Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 390 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"do not appreciate being bullied around"

(Netherlands)

Trip Verified | How is it possible that employees can be so utterly unfriendly. There was one guy shouting, ordering where to stand on a number at customs. It was no 'madam', no shouting the number, ordering. The guy also didn't look representative at all. If he was my son I would be ashamed for him. Train these people to become a wee bit more friendly. This shouting almost made me sick. I'm suffering from side effects from a stroke. But there's many people travelling with invisible illnesses, conditions. We do not appreciate being bullied around.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"a shambles at passport control"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arriving back to Edinburgh Airport on Monday 8th October, flight LS736 from Madeira, I expected the usual chaos and was not wrong. It took ages to disembark buses for passport control. As there were around four European flights which arrived around the same time, it was a shambles at passport control. Extremely rude staff barking orders at passengers and an inadequate area for the volume of people going through. Then, surprise, surprise, one carousel was alloted for these flights. We waited nearly 50 minutes for our luggage to arrive and needless to say, there was no sign of staff in the baggage area. Every time I arrive back to Edinburgh, it is a similar shambolic experience. Surely, management must be aware of passengers anger at the deficiencies in customer service. Edinburgh is termed as an international airport. I don't think so.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Impossible to be positive"

(France)

Not Verified | Impossible to be positive about Edinburgh airport - over-expanded, under-whelming experience and no sign of improvements. Third incoming flight in succession that problems arise. Twice there were no staff to greet the aircraft - maybe it was a surprise that we were landing? Then when the staff did arrive she was very surly because she had to rush her lunch - this still took 20 minutes and a very embarrassed pilot apologised to waiting passengers and said even he thought it was the worst place to come in to. Today, we actually got off the aircraft reasonably quickly but were parked on the apron and had two buses waiting for passengers - now, who ever fills the second bus first so it has to wait, when full, for the second bus to load thus creating a bigger slow moving queue at passports?? Simple logic Edinburgh?. Roll on flying from Manchester when Ryanair winter schedule ceases Edinburgh routes. No complaints about Ryanair - superb airline!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"not 1 member of staff available"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived back from Gran Canaria on FR6699 flight. Disembarked ok, passport control ok, but when we got into baggage claim we had to wait about 50 minutes for our cases. There was not 1 member of staff available to tell us what the delay was for. I heard a lot of passengers saying that Edinburgh airport is a joke for the capital of Scotland and in future they are going to use Glasgow airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Again passport control is a disgrace, queues a mile long, when wiill they get it right? 9 booths that have 2 stations on each, so why only 4 persons dealing with hundreds of arrivals? This airport is far too small for the volume of traffic that it thinks it can take.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"no stairs for disembarkation"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Once again I arrive back at Edinburgh and no stairs available for disembarkation. This isn't the first time, it seems to be a regular occurence and it really is complete incompetence. Apparently the ground staff don't use the airbridge as it takes too long to use. Can't be any longer than the 35 odd minutes we sat on the plane waiting.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control was a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | We arrived in to Edinburgh at approximately 12.15 am on 19 September and the passport control was a nightmare. 3 flights had arrived and it was crammed with people, many queuing on the stairs and beyond just to get into the passport hall. My point is that Edinburgh is continually expanding and but the passport control area is not, how do the authorities expect this area to perform well if it's not being expanded to manage the increase in traffic - or are they not bothered? Another point is the electronic passport control normally closes at 12 am - I was pleasantly surprised to see it still open on our arrival. That wasn't set to continue though, we managed to get through but right after that a member of staff said to a colleague that they were closing the electronic. Why would that be when there was still a huge backlog of people to be processed? End of shift or staff overtime ran out? His colleague replied 'you'll have a riot if you do that' - we were through by then so I can't say what the outcome was. Electronic passport checks being closed because the staff shifts have finished is mad.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
2/10

"Absolutely awful staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely awful staff. Rude and unwilling to help. Claimed I had only paid for one suitcase so was shown where to go to get the issue resolved. Once I arrived for help and showed proof that I had in fact paid for 2 the girl was extremely rude and frankly snidey showing no interest in helping. Disgusting costumer service. Seriously puts me of coming to this airport as they are unwilling to help with issues which many passengers will have.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
no
2/10

"irritable and confrontational"

(Malta)

Trip Verified | The airport is quite chaotic even when compared to others with considerably more airline and passenger traffic (e.g. Heathrow and Frankfurt). I think management would do well to undertake a comprehensive overhaul of how the airport operates. What I found considerably disturbing is the confrontational attitude of some of the staff at the security check area. I am referring in particular to the people supposedly guiding passengers when they are placing their belongings in the trays to go through the x-ray system. They speak to non-British passengers in a broad Scottish accent which, despite being quaint and charming, does not lend itself quite so easily to comprehension at the first take, especially to foreigners. Upon politely being asked to repeat her instructions, one such official became very irritable and confrontational demonstrating an unrefined character that is perhaps not recommended in someone who interacts with other people on a continuous basis. By contrast, the officials manning the frisking area were very polite and helpful. My recommendation to Edinburgh Airport management is to distribute name tags to the employees. Passengers would be able to identify the person with precision in any complaint that they make, and the inappropriate behaviour of one individual would not reflect negatively on others. The incident in question happened at 6.30 am on Thursday 13 September 2018.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Hopeless from Start to Finish"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Hopeless from Start to Finish. Worst I have been to in many a long time. Shambolic and totally disorganised. Clearly work ongoing but easier to knock it down and start again designing with the end customer in mind. Thank goodness I don’t travel here much.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no