Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 168 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"have never seen such appalling service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We have a house in Portugal and come here 3 to 5 times a year for 20 years. Like many many people we were appalled from lack of airbridge and celebrated when it was granted as we love the Algarve and the people. When we landed, we were greeted by a queue that snacked around arrivals with hundreds of people and two people checking our passports! We believe 3 UK planes arrived during this time. The electronic passport checker was closed. I have never seen such appalling service. Does Portugal not want us back. This was around 9pm at night.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"chaotic and disorganised"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Despite paying for Fast Track and business class. The check in was chaotic and disorganised. I wasted my money as I priority check in was non-existent. When I arrived at security regardless of paying for Fast Track there is none. When I questioned security and the on site Information desk they were rude and disinterested. I spent the next 20 min waiting in a queue at security. If you want to be herded and treated like cattle then this is the airport for you, just don’t pay for anything to make the process less problematic as Faro don’t care.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The place is disorganised and unfriendly"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | It’s the worst airport I have ever visited. Today despite a business ticket they would not open fast track so I queued 35 minutes for security. The place is disorganised and unfriendly.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
7/10

"I find the staff cheerful and helpful"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I really cannot understand the continued poor reviews of this airport. I fly, a lot, and this airport is by no means a 1 or 2 out of 10. As someone else has identified, the security on arrivals is rather poor and they do need to address the non-functional e-gates. However, other than that, I find the staff cheerful and helpful, and they are very family friendly (letting us to the front of the passport queue!). Yes, water is expensive, and they should take a lead from others by providing a refill station rather than a vending machine. The duty free area is slightly more expensive than a supermarket for wine, I noted a couple of wine brands that were €2-3 more than Intermarche. It is a bit of a pain going up and down stairs, but I think this is a more of a product of updating the existing design than bad planning. I’ve never had any issues with the lifts or escalators when travelling with the family. Getting better, slowly but surely.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"a very poor example of modern planning"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Faro Airport is a very poor example of modern planning. Enormous, empty halls and outside areas but the facilities and transfer arrangements from check in and baggage drop to departure gate are abysmal. Everything is arranged over different levels and I find the constant climbing up and down stairs very tiring. On 23rd January 2020 after boarding card checks (twice in 20 yards) I headed for the lift to gate 320, lifts not working for able bodied passengers, reserved for several wheelchair users! Escalators out of order! I had to option but to climb about 60 marble steps although it felt like 90 steps with my carry on. On arriving on the next floor I discovered that gate 320 is on the ground floor, another 20 steps down to that. To board the plane there are another 20 metal steps. Why? Why not join the 21st century and build a new Airport on one level?? The Algarve attracts many retired and disabled passengers why was that not taken into consideration when building this new Airport? Only one lift built and that reserved when there are wheelchair users? The Duty Free prices are astronomical as are the prices in the Bars. All in all a very unpleasant experience.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"I don’t think I’ll be returning"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I have just returned from my trip to Portugal and I wanted to just say that based on my experience in the airport I don’t think I’ll be returning. The experience I had at departure was disgusting. I have a severe nut allergy and board with the speedy boarders but was told that I wasn’t allowed and was spoken to in the most disgusting way by the staff. I questioned why and was told I was disturbed people and the flight. I asked for the gentleman’s name and he refused to give it to me. The way that the passengers with special assistance we’re treated from the flight from Faro to Luton was a disgrace and based on this experience I won’t be returning to Portugal.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"lack of any smoking area"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | While out of season and thus not typical, passage through the airport - check in (Jet2) and security - all quick and easy. Facilities all good except the lack of any smoking area. Simply inexcusable. I dislike flying and not being able to smoke I came very close to abandoning my flight and heading for the rail station to return to UK. To compound the insult website says there IS a smoking area, otherwise I would not have come. Disgusting.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rude and inefficient"

(France)

Trip Verified | Availability of restrooms throughout the terminal is the only plus. Terrible attitude of every single staff we had to deal with is the biggest minus. Just rude and inefficient in every possible way.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"many unused unstaffed passport control desks"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We came in on Saturday 28 September at 20.45. I estimate that the queue for passport control was about 1000 people, with many empty desks. Due to my wife's disabilities we were enabled to jump the queue. The situation was the same on departure on 5 October for the 20.10 to Gatwick. There were many unused unstaffed passport control desks.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Awful experience"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Faro must be one of the worst airports in Europe. After arriving on an Aer Lingus flight from Dublin on September 8 2019, we got placed into an overfilled bus. At arrivals, there were hundreds of passengers trying to get through passport control. Only 3 officers were working and the crowd was wild and threatening. Awful experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no