Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 472 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the Rip Off Airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The Edinburgh Airport also known as the Rip Off Airport charges GBP 2.00 to any car going through their drop off zone. However, if you need to pick up your loved ones, you pay GBP 5.00 for driving through their pick up zone even though you are gone in 1-2 minutes. These charges are also added to taxi fares as taxi must pay to the airport. To make sure you are ripped off, you face a penalty GBP 100.00 for picking up your family in their drop off zone and paying “only” GBP 2.00. All public transport tickets are 3 x – 4 x higher to EDI Airport than to any other stop in the area due to airport charges. Tram ticket is 1.80 to any stop in the city except airport which is 6.50. Moreover, the Airport is using an unscrupulous company to collect GBP 100.00 for picking up in drop off zone which is intimidating and threatening you with increased charges if you appeal and when you don't pay. They never read any appeal and refuse to communicate. The Edinburgh Airport is fully responsible for using unscrupulous company with such unethical conduct as their contractor.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"staff were surly, rude, arrogant"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Came thru Edinburgh customs today and staff were surly, rude, arrogant and felt the need to impart what little control they had by being rude to everybody who came through! After instructing me to take my handkerchief out of my pocket as this caused an issue - when questioned, the gentleman at customs decided to “offer me outside”! Class act and not an advert for the city of airport - would like to be a lot ruder and cutting about the staff, but that would lend this honest review less class!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shambolic baggage management"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Simply shambolic baggage management. They decided to "enhance" baggage check in at passangers cost. Absolutely pitiful system or, in fact a lack of system. Total chaos. Arrived 2.5 hrs before flight- 2hrs queue to have your baggage checked in and collected- you will be put in a queue with all your luggage and staff will try to identify travelers who are about to departure (20-30 min before flight departure time). This is a nerve wracking experience.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
10/10

"staff are pleasant and efficient"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Travelled with family and 3 month old baby, although undergoing renovations to check-in baggage handling this is still a great airport to depart from. Travelled though 12 Dec 2019, check-in was flawless and simply best family lane at security with great staff who make the process so stress free which is in contrast to many other airports so easy to see why airport is increasing passenger numbers yearly as staff are pleasant and efficient.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"no seats available"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | I had to spend some night hours there. There are no seats available, we found some place in the bars upstairs but were soon asked by the security guards to leave them and spent the night at Starbucks at the ground floor. Airport was very cold and did not offer any seats or chairs or anything we could use. Worst airport ever visited!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"toilets had not been cleaned"

(United Kingdom)

Flew in from Stockholm today and used the ladies toilet in the baggage hall. At 6 pm it was disgusting with used towels and soiled nappies littering the facilities. According to the cleaning schedule the toilets had not been cleaned since 3pm. Welcome to Scotland and Edinburgh the capital
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"Edinburgh is one of the most shambolic"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | An embarrassing first impression for anyone visiting Scotland. I arrived home today after flying around Australia for the last month, and came back to Edinburgh via Doha. I've been to my share of airports around the world in my life and Edinburgh is one of the most shambolic. Rude, unhelpful staff who don't appear to know what to do mutter to themselves as they reorganise the retractable tape barriers - putting people from the back of the queue into the middle of the queue. I asked a member of staff why she was doing this and was aggressively told that she had good reason to. Approximately 4 or 5 planes had arrived at the same time, full of passengers from around the world (obviously), but the signs are only in English, which ensures optimum confusion. Fellow passengers were complaining quite vocally as they were herded through the total mess that was passport control.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the most disorganised and shambolic airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having travelled the world I can honestly say that Edinburgh airport is the the most disorganised and shambolic airport I have been to. I am very proud to be Edinburgh born within one of the most beautiful cities in the world however the airport is appalling. The car park spaces are so tight that once parked you can’t get out. Once you have managed that the lengthy check in queues await with subsequent queueing for the bag drop which is at the other end of the airport! One hour and 50 mins in total so be warned! Seriously gurus get your act together, it’s fine the world over!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
1/10

"total absence of Edinburgh Airport staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | At present, Edinburgh Airport has replaced its normal luggage conveyor belt with what might be described as a "human conveyor belt" leading to a single bag drop off point. Yesterday, fortunately having checked in two hours early, my wife and I then formed part of that, taking an hour to reach the bag drop off point. All the time, airline check-in desks downstream were allowing passengers arriving later to filter into the queue ahead of those who had already been in it for some time. Understandably, tempers were frayed and there were some ugly scenes. The matter was made worse by a total absence of Edinburgh Airport staff policing the queue. (They were probably keeping their heads down). This has apparently been going on for some time, and is likely to continue to do so. The knock-on effect is delayed flight departures, but creating one single channel for passengers with tagged luggage to move slowly along must also present a health and safety problem. Edinburgh Airport Authority should be totally ashamed for treating passengers like cattle.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the management is atrocious"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The staff are fine, but the management is atrocious. I feel sorry for the staff and the trouble they get, which is caused by incompetent management. This airport has serious issues with the low number of check in desks, and the removal of the baggage conveyer and an additional queuing system to drop of your bags. It’s gone back in time. I saw passengers getting stressed and aggressive, flights being delayed due passengers not being processed quick enough. The security system is very good, but check in takes hours of standing in queues, watching some people jumping to the front is annoying. We used to get flights from Aberdeen, but have to use Edinburgh due to the limited flights from Aberdeen, but we will look at Glasgow now. Edinburgh is a really bad experience and we don’t want to go back. The parking and other costs are mental. This airport is a total embarrassment to Scotland, and I feel ashamed of what people from other countries will think of this circus they call an airport.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no