit we got off our plane from Denver and could find no signs to tell us where our connecting gate would be. We finally found someone who told us where we should find our gate. Once we got there, we found that there was one little sign saying what flight would leave from that gate. So far so good. Then our gate changed and we had to find the new gate. Luckily I was keeping an eye on that sign and we got a notification via text that the gate changed. No announcement from the airport. That required us to go through a passport check station even though we weren’t leaving the airport. Confusing! And we stayed in the same terminal. Also rude and uncaring staff. Again, not much signage to direct us and we weren’t the only confused people. On the way back, more of the same. This time we had to get off our plane from Basel onto the tarmac and take a bus to the terminal. That took 10 minutes. Luckily we had plenty of time between flights because once they let us off at some building, we had to figure out where to go next. A very unhelpful and rude woman directed us to terminal Z. Why was she there if it was so hard for her to check her clipboard? A long walk ensued through what looked like a large shopping mall where people kept trying to get us to take flyers for Oktoberfest. Finally to Z! Oh wait! Another fun time through passport control. If your connection was a short time in between, forget it. They do nothing at this airport to make it easy or convenient for passengers. And customer service is the worst. Avoid this airport!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Horrific transit airport"

(Dominican Republic)

Not Verified | Horrific transit airport. Immigration is chaotic, officials send us out of one line down the escalator to another one just to find out the other official (their coworker) extremely rudely just points us back upstairs to another line. He was condescending and down right rude. Then we get in yet another line, behind where we were originally and the immigration official decides to close his line and have the entire line go to the back of a third line. Two hours in immigration just to transit. Then we walk a mile to the other terminal just to find yet another long line going back through security again. Then must walk down then up four sets of stairs twice. Very little seating anywhere and rude staff. Flew in business but next leg (1 hr flight) is Premium economy and we have zero access to any lounges because my arrival via business is worthless once I’m here. Avoid this airport like the plague for transit. Horrible horrible experience.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nasty stressful experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Do not ever ever consider a flight connection at Frankfurt - ever! Absolute nightmare, Lufthansa all flights delayed 1.5 hr connection time slashed to 30 minutes, running through massive terminal never-ending walkways, confusing signage and absolutely no information kiosks, or Lufthansa service kiosks open. City trip to Venice from London fabulous the trip both ways with Lufthansa just hideous all flights delayed, ran over 6km from incoming to outgoing flight gate, only made the flight to Venice because it was also delayed. Delayed not held for connecting passengers. Flight home delayed out of Venice missed our connection to Heathrow - again shocking signage all Lufthansa service counters in the immediate terminal area shut followed signs for km had to exit, service counter staff were great but then had to go back through security to get back to gates? Why why do you not leave one of the other service counters open? Security always a major hassle, we were transit passengers being body scanned again? Why are you forcing us to be used as guinea pigs for staff training on the scanner? I wish oh how I wish I had read reviews on connecting flights at Frankfurt before I booked. I only booked this way because I live near Heathrow. Just don't do it to yourself - my worst experience ever I fly regularly worldwide and have been doing since a child. Just a nasty stressful experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"little or no information"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worse airport ever. Arrived at 6 am from Dubai and little or no information on flights as it was too early for flight information screens. When I asked, an information representative told me to go to C terminals. I go through security, then pass through the boarding pass check. The guard tells me I needed to go to Z that I had to come out of the security area and it was 45 minutes to get there. I get there have to go through security (had just done it in C).
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"use Munich instead of Frankfurt"

(Croatia)

Trip Verified | I have spent 45 minutes in so called "fast track" (first and business passengers) awaiting for the security control heading to Z area at transfer yesterday 28/9/19 morning. Only two rows were offered, it went extremely slow, looked as "white strike". Usually takes 1.5-2 minutes per passenger to put all belongings to the track, but the slowness was driven by the staff there, asking to put each part of the belongings in a separate tray. People at the scanner were mainly jobless, awaiting each passenger to pass this stupid procedure. BTW not sure that security control at this point makes sense (for instance in Munich's airport there is no in-transfer security control anymore if you travel to the US). I am travelling nearly 200.000 Ml per year, used more than 100 airports worldwide, but such sluggishness is never seen. Apparently something is getting worse with Frankfurt airport's staff, since this experience I have never had in my 25 years using this airport. To make entire service complete, nearly half of the luggage at the flight LH 482 did not arrive at Tampa. Suggestion, use Munich instead of Frankfurt whenever you can.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
4/10

"the worst airport to transit"

(Norway)

Trip Verified | Among the worst airport to transit. A lot of walking around through the airport and you can see long queues everywhere. Most of the times you ride the bus to and from the plane. Very tiring process as you have to wait for all passengers to gather before the bus moves. Avoiding interaction with ground service is the best as they are quite rude if you complain.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no