Faro Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 133 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"seems to be operating efficiently"

(Portugal)

Trip Verified | Now that the terminal renovation is complete it looks very smart and seems to be operating efficiently. The 'special Assistance' is always excellent with cheerful employees who look and sound as if they enjoy their work - very important for someone who would really rather be without the need for a wheelchair! Even (compared to reports from other airports) the security staff are friendly and helpful. On departure I was left near a refreshment area - cheap compared to Basel (see my report) until boarding when the lift took me to the aircraft in good time. On return to an air bridge the helper insisted on taking me all the way to the car park and waiting until the courtesy bus arrived. Superb service and I feel lucky to have this standard of service at my local airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"it was a disgrace"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Like a cattle mart we were packed into this area for over an hour with no air conditioning. No water, 1 toilet and it was a disgrace, pee all over the floor. Something will have to be done to solve this problem now. It's not a one off thing, it's on going all the time.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
no
4/10

"embarrassed at my treatment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Baggage check in staff were absolutely lovely and the airport lounge staff were also very accommodating and kind. Unfortunately this wasn’t the case as I passed through into the duty free shop. As I was browsing perfumes which I was looking to purchase I’d taken a picture of the bottle to send to a friend. I was then barked at by a miserable looking lady, being told I was unable to take photos and that I should’ve read the signs before I’d come in, she then proceeded to let every staff member surrounding her (6-7 in total) to ‘keep an eye’ on me which made me extremely uncomfortable and I felt as though I had to leave, which I did. Because of this discomfort I didn’t proceed to buy the perfume and it stopped me from making other purchases from the duty free. Extremely disappointed and sad to say embarrassed at my treatment.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"absolutely no places to sit"

(Netherlands)

Not Verified | Arrival at Faro airport was no problem. Departure at Faro airport was terrible! Long waiting times at the checkin desk (also when you are already checked in and just want to drop your luggage). Customs is going faster than previous years. But then after customs, terrible! Before the renovation of the airport there were in previous years in the main season almost no places to sit but now after the renovation there are absolutely no places to sit! People are sitting against the walls and above in the hallway and on the stairs. When you would like to get some food you have to wait a very long time for drinks, you can use the drinks dispenser. Boarding is fast but after that you have to wait a very long time before the plane leaves. Not enough toilets and very dirty So, we think that the renovation is not well done. Instead of placing more seats they just make 2 parts of the airport and when you are flying in the EU there is no place to sit or to eat.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"Work in progress one feels"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Peak season in the Algarve and departures are getting better at Faro airport, slowly, but surely. The security is still a little ponderous, but thorough, and they have improved the departures area with new bars and shops. A new shared airline lounge is also now open which is much better, light and airy, although a little soulless. Good for a quick snack and drink, but choices are limited. The main issue is that they need more staff on security to cope with the flow of passengers at peak demand. Arrivals is still very slow and despite numerous electronic passport gates being installed, none of them seem to function properly. Work in progress one feels.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"assistance provided promptly and happily"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Having read some of the reviews, we were not looking forward to using this airport, how wrong we were. Asked for and received 'Level 1' support, on arrival the provider 'My Way' was waiting at the gate, prompt progress through border control (did not appear to any delays) and baggage collection. On return, the terminal (afternoon on a Tuesday) did not appear to be very busy, plenty of seats etc. Again assistance provided promptly and happily - only small problem was the were taken via the lift to the top floor and then discovered there was an escalator down the departure gate, seemed very odd but handled well by the staff. Overall a great experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
9/10

"Bags were delivered quickly"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arriving on the 27th of June and Departing on the 5th July, Faro Airport has now entered into its new incarnation as an airport for the 21st Century. After over two years of rebuilding, the building has been extended and extensively remodelled inside. Arriving passengers will see a much bigger Immigration Hall to handle all the Uk and Ireland flights, though Baggage Reclaim was not enlarged. On my arrival there were no queues, just due to the number of arriving flights. Bags were delivered quickly. There were however queues for the Ladies toilets in the Arrival Hall, this facility has not been made bigger. Short walk to car hire and then onto the dual carriageway/Motorway. Departing on the 5th July, the new Security area was open and functioning well. Little to no queues. Once past this area, passengers are separated into Schengen Area and UK/Ireland for the purpose of Passport Control. This again was working well, with a large hall for passengers. Onward into the ANA Lounge which has recently opened. Again functioning well. There are now are sensible number of toilets distributed around the terminal! Having known this airport since 1980 and having used it extensively over the last 18yrs, I was impressed with the thought and work that has been carried out. There will of course be busy times, especially over the July/August months, but it appears in my experience to be functioning well.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
yes
7/10

"queues at security were horrendous"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrival was fairly quick through passport control although we were quite lucky as we were on the first bus, there were about 4 buses after us. I did use the toilets but there was a disgusting smell so couldn’t really get out of there quick enough.Departures it took exactly 1 hour from queuing at check in through to passport control (we sailed through pc) queues at security were horrendous, thought we would be there forever but the security guys were directing people into various lanes, they had everything under control and were organised enough and we were in the departure lounge in an hour. The toilets in the departure lounge are much cleaner than when you arrive at the airport. There was plenty of seats so no problem there, 2 euros for a bottle of water and 7-50 euros for a sandwich. Staff were constantly cleaning up after people, had a look round duty free and didn’t queue at tills for long either.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"the queues were horrible"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Horrible experience navigating the departures section of this airport. We arrived 2.5 hours before our scheduled departure, it took almost 1 hour to reach the first security gate. Bearing in mind this was at 08:00 on a Thursday morning the queues were horrible, god only knows what happens during the peak holiday season. The departures hall was rubbish, absolutely nothing to do for children and lack of seating for most people. I also found the food options very expensive and limited. One of the worst airports that I have experienced in Europe.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"very limited staff on duty"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Airport has been extended and renovated, but is a disaster. Arrival, takes ages to get through passport check, not many booths open, digital passport check does not work. There are no car rental offices within the Airport Terminal, all counters are shut. You have to locate your car rental company in the car park, not signposted. Finally you find a small kiosk in car park4, this kiosk serves about a dozen car rental companies, long queues, arrogant staff. Departure, again arrogant rude staff, same story, slow at passport control and security checks, very limited staff on duty. Hardly any place to sit, very expensive food. A Subway 6 inch sandwich for Euros10! No bridges, boarding by coaches. This is the worst Airport I have ever traveled through.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no