Florence Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 22 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"This was an utter nightmare"

(Singapore)

Trip Verified | I was returning to Madrid from Florence on 12 June 2022. This was an utter nightmare. First, the check-in took nearly 3 hours. There was only 1 person at the counter and the queue was moving very slowly. At the stipulated time of boarding and gate closure there was no sense of urgency at all and still a very long line. Secondly, when it was finally my turn they assured me that the plane would wait for everyone (i.e. a delay which was not even announced to anyone at all) thirdly, the flight was delayed significantly because of this long queue. Fourthly, by the time we landed in Madrid, everyone rushed to luggage belt 16 (as announced on the plane) and waited like fools for 1 hour, only for an Iberia staff to appear to usher us to the baggage claim counter. There was no explanation of what was going on. After queueing for 1 hour, we finally learnt from the baggage claim service counter staff that the plane had taken off from Florence airport with not a single piece of luggage. Those with trackers on the luggage have been noted that the luggage is in Florence airport, and yet nothing is being updated yet till today, 24 hours later. I hope you realize what a complete nightmare this is, everyone has important and valuable items in the suitcases and to think we even paid extras to check in our luggage because we were told the flight was full. To all reading this, please never fly off from Florence airport and also be careful about flying via Iberia from Florence airport. There is also no way to contact customer service at Florence airport (only the tourist office picks up the phone), nor is there any platform or email to lodge a formal complaint or feedback. This is why there is probably hardly any improvement, because they just ignore everything. No amount of compensation can make up for the time, inconvenience, fatigue, anguish and emotional stress that something like this is causing. Luggage delays do happen, but if the plane knowingly took off without any luggage they could have at least informed the passengers. (if not at the start, then at the end of the flight) we waited like idiots at the luggage belt what a sheer waste of resources/fuel.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"It is completely unprofessional and a complete disaster"

(United States)

Not Verified | So I write this review mainly as some form of coping with the situation my family is in. We flew into Florence airport 3 days ago. Our luggage was no where to be found. The lost and found office was an absolute joke, under staffed and fairly rude. We were given some paperwork with a promise of a text updating the progress of finding my family’s luggage. Three days later, we have received zero communication. You can’t call because it is apparently open for call for 1 hour a day. Our routine is to Drive to the airport and wait in line with 40 to 50 people with one person trying to help them. We did find 4 of the 7 bags. We are still missing my father in laws heart medicine. When we mentioned the urgency of that situation, the person told him to go to a doctor here. We have been looking forward to this vacation for about a year and it is now ruined by shear laziness and incompetence. We have found out that not one person on our flight from Chicago to Florence got their luggage the day they landed. Please do not use this airport. It is completely unprofessional and a complete disaster.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"airport is truly chaotic"

(Greenland)

Trip Verified | This airport is truly chaotic, I am happy to know now it is closed. There is very little space at the gates making a source for contaminations and contaminants. They still do not have visuals group boarding by numbers, so you have to relay in listening, badly tuned, speakerphones when you have to board, which is extremely confusing due the proximity of exit gates- they should start implementing boarding by. Number soon, if they will reopen, and ensure social distancing to be in place, especially during these difficult times. If you can, select Pisa Airport to come to Tuscany, it is larger, more comfortable, yet not the best either.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a terrible experience"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | I went to Italy and flew into Bologna where I had an amazing experience after which I took a train to Florence and to make my way back to London more convenient I decided to fly out of Florence. Unfortunately I had a terrible experience at this airport. The security staff was extremely rude and arrogant. They do not do their work probably and are not clear about what they want you to take off before the scan. When I made a mistake by leaving my shirt on the lady got mad and annoyed and gave me a very unpleasant and rude attitude. This ruined the whole experience for me and even tho the airport itself is nice, convenient and modern I will never fly from here ever again due to the extreme rude behaviour of the ground staff and I'm sure others will avoid this airport too. The only positive thing was the man that served me in the restaurant looking over the runway. The staff at this place were the only ones that were friendly, polite and nice to everyone.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very poor service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived 30 minutes late to be greeted with an hours wait for passport control. Then another hours wait for a taxi. We were over 2 hours late to our hotel which was extremely disappointing, especially considering we were here for a long weekend. Very poor service.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

Florence Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I had not read previous reviews which was a shame as this was a really painful start to our visit. It took nearly an hour to clear immigration due to only 2 staff working and new equipment not yet up and running.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no one was able to organise a proper line"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | 1 hour queue for the passports. There was only our flight, landed at 11.20 pm. 1/4 of the passengers waiting in the queue outside because no one was able to organise a proper line. A queue among automatic doors. It is embarrassing keeping people with children, luggage, and backpacks for so long, without any reason. Twice I landed in this airport, same Vueling flight, twice it took ages. There is no reason to land in Florence, if in the same amount of time someone can land in Pisa and reach Florence.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"most chaotic and disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Flying for over 40 years through many aiports across the world and Florence airport takes the prize for most chaotic and disorganised. Rude customs staff total inefficiency. Go to Pisa Airport instead never fly from Florence - the airport just cannot handle the number of passengers or size of aircraft it has, delays, cancellations, bumped off flights a regular occurrence.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst airport I have ever seen"

(Netherlands)

Verified Review | This is the worst airport I have ever seen in my life. The Italian airport doesn't serve any wine - instead they send you to the wine shop to buy a bottle. It had only one food spot. If by any chance you are expecting to do some duty free shopping here - please leave your hopes. This duty free only has perfumes and some creams, full stop. If you have a chance to choose another airport - please do so.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2017
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Small and ugly airport"

(Romania)

Verified Review | Not the best gate to reach the wonderful Florence. Arrived from Bucharest on a Sunday morning. Small and ugly airport. We waited for 10 mins. in the plane for the transfer bus, then stayed another 10 mins. in the bus for a 50 meters ride. Then waited in lane for documents control in a tiny corridor, in front of two empty desks (no machines for passports here). The staff arrived after a few minutes who were kind and finally, another few minutes spent for baggage claim and we were able to take the express bus to city center. My advice: for 3 or 4 people, take a taxi.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2017
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1 to 10 of 22 Reviews