Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 456 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
3/10

"frustrating and lousy airport"

(United States)

Where do I begin on my review on this frustrating and lousy airport? I was expecting a highly organized and well-designed airport and experienced the complete opposite. 1) The signage is terrible. Literally sent me in complete circles and was forced to go thru a security check for a second time as a result. No signs for the bus and how to get to appropriate terminal. 2) Was then forced to go thru a 3rd security check at next terminal! Even though there was a very long line, there’s was only one TSA official working. Ended up waiting over an hour in that line. Funny how over ten TSA employees were milling about doing absolutely nothing. 3) The walks between terminals are extremely long! Thank goodness we had 4 hours between flights as we needed every minute at this annoying airport. Hope I never pass through here again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I don’t care attitude"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I almost missed my flight because of the inefficiencies at Frankfurt Airport. I had to run with Luggage to gate even though it got to the Airport shy of 2h. You have to wait 30-40 minutes to only get your boarding card checking. There were two women at the boarding card check point, one was checking and the other one was talking. The que was massive but they were unimpressed. No option for people who could miss their flight due to delays at airport. Massive massive queue at security as well. There was not fast track you could pay more for which was working or given as option. I asked someone working there saying I was missing my flight and I was asked where are you flying to: I said London and then she said “plenty of flights to London, just get the next one !“ However, I was flying to London city and Heathrow is 2 hours away by car from my house. Also I didn’t know if I had to pay for it myself since it’s not the airline fault the airport is so inefficient. Many people like me about to miss their flight. Then passport control: no automatic gates were working , so que again. I made it after the running sprint from hell. I am never travelling via FRA again. I would take a third world airport over FRA any day. The “I don’t care attitude about you” is rampant and you can tell those people are taking pleasure in passenger pain. Shade!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"avoid this airport if at all possible"

(United States)

Not Verified | I thought the people were pleasant enough, but everything else about this airport was bizarre. We arrived early hoping to get through security then sit down and enjoy a nice relaxing breakfast before catching our flight. So after a 20 minute shuttle bus ride from terminal A to terminal B, we headed straight for the security check point where they asked us to remove an absurd variety of things from our luggage including all cords for our electronics? When we finally got through, I was flagged down by one of the officers and made to open my suitcase, where he found a stick of solid deodorant. He informed me that despite the words "solid stick deodorant" clearly written on the label my deodorant was actually a liquid. As someone who works in science, I was left speechless by his comment-that my solid deodorant is a liquid. I was tempted to educate him on the properties of solid vs liquid state and pop off the lid to show him that this item in fact demonstrated all properties of a solid state but, not wanting to be gross or troublesome, I instead just flashed a puzzled look and said okay. After all, we were still hoping to enjoy a nice relaxing breakfast and I didn't want any further delay. When we finally got through security, we found out that there were no eating establishments on this side of security at all -in fact the only place to buy anything was a teeny-tiny duty free shop. Other than that, there were about 10 seats and a little play area for children-this is where we would spend the next 2 hours. About an hour before boarding, they opened up a larger seating area. I had to show my passport to 3 different people before they let me in - because apparently each person only does one thing - so one person needed to look at my passport, another person needed to scan it, and the third person needed to make sure that it had the proper sticker on it indicating that it had been looked at and scanned. Again it was weird. I would avoid this airport if at all possible.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"there are no water fountains"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The airport is really nice and the staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. However, security is right before the gates and on the other side of security there are no water fountains or shops to refill the bottles you have to empty to get through security. In such a modern airport where there are plentiful water fountains before security and lots of recycling options I find this appalling. Water is a necessity, especially when flights are delayed as ours was, and people should not be encouraged to just buy a new single use bottle every time they need a drink. I was disappointed by what is otherwise a nice airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"A thoroughly unpleasant experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | We arrived from Johannesburg May 27 at gate Z66A at 5:35 am for a connecting flight to JFK Gate C16 at 10:15 am. On arrival we were instructed to walk [miles] to a security line, where our bags were x-rayed, by slow, surly inefficient Nazi types personnel. A thoroughly unpleasant experience. After this security check we were then instructed to walk to B and catch a bus to C. At Terminal C we had a second tedious security check, but the same type of unfriendly, unpleasant, rude, security personnel. After this security check we were told to walk to gate C16 for the flight to JFK. We arrived at the Lufthansa Senator Lounge and were told that we had to go to the Lufthansa Business Class lounge. We went to the Business class lounge and they sent us back to the LH Senator Lounge. Arrival at Senator Lounge at 7:20 am 1h45 minutes after arrival! Exhausted after all the walking and two security checks. In my opinion this is the worst airport in the world for transferring - the security people are slow, if they went any slower they would stop. They are unpleasant, rude, awful Nazi types - may have been transferring on a train to Birkenau! I will certainly avoid Frankfurt Scareport in future, its simply not worth the aggravation and Nazi style attitude
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"zero interest in customer care"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | The staff at Frankfurt have zero interest in customer care, are often rude and have no desire to help out. Crowded buses used for transfers. The driver will break suddenly and you and your fellow passengers will be slammed around. When you finally disembark the bus you will be squeezed via one tiny door into a stairwell, if you need assistance you will need to rely on the good will of fellow passengers as you will get zero help from any FRA staff. The bus transfer is overcrowded and utterly disgusting. Boarding is a mess - queues snake around crowded terminals and the staff have no interest in managing the boarding process.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it’s been a nightmare"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Dublin-Frankfurt-Stockholm. Shocking experience. I had a 50 minute layover in this airport (my travel agent assured me this was more than enough time) and I missed my connecting flight (within the EU). Huge delays as all passengers were bussed to the terminal in the massive network of tunnels and ridiculous traffic. Security staff extremely rude, unsympathetic and dismissive of passengers with short connections to make. Staff were chatting and joking while passengers were waiting to get their bags searched which lead to a delay in throughput. I’m almost certain if I didn’t have to wait so long I might have made my flight. Those connecting within the EU also need to go through extra passport checks. On top of this, I had to sprint nearly half a mile to my gate with no offer of support from ground staff. Given the length of the customer service lines to re-issue tickets it seems to be a common occurrence. Facilities clean and weren’t uncomfortable but will avoid in future for transit - it’s been a nightmare.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Awful airport"

(Russian Federation)

Not Verified | Extremely slow passport control employees. No transit area, you should go through all the procedure and will miss your flight. Awful airport. Never again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"be prepared for a long trek"

(United States)

Trip Verified | The Skytrain is down and there are long waits for shuttle buses. There are also many flights of stairs you will have to carry your bags up and down. The terminals are very long - more than a half mile in some cases - so if you have to run to catch a flight be prepared for a long trek. We missed our connecting flight due to this mess, and would not fly through Frankfurt again.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"This airport is terrible"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Are you for real? This airport is terrible. Here are the highlights: 1. Enormous. Walking forever and ever, up and down stairs, then down miles of halls, the back up, then back down, then more halls, like a mouse in a maze. 2. No air conditioning. Does this need explaining? Especially while hiking 4 miles to your connecting flight. 3. Passport control. Twice. 4. Poor Signage. 5. Lack of variety with refreshment options. If you want a pretzel or some Bulgari jewelry, then you may enjoy it here.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no