East Midlands Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 148 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
4/10

"wait hours in a cold airport"

(United Kingdom)

I had just returned from my annual holiday. Normally things at East Midlands run smoothly. I managed to get through passport control in about 30 minutes I then went on to collect my baggage. I must have waited for at least an hour after being told our baggage would be with us soon. Not to mention the staff were very rude! After at least another 45 minutes we were told their was a problem with our baggage and that we would not be able to collect it today as it hadnt been proccessed properly at Palma and not everyones luggage boarded the flight! I am outraged by this and had to wait hours in a cold airport which looks like a shed for cattle before I had my luggage! Maybe will think about using another airport next time
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
6/10

"a nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Going out was not a problem, coming back to East Midlands on Saturday the 6th of October was a nightmare. First we were delayed at Palma Airport for 50 minutes and then when we landed we were sitting on the plane for 20 minutes waiting for a bus to the terminal, then after we were waiting around a hour for the luggage to arrive. This was due to maintenance work, this was not very good as we had a pick up and they had to wait around for two hours.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitOctober 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
2/10

"used to be our favourite airport"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | East Midlands used to be our favourite airport. No longer. They have turned the departures area into a nightmare! I cannot understand anyone wanting to shop on the way to the departure lounge whilst carrying luggage. Surely the old system of allowing perimeter shops was best. Anyone hard of walking will just be glad to get through the maze of shops, and no way will they return to the first shops! Catering facilities are also poor. Departing the taxi rank is even worse. The barriers are insufficient to let taxis out of the airport - chaos reigned at 3am in the morning. It can take up to half an hour to get through the barriers. From now on, we will choose Birmingham.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a total nightmare"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Fine going out no delays. Coming back from Malaga a total nightmare. Took 15 minutes to get off the plane and 45 minutes to get through passport control and even then we had to wait for our suitcases. What has gone wrong. Deplorable, why are we so behind in the UK? Makes you sad to be British.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"brusque and robotic staff"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | This airport is getting even worse than before. The long delays in the arrivals hall, prior to passport checks are totally unacceptable. We were herded around in lengthy queues whilst being dealt with by mainly brusque and robotic staff. More immigration control personnel are needed to reduce intolerable delays. Staff require customer service training. The airport needs serious upgrading. It is dated and impoverished in appearance, resembling a old shed rather than an official building. It does not create a good impression for persons visiting our country.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitSeptember 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

East Midlands Airport customer review

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | We landed at 00:20 early hours 22nd August, flight from Cyprus along with about 4-5 other flights apparently from various destinations, it was absolutely ridiculous, one and half hours in a never ending snaking queue to get through passport control, unbelievable! Tired kids, tired parents, tired every one! After a four and half hour flight this is not good, another 50 mins after this by the time we got to our car at jet 2 car parks then had a 3 hour drive home to look forward to it was longer than the flight, not good! Come on East Midlands sort it out, you know when the flights are due, stop cutting staff down and treat all arrivals the same whatever time of day, our daughter arrived home two days later at tea time and went straight though. Will not pick your airport again in a hurry!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"rarely better than very poor "

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | What a shocking airport, ridiculous positioning of gates, and the arrival hall is inadequate as is the passport control. Over the last decade I cannot remember a time when the airport has not been under some form of refurbishment. It is nearly always about the restaurants and shops which miss the point. This is an airport not a shopping mall, older people have to walk what is a good distance to departure gates without travelators making it difficult. Queuing on arrival is poor. We arrived at midnight earlier this week and it was almost like our arrival was a shock to the airport, no buses and after 25 minutes when we did get a bus the queue was out of the door and back towards the runway, it was not raining or cold but it could have been. 45 minutes later and we went through passport control only to be met by over 150 people queuing for a car park bus which took another 40 minutes before we got to our car, nearly 2 hours after actually landing! I will endeavour to not fly from EMA again. I imagine a lot of people feel like this as it is the worst EMA experience but as a fairly frequent flier it very rarely is better than very poor and it does not bode well. You may be being tricked by increased numbers but it is down to more travelers and not down to anything good you are doing. I do not know of any flier who would choose an airport for shops but plenty who would not choose an airport that is poorly designed and unrewarding in the way passengers are treated.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
2/10

"it appears to be getting worse"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | The worst airport I have visited in the UK and it appears to be getting worse. The building itself is a large shed with extremely poor signage outside making it very difficult to work out where you are going. Food and drink facilities are limited, basic and expensive. Taxis are now not available in a rank and must be booked through a single company inside the hall. Passengers are left to work this out for themselves. The company charged me 20% more than the usual fare. Given that there is now no competition and no train station at the airport this will increasingly make driving a more affordable option. My advice is to use Birmingham if possible.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitAugust 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"passport control was absolutely ridiculous"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | On arrival to the airport from a flight from Faro (Jet2) the queue for passport control was absolutely ridiculous. What on earth is going on with their border control. There are clearly not enough staff or desks to cope with the growing amount of flights. It was as if they were taken by surprise with the arrival of several flights. It took us over 25 minutes from walking into the hall to getting through to proceed to baggage reclaim. We have flown regularly from EM Airport but this year was the worst of all. A snaking queue all around three rooms is totally unacceptable and if they cannot organise things and provide more staff, we will not be flying from this airport again. Also, the drop off parking area is a joke, the huge queues for security for the outgoing flight was also ridiculous. This is all prior to the main holiday season so goodness only knows how they will cope after today. From being our favourite airport it is now our most hated.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJuly 2018
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
no
1/10

"diabolical parking for picking up passengers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Absolutely diabolical parking for picking up passengers. £2 for 10 mins then £1 per minute thereafter. Cars parked on double yellow lines blocking entry to airport. Unhelpful jobswoth parking staff who told me I should have looked up flight details on the internet. If you live any distance from the airport this is not useful. Although you can find out when a flight lands it can stand on the runway for up to an hour before deplaning the passengers - that equates to £52 in their stupid parking system. Local taxpayers have to pay for a police presence to move on traffic because of the poor facilities provided by the profit making company Manchester Airports Group plc. Oh and the pick up parking does not accept £2 coins so that could cost you a few pounds extra just to get the right coins. Rip off.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2018
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no