Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 459 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"found the assistance was first class"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I need assistance and I found the assistance was first class from the moment of arrival to my departure. I was looked after, I had no breakfast and they got me something to eat and drink this is the first time in all my years of using the assistance that I was treated so well. Well done Edinburgh airport you get five stars from me.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
7/10

"staff were nothing short of amazing"

(Australia)

Not Verified | International arrival was a treat, total chaos. Weirdest security set up I've ever experienced. Luggage retrieval was even more unbelievable. A full hour for the luggage to arrive at the belt. Departing this airport wasn't quite as chaotic or confusing or weird. But please put some more seating at the check-in level. People were all over the floor (very unhygienic) just no seating. I don't know how to rate this airport and I asked myself would I use it again or even recommend it and the answer is a resounding yes. Every single airport staff member and cafe staff were nothing short of amazing 10/10. I will happily return amid all the chaos! What a treat!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
3/10

"unhelpful staff, poor directions"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Walk for miles to baggage reclaim, unhelpful staff, poor directions, confusing information, (tram or bus), almost no seating anywhere, no proper waiting areas and so on. As an expat, visiting monthly, I’m ashamed that this is the airport for the capital city. Of course, Edinburgh Airport has a previous record.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"not an airport I wish to return to"

(Thailand)

Trip Verified | This airport feels a mess. Paying for a quick drop down and pick up is ridiculous. Before Immigration, there are too many shops, cafes and restaurants limiting space for genuine passengers. The fast track security line on exit was supposed to work but didn't and so business class passengers had to mix in with economy passengers who were actually closer to the line and grabbed each spot as soon as they become free. Had there been someone there to feed in fast track passengers it would certainly have been more than helpful. There seemed to be little lounge signage. I had to walk the length and a half of the airport as I was directed to the wrong end. The lounge for the Qatar flight seemed to be shared with other airlines and was packed. Thankfully I only had ten minutes before boarding commenced. On the other hand, international arrival was a breeze. Nevertheless, not an airport I wish to return to if I can avoid it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
10/10

"commend the Special Assistance"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I availed of Special Assistance on Thursday 17th October 2019. I was warmly greeted at the desk when I arrived and checked in. I was asked to take a seat until my Assistant would arrive. I was warmly greeted by a friendly young lady called Chantelle who assisted me to transfer to the wheelchair. As we left Special Assistance I was informed as to what gate I was going to and that the flight was on time. I was asked if I needed to visit any of the shops on the way to the gate and informed that there were toilet facilities at the departure gate. I was checked in at the gate and pushed right to the bottom of the aircraft step. Chantelle carried my luggage into the aeroplane and put it into the overhead locker and bid me a safe pleasant flight and onward journey. I was more than overwhelmed by the service that I received as a sole traveler and wish to commend the Special Assistance team at Edinburgh Airport for providing such a high class and dignified service. Chantelle portrayed a very positive impression of herself .
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"filthy cattle shed"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Well just when you think our national airport could not get any worse, you're tired of getting soaked on the tarmac, walking like the condemned to passport control, waiting 30 mins for your bags in the filthy cattle shed that they call a baggage reclaim, wade ankle-deep in urine in the toilet. You then find the taxi you arranged to pick you up is now directed to a place that looks like robot wars and the taxi is getting charged 2 or 3 times more than before which is added to your bill, while you risk your life trying to find your driver in the mess that is the pick up zone. Gateway to Scotland! Clearly not your priority if you're one the greedy faceless articles that run this gig on our behalf. Use Glasgow this place seriously sucks.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"found the security suite a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We flew out on 27th September on Jet2 and found the security suite a nightmare. We were herded round the maze, had to find a tray each to be scanned and then ordered where to go by very curt people. This security suite is obviously much too small, oh and yes its new! On return on the 4th October from Alicante we again stood in long queues to scan our passports in the machines that take for ever. We then had to wait over 50 minutes to get our luggage, this was around 11.00 pm and we were told by a staff member that there was only one luggage team on duty and a few flights had come in. Absolutely poor service. Then the car park! We were picked up at the pick up point which was almost at a standstill, then to pay the parking with more long queues and more delay. If this is what its like late night whats it like at peak hours I ask? We have flown all over the world over the years and I can hand on heart say Edinburgh Airport is the worst organised, worst operated and worst organised of all we have flown through. We will be using Glasgow in future.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"arrival experience crushes the soul"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Yet again Edinburgh airport arrival experience crushes the soul. As someone who is proud of my country this shambling cattle market of a passport control set up must scar visitors for life. It is just horrendous on every level, from the minute you leave the plane and start walking through filthy corridors up and down in facilities that would be unacceptable for animals as a Scot you cant help but feel ashamed. I'm in and out here every week and this place sets the bar so low its off the scale. If you have the option use Glasgow, Edinburgh truely is "Fur coat and nae knickers".
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"There's too many shops"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Having to empty hand luggage of liquids, electrical, laptops & tablets and take off coats, belts, watches & boots hold up the security queues greatly. Time to upgrade the scanners like every other airport has, Schipol for example you put your hand luggage on the belt and walk through the scanner. Don't need to take anything off or out of bags, much better. There's too many shops, who goes to an airport to visit a sports shop? Gates and resturants are strangely intertwined, not relaxing eating a meal with 200 people standing next to you to board their flight! Also arriving in Edinburgh, walk up flights and flights of stairs, along what feels like the length of the airport, down stairs then into a huge queue for passport machines. All passport machines should be open at all times. Finally wifi. Majority of airports I have been in offer free unlimited wifi, Edinburgh allows only 2 hours, it's 2019 nice with the times!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"security area is understaffed"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The departure experience is the worst of any airport I've travelled from, not set up properly, weaving through eating area in long queues to get to security. The security area is understaffed resulting in the staff that are there being stressed and extremely rude. I would hesitate to travel from Edinburgh again unless absolutely necessary.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no