Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 483 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"Restaurants and shops closed before 6pm!?"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | I used to travel a lot through EDI Airport, but now the first time during the pandemic. Arrival in the early afternoon was as usual, passport and custom control quick and efficient. Departure was at 19.30 and I arrived 3 hours ahead of time. It was not possible to do any check in before 17.05. There are no waiting possibilities in the airport before check-in! After security I wanted to do eat something and do some shopping. Was shocked to see that Restaurants and shops closed before 6pm!? Although the Restaurants were completely full and guests were plenty! It‘s just ridiculous to open the airport again and close all services in the most frequented time period.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an embarrassment as airport of our capital city"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely atrocious and an embarrassment as airport of our capital city. Only place to eat was Burger King and that was sloppy and poor, even for fast food restaurant. Almost all bars were closed or closing (at 4.30) but you could get something at Costa. Security took ages because there was only one lane open. This was a really bad experience and I will do all I cannot travel from elsewhere - Glasgow or London.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"There are no cafes or restaurants open"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I’m taking a flight at 9pm from Edinburgh airport - Edinburgh is the capital city of Scotland! There are no cafes or restaurants open - and hardly anywhere to sit. I find it incredible that this is the case - given that there are a number of flights leaving around this time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"each time it is getting extremely bad"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This year I have flew from and arrived at Edinburgh airport 5 times and each time it is getting extremely bad! Departures from here ain’t so bad but arriving at Edinburgh is getting getting to the point you want to start using a different airport. To start with as like other arrival dates I have landed early and after 20 minutes we are told that we are waiting on buses and stairs to arrive, one bus arrived after 20 minutes which was not enough for a full plane of passengers, to make matters worse no stairs and then we were told old stairs at front of plane - (are there any staff at this airport or are we still blaming COVID) 30 minutes after arriving I eventually get to a very busy passport control, where standing waiting to use the automated passport booths you hear everyone complain about how bad the service is at Edinburgh and to make matters worse the majority of people get told to seek assistance as these self service booths reject many people’s passports! The anger on people’s faces says it all, you then get told to go to another section to get your passport checked by a member of UK border staff, when I get there, there is one sitting having a jolly time having a good old gossip with his female colleague in the next booth, I shake my head and like many others my face tells that I like many are extremely unhappy, after he decides to finish his conversation he is then ready to call me to his booth, he asks where I have arrived from which I answer, he then asks if I have a problem which I respond and say yes this airport and the poor service, he then goes on to accuse me of throwing my passport at him and I respond by saying will we request the cctv footage to see if any passport was thrown! He then starts asking if I have anything to declare and I request him to come search my luggage to which he says he doesn’t want to (maybe this very exciting job of checking people’s passports on a daily basis has let the power go to his head) maybe management would like to send this guy on a customer service course about the service he’s meant to provide which in my eyes is work first and gossip with your colleagues when there is no passengers! In a time when the Edinburgh airport boss is on the news asking the Scottish government to sort out the international travel situation you would think that the airport would be ready to welcome back the many travelers that they had pre-covid but judging the past few times arriving at this airport I would recommend using another airport in Scotland or the north of England as its clear Edinburgh airport does not have the staff available to run a good service and as for UK border force they have the jumped up staff on shift but are not in any hurry to deal with the travelers arriving in Edinburgh. The check-in staff on departure at this airport are friendly and efficient. Airport clean and tidy and the cleaning staff do a good job. There is plenty of food and drink outlets to choose from. Security staff are very efficient at their job and no more than a 5-10 minute wait which is good and I always feel safe on my departure from Edinburgh.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"asked me to make a complaint"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | On departure although we arrived early, getting through check in took so long we were not left time to get breakfast or shop. On arrival the signage to find the taxi rank was confusing and several staff I asked for help asked me to make a complaint due to volume of complaints from passengers
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"I am extremely disappointed"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I am extremely disappointed, it is incredible that even after what has been a difficult time for the travel industry that Edinburgh Airport management think that it is acceptable for people to wait 45+ mins for case on an internal UK airport flights. Edinburgh airport management need to rethink the strategy here and the importance of providing a good customer service. 4/10 Given for cleanliness of airport toilets.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"Incredible. Inhospitable. Inconsiderate"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Shockingly awful. Arrived just over 2 hours before my flight. No queues at security but signage was very confusing. Walked through expecting to go into duty free, closed. Had to walk around it to departure lounge area. No bars open, no restaurants open and the only shop that was open was boots. Incredible. Inhospitable. Inconsiderate.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJuly 2021
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
1/10

"Terrible experience at security"

(Italy)

Trip Verified | Terrible experience at security check. I was splitting electronic stuff on the trays as this lady requested but there was not enough space for my 2 laptops and iPad (couldn’t overlay), then I tried to put them in the best position but their were overlaying like with 2cm. The lady then decided to do it herself just throwing my devices like they were rubbish. Never less she took my phone and my watch and throw them in another tray with the same tilted method. Then when I said “Can I just...” she jabbers something I couldn’t hear understand and left. I’ve also noticed that they do not wear any identification tag or name on their shirt. I travel a lot for business and actually this is the first I had to deal with such unprofessional worker and its also the first that I had to make a review. Oh I almost forgot, they took away my 125ml (less than half bottle filled) hand sanitizer (in its properly sealed bag) because was not 100ml. I understand the rules are the rules but take it easy. And saying “they’re stressed” is not an excuse for acting like that.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"shocked at how bad service is"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | Ridiculous. Arrived at 7pm, flight at 9.45pm. expected opportunity to get a cup of tea before flight. Went through security as had thank you gifts to get for friends that took care of my dog and plants. Couldn't buy any spirits unless you travelling outside of Europe. Asked why but received no explanation. Possible to buy spirits when flying out of Ireland to Edinburgh so it is not a blanket ban. Not a coffee shop, restaurant or bar was open, nor could you access their Internet despite there being less than a fifth of people normally here. Absolutely shocked at how bad service is. Plenty of room to socially distance but no effort to open and support economy.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"Lack of signs"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | One of the worst airports I've been in. Lack of signs to tell where to go until you walk 50m in wrong direction. No sign for car hire. No signs for checking in desk. Staff were helpful. If you can find them. And they just announced that third of the staff are to go.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitAugust 2020
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no