Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 154 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"it is an efficient airport"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | I travel quite often around the world and I have been to many airports around the world. It is shocking to read these “nightmare, chaotic” reviews. I have used Faro airport more than 50 times in the past 3 years. You might have about 15/20 min wait immigration when landing, but that is like anywhere else around the world. You might have to queue for 10/15 min for security but that is like any other airport. I actually find it quite fast comparing to LHR, DUB, LGW, AMS, etc. The security staff are there to make sure you travel in safety just like in any other airport. So don’t be annoyed if they aren’t there to “kiss your feet”. Faro airport is a small airport that has peaks in the summer but it is an efficient airport where the staff are actually really nice if you behave like a good passenger.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Staff are the rudest"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My flight back home was today, August 4th 2019. In a nutshell, this airport should not be allowed to operate in the way it does today. Queues are massive for check-in, security checks and passport control. Staff are the rudest I have ever dealt with in my 40 years of air travelling, and could not care less if you missed your flight or not. It is a shameful way to say goodbye to tourists who fly to Portugal to spend their hard earned cash and sustain the tourism industry there. Needless to say I will most definitely not be setting foot there ever again. Plenty of other countries that care about their guests. Your loss, Portugal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Arrived to chaos"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived to chaos, litterally 100s of people queuing to get through passport control, air con either useless or off, only 3 desks open. None of the automated desks working. Took 3/4 hour to get through passport control then info for luggage belt had been removed so everyone wondering about trying to find their luggage. Left on a sweltering bus with no aircon on departure. Toilets an absolute filthy disgrace for an international airport. Whoever manages this dump should be sacked.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"absolute chaos at customs security"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived in Faro from Aberdeen the last week of May only to arrive into absolute chaos at customs security. There were literally flights queuing to go through the passport control and although there are I think 6 passport control points for exit only 2 were manned. It took literally 3/4 of an hour and more just to get through control. I have travelled through work and play for over 30 years and this was probably one of the worst arrivals, passport controls that I have ever been through. There is no excuse for the delays as this is purely a staffing issue. Nightmare for children, the old and infirm. Fix it Faro!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very chaotic airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Very chaotic airport with very long queues for the immigration/border control. The automatic e gate for biometric passports were not working properly on both ways in and exiting the airport. The immigration/border control staff were very rude and arrogant. The bathrooms were also very dirty for an airport. Very disappointing experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"experience was very good"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We have had previous bad experiences when using Faro airport, particularly whilst undergoing improvements. This time our experience was very good, in all respects, now that the upgrades and changes have been completed. We had a very smooth, arrival and departure experience, utilising the airports special assistance team, which performed admirably in all respects. Making the whole, what can be stressful event, as pleasant as can be possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"I dread having to fly there"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Faro is the worst airport I've ever flown to. I would never fly there except I have family living in the area. The staff are ultra rude and it seems like they all have a chip on their shoulder. Tip: Come to London to any of the airports and learn about customer service. Toilets are vile and smelly. Last time I flew, there were no escalators working, all had to haul suitcases up the stairs. Some people were elderly and struggling. I dread having to fly there.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"The staff are so rude"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I will never travel to Portugal again through this airport. The staff are so rude. Especially at the scanning area. My coat, bag were dumped into someone else’s box before being scanned. She then yelled at me to hurry up, hurry up, slinging the box into my hands and I’m disabled. When I told her she laughed. Ryanair - well that’s another matter. Never will I fly with them again. Paid extra for seats on the way out and still split up. On the way back blank refusal to accommodate us with seats together in spite of being disabled and needing assistance (none given because we didn’t need a wheelchair). This airport circus needs to end.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"arrival area was a shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The arrival area was a shambles on April 20th, no organisation at all people appearing from all directions to get through passport control, apparently a number of flights all arrived at once, but this is no excuse for not having immigration check desks open or broken automated machines, really poor for young families and the elderly who were being pushed and crashed into as everyone pushed to get to the front. Departure on the other hand seems to have been sorted and was a pleasure to go through without issue.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolute shambles"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolute disgrace. Called to the gate numerous times then stood for 40 mins before even opening the gate, in a tiny cramped space. We have now managed to get through the gate only to have been stuck on a bus outside the gate for half an hour with no information and no apparent sign of moving. Absolute shambles. Not a good end to a fabulous time in Portugal.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no