Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 559 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"way too little seating space available"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Perfect and fast departure. Airport well lit and good signage. Restaurant choices somewhat restricted and expensive. There are bakery outlets though offering the same as in town for reasonable prices. Walking to the Z gates is quite long. There is also way too little seating space available. It took me less than 20 minutes from check-in to the lounge behind security control. Plus you have showers in this airport. Before and after security control. 6 euros or 8 US dollars including shower gel and towels. I like the airport and am quite astonished reading the other experiences here Public transportation available via buses, long distance trains and local rail.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"signage is poor"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Worst airport experience ever. Security is fragmented, signage is poor, and the design is sprawling and incoherent. Kathmandu airport is a better experience for crying out loud. Shameful for the German people who are known for efficiency. You have a lot to learn from the Dutch! I was questioned (routinely) at check in, at security, and passport control (and more questions!) was performed before I could even sit down at the gate, keeping me from easily exiting and re-entering. Sane airports perform passport control at boarding.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"25 minutes to get through security"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Birmingham to Graz via Frankfurt. Transit at Franfurt was a nightmare. The staff were unhelpful and it took 25 minutes to get through security. Lufthansa claim that you can connect between flights in 60 minutes. this is not possible. Do not think about a transit of less than 120 minutes. Complaining to Lufthansa, they accept that the transit times are often not possible and blame the german government.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Lines long and slow"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | Had in 2 months 3 times the same transfer flights. First time missed it because we needed to go through the security checks again. We arrived 30 minutes late at the gate. We needed to stay one night in Frankfurt. Second time no problems no lines. Third time almost missed it with 5 min. Needed to run across half of the airport. Because the checks took forever. (The airport app did say max 10 min waiting but actually 50 min). Would again not recommend this airport. Lines are too long and slow. They even close one counter of the security checks when lines are long.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"very slow and very inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Baggage claim is very slow. Unless you are one of the lucky 5 or 6 whose luggage comes out first so they can claim to meet their targets, then allow 30-45 mins average. On the way out again, security is very slow and very inefficient. Also unfriendly.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Passing security is slow"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is by far the worst airport I travel through in Europe. Passing security is slow and the people working seem to be on slow strike. Not an ideal airport to use for any flight connections.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"5 hrs more at the airport"

(France)

Trip Verified | Avoid accepting from Lufthansa any transfer between two flights of less than 2 hours. Between doors A to Z and doors C there is a passport control and after a hand baggage control in the middle of the transit area. Lufthansa does nothing to take care of its passengers with short connections when leaving the plane! Suddenly, missed connection and 5 hrs more at the airport.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"This airport needs quality control"

(Denmark)

Not Verified | Flying from Zagreb and arriving in time I lost my connection flight and even the next possible flight due to mismanagement and incompetent staff, resulting in a whole day spent waiting. Transit time from Croatia is miscalculated: A full passport control and yet another security check was required, instead of providing proper transit or at least proper signage, instead an ongoing frustration. Service members failed to see the urgency in time to place me in front of the numbered waiting queue, hence I lost my second connecting flight option. Service members were apparently not well concentrated or lacked skill to do their job at a high level. This airport needs quality control. Toilets are very clean, but what helps this to make up for this messy situation.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"Terrible signage"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Terribly complex airport. Terrible signage. Disgruntled, rude and tired security staff. Long queues and unappealing duty free section. No wonder it takes them more than a decade to finish Berlin airport or Stuttgart train station. Germans can no longer run big public projects. Their decline has started.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"will never return here again"

(United States)

Not Verified | Huge layout that wasn’t very good, a massive security loop of people who appear to be very unfriendly. One nice guard out of the four times I’ve been there who was conversational, the rest were angry and appeared to be confrontational at best. There were several checkpoints for my flight and the one before my return flight home had given me tremendous problems and were unclear in their instructions. My confusion angered them even further and they were so mad at me for not understanding them. Worst of all, they appeared to dislike their jobs and were very bad at doing them. I don’t ever recommend FRA to anyone and will never return here again. They treat human beings like garbage and somehow still have jobs.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no