East Midlands Airport

Customer Reviews

No Skytrax Rating
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Queuing Times 12345
Customer rating from 164 reviews
2/10
No Skytrax Rating
Sort Reviews by :
Show
7/10

"a pretty good airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Arrived here on Ryanair from Spain around 11 pm. Bussing to the terminal was a bit slow waiting for everyone to get off the plane and onto the bus. A bit of a queue but it moved quite quickly as there were e-gates in addition to three manned immigrations officers. Officers were friendly, polite, and efficient. Didn't check a bag but seating area was a bit dirty. Limited electric outlets in the terminal. A Greggs open till midnight, another coffee shop, and a WHSmiths were open later. Overall, a pretty good airport with limited National Express and pretty good local bus connections. Recommended.
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Airport trying to be something its not"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | First time used here in a while and now I remember why. From entering an empty security area (yippee thought this was good) so walked under a barrier ribbon rather than the totally 6 empty cattle lanes to be told to go back and walk all the way around? There was no one in front or behind at all and only my wife and I there? And the point was? There was no one else there in front or behind, just us? Similar to meet the Fockers plane boarding experience only with a control freak on the loose! Which when I advised we had priority boarding then changed to all smiles and all change and they then lifted another ribbon to let us through there anyway? Certain staff missed the interpersonnel skills course then! Get yourself signed back up quick. Airport trying to be something its not unfortunately, late taking off, late boarding (only 2 planes in that hour?). Dreaded return, waited for steps waited for bus waited for passports and then waited an hour and 30 mins for bags, don't bother paying premium as your bags come off last anyway. Handling really poor and slow and generally bad, wont be rushing to use again would have been quicker through Heathrow and drive back! Sort your staff and procedures please its not hard.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitJune 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"disgrace to its customers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Arrived to drop off my partner for a flight to Dublin, I used the rapid drop off area, £2.00 for 5 minutes ... okay that’s cheaper than Manchester and others. My partner took less than 30 seconds to grab her case and go to departure, I was left in a queue the length of the drop off area, by the time I queued to the barrier it was 11 minutes later, so for the privilege of queuing up to exit the rapid drop off it cost me £8.00, fortunately I had some change and my wallet with me, personally East Midlands Airport should give me back the £6.00 over payment for there inept management system. Pretty much think this airport is a disgrace to its customers.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerBusiness
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"a disgraceful way to treat people"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Firstly the drop-off charges for cars are ridiculous. £5 for 5 minutes then £1 per minute. Absolutely scandalous, especially when there's a queue to get out of the site and the minutes are ticking by. How they get away with it is a mystery. Then the bus they use to transport passengers to their plane. They are far too small for the numbers involved and when I was there one woman was reduced to tears when an airport worker pushed her onto the already full bus before closing the doors. It was humiliating and a disgraceful way to treat people. Then the horrors of passport control, you are forced to join a chaotic queue for 4 recognition machines whilst two manually operated desks are empty. It's a crazy situation that can be rectified by either installing more machines or letting people through the manually operated section. It makes no sense at all and when I pointed out the madness of it all I was told the staff were obeying orders. East Midlands is undoubtedly one of the worst airports I've ever used and hopefully will never use the place ever again. It's a shambles and a disgrace.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"airport is frankly an embarrassment"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Unfortunately, I travel through East Midlands Airport quite often. It is always a depressing experience. The airport is dilapidated, not particularly clean and often overcrowded. The security area resembles a warehouse. There is one lounge with poor food and it is also often dirty and overcrowded. Some passengers seem to feel that getting drunk before boarding is the thing to do before boarding flights, which doesn’t help matters. This airport is frankly an embarrassment, I’ve been through better maintained third world airports.
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no
9/10

"a brilliant airport for frequent flyers"

(United Kingdom)

Not Verified | Good airport! Easy in and out check in, pretty fast security and good services! If you are not looking for airport luxury and just want to fly come to this airport because it isn’t big and has basically 1 floor (apart from the restaurant and lounge on an upper floor) It’s a brilliant airport for frequent flyers just wanting to get out there and has friendly staff!
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerFamily Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"Absolute joke"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Absolute joke - arrived as scheduled. Had to wait for bus to arrive. Bus made big show of driving around, only to drop us off at a queue of people 500m from the door. Took us 30 mins to get to the door, to find they had opened another room for us to queue through a maze style system. You make a mockery of the East Midlands. Why would people choose to fly from here when you are such amateurs. You know exactly how many people are arriving and what time. Put more staff on at peak times. Will be avoiding in the summer for sure. When we rang the taxi firm to advise of delay a very sour and rude young girl told us the get off the phone. Quite funny later on in the queue to see the airport duty manager on his phone!
Experience At AirportArrival Only
Date VisitMay 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
no
10/10

"nice and clean airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | Very small airport, so please don't expect luxury. But it's still nice and clean airport with some good bar and restaurants. Departure, Arrival and security check was always simple and easy. We travelled through this airport several times.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitApril 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
yes
1/10

"completely blame the airport"

(United Kingdom)

Trip Verified | I queued for over one and a half hours to go through security to catch the Ryanair 6.10am flight to Malaga on the 11th March, having arrived at the airport at 4.30am. There was one fast track belt open and one other belt. The queue was horrendous. One man periodically shouted and barked orders at the queue. Very rude. Someone should have advised and assisted passengers whose flights were at risk to come to the front of the line. I tried but was told not to queue jump! I missed the flight by a couple of minutes - thought I was going to have a heart attack with the exertion as I am an elderly lady. Security was a complete shambles and nobody could have cared less. Approximately 40/50 Polish passengers missed their flight too and they were being redirected by Ryanair to Stansted. Goodness knows what happened to them. I was offered a flight two days later, which would have cut my break by half. Fortunately, Jet2 had a seat left on the 11am flight at a cost of £97. They went out of their way to help. I completely blame the airport for causing this extremely expensive, stressful and unnecessary situation. I will never fly from there again.
Experience At AirportArrival and Departure
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerSolo Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages N/A
Airport Staff 12345
no
1/10

"nobody intervened in this chaos"

(Poland)

Not Verified | Tragic organisation of the airport. Service unpleasant. 3 departing planes at the same time and only one control gate opened. More than a hundred people have not seen airplanes, nobody intervened in this chaos. The worst airport I have seen. I make complaints about compensation for forced stay in the UK. Airport employees should at most manage the sorting of clothes at TKMaxx, and not passengers at check-in. Resignation for the airport manager! Embarrassment!
Experience At AirportDeparture Only
Date VisitMarch 2019
Type Of TravellerCouple Leisure
Queuing Times 12345
Terminal Cleanliness 12345
Terminal Seating 12345
Terminal Signs 12345
Food Beverages 12345
Airport Shopping 12345
Wifi Connectivity 12345
Airport Staff 12345
no