Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 458 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"extremely rude personnel"

(Greece)

Trip Verified | Very long queues, extremely rude personnel. There were literally 10s of agents at the security checks just chatting and bouncing around, with only 5-6 of them working or helping passengers. Gate personnel? The rudest I have met in my life, who even declined giving me her details to file a complaint.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst airport I've ever visited"

(Austria)

Not Verified | Far the worst airport I've ever visited (and must visit it often). Incompetent, ignorant security personnel. They can not deal with people at all, is this done on purpose? Large queues, too few personnel anywhere: migration, check in, even to buy a coffee - too long “bus” travelling - large distances due to permanent construction. Very bad handling of modifications in the schedule, gates, ways to get to the gates (due to construction, or any other reason of the airport). Usually there is a guy yelling at everyone - uncomfortable, forget it if you have children/s (any age). They make you feel you must apologize for being there, even if this reason is transit. To the staff: you don’t have to smile, you have just to be kind and helpful, that’s why you are there.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"a very bad experience"

(United States)

Trip Verified | It was a very bad experience in Frankfurt. My arrival from Ukraine to Frankfurt was at 8:20 am and my departure from Frankfurt to Houston eas at 10am. When I came at 8:20am in Frankfurt, I got a line to pass a security (Gate-A,Z). It was just crazy! The line had 1500-2000 people, and the security checked every single bag! When I finally passed the security line, I was waiting for my bag. The security person had a few bags, my bag was 5th one. I asked, if he can do it faster, because my departure was in 2 min. I left my bag at the security station (A,Z) because I couldn't lose my flight. I filled out the information "lost and found". The airport wrote an email that they don't know where my bag is. I have never seen something like this 1 hour and 40 minutes was not enough to pass the security. I will never ever go to Frankfurt again!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"make sure there is enough staff"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | FRAPORT does not have it’s Security Control under Control. Can’t be that tough to estimate demand / traffic a few days in advance to make sure there is enough staff there. Incompetent!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"worst major airport in Europe"

(Canada)

Trip Verified | Probably the worst major airport in Europe. I have travelled through the big European airports of Amsterdam, London Heathrow, and Paris CDG, but they all are so much better and modern compared to Frankfurt. The terminal signs all point to different directions. The waiting time at security is extremely long and tedious. The terminals are drab and old. It takes a lot of navigating to go between the two terminals. There are few seats available. Even rarer are places where you can charge electronic devices. Some of the staff the rudest, while a few are friendly. The wifi connection is unstable, and goes on and off.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Delays, lines, chaos"

(Uruguay)

Trip Verified | Avoid this airport at all costs. Delays, lines, chaos everywhere. An hour and a half is simply not enough time to get a connection flight. Flew in from Kraków yesterday. No passenger bus upon plane's arrival (passengers unloaded on to tarmac). Had to wait. Finally get to terminal and run through airport. Have to go through immigration/border control. Not one desk, but two. Finally get through there, and literally have to run again to gate. Once I get to the gate, plane is boarding and they tell me I have to get secondary screening, and man takes me back about 15 gates (where I already ran past) so they can swab my shoes and carry on bag. 15 mins later, again, I run back to gate to barely catch flight (no bathroom break here). Seriously, I didn't go to Frankfurt to work out! Absolutely ridiculous, chaotic, and barely possible. Less than 2 hour layover and you will miss your flight if you have the same encounters I did. No excuse for one of the biggest European airports to be this unorganized. I understand security and have never run into this at Munich, either London airports, or Brussels, or even any American airports. Security is definitely important, but this airport is out of control. Pages and pages of complaints with few compliments, and all complaints are basically the same. Blame the federal police or the airlines - never Frankfurt airport's fault!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"not a lot of signage"

(United States)

Trip Verified | Awful airport. So many queues, too many security check points. I had to queue twice for one of these lines because a security personel forgot to stamp my boarding pass. Easy to get lost in because not a lot of signage, and once you’re in a terminal hall there’s no place to find your connecting flight info unless you walk out to the main hall. Only one charging station, which is also in the main hall.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"endless lengthy queues for security"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The good aspects (clean and refurbished, good shops, nice looking coffee places and potential to be a good Senator lounge) are eradicated and irrelevant if you struggle to get to them. The struggle/barrier is due to probably the worst security queue shambles I have witnessed in years. The airport had (at 4pm, 13/09/2018) endless lengthy queues for security. This was made worse by (unbelievably) shutting further lanes as the queue lengthened. The experience was perhaps the slowest moving and hopeless security process I have witnessed for sum time. Even the supposed Fast Track Star Gold was anything but 'fast' - taking 30 minutes. As its all so slow, the process gums up as people close to missing flights have to jump the queue. Then others get delayed going through and then get late too and create more (needed) queue jumping. I never thought I'd see an airport security process worse run than New York, but Frankfurt has managed to take that crown. (At least the Frankfurt staff were polite, no doubt under considerable pressure as there clearly are not enough of them or machines).
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
no
5/10

"unorganized, endless queues"

(Austria)

Not Verified | I like to fly fra for US and european destinations. Clean, organized, short waiting time at checkpoints. However I was astonished when I flew to Mumbai from c gates terminal 1: unorganized, endless queues, contradictory or absent guides and marks, personnel evidently overloaded and at the edge of unfriendliness. Wifi only per registration.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport to be avoided"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Passengers in transit have to go through security checks - all alcohol bought at the departure airport had to be put in the bin! An hour lost for queue through security checks even though we were in transit! Staff ignored us when we asked to be fast-tracked so we dont miss our connected flight! Rude and unprofessional staff, chaotic and overloaded airport to be avoided if only possible! Never again! My worst experience!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no