Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 398 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
2/10

"A national embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Passing through this congested, scruffy, confusingly signed terminal for the last time this year. A national embarrassment. I’m unfortunate to be a regular user. The place is poorly designed and managed in almost every way. It is so sad that visitors to Scotland get their first impressions formed by this dismal place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"refused to answer my question"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | A very poor airport. The security staff are some of the rudest I have come across and physically waved my belt in my face and shouted at me as it had beeped the scanner The belt in question is an old favourite, I wasn't asked to remove it at any time by Edinburgh Staff, favourite belt has passed through Gatwick on the outward journey without being removed and has previously not been removed at Gatwick, Heathrow, Melbourne, Sydney, Lisbon, Seville & most of Europe. When the "belt policeman" had calmed down and finally given me my belt back after waving it around, I asked why all UK airport scanners werent set the same. The angry response was that he didnt care about Gatwick, this was Edinburgh and then refused to answer my question. Well, all I can say, I'll be glad to get back to a real airport such as Gatwick and not the toytown experince of Edinburgh
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"toilet door missing"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Came off Portugal flight to use toilet at luggage pick up to find toilet door missing on cubicle. Also no toilet paper available this is deplorable powers at be should hang their heads in shame.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"airport clearly doesn't care at all"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrival at this airport is shockingly bad. Bus transfers are usually with two buses. Rather than filling one and leaving while filling the second (what most airports do) they actually wait until all passengers are out before leaving. Thus all arrive at passports at the same time, resulting in longer queues than needed. Luggage delivery takes forever as well. I've been at many much larger airports that do it in half the time. Often arrivals take me more than 30 mins - hand luggage only. It's genuinely sub standard and incredibly poor. The problems have been known for years, but the airport clearly doesn't care at all. Unfortunately I have no alternative, as I live here, so I have to use this bad airport. But if you can avoid, do.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"it is worse now than it ever was"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Been travelling through this airport on a regular basis for 30 years and it is worse now than it ever was. The security staff are quite simply a “bunch of morons” with absolutely zero manners and even less customer service skills - where do they get these people from? Edinburgh Airport should be seriously concerned about the Management of this Airport - 3 times recently I have arrived back from outside the EU / collected bags / and walked straight through Customs without seeing a single Security Officer, meanwhile upstairs, going out of the Country, the Security staff are “super-hyper” over a mobile phone in your pocket! This is incompetence and puts everyone at risk - Airport staff are quick to tell us that Security Procedures are for our own safety - so why no-one at customs? I’ve never seen a single improvement in this area at Edinburgh Airport over all this time and probably never will because It’s “all hype and no action” - delivered by morons who don’t listen / care!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Chaotic, expensive and rude staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This airport makes my blood boil just thinking about it and absolutely dreading it, everytime I have to fly from and back to it. Chaotic, expensive and rude staff who think they have got something to say, but truly uneducated and most of the time lost themselves, but always making sure, you as a passenger/client understand they are allowed to talk to you in whatever way they want. Pathetic! Queuing times at security is beyond ridiculous and the random baggage check results most times, two staff taking their time to go through one bag, while having a happy chat with the passenger, including stopping the search for a second to continue their private talks. Incredible to watch. Everytime. On arrival, immigration sometimes has 2 or 3 staff for 2 or 3 aircrafts passenger. Mind blowing! But hey, as long as they rip that one pound coin out of your pocket everytime you drop or pick someone up with your car, they dont care, right. On many occasions, I came back on one of the last flights into Edinburgh and they seriously told the crew to tell us passengers, the ground crew forgot there is a last flight coming in and they have to get the crew on the inside of the building first. Like I said, I live in this gorgeous city, but this airport is an utter joke. But they praise themselves with ads like, most destinations to fly to, but absolutely behind in organised infrastructure for the mass of passengers for all these flights.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very poor"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Flying on a Friday evening so expect the terminal to be busy. But some toilets closed putting pressure on others. Poor sign posting to indicate this. Toilets that are working are very busy and extremely dirty. Very poor. Limited seating available other than in cafes/bars.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitNovember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Security was a mess"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On arrival, there's no seperate area for domestic arrivals from departures and it gets very crowded with the arrivals going through departures. Bagged reclaim was chaotic and was a very long process. After that the taxi area etc was ok. On departure the check in hall was awful. The BA part was shoved in a weird location with a very basic old style self bag check-in. Security was a mess. Staff were rude and the departures area was awful with the narrowness no staff to help and not many seats available but the ones available were very hard. Both lounges were canteenish and not very nice.all restaurant were too busy and more facilities is needed. The best part was taking off and leaving the airport behind.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"do not appreciate being bullied around"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | How is it possible that employees can be so utterly unfriendly. There was one guy shouting, ordering where to stand on a number at customs. It was no 'madam', no shouting the number, ordering. The guy also didn't look representative at all. If he was my son I would be ashamed for him. Train these people to become a wee bit more friendly. This shouting almost made me sick. I'm suffering from side effects from a stroke. But there's many people travelling with invisible illnesses, conditions. We do not appreciate being bullied around.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a shambles at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arriving back to Edinburgh Airport on Monday 8th October, flight LS736 from Madeira, I expected the usual chaos and was not wrong. It took ages to disembark buses for passport control. As there were around four European flights which arrived around the same time, it was a shambles at passport control. Extremely rude staff barking orders at passengers and an inadequate area for the volume of people going through. Then, surprise, surprise, one carousel was alloted for these flights. We waited nearly 50 minutes for our luggage to arrive and needless to say, there was no sign of staff in the baggage area. Every time I arrive back to Edinburgh, it is a similar shambolic experience. Surely, management must be aware of passengers anger at the deficiencies in customer service. Edinburgh is termed as an international airport. I don't think so.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no