Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 407 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"major delays to retrieving baggage"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Yet again we had major delays to retrieving baggage on Saturday 9th Feb 8pm Flight LS746 from Fuerteventura. We travel regularly and have experienced major baggage delays at the airport as have our family who live in New York and travel to Edinburgh. An hour to the carousel bringing our luggage - passengers from Innsbruk waiting 2 hrs. Not good enough especially as it occurs regularly. Our Jet 2 contact was fantastic at the carousel, taking complaints from all passengers from various airlines. She was the only rep - 6 flights coming into No. 7 carousel at the same time. Absolutely diabolical and all sorts of excuses which changed as time passed. Come on Edinburgh, you can do better than this. Get it improved! Well done Jet2. Your airline and Customer Service are first class.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"agree with all the negative reviews"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I agree with all the negative reviews of this airport. It must be one of the most drab and overcrowded airports in the UK. It is indeed a national disgrace. From sullen check in operatives to a security person who clearly did not achieve his childhood ambition of being a drill sergeant, this was a bad experience. Why are airlines favoring this airport over Glasgow International which has pleasant operatives within a much more spacious environment? One has a compulsory long walk through ‘a shopping precinct’ called ‘duty free’. Avoid if possible is my best advise.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the world's worst"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Edinburgh Airport is arguably one of the world's worst major airports for passenger convenience. Where else do most flights entail walking down steps from the plane, across the tarmac (usually in the wind and rain - this is Scotland after all), then up three flights of stairs, then a long walk with only one moving walkway serving a portion of the airport (and only going in one direction) then down three flights of stairs to a crowded baggage claim (one elevator only available)? It is a national disgrace! Yes, lots of shops - but the major purpose of an airport is to enable passengers a stress-free hassle-free travel experience. Are they aware of that? And the new exit arrangements entail a 10 minute longer walk from the main gates adding some 15% extra travel time from London to Edinburgh - clever planning! And the passenger drop-off area entails leaving via narrow lanes with ridiculously high curbs ensuring a good chance of serious vehicle damage (which occurred in my case).
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"another poor experience"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Once again, another poor experience at Edinburgh Airport. These security staff are absolute morons! You can’t even ask these people a question without them insinuating that you have an “attitude”. It is perfectly reasonable to ask them why an “airport approved” toiletries bag is seemingly not acceptable when you arrive at security. But apparently that constitutes an “attitude”. Never mind that I have travelled x5 in the last year using the said “approved bag”. Give some people a uniform and a little bit of power eh! I don’t know about anyone else but I am angry and offended by the attitude and the way that they speak to passengers! 1 There is no need for it, 2 It is downright discourteous and shows a lack of basic manners and professionalism ! It’s high time the Airport done something about these cretins or don’t they care either?
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"with no customer experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Abysmal - the airport see customers as cash cows only and do not deliver the services promised. For over two years now their ‘fast track’ purchased with parking has led to their staff break room, where you have to load several security trays with your belongings then carry them through a security line as they do not have an area where you can organise your trays and put them into the conveyor belt at once. This is shared with all staff arriving to work at the airport and incredibly slow. In the main hall if you go through ‘fast track’ there isn’t even a dedicated scanner - just a place to stand? A total joke. And once you’re through forget about moving anywhere quickly. You are herded through the duty free at 0.1 mile an hour behind hoarded of customers staring at booze and perfume. Edinburgh airport is a compelling argument against monopolies, designed with no customer experience whatsoever in mind, and to maximise profit at every step. And, staggeringly, they keep finding ways to make it even worse.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"90 minutes to retrieve my bag"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived at Edinburgh Airport on BA1454 from Heathrow on 21 December 2018 having travelled from Melbourne, Australia with my husband. No delays or problems on all legs of our journey until we tried to collect our bags! It took the airport 90 minutes to retrieve my bag and managed to lose my husbands bag! His bag was eventually found and returned 2 days later. There were no announcements or messages at the airport to explain the reason for the delay and my parents, who were waiting to pick us up, also received no information. The problem was clearly a lack of ground baggage handlers. Maybe they were at their Christmas party? Absolutely pathetic. What an embarrassment for Scotland. If I choose to return I shall travel to Glasgow!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"total shambles once again"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arriving once again into Edinburgh Aurport, treated like cattle, nothing working and total shambles once again! It’s a disgrace to Scotland, it’s like arriving into some third world country! Baggage system now broke down, when we landed the footbridge was broken, the passport control a shambles. The senior management should be ashamed and need to get their act together. Each time I travel in and out of Edinburgh the experience is always the same, total shambles!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"one of the worst"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I pass through Edinburgh airport every week and also travel frequently through airports all round the world. Edinburgh airport is one of the worst and just gets worse and worse. Why? 1. Security is slow, long queues even for Fast Track and security staff are generally rude, abrupt and aggressive. 2. You have to walk through a shopping centre every time you pass through. A nightmare for the business passenger who wants to spend as little time at the airport as possible. 3. If you do want to buy duty free the queue at the check out can be 20 minutes +. Allow time. 4. Litter bins outside are regularly full and overflowing. 5. As a family we arrived at the old international arrivals with four 20kg bags. No trolleys. A regular occurrence according to the customs staff. 6. Slower than Heathrow and Gatwick for checked luggage to arrive. Fact. 7. A mass of crowds throughout the terminal with congestion in the corridors. 8. A new domestic arrivals exit that means a long walk from the majority of the arrival gates. 9. Congestion going down the set of stairs at the domestic arrivals exist can be bad. 10. Auto park pilots for aircraft often don’t work - at least 3 or 4 times a year. 11. Regular delays after landing until you reach the gate. 12. Regular delays in boarding as steps or air bridge not working properly. The list goes on. Best to enter Scotland via Glasgow or go to London and take the train.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJanuary 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"quite frankly an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately I have to travel from this airport on a regular basis. As the 'gateway to Scotland' it is quite frankly an embarrassment. Congested waiting areas, terrible access roads and mediocre facilities. It once took me longer to drive from the airport car park to Glasgow road, a distance of less than 1km, than the flight from Brussels to Edinburgh. The only positive is the multi-storey car park which makes accessing the airport relatively straightforward. I have numerous experiences I could share from being left on a bus on the runway for almost 45 mins while they tried to find steps for the plane, to being stuck on an incoming flight for half an hour while they tried to find someone to open the door to let us into the airport. However, I'll just stick to the most recent episode. Last night's experience consisted of arriving into the shiny new UK border area at the same time as one other flight. A faulty passport chip meant I had to join the end of the long queue to use the manned border control, which only had three members of staff working. After waiting in the queue for 30 minutes it was finally down to about three people when another two border staff decided to appear and open another two lanes. Nice one. Finally, I noticed that J Summers reported (below) that a toilet door in the men's at the baggage area was missing on the 29th November. I can confirm that the toilet door was still missing on 19th December when I was in there. Wonder if they'll ever get round to fixing it..
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"A national embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Passing through this congested, scruffy, confusingly signed terminal for the last time this year. A national embarrassment. I’m unfortunate to be a regular user. The place is poorly designed and managed in almost every way. It is so sad that visitors to Scotland get their first impressions formed by this dismal place.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no