Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
Customer rating from 557 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"makes me ashamed to land in Scotland"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Departures. Pay to get in. Pay to get a trolley. Walk to the other end of the airport to check-in. Walk back to where you came from for security. Queue for an ungodly length at the understaffed x-rays. Wait 45 minutes while they rescan your bag for something they thought was in there, but wasn’t. No apology. Arrivals. One. One person on passport control. Pay for trolley. I have a disabled son so we need a trolley, so this is a tax on families and the less abled. Walk miles to the taxi rank. Deal with the outrageous taxi fares home, a supplemental £6. It makes me ashamed to land in Scotland. Just embarrassing.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJuly 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport security took 40 mins"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Total shambles, airport security took 40 mins, too many people going through security at the same time, was free for all we nearly missed our flight. Rude staff, no help what so ever. As for carparks not sign posted well enough cost me £12 to drive round wrong car park and get back out no help option at exit for assistance. For the amount of money you charge for these services surly security and car parks should be better organised.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJune 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"a disgrace of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Edinburgh must be one of the worst airports going. On arrival, you have to walk up 3 flights of stairs, along corridors, and then down a flight of stairs, which allows 2 queues to form, before reaching the passport control area. All incoming flights join the same queue, snaking up and down, ending up walking miles. Not enough desks on and only one scruffy attendant to direct you to a desk or barrier. Not a great first impression of Edinburgh I must say. Then the fun of waiting for luggage on the one carousel that holds all luggage from every incoming flight. It is a disgrace of an airport, with dirty corridors and toilets, not enough staff. Just awful!!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"near disaster of an airport"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified |   4 flights in and out of EDI - 2 QR business class, 2 KLM economy class. Can not agree more with most of the comments on this near disaster of an airport. As a business class passenger on QR with two carry-on bags, the long walks are not unusual but then to be greeted by several sets of stairs is appalling. Having to join a quite lengthy queue on arrival for UK passport gates (some not working!) when the few non-UK passengers sailed through the staff-controlled gates was demeaning! Security staff were helpful but the departure lines for economy slow moving and confusing. If one bag is singled out, it emerges from the scanner on a different conveyer. The arrangements for pick-up and drop off are equally strange and confusing. I wasted a considerable amount of money on international phone calls that should have been unnecessary.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

“Passport control took a long time”

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Had to wait 40 minutes on the plane waiting for a bus to collect us. The first bus was full then waited for a second bus. Which was full and had to wait for some controllers to organise passengers onto the bus! Passport control took a long time too, no separate queue for UK nationals, Come on Edinburgh airport, if you want to increase your flights you need to get your infrastructure in order.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

“Staff are incredibly unhelpful”

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Appalling. Staff are incredibly unhelpful. Impossible to travel with children. I fly via Edinburgh regularly and dread the airport every time, especially arriving here. Passport control queue is always long (today took an hour) and unmanaged (you can pay for fast track, but there is no option to speed things up if you travel with a child). More, you cannot collect your buggy directly after landing, so you have to carry your child (not sure what you do if you travel with more than one) in that queue and then the next one to the border force officers as you cannot use the automated gates but have to queue for them first. Avoid.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a disgrace of an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | The worse airport experience i have had. I am ashamed this is the airport that represents Scotland's capital city. The airport is clearly been poorly thought out and has been governed only in the consideration of profit at the detriment to passenger comfort or practicality. It took 45min to drop a bag, the desks came across as a regional airport with the awkward scales and then having to march your own baggage onto a conveyor. The only consideration that is obvious is retail space. typical of UK airports where you are forced to walk an absorbent distance through the preflight shops. On arrival back to Edinburgh we were taken upstairs only to be taken back down stairs within a 10yard walk, through a dirty, weed covered outdoor passageway, into an arrivals hall that smelled of urine and feces. The visible air circulation in the ceiling was covered in dirt and not operating, felt generally unhygienic, the feel of the airport was poor, unclean, unhelpful and felt like a bus terminus. Once you leave the baggage reclaim, i thought i was in a bus station. when you walk out the building, the transport hub felt like an accident of buildings. at some point i hope someone has to do something, i flew to and back from Helsinki Airport, the contrast is stark. Edinburgh Airport experience was like we had landed in a small region of a poor country, where sanitation, education and planning were devoid. I am Scottish and I cannot express how disappointed and ashamed i am this is my countries national Airport. Profits over all else, a disgrace of an airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2024
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"avaricious shambles that is Edinburgh airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | This has to be one of the worst airports in the world. Security system for departures always bad, has been "improved" to be even worse. A Shambles. Arrival at EDI is always abysmal. Usually steps to disembark only, delayed in getting them to the aircraft after landing, walk to the terminal even in pouring rain, huge delays at border control, (many positions closed, very large number of people queuing, out of the hall and up the stairs), long delay in baggage arriving at the carousel. Long walk to free drop off/pickup point (free shuttle buses discontinued.) Greedy, greedy airport with excessive charges for everything. Worst airport in the world if you ask me, only interested in making as much money as possible. Offering - for an extra charge, of course - fast track access through passport control. That is an utter disgrace; they should have all booths manned, and their priority should be to process everyone as quickly as possible, not to set aside personnel to deal with those willing to pay to jump the queue. Their absolute greed is dreadful. £5.00 to drop departing people off as a minimum, rising steeply after a few minutes, with the free drop off point a long walk for anyone a very long walk. Car park charges astronomical, with no responsibility taken if your vehicle is damaged. Dirty pit of a place with surly staff. As a Scot, I am embarrassed by what foreign visitors must think of us when they experience the avaricious shambles that is Edinburgh airport.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"an absolute embarrassment to Scotland"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | My experience at this airport has been nothing other than shambolic and an absolute embarrassment to Scotland. The airport is filthy, disorganised and the staff, with particular focus on immigration are an absolute joke. Having travelled the world through all types of countries I can safely say that I have never experienced such a dreadful experience as my recent arrival at Edinburgh - where standards can only be described as akin to some corrupt non functional third world hell holes - so far from recent experiences in Dusseldorf, Singapore and Istanbul. Well done to all at Edinburgh, with particular focus on HM Customs, in demonstrating how low standards can fall and how to demonstrate at every turn how not to do things.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"never-ending queues at security"

(Ireland)

Trip Verified | I can't believe how maddening the situation at this airport is. From the never-ending queues at security check with packed people everywhere to the non-stop speaker announcements. The experience at this airport has been the worst.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2024
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no