Edinburgh Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 492 reviews
3/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
1/10

"the taxi situation was shocking"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I fully agree with the recent comments below and would add that for me the taxi situation was shocking. It's not solely down the to the fact that there was a shortage of taxi drivers at 2 am but where is connected public transport network? Who is responsible for this co-ordination with Lothian Transport? Even a tram running hourly at that time of night would have still been quicker than the one hour 20 minute wait I experienced. Local taxis and Ubers are not allowed through (2 that I ordered cancelled as they weren't allowed access to the taxi point) and as a single female traveller I was reluctant to leave the queue and walk around outside in the rain at 2.30 am to find the designated pick-up point. And yes, talking with tourists in the queue coming into the country for the first time was embarrassing. I'm trying to find the correct contact details to send this to at Edinburgh Airport.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"it still feels cramped, cheap, unfinished, antiquated and confused"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | I’ve just travelled through Edinburgh, Frankfurt, Singapore and Perth airports - outbound and return. Parts of Edinburgh have improved slightly and airport staff are generally efficient and friendly but in comparison to other airports, it still feels cramped, cheap, unfinished, antiquated and confused. The drop off/pick up zone is just cringeworthy - so thrown together, unclear/haphazard/old markings and signs. Still waiting on an efficient road network - this basically hasn’t changed since mid 20th century - absolutely appalling. This is the gateway to Scotland’s capital city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"Edinburgh Airport is a disgrace"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Edinburgh Airport is a disgrace. I cannot understand why there are so many stairs to navigate, why the reluctance to use air bridges, why am I queuing on the tarmac in the rain (it’s Scotland)? The customer service is non existent, the lounges don’t open on time. When arriving back you are forced into the border control which is awful, and then upon exiting there are never any taxis. The parking is expensive and now you are paying more than ever just to drop off. The airport is a disgrace, it’s an absolute embarrassment that this is the first impression guest get of our wonderful city.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"the worst customer service ever"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I've just passed the check on Edinburgh airport at 01:30 and heading home. Furious. Having received the worst customer service ever. Coming back to the country where I live, work and pay my taxes in, only to be waited by a person to tell me that I must show him my pre-settled status and implying that I might not have it. Why? So first of all where this requirement is stated- so we know and plan ahead from now on, and second, since they've got it on their records - why are they making such a great deal out of it? On top questions such as how long you've been away and interrogative behaviour were not missed. Edinburgh Airport, this tactic must better change, is not humane at all.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Sorry excuse for an airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Sorry excuse for an airport. Arrived from Innsbruck on 26th March 2022 at 9pm. Disembarked aircraft via air bridge. Then diverted outside onto a bus. Bussed round airport to immigration and then waited over an hour for luggage. Received luggage at 10:25pm. Having read other reviews it would appear that disembarking via the air bridge into the terminal and then having to leave the terminal and be taken by bus to the other end is not unusual, and is presumably because most of the airport has been closed. The so-called management would no-doubt blame Covid for this, but we experienced the same nonsense twice 3 years ago (i.e. pre-Covid), where we had to wait in baggage reclaim for an hour on a Saturday evening, despite being the only flight recently arrived. Edinburgh "International" Airport is a joke, and an embarrassment, and the "management" ought to do the right thing and sack themselves. Thankfully, we are going on holiday via Glasgow Airport next time, which, as far as I recall, was actually run for the benefit of the passengers.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
3/10

"hasn’t changed one iota"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Been a while since I went through Edinburgh (2 years) and it hasn’t changed one iota. Got there in plenty of time and did all the usual stuff. Bags checked in / Security (a little less obnoxious this time but I know this depends on what day it is and what staff are on Duty) waited on Flight to London being called (due to leave just after 11) in order to get connecting flight to New York. Board gives renewed time - again and again! Meanwhile the anxiety levels of missing the connecting flight are getting higher and higher - no one in Departures to ask. Finally someone arrives and gives the usual claptrap about the lateness of the incoming flight etc and that we will get boarded ASAP. No recognition of Queueing around the skies of London waiting to land / the stupid time it takes to find / get to a gate when you actually get there and all the other Time - Guzzling issues that they think don’t exist! Long story short - Someone met the 7 of us who were New York bound in London - rushed us through Terminal 5 and we literally got on board and the Plane backed out of the Stand! You would think that given a 2 year lay off from Flying that, on return, the Airport and the Airlines would have made an attempt at getting their act together in regards to their Operational Procedures - not a bit of it! Same Old! Same Old! The really sad part about this is that they think that it is acceptable to operate this way and that they don’t have to change Their arrogance is breathtaking!!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"Very poor service"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Pathetic time to deliver baggage from plane. Took over an hour to get luggage and this is not the first time. Sort this out please. Very poor service. Feels like only one staff member doing the work.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitFebruary 2022
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"shame on Edinburgh"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Fortunate enough to be able to travel to Turkey 29th October 2021. Drpped off at designated area and made our way to the Departure Area . It was as is usual for Scotland to be raining heavily. Husband unable to walk fast and by the time we reached the departure area we were soaked. No overhead cover for part of the walk. Noted on the way back there is another entrance to allow you not to be outside most of the time but still exposed to the Scottish weather. Facilities before you go through security for the capital are dreadful and especially during the current time. Security was our worst nighmare. David has assistance and as we travelled with family daughter in law took charge of the chair. The area was busy with no control in place. Boxes with valuables for all to see did not flow with the passengers through security. Suggest an awayday to Glasgow airport to see how it should be done. You follow your box through security at Glasgow whereas in Edinburgh if you beep you are taken away in another direction. Hubby did leave an inhaler in error in his bag and a cologne .This was removed when the bag was checked and put in a plastic bag. Never to be seen again. We have not since many years ago in Egypt had to go outside in the rain to board a plane. What have Edinburgh been doing with all the extensions when they can not provide shelter from arriving at the airport and to boarding the plane. Third world country comes to mind. The most embarrassing thing however was on our return when David needed assistance from the plane to the terminal. Plane parked so far away that busses had to be used for other passengers after JET2 handled leaving the plane in a controlled manner. The equipment for David eventually arrived and could only be described as a 1960's device built with meccano. As a Scottish family all we could think was what do visitors to our Capital City think of us as the best provision for disabled passengers. This was one of our worst travel experiences and shame on Edinburgh for it being in our country. On arrival in Antalya it was like night and day and a breath of fresh air to see how things can and should be done. Hoping to travel again in April and hope Edinburgh Airport management taking note of the bad press and reviews and do something about it. As I said only need a day trip to Glasgow to see how it should be done.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
5/10

"A tale of two opposites!"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | A tale of two opposites! Departing from Edinburgh was a real pleasure. Security was quick and easy, shops were open and a good range of options for food and products. We checked in to Number 1 lounge and the staff were attentive, the place was immaculate and the food, although limited in variety, was fresh and plentiful. Boarding was swift and easy, on time, with attentive ground staff. I wish I could say the same for the return journey! On arrival at 11.40pm, we waited for a considerable time before the steps were brought to the aircraft, probably about 20 minutes, although at this point I wasn’t really paying much attention. We only had disembarkation stairs at the front of the aircraft making this also much slower than usual. We landed in pouring rain and had run across the tarmac to the terminal building, by which time we were soaked! Then the real problems started! Climbing a lot of stairs, walking a considerable distance, then negotiating descending lots of stairs, with hand baggage is not an easy fete! We then queued for ages to get to passport control, as the automatic passport checkers weren’t operational when we arrived and other flights landed at the same time. We eventually made our way through after about 30-40 minutes. Then we had to wait for 40 minutes for the luggage! There were elderly people, children and babies, all exhausted by this time - it was horrible! After landing at 11.40pm, we eventually made it to the taxi rank well after 1am! What a debacle! How has Edinburgh got this so wrong!? It used to be so easy but their improvements have made this whole process terrible! Really Edinburgh Airport, get your international arrivals sorted! It’s really unpleasant and stressful!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
4/10

"Restaurants and shops closed before 6pm!?"

(Switzerland)

Not Verified | I used to travel a lot through EDI Airport, but now the first time during the pandemic. Arrival in the early afternoon was as usual, passport and custom control quick and efficient. Departure was at 19.30 and I arrived 3 hours ahead of time. It was not possible to do any check in before 17.05. There are no waiting possibilities in the airport before check-in! After security I wanted to do eat something and do some shopping. Was shocked to see that Restaurants and shops closed before 6pm!? Although the Restaurants were completely full and guests were plenty! It‘s just ridiculous to open the airport again and close all services in the most frequented time period.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no