East Midlands Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 181 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
10/10

"a trouble free departure and arrival"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Great experience at EMA. Travelled out on the 22/04/22 to Faro and returned 29/04/22. Given the recent headlines about problems with departures and arrivals at certain UK airports I was little concerned about delays but this proved unfounded. Parked up in short stay 1 car park without any issues which I had booked via the EMA website. From walking to departures, Checking in at the desk and through security took a grand total of 24 minutes. Staff at the checkin desk and at security were helpful and cheerful so full marks to them. The only slight negative was that we had booked the Escape Lounge which had been due to open again on the 20/04/22 but that was delayed so our booking was cancelled but it only took them a couple of days to refund the payment. On the return to EMA on the 29/04/22 again everything went like clockwork, disembarked within a few minutes of coming to a halt. Security was quite speedy using the E-gates and through to baggage collection which was very prompt and out to the car and departed the car park with the NPR working without a problem. So a thank you to all at EMA for making our first holiday since 2019 a trouble free departure and arrival.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2022
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Disgusting behaviour"

(Spain)

Not Verified | As a frequent flyer, I continually come across the ignorance and self importance of the security staff. The shouting of instructions and pointing at customers is degrading and unnecessary. There's no need to speak to people as imbeciles or to raise their voice to those who don't understand the first time. Disgusting behaviour!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2022
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
8/10

"it was an easy and stress free experience"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | For a smaller regional airport it does everything well both departing and arriving back from Malaga airport it was an easy and stress free experience. It is close to our home and parking is fairly priced and easy to find. It’s a good all round choice for departing to Spain and will use again next year for our airport of choice.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitOctober 2021
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"can't believe the ignorance of the security staff"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I can't believe the ignorance of the security staff at East Midlands Airport. They could learn a lot from the Spanish. Because I wouldn't engage in conversation with this staff member, he humiliated me. Searching me three times paying particular attention to my groin area. Made me remove my jumper and braces and shoes. He told me to hold out my arms, I said I could not as I had to hold up my trousers so he made me put out one arm at a time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"would think twice about flying from EMA next time"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I have been to over a hundred airports around the world but sorry to say that my local airport East Midlands Airport has got one of the rudest security staff by far. I have used my shoes a lot for travelling because it hasn’t triggered the airport scanning machine even once and even in the US, North America, Europe, Asia, South America and it was the first time that I was asked to remove them. It never would have been a problem had the security staff didn’t shout at me rudely to remove them but he did. I didn’t know whether I was singled out but it was so humiliating to say the least. I have been flying since I was a kid but never experienced being shouted at until then. They need to train their staff on how to deal with passengers better. They are only a small airport and you’d think that they are at least a friendly bunch. I would think twice about flying from EMA next time.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitFebruary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"we are dreading it"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | East Midlands Airport staff have a general poor attitude towards their customers. As if we are a nuisance. But there again when the EMA Company behaves in a nasty petty vindictive way what can we expect. For example: Why Does Ryanair always get such bad gates (eg 25) that are difficult and take a long time to get to, i.e up and down many flights of stairs. What is Ryanair being punished for. But mainly its Customers. Unless one is young and super fit it's very stressful and taxing to haul even 10k luggage across. The above is what causes us the most pain. We travel again tomorrow via EMA and we are dreading it.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"has the poorest customer experience of all"

(Ireland)

Not Verified | Of all the airports I have passed through East Midlands has the poorest customer experience of all. The security staff are unpleasant, rude and disrespectful. Pretty much everyone is made to feel like a deviant. It must be a toxic environment to work in. If it wasn't the closest airport to my elderly father I would choose Birmingham or Manchester in a heartbeat.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitJanuary 2020
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
4/10

"beyond contempt"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The security staff are way over the top and I mean way over the top. After going shoeless, jacketless and beltless through the full-body scanner still had to be patted down, this happens every time I go through this airport. I have no option to use this as it is for work purposes. Then the magnetic wand is used. It’s almost as if the staff have a big point to prove. When you question their approach the belligerence you receive is beyond contempt. Someone in management needs to take the staff on a training course on how to treat passengers with respect and civility. Because there is none shown to anybody. Get a grip East Midlands
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitDecember 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"such a lack of empathy"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Fast track with elderly dad. Very poor service, not fast and the help just didn’t arrive. Made my dad stand which he finds really hard, made him take his coat and jacket off, which made him feel poorly, he was cold and disorientated. I was trying to rush through behind, security asked if dad was sensitive to pain anywhere and wheeled him forward, his GTN spray had already gone through with his watch wallet and money. He was getting more distressed I was told to move away as he was being searched. He was cold and upset. I am so angry I have never experienced such a lack of empathy before. I eventually got his body warmer and coat and covered him with my coat to warm him up - shame on you East Midlands Airport
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitNovember 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"the worst dump of an airport I've ever visited"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This has got to be the worst dump of an airport I've ever visited and I've just got back from Vietnam and Cambodia. I don't recommend it to anyone coming in from the States, avoid this place like the plague. No parking and if you get someone to drop you off they have you on film and send you a $80 ticket even if you are dropped off at the gas station next to the airport. Like I said avoid this place like the plague, even the locals are now flying out of Birmingham or Manchester just to avoid it. Let's wait until the business falls off so bad there's no work and they start laying off because that's what going to happen real soon because they deserve it.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no