Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 518 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"Chaos at arrival"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Chaos at arrival. Stuck on flight as no staff to support disembarking from plane. Then we start to queue for passports from outside in wet and cold. The entire hall is full taking an hour and a half to clear. We are lost for words, Edinburgh airport was once a great airport. Is this another ruse from the airport to encourage passport fast track to squeeze more money from travellers?
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"another chaotic arrival at Edinburgh Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Once again another chaotic arrival at Edinburgh Airport. After exiting the aircraft and walking for what seemed miles we had the delight of border control, 2 border force officers for the entire aircraft and 5 automatic passport readers these passport readers are great if you have the brains you were born with and can actually follow the on screen instructions, about a third of my fellow passengers did not have a clue resulting in long waiting times to access them only after several failed attempts were they sent to the border agent. One border agent was very diligent (slow) whilst the other looked like he wished he was elsewhere. After border control we had the delights of baggage reclaim upon exiting the aircraft I noticed the lack of ground crew so knew we were in for a long wait for bags and I was not wrong. Edinburgh airport get a grip, this once was a great airport to travel through and now it is a nightmare but give them there due outward bound was slick bag drop 2 minutes and about the same for security but overall still a 1 star rating.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"Arrival was awful"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departure was OK although toilets were not very clean. Arrival, on the other hand was awful. Having been stuffed on to an overcrowded bus, we were unable to get into the building for 20 minutes as several planes had arrived at once and there were too many people to fit into space. Fortunately, it was sunny rather than raining! The queue through passport control was awesome and only 3 booths were open for all those flights. The electronic machines did not seem to be working. After a very slow start, eventually staff were brought in to direct the passengers to checking desks and machines. One through, we found the floors to filthy and the toilets dirty. There was no toilet paper in a n7mber of toilets although plenty on the floor and my husband found that one of the urinals had been used as an ashtray! We were arriving from Vienna and felt embarrassed to see our Austrian visitors experience such poor conditions. Vienna airport is very clean and passport control was quick and easy.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Just an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Just an embarrassment. Sat on tarmac for 10 minutes. Then shuffled up three flights of stairs. Then down two flights of stairs only to queue for 50 mins to get through immigration. Then 20 minute wait for bags. Ridiculous.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"lots of Jet2 staff available to help"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Brilliant service given by Jet2 staff at Edinburgh airport on arrival and departure. Young man on departure was very helpful as never used airport before. On arrival lots of Jet2 staff available to help. Straight through to luggage collection. Collected luggage within minutes. Would use airport again. Duty free area and facilities available were brilliant.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"Do not recommend"

(United States)

Not Verified | Awful waits and crammed, put too many people in one bus where people were squished to the sides. My bag was small enough to carry on and they had me check it when I got on the plane even though there were bags twice the size of mine being let through. Do not recommend, take a train.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"If you can avoid, do so"

(United States)

Not Verified | We thankfully arrived almost 3 hrs early, to utter chaos. Hundreds of people, all siphoned thru 1 set of doors into a worse area of security. What a circus, 1 belt to push luggage thru. Took personal items items out of clear plastic baggies to put into a different clear plastic bag, for what?! Waste of time. So poorly designed. Arrive 3-4 hours early to get thru this mess. Also filthy dirty, small piles of dirt and garbage in the corners. Barely made our flight. Need an intercom system as well!! To call flights, final boarding etc. even the restaurants are minimal & super slow. If you can avoid, do so. Go to London if possible. Nightmare that compares to the airport chaos in India, except India is clean. So stressful. Entire airport needs a redesign. And a mop.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Airport is utterly filthy"

(Canada)

Not Verified | Airport is utterly filthy. Everything broken, toilets stink and unclean, soap and paper empty. Staff are bad tempered, ignorant, and slow. Try and fly Glasgow if you can, it's a much better airport!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"wait in excess of 1 hour to get our bags"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Once again we find that we have to wait in excess of 1 hour to get our bags. This is certainly nothing to do with Covid as pre-pandemic we experienced the same poor standards from the baggage handlers. This puts us off flying to Edinburgh Airport We are frequent flyers that go away 9 times per annum.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"No ground staff to be seen"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived on a delayed KLM flight from Amsterdam. Left the aircraft onto a jet bridge, routing us downstairs. No mention of the dreaded bus transfers in advance from the cabin crew, but it’s Edinburgh Airport, you knew it was coming right? This time they decided to have a wee laugh with us at 12.20am, by initially pretending we were going to use the jet bridge. We walked down the steps and corridor taking us downstairs to the apron. It looked like it had recently been taken back from the rebels during the Scottish War of Independence, and, now safely back in Government control, they had decided to quickly get flights going again rather than bothering with any repairs. Missing, open ceiling panels, peeling paint, cables hanging down in the voids. The American tourists from our flight looked confused. Someone had clearly told them that Scotland was a modern, Western European country. Yet, somehow, they’d landed in an airport that the authorities in Entebbe, circa 1973, might have considered marginal for use. Access to the apron outside after the wrecked corridor was achieved by some grubby, wet steps but these were mysteriously barriered off. No ground staff to be seen. We looked out on our plane as it glistened in the light. Now feeling like a collective passenger team, and with a rising fear for our wellbeing, we mounted an escape plan, returning up the strafed corridor again to the jet bridge. Naturally, the access door to the terminal on the main jet bridge was also locked. There were still passengers stuck on the plane at this point due to the lack of space on the jet bridge and in the corridor. Over 10 minutes had passed. The Americans looked panicked. What was happening? What did it all mean? We Scots, knowing Edinburgh Airport of old, tried to reassure them. It’s not a kidnap plan fellow travellers, it’s just the usual epic, spectacular, never ending abject incompetence and bungling that Edinburgh Airport prides itself upon. Suddenly a man appeared on the jet bridge in a reassuring hi vis vest and lanyard. While clearly off sick during initial customer service training, (a common problem at Edinburgh Airport), he mumbled something about buses and going back down the pummelled corridor to the buses. This time the barrier had gone and we saw the buses about 20 feet from the slippy steps. Most appeared to make it down and into the buses alive. The passengers left on the plane slowly trooped off and down to the buses. More time passed. By this time we were 25 minutes in and still at the gate. The buses grew more and more packed as people boarded. I idly remembered that I really still need to lose the lockdown weight this time, as I was squashed into a corner. Suddenly the bus doors closed and we moved off. After a few minutes we pulled up on a strange prefab cattle shed. It turns out that this is Edinburgh International Arrivals Hall. I’ve capitalised it to reflect the full splendour of the facility. A bit of an issue that arriving passengers are dropped off the bus into a narrow walkway and puddle. Is any surface actually level in this airport? There was initial confusion. Is this international arrivals? A narrow doorway into a cattle shed? Yes, indeedy. We made our way in, buckets on the floor catching the drips from the leaking roof. We approached the UK Border apprehensively, wondering if we might yet be home before sunrise. They were quick and efficient in fairness. We made our escape from Entebbe again, hopefully never to return.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no