Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 468 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"no seats available"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | I had to spend some night hours there. There are no seats available, we found some place in the bars upstairs but were soon asked by the security guards to leave them and spent the night at Starbucks at the ground floor. Airport was very cold and did not offer any seats or chairs or anything we could use. Worst airport ever visited!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"toilets had not been cleaned"

(United Kingdom)

Flew in from Stockholm today and used the ladies toilet in the baggage hall. At 6 pm it was disgusting with used towels and soiled nappies littering the facilities. According to the cleaning schedule the toilets had not been cleaned since 3pm. Welcome to Scotland and Edinburgh the capital
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Edinburgh is one of the most shambolic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | An embarrassing first impression for anyone visiting Scotland. I arrived home today after flying around Australia for the last month, and came back to Edinburgh via Doha. I've been to my share of airports around the world in my life and Edinburgh is one of the most shambolic. Rude, unhelpful staff who don't appear to know what to do mutter to themselves as they reorganise the retractable tape barriers - putting people from the back of the queue into the middle of the queue. I asked a member of staff why she was doing this and was aggressively told that she had good reason to. Approximately 4 or 5 planes had arrived at the same time, full of passengers from around the world (obviously), but the signs are only in English, which ensures optimum confusion. Fellow passengers were complaining quite vocally as they were herded through the total mess that was passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most disorganised and shambolic airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having travelled the world I can honestly say that Edinburgh airport is the the most disorganised and shambolic airport I have been to. I am very proud to be Edinburgh born within one of the most beautiful cities in the world however the airport is appalling. The car park spaces are so tight that once parked you can’t get out. Once you have managed that the lengthy check in queues await with subsequent queueing for the bag drop which is at the other end of the airport! One hour and 50 mins in total so be warned! Seriously gurus get your act together, it’s fine the world over!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"total absence of Edinburgh Airport staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | At present, Edinburgh Airport has replaced its normal luggage conveyor belt with what might be described as a "human conveyor belt" leading to a single bag drop off point. Yesterday, fortunately having checked in two hours early, my wife and I then formed part of that, taking an hour to reach the bag drop off point. All the time, airline check-in desks downstream were allowing passengers arriving later to filter into the queue ahead of those who had already been in it for some time. Understandably, tempers were frayed and there were some ugly scenes. The matter was made worse by a total absence of Edinburgh Airport staff policing the queue. (They were probably keeping their heads down). This has apparently been going on for some time, and is likely to continue to do so. The knock-on effect is delayed flight departures, but creating one single channel for passengers with tagged luggage to move slowly along must also present a health and safety problem. Edinburgh Airport Authority should be totally ashamed for treating passengers like cattle.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the management is atrocious"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff are fine, but the management is atrocious. I feel sorry for the staff and the trouble they get, which is caused by incompetent management. This airport has serious issues with the low number of check in desks, and the removal of the baggage conveyer and an additional queuing system to drop of your bags. It’s gone back in time. I saw passengers getting stressed and aggressive, flights being delayed due passengers not being processed quick enough. The security system is very good, but check in takes hours of standing in queues, watching some people jumping to the front is annoying. We used to get flights from Aberdeen, but have to use Edinburgh due to the limited flights from Aberdeen, but we will look at Glasgow now. Edinburgh is a really bad experience and we don’t want to go back. The parking and other costs are mental. This airport is a total embarrassment to Scotland, and I feel ashamed of what people from other countries will think of this circus they call an airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a really badly organised airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This is a really badly organised airport. Not enough check in desks, and to add to that some genius in their management decided to take away the baggage conveyer and make another queue. People were getting aggressive and flights were being missed. I am going to go out of my way to not use this airport again.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"charges are increasing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Pick up / drop off charges are increasing almost every month. One of the most expensive Airports in uk, in 5 months prices have doubled, and in December 2019 pick up price is 5£ for up to 15mins.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the experience of traveling become a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I moved to Scotland 3 years ago and was nothing but pleasantly surprised by the amazing approach of staff from Edinburgh Airport, very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately since my last two experiences in November 2019 and December 2019 the experience of traveling become a nightmare. Having a member of staff screaming at passengers during a security check what is and not allowed, let alone, having a male member of staff going through my bag without asking and throwing things away from it and literally searching through women's hygiene products is not a pleasant thing. I wish people would have more respect and decency and treated passengers in a better way, not like cattle going for a slaughter.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"found the assistance was first class"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I need assistance and I found the assistance was first class from the moment of arrival to my departure. I was looked after, I had no breakfast and they got me something to eat and drink this is the first time in all my years of using the assistance that I was treated so well. Well done Edinburgh airport you get five stars from me.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes