Frankfurt Main Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 525 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"A dingy, dirty airport"

(United States)

Not Verified | Very poor experience. A dingy, dirty airport. Long long long lines at Passport control and Security with enormous inefficiencies. Poor access for anyone other than the fittest people. So-called business lounge with limited plugs, uncomfortable seating. Abysmal!
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Waited for more than 2 hours"

(United States)

Not Verified | Worst airport. Waited for more than 2 hours for security check. More than half the people missed their flight. At one point just 2 security lines were open for checking. I was lucky that I was the last person allowed on the next flight. 20 people in my flight couldn't make it though. I will never fly again by Lufthansa.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Queued for 1.5 hours"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Security check into terminal 1 is a joke. Queued for 1.5 hours and almost missed connecting flight. The airports delay indicators measure time between scanning your boarding card at security entrance and when you clear security however the queue extends way into the terminal before the scanner! Chaos at times as people skip through the queue under the barriers, staff allow them to continue without being sent back into line. Will avoid in future or take the approach the experienced do and simply ignore the alarm on scanning boarding card and use the business class security check instead as no staff react to the alarm. Another option if you don't have 2 hours to spare is to simply wait outside the queue, there is a separate line for people in danger of missing their flights, there is a board (which you can no longer see when you are in the queue) that lists flights boarding soon and directs those passengers to an expedited line.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Overcrowded security checks"

(Germany)

Trip Verified | Overcrowded security checks. The problem exists since years and nothing changes. Other airports around the world manages capacities better than FRA. Always nervous of missing my flight if I use FRA.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I'm avoiding forever"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Awful. Rude. Slow. Disorganised and uncaring. And those are the good points. You should be ashamed of the way you treat your paying customers. But you won't be. I'm avoiding forever. Read your reviews.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"uncaring towards me"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff were rude and uncaring towards me. Had a gate change 3 times in 2 hours. Had passed through 2 countries with same passport with no issues and passing through Frankfurt (first time) and security personnel had issues with my passport. When I asked what was wrong with it. Staff accused me of quarrelling to which I indicated as a simple No. She told me to wait at the side and continued to serve all the passengers. When I was last she called me and handed the passport to me to continue to travel.
Experience At AirportTransit
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"security are simply abusive"

(United States)

Trip Verified | First, I would like to stress I appreciate the importance of security at airports around the world. The Frankfurt security folks (SEC) an outsourced security company are simply abusive. Went through 6 security checks over the past 2 week. All others (JFK, VIE, GVA, LYN, MAD, ZRH) the security staff were both friendly, courteous, and professional. The security staff at Frankfurt lacked any type of professionalism. Told one employee that cattle are treated better before being slaughtered. Asked to speak to manager after my encounter. Was simply told he is somewhere over there by two staff members. Nowhere to be found. The review obviously can and will be ignored, surely given other reviews this is a rather common occurrence at FRA. Will simply boycott flying through FRA until the subject is addressed. Hopefully, other flyers will do the same. It may be in the interest of the airlines to address this matter. Hopefully, other flyers will do the same. Airlines and FRA airport GMBH please note passengers are not cattle. We are customers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"So badly organised"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is the worst airport I have ever been to. So badly organised. There were hour long queues just for one person scanning boarding passes when you arrive at the airport, no information and staff very rude and unhelpful. Security is just as badly organised, only a few open out of I think up to 15 with passengers panicking they are going to miss their flights and getting no help from staff. The only enjoyable part was a meal at Deli Bros, great food once through passport control, however beware of ordering still water, the €8.50 bottle for a large gave me the biggest shock when I got the bill! What a scam.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"awful and inefficient"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely the worst airport I have ever been through. I do LHR - FRA weekly and never ceases to amaze me just how awful and inefficient it is. Vorsprung Durch Teknik my foot.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Rude staff, poor service"

(Sweden)

Trip Verified | Without a doubt the slowest security control I've ever experienced while flying. Even with a fast track the security takes over 45 minutes. Rude staff, poor service and an incredibly stressful airport to fly from.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no